122 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Bottom

Chubbie Hamster V14

CleoLeon
post Nov 30 2012, 03:40 PM

QUOTE(babybb @ Nov 30 2012, 03:35 PM)
Hi, may i know what type its your hammie is? & do you feed him any sugary treat? Notice the ants are normally on which spot? If you have given ur hammie any sugary treat remove it when your hammie are not eat it. The sugary treat will attract ants. I having the same problem as you too & it's damn annoying. I have stopped feeding my hammie treat & the ants have stopped too.
My hamster's a dwarf. Not sure what kind of dwarf though. And I rarely feed her sugary treats. The ants are normally found on the wall of the cage. I once had a syrian and I found her dead getting bitten by hundreds of big red ants.. So I'm very worry if the same will happen to this dwarf.
babybb
post Nov 30 2012, 03:44 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(CleoLeon @ Nov 30 2012, 03:40 PM)
My hamster's a dwarf. Not sure what kind of dwarf though. And I rarely feed her sugary treats. The ants are normally found on the wall of the cage.  I once had a syrian and I found her dead getting bitten by hundreds of big red ants.. So I'm very worry if the same will happen to this dwarf.
OMG. I'm so sorry for your previous syrian. Okay now what you can do is.. is there possible to switch his cage to another places? Its the ants are attract to your hammie urine? Dwarf hamster are very prone to diabetes. But hopefully its not. Well what cage are you using now? try remove your hammie cage to another place & at the same time clean your room if you place your hammie on your room & possible to find where the ants come from.. There must be some ants breeding place.
Kitsune_Yuiyean
post Nov 30 2012, 03:46 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(CleoLeon @ Nov 30 2012, 03:28 PM)
Hey guys, I have a big ant problem regarding my hamster.
I've always put my hamster cage on a tray and fill the tray with water so there is no way ants could've reached the cage. ..Unless ants know how to swim.
So recently, I've been finding a couple of ants in the cage, around 5 or 6 ants every time I inspect and I keep on changing the bedding and cleaning the cage until I've almost used up the whole column of bedding in 2 weeks.
I need serious help here ):
Could be the food mix....

They might not swim but maybe they had kamikaze pilots in the army. tongue.gif

Try placing the cage somewhere else to loose the trail or place it above ground. I placed mine on top of another box and keeps the area clean. No need for water tray that way. biggrin.gif

Other ideas include

1) double sided tape to stop the ant from getting in
2) scattering chalk/talcum powder around the cage, which apparently works for some.
3) remove uneaten fruit or veggies about half an hour after you put them in
4) switch to recycled paper bedding

source-Google.

Do note that ants isn't the only problem. Sometime roaches gets into the cage too. This happens a lot to me. Sigh....
CleoLeon
post Nov 30 2012, 03:54 PM

I think I'm gonna try relocating my hamster's cage to a higher area and trace a line of chalk around it first. I really hope it'll work ):
Thanks for the suggestion guys *bows*
jeremysoon93
post Nov 30 2012, 05:13 PM

QUOTE(Kitsune_Yuiyean @ Nov 30 2012, 03:04 PM)
Just keep the cage fresh and clean first, don't mix it with other hamsters yet. Let the poor guy readjust himself to the new environment or 2-3 days. It might be afraid of your smell so be kind to him.

Guide: http://www.wikihow.com/Care-for-Roborovski-Hamsters
Alright, I'll let him be for a couple days to see his progress :/
Oh anyways thanks guys for the advices. smile.gif

This post has been edited by jeremysoon93: Nov 30 2012, 10:13 PM
nkw1987
post Nov 30 2012, 10:25 PM

