Sep 14 2011, 08:07 PM
101 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: SeLaNGoR |
haha normal hamster behaviour la all this
hamsters are active and will only wake up between 7pm to 11pm waking them up during noon is actually not recommended yeah some will say my hamster tame wont bite and all but common.. if you sleeping 3 am i come wake you up? actually not a good thing for hamsters hoarding is perfectly normal stink should be from pee check the four corners of your tank and see if there is a stained area buy a toilet and toilet train him syrians are easy to toilet train very clean animals like i've advised many other hamster owners over and over again it is highly not recommended to breed your hamster if you bought 2 from same pet shop.. might have inbreed cases mummy hamster mihgt eat baby hamster mummy might kill daddy mummy might die in labour if the babies are successful, you need to sex them seperate them according to their gender and make sure they never mate inbreed cases if syrian babies, need to have each one 2ft tank + 8" wheel bout 100 ringgit each baby way to make your hamster more tame at the beginning wear a clean t-shirt and sleep in it for one night throw it over your hamsters tank the next day when he sleeping |
Sep 19 2011, 11:42 PM
bring to a vet who is experienced with hamsters
Sep 24 2011, 07:35 AM
haha aswen you bought the bridge already?
my bridge after so many months still in ok condition i think hamlet prefers dog biscuit than the bridge btw, try dog biscuit too.. check out the ingredients before buying thou dog biscuit is good cause most hamsters love dog biscuit taste and will bite it all the time 1 a week is sufficient plus it gives protein to your hamster (i dont give meal worm so this is great!) @markjohn: hamlet is doing fine.. alil reluctant to play sometimes since im working now.. he will wake up or wait up for me in the morning to see me wake up.. and then wehen i come home from work he is in toilet... i think he knows i will shoo him outta toilet so when that happens he knows im home |
Sep 25 2011, 04:14 PM
regarding superworm and mealworms
yes, its a fact that hamsters are omnivors, so fruits and veggies arent enough for hamsters they need protein however, i think you guys seem to be going overboard with this first off, hamsters usually get small insects in the wild, so giving them once a day is more than enough also, there are reports that mealworms are difficult to digest, so dont give them to baby hamsters or elderly hamsters as it may cause digestion problems regarding superworm bigger isnt better superworm and mealworm's nutritional value is almost the same however, superworm have harder exoskeleton, this means that it would be harder for hamsters to digest if you google up superworm, it is typically recommended for other animals, and almost never recommended for hamsters in addition, mealworms and superworm can bite if your hamster hoards a mealworm, you should either stop feeding.. or feed dry ones.. or crush the mealworm's head before feeding cause if the mealworm bite your hamster's cheek pouch, there is a high tendency that it will bernanah QUOTE(Chisinlouz @ Sep 25 2011, 08:53 AM) i see.. then i think next week any day the babies will open their eyes already. I can see them start moving with eye close, have fur like the dad, and eat some oat too =) regarding food.Ic.. if she dont breed its ok, just take care of her. Maybe its not mature enough yet =) Oh ya, anyone can suggest easy to find healthy food for hamster? Because basically im feeding them with oat, and some mixture of hamster food in a bag bought from pet store. I see u guys feeding them with worms, any additional advice from u guys? yeap. like i've said before, harry hamster can give to syrians.. vitakraft is good too for syrians, it is recommended to give variety of their STAPLE food not just variety in their supplementary food (fruits or veggies) unlike many other animals who prefers familiar tastes, syrian hamsters have been proven to prefer NOVEL flavours. if possible, buy both harry hamster and vitakraft.. and rotate 10 days of vitakraft, 10 days of harry hamster, then back to vitakraft it is NOT RECOMMENDED for you to come up with your own diet of staple food unless you have consulted with a vet and a nutritionist what you think may be good for them is just your thought you do not know the dietary requirements of a hamster at most, you may SUPPLEMENT their food with what you think is good but do not attempt to feed only whatever you think is good staple food is still a must QUOTE(Chisinlouz @ Sep 25 2011, 03:01 PM) hello, my syrian babies is born almost 2 full weeks and tomorrow is 3rd week. They yet to open their eyes but grown fur already. i strongly recommend everyone here to start toilet training your hamstersQ: can i clean their cage now? The cage is terrible with the pee smell. But im afraid at this stage if i touch the babies the mom will eat the babies. Need some advice here whether i am allow to clean it. Afraid they environment for the babies will be over dirty and get infection. thanks especially when you plan to breed this is a common problem i hear in this thread my hamster gave birth.. XX weeks already damn stinky i scared if change then mummy kill baby you should have read up and prepared for this by toilet training your hamster so you just need to change the bedding in the toilet it is also highly recommended that you use different bedding materials for hamsters toilet and hamster's cage not bedding in both |
Oct 2 2011, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(elfreakz @ Oct 2 2011, 09:02 PM) The one i used before chipsi is this cheap apple brand.. I see that chipsi is softer.. recycled paper is breeder celect and b2b Im sure what it meant by dusty. Is it like the smallest part of the bedding? If yes, then i found that in chipsi especially the wet pee part. Maybe it is because i crunch too hard when i put the bedding. I bought my chipsi at pets wonderland and i think their hamster in the shop maybe used that too Anybody use bedding beside wood type? Cos i heard some say using that cat litter that made from recycle paper? also got woody pet which is wood pellets i have manage to find the number of kaytee distributor in malaysia was trying to find time to call them regarding kaytee aspen bedding just couldnt find time. aswen you wanna call? |
Oct 6 2011, 07:14 PM
i dont think you guys are suppose to announce any sales thing in this thread.
even as a side note. please be aware of this |
Oct 7 2011, 10:17 PM
no offense to you either.. but i dont recall naming anyone.
