Click here to read my latest article and view photos of the MBB VI welcome kit.
Credit Card v16, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!
Nov 1 2011, 05:37 PM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
Just received my Maybank Visa Infinite today and it has the No.8
Click here to read my latest article and view photos of the MBB VI welcome kit. |
Nov 2 2011, 08:22 AM
QUOTE(zenquix @ Nov 1 2011, 05:50 PM) QUOTE(rockefeller @ Nov 2 2011, 03:26 AM) QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 2 2011, 12:51 AM) Congrats!!! Thanks guys. Miles: I applied over the phone. No query on income during or after the conversation. Actually I never submitted any income docs to MBB before. I guess my approval must be based my second to none credit history/records |
Nov 3 2011, 09:19 PM
RHB got new promo where one can convert retail transactions to 0% 6 months installment plan.
To read my article titled RHB Credit Card Promotions 2011 - 2012 click here. |
Nov 4 2011, 07:02 AM
QUOTE(cakarsakti @ Nov 3 2011, 10:19 PM) i understand the calculation.. thanks Since you do not have a credit card yet, all you need to know is that the interest rate imposed on outstanding balance (if you don't pay in full before Due Date) for new cardholders is 17.5%.but, how do we determine which rate we will be charged, 17.5% 16% or 13.5% p.a? 12months, 10months? Since you have yet to get your card, I will share with you this, from the very start, never ever let the bank imposed interest on your outstanding balance no matter how small or little the amount is, i.e. always pay in full before Due Date. Once you break this principal, you have entered into the hell zone. If you pay in full every month, it does not matter if the banks imposed 88% or 4% interest on outstanding balance. But is you really must know how the 13.5% -17.55 is charged, go to any bank website and read the Terms and Conditions for credit cards and you'll get the answer. QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 3 2011, 11:06 PM) Not that I know. The 5% for petrol is for 1st weekend of the month and other days 2%. But, there are terms and conditions and the the cash back is based on 20% of total retail transactions. What I interpret from this is - if you only use the card purely for petrol it means you won't get any cash back.Having said that, there was a promo for debit card recently for petrol (I think) and groceries (i am sure), can't recall the details. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 4 2011, 07:06 AM |
Nov 7 2011, 08:02 PM
QUOTE(monara @ Nov 7 2011, 07:34 PM) guys, would like to ask about GST fee. 1. Most banks charged the GST upon approval.it is charged once a year from what i knew. want to ask, when is the time to pay it? is it counted according to our starting date of usage, or based on calendar year? 2. It will be imposed again 12 months later i.e. card anniversary date |
Nov 9 2011, 10:33 AM
My article on Premier Cards had to take a back seat last weekend as I was on a mission.
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Just posted my article titled Malaysia Premier Credit Cards - Which Is The Best For You? In my article Entry Level Credit Cards - Which Is The Best For You? I have mentioned what I thought was the worst credit card in Malaysia. In my article Platinum Credit Cards - Which Is Best For You? some may not agree with my choice of Highest Rank Plat cards. Before you go read my final article on series of different categories of CC, please take a moment to think what your answers will be to the following questions: 1. In your opinion, what card is the Most Prestigious Credit Card in Malaysia? 2. In your opinion, what card is the Most Exclusive Credit Card in Malaysia? 3. In your opinion, what cards gives you "status"? 4. In your opinion, which card proves that you have reached the epitome of success? Once you have identified the cards above, click here to read my article Malaysia Premier Credit Cards - Which Is The Best For You? and see if I share your opinions |