330 posts

hi there. newbie here. wanna ask something regarding my robo. i got one robo which i left it for my friend to take care as i was having my holiday. but after i come back i found tat my robo has bald at the back. i checked and there are not any mites. Before this it is ok. Can the bald heal by itself (i have changed the bedding). If it cant then wat shud i do?Thanks in advance.
babybb
post Nov 30 2012, 11:26 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(nkw1987 @ Nov 30 2012, 10:25 PM)
hi there. newbie here. wanna ask something regarding my robo. i got one robo which i left it for my friend to take care as i was having my holiday. but after i come back i found tat my robo has bald at the back. i checked and there are not any mites. Before this it is ok. Can the bald heal by itself (i have changed the bedding). If it cant then wat shud i do?Thanks in advance.
Hi. Sorry to hear about your robo. May i know how old is your robo? & how his diet? Is your robo been scratching or grooming alot? What bedding that you previously & currently using right now? Does your friends clean your robo cage at least once per week? Sorry for the much question but if after awhile still doesnt seem to have any improvement time to take your little pal to see a vet.
nkw1987
post Dec 1 2012, 12:39 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(babybb @ Nov 30 2012, 11:26 PM)
Hi. Sorry to hear about your robo. May i know how old is your robo? & how his diet? Is your robo been scratching or grooming alot? What bedding that you previously & currently using right now? Does your friends clean your robo cage at least once per week? Sorry for the much question but if after awhile still doesnt seem to have any improvement time to take your little pal to see a vet.

hey thanks babybb~ all these while i put them inside a aquarium and the bedding and diet all these while are the same when i gv it to my friends. the different is juz tat i put it in a normal hamster cage as it is more easy for my friend to carry. the bedding and diet is all the same. so i wonder wat happen at her house tat time. i juz hope she can recover as soon as possible. is there any medicine can be bought at pets house ?
babybb
post Dec 1 2012, 09:17 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(nkw1987 @ Dec 1 2012, 12:39 AM)
hey thanks babybb~ all these while i put them inside a aquarium and the bedding and diet all these while are the same when i gv it to my friends. the different is juz tat i put it in a normal hamster cage as it is more easy for my friend to carry. the bedding and diet is all the same. so i wonder wat happen at her house tat time. i juz hope she can recover as soon as possible. is there any medicine can be bought at pets house ?
U're welcome smile.gif

May i know how old is your robo? Aging might be the cause of the fur loss too. You can try feed her some flaxseed which content omega-3 that help with her fur but dont feed too much just a bit per day will do & also you can feed her some vege like broccoli & protein like plain tofu. Some fresh fruit like apple but all this you can feed too much also probably just 2-3 times a week in a very small amount. Regarding the medicine i advice not to do so as hammie skin are extra sensitive so before we know the cause of the baldness & we simply buy medinice to apply on it will make it even worse.

1 important question, do you notice any unsual sign of your robo? like scratching or grooming alot lately? & the bald that you talking about is it look like this?

If she been scratching alot then you might need to bring her to vet. They wont charge you much on hamster. But always call to confirm if they accept hamster 1st. Not every vet are experience with hammie. Wish a speedy recovery to your hammie! smile.gif

nkw1987
post Dec 1 2012, 03:10 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(babybb @ Dec 1 2012, 09:17 AM)
U're welcome  smile.gif

May i know how old is your robo? Aging might be the cause of the fur loss too. You can try feed her some flaxseed which content omega-3 that help with her fur but dont feed too much just a bit per day will do & also you can feed her some vege like broccoli & protein like plain tofu. Some fresh fruit like apple but all this you can feed too much also probably just 2-3 times a week in a very small amount. Regarding the medicine i advice not to do so as hammie skin are extra sensitive so before we know the cause of the baldness & we simply buy medinice to apply on it will make it even worse.

1 important question, do you notice any unsual sign of your robo? like scratching or grooming alot lately? & the bald that you talking about is it look like this?

