post Aug 30 2012, 02:59 PM

237 posts

PLC got ler.. habitrail one
FabuData
post Aug 30 2012, 03:51 PM

237 posts

Oh.. maybe sold out liao.. That time I saw was when i was getting the habitrail twist for my robos..
FabuData
post Aug 30 2012, 10:15 PM

237 posts

2 months ago.. lol

RM24.67 ar.. cheaper than in Malaysia ... Malaysia probably u see it selling higher zzzz

FabuData
post Aug 31 2012, 05:15 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(starrynight @ Aug 31 2012, 06:06 PM)
cheap la but plus delivery .. not so cheap liao lor .. i know msia sell so expensive. i bought a ham pod for my ham at the small pet shop in sg wang for only RM 9
True also.. btw how do u find the hamsters and the supplies at the sg wang petshop? I bought my hamster there and it died after 1 day .. just died like that
FabuData
post Aug 31 2012, 05:30 PM

237 posts

i bought my hammies from pet world actually.. they set up their booth there so i thought since they threw price for 2 i get 2 lo.. mana tau next day one of them died liao T__T

Then a day after that i bought a new one from PLC.. now very fat and eats like nobody's biz laugh.gif
FabuData
post Aug 31 2012, 06:01 PM

237 posts

haha.. im a fan of long coat black n white syrians! Last time mine used to have a white mark fur under the chin.. looks like ah pek nia
FabuData
post Sep 1 2012, 02:54 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(starrynight @ Sep 1 2012, 03:42 AM)
eh but syrians cannot live together. they must be alone one.

my hamster's cage :

Actually last time when I had syrians and winter white i totally had no hamsters knowledge one.. that time i was like 10.. and had no computer lol
Luckily I kept 1 syrians.. the rest all winter white.. but the female was albino with red eyes , so fierce so i separated her from the male.. else i think she will go attack the male @.@
Nice cage setup you got there ! thumbup.gif
FabuData
post Sep 1 2012, 03:14 AM

237 posts

lol right on !
FabuData
post Sep 1 2012, 05:34 PM

237 posts

wahh.. eh u didnt cut the heads ah ?
FabuData
post Sep 1 2012, 08:35 PM

237 posts

i cut loh i scared later the head they nom and store in their pouch will bite them..
FabuData
post Sep 1 2012, 08:42 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(LuQEE @ Sep 1 2012, 09:41 PM)
well, its not wrong to be safe. Youre right, maybe the head will start biting in their stomach?  sweat.gif
Well, my previous syrian like to munch on those head first though, then continue on their body, so i guess he knows whats he is doing.

stomach ah.. bite their pouch alone i very heartache already lol

Good kid u have ar.. my hammies nom eveyrthing first one then only sort out in their food station lol

FabuData
post Sep 4 2012, 02:29 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(starrynight @ Sep 4 2012, 11:10 AM)
my current worry is my hamster doesn't like to run on his wheel. he eats but no running. have any of you experience this problem and how to solve it? i think i want to try another wheel but scared buy expensive liao, he still don't run
My hamster doesnt run either. All he does is sleeping and eating in the wheel

End up I transfered him to another cage with 2 levels so he can run up and down
If lack of exercising is the case, im also thinking of a maze for him.. so he wont be SO FAT cuz he got stuck in d staircase hole that day on d way to level 2 platform rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by FabuData: Sep 4 2012, 02:32 PM
FabuData
post Sep 4 2012, 06:59 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Sep 4 2012, 06:11 PM)
lol why you guys hamster all so fat one....mine quite thin or maybe he is just getting old. My hamster back in those days quite active in his wheel but nowdays quite lazy but i think he is just getting old. Not excatly lazy but tired, i always see him sleeping all the time, even on the wheel he run for few minutes then fall a sleep on it already. Or while standing on his house he will fall asleep.

getting old already it seems. Anyways what are your hamster type & wheel size? small wheel for big hamster could be the reason too, make sure your hamster back dosent bend when running. If i am not mistaken in the first page there is a recommended wheel size for syrian. I saw a picture previously & the wheel that someone was using is too small for syrain. Also the silent wheel is quite smooth for running, that could prompt the hamster to use it.
I have no idea. When i bought him that time he memang a bit big liao.. my this particular hamster is actually a rejected one cuz nobody really wanna buy him, as he's the biggest among the colony, and that time the fella just told me kids and customers think he's no longer 'cute cuz he's big' .. i was like.. what kind of stupid excuse is this ? big so not cute so dont want liao ? only want small and cute cute one ? rclxub.gif

So I bought him home since nobody wants him.. his wheel now is the standard squarish hamster cage mia wheel.. just nice for him, but due to his size he's kinda heavy and he just prefers to sleep and eat and run up and down the stairs and levels. he even sleeps like a boss with his 1 front leg falling out of the wheel

FabuData
post Sep 4 2012, 10:23 PM

237 posts

Mine is robo.. hehe..by the way his name is Fatso.. brows.gif

This post has been edited by FabuData: Sep 4 2012, 10:23 PM
FabuData
post Sep 4 2012, 11:41 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Sep 5 2012, 12:28 AM)
i see, but robo runs very fast & they are quite light so maybe the wheel isnt moving properly according to his speed. I would recommend you to get a sanko silent wheel as its super smooth & the friction is very little so minimum force is needed start the wheel rolling. You can get the medium size 1 since the small 1 is actually kinda small & the robo back isnt straight as seen in the picture. Straight back is important otherwise physical damage can occur & your hamster can suffer from back problems. Its a serious issue btw, dont play play...