BUT unless you felt you did something wrong, you wouldnt have felt that anyone was flaming you just want the thread to not be about advertising and selling hamsters but instead to share our experiences dealing with this chubby animals. |
Jan 5 2012, 07:13 PM
urgh.
cant find vitakraft nor supreme harry hamster anywhere. only last resort is prestige if i still dont find it soon please let me know if you guys can find vitakraft or supreme harry hamster went to this pet shop today and was overjoyed when i saw supreme harry hamster for sale checked the expiry date. DECEMBER 2011. told the sales assistant. she told me "hamster tak apa punya makan expired food pun sama saja" "boss akan bagi you 50 - 90% discount kalau nak" remember to check expiry date guys as one pack of food will typically last our furry mates approx 50 to 70 days |
Jan 6 2012, 10:45 AM
personally i dont recommend burp.
its PLC's in house brand.. cheap.. and i heard the food a lot of colouring if i cant find vitakraft and harry hamster, my 3rd choice will be prestige. apparently got this brand called jr farm. will try to find that too. |
Jan 6 2012, 07:48 PM
delikate also not good.. alot of colouring and processed stuff
Jan 7 2012, 08:16 PM
burp has more varieties in singapore cause plc is a bigger shop in singapore.
but even hamster lovers in singapore arent buying burp for their hamsters despite the wide range of variety. they even prefer to purchase marukan than burp |
Jan 8 2012, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Jan 8 2012, 12:08 AM) come i sell vitakraft to u which line of vitakraft and how much?I everyday handle hamsters , but they cant compare to my little one at home because he will come to me when i call him to come @the guy with dead robo babies , sorry to hear that. But u should have google on how to take care of the babies before doing anything. BTW ; scary things happen in pet shop.. That day wanted to take out a ww , look behind the wheel got few hamster eating the friend... alot blood half body gone , can see intestines... which pet shop? thank you so much |
Jan 13 2012, 09:59 AM
your hamster could be bitey because of its harsh treatment by the petshop you bought it from.
making him fearful of humans. instead of pointing out a finger which hamsters can easily nibble and bite on, put your hand as a fist for him to sniff then he wont bite also, you can try wearing a shirt to sleep then after that put it on your hamster cage so he can familiarize with your scent. do not use baby oil, vegetable oil (best is olive oil) to lubricate your wheel is better because baby oil is not edible. as recommended in the first threat, i also support using plastic fish aquarium tanks than using "hamster cages" as the accessories that come with "hamster cage" are poor in quality. (i.e. leaky bottles, plastic bowls, insufficient place to put a toilet and toilet train your hamster) scratching alot.. some hamsters do it as part of their grooming hamsters are very very clean animals and will groom themselves but if they groom too much, it is a sign of anxiety. however, if it is scratching, he might be having mites or allergy towards the wood shaving to eliminate allergy as a source of his scratching, you may want to stop using wood shaving for a while and use tissue papers instead. |
Jan 15 2012, 12:02 AM
QUOTE(playerz @ Jan 13 2012, 07:41 PM) sorry.. my WW russian.. pregnant again.. who want the babies?? i have alot.. so penat to jaga.. hehehe yet another irresponsible act. if you were not planning to take care of the babies, you should have separated them according to their gender what are you gonna do if no one is willing to take them? throw them away? i hate these people because they end up giving them to young children who thinks hamsters are so cute but in the end neglect them and provide them with a poor quality of life QUOTE(Nekochan @ Jan 13 2012, 09:18 PM) T_T My robo finally fighting with each other. I was so scare that this moment will come. T_T The small one was bitten till his leg bleed. Have to separate them now. I don't know why it happen. I read a lot of people with robos are having problem with them fighting. I thought mine will be different but now...I feel so sad that they have to be separated. I don't know what has change. they used to be ok. haha thats why i prefer syrians xDAnyone got any suggestion what happened to them to make them like this? there are so much more journals and research regarding them to explain their behaviours QUOTE(infernoaswen @ Jan 13 2012, 09:20 PM) Errr...if its too many then shouldn't u stop breeding in the first place? @first point: totally agreed! i didn't know veg oil is not edible for hamsters... veg oil is edible for hamsters, baby oil isnt thats why i recommend using veg oil and not baby oil QUOTE(AverageBryan @ Jan 14 2012, 06:59 PM) thank you for really taking your time to reply all my questions. really really appreciate it. i just went to buy a new silent wheel, some wood gnaws and sunflower seeds. fixed the wheel, gave it sunflower seeds, put in a piece wood gnaw inside the cage already. so far its alot happier and is willing to climb onto my hand already. and im gonna change the bedding the next bedding changing session. thanks alot for all your help! you are most welcomelove responsible hamster owners *p/s: dont give too many sunflower seeds, use occasionally as treats, cause sunflower seed is fattening |
Jan 17 2012, 01:20 PM
QUOTE(ix3Rukia @ Jan 17 2012, 01:17 AM) my hamster has a 2 feet cage for himself. maybe he is bored of his environment?Till he does not even want to use the wheel anymore. Poor old chip hamsters are curious animals and changing the arrangement of things in his environment, providing new toys for him, hiding treats allows them to stimulate their brains a little. |
Jan 26 2012, 08:41 PM
it is rare that dry food such as sunflower seed
it is more likely that it is due to some preservative, addictive, or chemical that the sunflower was derived from usually diarrhea occurs when too much fresh food was given |
Jan 26 2012, 08:51 PM
no problem
cause usually when hamsters get diarrhea, advise people give is that stop all fresh food and give dry food to reduce the watery feces good food brand are vitakraft, supreme harry hamster and versage lange prestige hamster (but recently there are complaints against prestige hamster where users found the food moldy) |
| Change to: | 0.0466sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:37 AM |