If she been scratching alot then you might need to bring her to vet. They wont charge you much on hamster. But always call to confirm if they accept hamster 1st. Not every vet are experience with hammie. Wish a speedy recovery to your hammie!  smile.gif
my robo is 1 and a half years old d (almost) so i think aging is not the prob. btw she dont scratch much and grooming alot lately. Yaya the baldness look like this but smaller and is at the back near to her neck. The good news is i notice the bald is getting better after i change the bedding. will feed her some protein and broccoli. hope she can heal faster. Thanks for the advice ya!! it helps a lot smile.gif
jeremysoon93
post Dec 2 2012, 02:29 PM

Happy December everyone, Chub Chub a.k.a Mr Mou-Yi-Si says hi hahaha.

Many times I wanted to sell/give away my 2 Robos because I don't have any emotional bond with them, but they're too cute to give away. sad.gif
babybb
post Dec 2 2012, 07:27 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(jeremysoon93 @ Dec 2 2012, 02:29 PM)
Happy December everyone, Chub Chub a.k.a Mr Mou-Yi-Si says hi hahaha.

Many times I wanted to sell/give away my 2 Robos because I don't have any emotional bond with them, but they're too cute to give away. sad.gif
Happy december chub chub!!! Awww... So cuteee.. Wish i can just hug him tongue.gif How old is chub chub? Awww please dun sell/give them away.. look at their eyes.. its full of cuteness & hope rolleyes.gif

Hmmm my hammie still on the medication & havent see any slightly improvement. The dose just enough for 2 times more i guess. What should i do? I been observe my hammie lately. I'm not sure he was grooming or scratching. He licks his paws & scratch & then lick again & scratch. What does this mean? grooming?

Sometime time he tends to lick & scratch until his furs are wet just like ppl after applying gel sweat.gif

And also he lick his back legs & scratch his ears. I check nothing wrong with his ears. No mites no redness. Just wet wet i think it's his saliva sweat.gif

Any ideal guys? unsure.gif

QUOTE(nkw1987 @ Dec 1 2012, 03:10 PM)
my robo is 1 and a half years old d (almost) so i think aging is not the prob. btw she dont scratch much and grooming alot lately. Yaya the baldness look like this but smaller and is at the back near to her neck. The good news is i notice the bald is getting better after i change the bedding. will feed her some protein and broccoli. hope she can heal faster. Thanks for the advice ya!! it helps a lot smile.gif
Glad to heard that your hammie are doing fine. Beside mind to share what bedding that you have change & currently using now?

This post has been edited by babybb: Dec 2 2012, 08:18 PM
jeremysoon93
post Dec 2 2012, 09:38 PM

QUOTE(babybb @ Dec 2 2012, 07:27 PM)
Happy december chub chub!!! Awww... So cuteee.. Wish i can just hug him  tongue.gif How old is chub chub? Awww please dun sell/give them away.. look at their eyes.. its full of cuteness & hope  rolleyes.gif

Hmmm my hammie still on the medication & havent see any slightly improvement. The dose just enough for 2 times more i guess. What should i do? I been observe my hammie lately. I'm not sure he was grooming or scratching. He licks his paws & scratch & then lick again & scratch. What does this mean? grooming?

Sometime time he tends to lick & scratch until his furs are wet just like ppl after applying gel  sweat.gif

And also he lick his back legs & scratch his ears. I check nothing wrong with his ears. No mites no redness. Just wet wet i think it's his saliva  sweat.gif

Any ideal guys?  unsure.gif 
Glad to heard that your hammie are doing fine. Beside mind to share what bedding that you have change & currently using now?
Haha thanks. I bought him and 2 other robos on the very first day of this year. One already died in July. :/
Yeah amazing eyes, but they're actually terrified of me. Spent months trying to "connect" with them, not much hope though.

Hmmmm I'm not too sure of the meds. Usually hammie probs like that I tend to leave it for itself to go away.
The wetness, my robos pee in the wheel then run on it, so they always have their spiky hair-do. laugh.gif
babybb
post Dec 2 2012, 09:42 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(jeremysoon93 @ Dec 2 2012, 09:38 PM)
Haha thanks. I bought him and 2 other robos on the very first day of this year. One already died in July. :/
Yeah amazing eyes, but they're actually terrified of me. Spent months trying to "connect" with them, not much hope though.

