Credit Card v16, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

gerenti
post Nov 8 2011, 01:18 PM

24 posts

guys, i need some enlightenment here.. just got some confuse huhu
actly im currently using CIMB CC.. my credit limit was just increased to RM30k from RM12k..
i already used my CC about 11k n available credit was just around RM18-19k sumthing..
now i plan to purchase a kitchen cabinet worth RM24k n the shop offered me to pay via easy payment with 0% interest for 36month which costs around RM600-700 sumthing i need to pay monthly..
so my question is, am i still eligible to pay via EPP/EPS as my available balance is just about 18-19k while the purchase price is 24k?
must i clear some amount to make my available balance up to 24k to make me eligible to purchase it?
FYI, im now moving to my new house. dats Y im quite using my CC extensively as my cash is not so enough.. huhu
gerenti
post Nov 8 2011, 01:51 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Nov 8 2011, 01:33 PM)
yes u need to pay at least rm7k, or just pay full rm11k.
ouh, really? huhu so, it does mean also that i cant use my CC anymore untill i settle the EPP?
let say my available balance is 24k after i paid 7k to make me eligible to purchase it.
so i swipe 24k with the shop to purchase the item with RM700 monthly instalment. so my available balance is zero la rite?
so, next month after i paid RM700+5% minimum payment for monthly usage of CC (lets say about 300), so my available balance is 1000 la? n its continue every month until i settle the EPP?
gerenti
post Nov 8 2011, 03:52 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(jayro_88 @ Nov 8 2011, 02:58 PM)
okay. Let say i got myself an epp of 2400 and the monthly installments of 200 per month for 1 year and my credit limit is 10k. After doing the purchase, my available credit limit is 7600 rite? So just out of curiosity, does my credit limit will be fixed 7600 for one year untill my epp contract finish or it will be decrease by time?? Lets assume i pay the 200 monthly installments without fail.
r u sure bro? i just spoke to the salesperson just now..
she said that their easypaymnt scheme will not affect the available balance. for example, the purchase price is rm24k. so if my availble blnce now is 19k, i still can purchase it. they'll swipe 24k, then it'll split to 36month instalmnt which is about 670 per month.
so in my next month statmnt, my availble balance, will only deduct 670, not 24k..
the EPP whch block entire amount of CL we have is not applicable to the huge amount of purchase item. it might applicable to thing like handphone etc
so, there are two type of EPP la
gerenti
post Nov 8 2011, 05:54 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Nov 8 2011, 05:34 PM)
By all means the salesperson wants the sale to go through thus will give the most optimistic calculation system.
You are asking questions with regulars and seniors from the credit card world in Malaysia, so which one would you think would be more accurate?
so sorry to 'otai's here. not meant to not to trust in you all.. huhu
actually i just back from the shop n have done successfully the purchase of kitchen cabinet.
to be exact, my credit limit is RM30k n my available balance is just about RM19450.05. n i purchased the kitchen cabinet worth 23940 with 0 interest in 36 months. so monthly instalment just RM665.
after checking my balance with the bank just now, my available balance was just decrease to RM18785.05 which means it already deduct this month's instalment.
n again, the salesperson told me that it was a deal with the company n the bank
so, just to share this with all forumers here la n im not against any other sifus :-)

gerenti
post Nov 8 2011, 06:16 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Nov 8 2011, 06:11 PM)
There are two types of EPP (sorry, I don't know the exact terminology for it)

Type 1 is normally block off the full purchase amount from CL.
e.g. CL = 10k
buy 6k installment.
CL balance = 4k
=> Bank will settle full payment to merchant at month-end, and from that day onwards, the deal is between bank and you. You have to settle CC monthly and merchant has 0% worries.

Type 2 is, merchant ask you sign a form, photocopy IC. Every month merchant will submit payment to bank for installment.
e.g. CL = 10k
buy 6k installment @12 months = (rm500/mth)
CL balance = 9.5k
=> Merchant submit monthly, and bank collect monthly from you.
Merchant has worries that you'll run away with the item, as there are 3 parties involved here, until you pay up the last settlement.
ya, maybe this is what the shop n the bank dealt..
i was also informed that the only thing the shop wanna me do is to increase my CL to be higher than the purchase price regardless how much available balance i have =]

gerenti
post Nov 8 2011, 06:53 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Nov 8 2011, 06:33 PM)
I think the shop is not aware that users can't assume their CL increase will be granted if they asked.
It is not shop make any special arrangement with the bank, just that they agree to take a bigger risk by opting in the Type 2 EPP. Most merchant (like 9.5 out of 10) would not go for type 2 EPP. Your merchant choose Type 2 EPP coz if they hold on to Type 1 EPP then they cannot sell their wares.
yups, agree with u..
but also maybe they think that the thing they sell is sumthing impossible to be stolen or brought to anyway. they easily can find n get back their ware if anything happen to purchasers rite. hehe

0.6015sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:30 PM