Actually its kinda impossible if you guys say your hamsters dont use the wheel, by nature they will use it & thats the only thing that will keep company in their cage. Seriously almost all the hamsters loves their wheel & will learn how to use it by their own. I suspect its not the hamster is lazy but the wheel you guys are using isnt a proper ones. Get a proper wheel & it can last for many hamsters in the future too, most cages that comes in set provides wheel but those all can throw in the rubbish bin because quality is just too bad. If you go to petshop & compare with a silent wheel you will know the difference. Of course it isnt cheap though but its a great investment, i would say its probably the 2nd most important investment after the cage. I think i bought my big sized wheel was around rm60 or 70  blink.gif ? cant remember but it wasnt cheap...

http://www.wikihow.com/Exercise-a-Hamster

Added on September 4, 2012, 11:33 pmA good example would be the exercising bicycle. Take an example you are the hamster & the bicycle is your wheel. Now your bicycle is quite hard to use because you set the resistance to the max so even though you can use it but its kinda painful & tired right? Just few minutes & you wont feel like using it anymore but if the resistance wasnt max out you probably can use it for a longer period of time & burn more calories.

So its something like that. In the meanwhile you guys can try to lubricate the wheel with veg oil. Might not be as good as a silent wheel but it could help.
Oh.. his wheel looks like that..

But recently if u read Petster mag ( i think its Petster, the free copy one).. it talked about hazards of hamster wheels, that its not healthy for hamsters, cus if u compare the momentum and speed of the hamsters running in the wheel vs the wheel's buildup, the hamster's feet cud get caught in the seams.. end up one point in their lives their feet may need to get amputated if it's severe.. thsi alone freaks me out edi..

Now i start to wonder, it makes sense too, and if i really shud stop giving her wheels and find alternatives like give her a maze to keep her busy instead.. what do u think ?

FabuData
post Sep 5 2012, 01:44 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Sep 5 2012, 02:30 AM)
never heard of that before but to think about it everyone is using wheels for their hamster & many seems fine but since i am not the 1 who is using i might not know if there is pain. I do hold my hamster feet time to time(i like to shake hand with him) & he dosent feel any pain either. But it could be true though....

you could find alternatives (diy maze or something) or let him roam in your room. I allow my hamster to roam in my room sometimes. But its quite hard also because their active time is when we sleeping, sometimes when i wake up around 3-4am i can hear my hamster is using his wheel....so wont be an easy task to replace the wheel. But maybe the research done is with lousy quality wheel? my silent wheel the surface is quite smooth & the wheel is quite big so it isnt spinning that fast either...but not sure leh....my hamster needs his wheel for exercise otherwise he might die of boredom  laugh.gif
hahahaha !
FabuData
post Sep 10 2012, 12:11 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(starrynight @ Sep 5 2012, 12:02 PM)
Hopefully tonight i can get to plc to get him the medium wheel. went to 2 petsmore the past 4 days, no wheel available. kek si.

Added on September 10, 2012, 12:00 amdo you guys know any hamster experience vet around Petaling Jaya area? would like to get an idea in case - to keep as emergency contact
Vet that can treat hamsters : Dr Yeoh from Taman Megah PJ SS24.. smile.gif
FabuData
post Sep 12 2012, 02:02 PM

237 posts

Woah.. you all got such fun place/playground rclxms.gif

Meet Fatso brows.gif
Big boss !
FabuData
post Sep 12 2012, 02:12 PM

237 posts

Ya he only sleeps in his wheel.. he hardly exercise wan.. so he's the fattest hahahahaha
FabuData
post Sep 12 2012, 03:03 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(babybb @ Sep 12 2012, 03:14 PM)
Yours is robo right? mine too.. he old so hardly exercise anymore. All the time just sleep & eat only. That's y brought a playground for him to run & walk around  biggrin.gif

How old is ur hammie?
Yeap.. robo.. so far of all robos i rear he's the laziest, greediest, and sleepiest.. at the same time, he's the fastest learner.. closest to human touch.. kekeke
Currently 5 months old only.. laugh.gif

Where did u buy the playground btw ? Looks interesting and fun hehe

Added on September 12, 2012, 3:05 pm
QUOTE(starrynight @ Sep 12 2012, 04:01 PM)
My hammie if what the pet shop told me is right la .. should be about 5 - 6 months old. Mine don't like his wheel. He will sit on it and if I move it, he will sleep as if rocking chair liddat. Walao wei. Eat want, exercise duwan ><
Eh same here! Sometimes I saw the wheel maciam moving a bit.. then i saw him sleeping at that particular pose.. i also sweat.gif
Too heavy to move rite ? lolz

This post has been edited by FabuData: Sep 12 2012, 03:05 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0469sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:17 PM