Nov 9 2011, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 9 2011, 10:52 AM) I must go google what is Wordpress QUOTE(hye @ Nov 9 2011, 11:04 AM) Bravo bro Gen-X on another great contribution! Thank you bro for the kind words.As for the top end of the Premium cards, while only a selected few will own the card but in my opinion the mid range Premium cards privileges are better in some aspect. What's the point of holding a super exclusive card but you don't get anything much out of it ? But again, this may be up to the preference of each individuals. Yah, agree the mid range cards better. And the reason why the cards are super exclusive is because like you say - there is no point holding it, hahaha QUOTE(shiroikun @ Nov 9 2011, 11:29 AM) Wow, great article. Good job to Gen-X. lolz. I wonder SCB WMC consider as a premium card as well, erm may be a low end permium card? Thanks for reading my article. Yes, I do consider SCB Preferred WMC a Premier Card because you need to earn more than a Plat card to qualify for one. But the benefits are like nothing and that is why did not bother to mention it.QUOTE(Human Nature @ Nov 9 2011, 11:46 AM) Bro Gen-X, SCB Business Plat offers 0.5% cashback+points 1x and it has Toll Free CS too. Thanks for reading Bro.p/s nice gesture on the EON/HLB Bank VS CS rep QUOTE(rockefeller @ Nov 9 2011, 11:52 AM) Excellent article! I enjoyed reading it and so will many forummers here. Thanks for reading Bro and I am glad you enjoyed it. I thought the many words would have frighten most away, haha As for the case of CIMB WMC and VI's minimum CL, i know a friend who has 60k CL, therefore effectively reducing the minimum CL of this card to <100k Off topic, I must also say another favourite among these truly wealthy individuals is the American Express Platinum Charge Card (since the ultra exclusive Centurion Black Card isn't going to be available in Malaysia until Jan 2012). I am guessing it has to do with the fact that it does not have pre-set spending limit therefore allowing them to go beyond the CLs of their existing other premier credit cards and the fact that by using this charge card is a testament that they are paying in full and not going to stretch the payment for that particular splurge. This also boils down to the fact that in order to obtain the American Express Platinum Charge Card, a strong bank statement balance is required in addition to the standard payslips and BE Form as required by other card issuer. In other words even if you are earning RM 50k monthly but your bank statement is not strong and your balance is low, there is no way you are going to get it. As for CIMB WMC CL, I guess now that the card is offered via Preffered Banking, it only make sense that the CL be reduced. As for AMEX Plat Charge Card - I was offered to upgrade to it without any request of docs. But being a cheapskate, I prefer to go with FREE fakes AMEX Black cards |
Nov 11 2011, 06:48 AM
QUOTE(y_owez @ Nov 10 2011, 08:06 PM) hi all Another option besides credit card is get a debit card which are issued by Citi, MBB and UOB on the spot . PBB debit cards are pretty good for online but it will take about 2 weeks for you to get the card. this is my case : i'm in overseas and will be goin back to malaysia and HK for a holiday trip i would like to know it is possible for me to open a bank account in malaysia ( my old maybank closed cause i've been overseas a few years ) and how can i get a credit card for holiday? i know need Jslip form all that.but i dont have all those and i dont have a credit card overseas But since you are overseas most of the time, no point getting cards from here, better get a debit card from where you are. |
Nov 11 2011, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 11 2011, 11:33 AM) That is indeed great, but I suppose the card won't have the card holder's name on it. Better than waiting weeks for the Electron card, however the electron card do have advantage where it earns one more for general spending compared to D2D. Now that I know the card can be issued on the spot, I am considering to get it for my online transactions, thanks for the info. |
Nov 12 2011, 12:34 AM