Hmmmm I'm not too sure of the meds. Usually hammie probs like that I tend to leave it for itself to go away.
The wetness, my robos pee in the wheel then run on it, so they always have their spiky hair-do.  laugh.gif
Oh so sorry for your loss. But bonding with robo take alot of patient. We are very lucky that hamtari doesnt scare of us from the 1st day we brought him. That's why i will do whatever i could just to give him a good life. Oh 1 more problem jeremy, my hammie been peeing alot after every time he drank the medicine. Is it normal? & it's like brownish in color. Will your hammie like that too after take medicine?
jeremysoon93
post Dec 2 2012, 11:09 PM

QUOTE(babybb @ Dec 2 2012, 09:42 PM)
Oh so sorry for your loss. But bonding with robo take alot of patient. We are very lucky that hamtari doesnt scare of us from the 1st day we brought him. That's why i will do whatever i could just to give him a good life. Oh 1 more problem jeremy, my hammie been peeing alot after every time he drank the medicine. Is it normal? & it's like brownish in color. Will your hammie like that too after take medicine?
Oh well, now I'd just feed them and "play" with them hahaha. More like scare them. tongue.gif

Peeing should be fine, cuz the meds is quite sweet right? The anti-biotic I was given smells really sweet. Colour-wise, I guess that's the side effect, but I didn't notice my hamsters after they took the meds. Plus that was years ago. :/
starrynight
post Dec 3 2012, 12:58 AM

21 posts

QUOTE(jeremysoon93 @ Dec 2 2012, 11:09 PM)
Oh well, now I'd just feed them and "play" with them hahaha. More like scare them. tongue.gif

Peeing should be fine, cuz the meds is quite sweet right? The anti-biotic I was given smells really sweet. Colour-wise, I guess that's the side effect, but I didn't notice my hamsters after they took the meds. Plus that was years ago. :/
one taming method you can try is to put a piece of tissue on yourself for hours and then give to your hamster so they get use to your smell
babybb
post Dec 3 2012, 01:58 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(starrynight @ Dec 3 2012, 12:58 AM)
one taming method you can try is to put a piece of tissue on yourself for hours and then give to your hamster so they get use to your smell
Hi starrynight, how is your hammie doing? manage to bring your hammie to vet?
starrynight
post Dec 3 2012, 02:32 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(babybb @ Dec 3 2012, 01:58 PM)
Hi starrynight, how is your hammie doing? manage to bring your hammie to vet?
actually not yet but he seemed to be less scratchy nowadays. I didn't make any changes yet though but I'm already suspecting it's not part of his grooming. Suddenly he'll turn and start scratching while doing something else.

Vet I try to stay away as I don't want to stress him out.
jeremysoon93
post Dec 3 2012, 04:31 PM

QUOTE(starrynight @ Dec 3 2012, 12:58 AM)
Ooooo hmm alright I'll try that when I have time.

Anyways, I'm sad to say the hamster that my friend ask me to take care died the night I was supposed to take it to the vet.
I guess it's the environmental shock. I told him, he's sad too, but he said probably "it's time". Oh well. :/

Oh and I just realized (5/12) just now that Chub Chub also has the bald spot. ><

This post has been edited by jeremysoon93: Dec 5 2012, 12:56 PM
tjaime1984
post Dec 6 2012, 02:35 PM

32 posts

Hey, anyone here know which pet shop in KL have the most variety of winter white different color? the quality nice,real & affordable price.

Now I have
1 female sapphire
1 female pearl black line
2 female pearl yellow line
1 female blue argenta(red eyes)
1 female cream argenta(black eyes)

Im looking for violet (black & eyes), golden (black & red eyes), pearl (read eyes) & argenta black eyes.

Anyone know any place & can help me? do pm me the location or if u got the shop number is the best...TQTQ

122 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:25 PM