QUOTE(manjohari @ Nov 11 2011, 10:54 PM) at rm72k annual income for wmc, i dont see much exclusivity of holding mine anymore. (although scb require aum of 72k to avoid high fees, and minimun daily balance of 6k) SCB's is a Preferred WMC and like I mentioned in my article on Premier cards, if there is a Preferred or Premier before the WMC, then it is equivalent to Visa Signature as far as I am concerned. Actually the Visa Signature got more benefits then Preferred/Premier WMC.wondering what's next name for mc/visa. QUOTE(turion64 @ Nov 11 2011, 11:25 PM) mistaken, the requirement is 200k. not 100k. it is cimb world mastercard. MBB and CIMB WMC so called annual income requirement is RM200K yes, it is the SCB preferred world mastercard. any difference of SCB preferred world mastercard with a normal world mastercard? how come the requirement so big difference ? As for SCB WMC, I think winner did mention somewhere he is going to cancel it. Not much benefits I guess. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 12 2011, 12:38 AM |
Nov 12 2011, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(winner @ Nov 12 2011, 03:34 AM) You do not really need to become SCB Preferred Banking customer in order to get SCB Preferred WMC. However, if you apply for this WMC without becoming SCB Preferred Banking customer, the WMC you get will only earn x1 Choice Point, not x1.5 or x2 Choice Points. This is very useful info. ronnie should paste this at SCB Thread 1st post. Soon nobody going to read this post, page and thread and one day someone will ask about this SCB Preferred WMC again.QUOTE(winner @ Nov 12 2011, 03:34 AM) I had terminated it early this year, after keeping the card for 4 months only. Its benefit sucks! I applied for it because I wanted unlimited cash back (2 Choice Points actually) for a big swipe. You are the sifu on how to maximize benefits from CC, If you say it sucks, others better take note. |
Nov 13 2011, 09:04 PM
QUOTE(Garruk @ Nov 13 2011, 08:53 PM) wanna ask a newbie question here, You will not be charged a sen of interest if you pay the Statement Outstanding Amount prior to the Due Date. i have heard ppl saying that if you pay your credit card balance each month in full you will NOT be charged any interest at all is that true? for example if i have maybank 2 card with interest rate 8.88% pa or 0.74% pm say i have got a new card in November and i swiped RM100 that month when the bill for November comes what is the amount i am going to pay if i wanna pay in full a) RM100.00 (no interest) b) RM100.74 (with 0.74% pm interest) E.g. Statement Date is on 10th of every month. Payment Due Date will be on 30th of every month (usually 20 days from Statement Date) You did a RM100 transaction on 7th of November (before the Statment Date). And you did another RM200 Transaction on 11th of November (after the Statement Date). So your November Monthly Statement will show Outstanding Balance of RM100 only. You only need to pay RM100 before the Due Date 30th November to avoid interest being imposed. The RM200 will only show up in the folowing month's Statement and you need to pay in full before 30th December. One thing I must add, if you are new to credit card, my advise is you do not sign up for online statements until after few months of getting paper statement so you are familiar with terms like Statement Date, Statement Balance, and Due Date. You may be also be interested in my article Credit Cards Are Cash Cow for Banks - click here to read it. In this artilcle I have examples on how interest are being charged. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 13 2011, 09:06 PM |
Nov 13 2011, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(Garruk @ Nov 13 2011, 09:27 PM) Thx gen-x for the explanation.its very helpful i have been reading your article regarding credit cards since some times ago since i decided i wanna get a card.might have missed out on the interest calculation entry though. Paper statements are free for MBB 2 Card and most other card. And you can still view your transactions and summary online even if you have paper statements. may i know if we will be charged if we opt for paper statement each month? can we have both paper statement and online statement together? But good questions. To ALL: what banks charge us for paper statements? I know previously AMEX Gold CC wanted to charge us for paper statements. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 13 2011, 09:37 PM |
Nov 15 2011, 08:27 AM
I just published my latest article at my blog targeted at parents who have children going to private school, colleges and universities. Part of the article may still be applicable for those with "big" expenditure.
Click here to read my article - Education Bills - Which Is The Best Card To Use? |
Nov 15 2011, 11:21 PM
QUOTE(MGM @ Nov 15 2011, 11:19 AM) Again another nice article. I suppose now that you are retired you have ample of time to look into areas where most people miss. In order to retire at your age after being a salaried guy you must have a workable investment strategy. Thank you Sir for reading my articles and I am glad to know that you enjoy reading them. And I can't agree more, I'm lucky and things falling into places just at the right timing. But I will tell you this, go learn about basic technical analysis like moving average if you have not and read articles here and it sure beats reading my articles anyday. I enjoy reading your blog and I can see that you are really blessed. QUOTE(cookiejar @ Nov 15 2011, 06:16 PM) I applied for Standard Chartered Visa Gold ... but the rep said I can only submit 1 source of income. I'm working for a company and also doing my own business, registered with SSM and have Maybank corporate bank statements. I asked him why can't I submit my work+business income, he said international banks only accept 1 source of income. Is this true? The problem is if they only accept my work income, my pay will be below RM36,000. If they accept both then it will be higher than RM36,000. I'm worried it will cause problems for me if I were to apply more cards in the future QUOTE(cookiejar @ Nov 15 2011, 08:58 PM) If you submit your Borang BE or B, I don't see any issue. By the way, you apply thru agent or directly at the bank branch or online? |
Nov 16 2011, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(shadow111 @ Nov 16 2011, 10:03 AM) Hi All, You may want to start by reading my article Earn Pocket Money with Credit Cards.Been using HSBC Gold MasterCard all this while and it doesn't have any cash back for petrol/etc. Lately I have just change a new job which required me to travel almost 100km daily from home->work->home. I know there are many CC out there which offer cash back for petrol/household item/etc. Can someone recommend me the best CC to get in term of the cash back for petrol and household expenses and the cash back is valid at least for few year/forever (not just 1 yr or lesser). Btw, I'm earning around RM100k a year with car and hse loan which is around 3k for both. Hope this info is sufficient. Thanks. |
Nov 17 2011, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(Edison83 @ Nov 17 2011, 09:40 AM) Hi, this is the 1st time I intend to buy some item using installment, Wah, 4.5% extra, that is ridiculously high. What you buying?I'm aware that its not exactly 0%, the merchant add up 4-5% (its depend on company) on the item before swipe the card My question is let say i buy an item worth RM2000 (after being "extra" charge by merchant), and I wanna put it under installment for 24 month so basically I need to pay RM84 per month, |
Nov 17 2011, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(Edison83 @ Nov 17 2011, 01:52 PM) I aware of that, but some shop offer item much cheaper that the others = low profit, they rely quantity not profit I really confuse now, I thought you'll only be charge the extra 4-5% if you opt for installment plans. You mean the shop also charge you 4-5% if you swipe one go?it the shop have to bear those amount making them no profit at all, that why they giv us, customer to bear it instead of the merchant. Unlike supermarket, their price are fixed. You dont even know if their price are already include 4-5% even if you pay cash. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Nov 17 2011, 02:41 PM |
Nov 17 2011, 05:16 PM
Today I receive my Starwwood Privilege card via courier. just like ben83 said. But my Priority Pass card no where to be seen. So called CS and he said the PP application form should be inside my MBB VI welcome kit (usually the case for Citibank PremierMiles and SCB VI). After I said no, he said he'll fax to me the form. The after I susah susah set up the fax, the same CS called and told me he won't be faxing over but he will do the necessary arrangement on his side and forward my info to the relevant department for my Priority Pass Membership to be issued. Pretty good service.
Also asked when MBB going to charge me GST, and he said 2 to 3 months time and system shows that the free 10,000 TPs not yet credited into my account. Overall I must say MBB VI Tol Free CS are very courteous and helpful. |
Nov 17 2011, 06:53 PM
QUOTE(Devil4life @ Nov 17 2011, 05:25 PM) If not mistaken even big computer hardware dealer shop like AllIT also ask for additional % if swipe using CC Yes and No. Tell the salesman you paying by card and you only willing to buy if no surcharge and he'll write a note on the item or inform the cashier. This year I bought something from them, took an item from the shelve and directly went to cashier and paid with card and no surcharge.As for the YES, some items they will say need surcharge if it is on promo. Last year when I bought from ALL IT my 23" monitor that was on offer, the salesman wanted to charge me surcharge and I told him he can't do that since the promotion ad DID NOT state cash only and in the end he agreed and inform the cashier to accept card without any surcharge. QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 17 2011, 05:44 PM) Just noticed this Starwood Privilege Card is free for you. Anyway, are you a SPG member ? If you are not, make sure you enroll for it online. They will not automatically send the card to you. Once you have successfully enrolled for SPG online, click request card and choose your desired card design. You will get it in a few weeks time Thanks for the info, else I won't be bothered to read the last page of the booklet that came with the card mentioning about spg.com and thought that the Starwood Privilege Card is all there is to it. |
| Change to: | 0.0438sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:57 AM |