125 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Credit Card v16, Ask general questions here, Please read the 1st post before posting!

twilight_fever
post Jun 3 2011, 08:39 AM

660 posts

hi,i am going to australia for working purposes for out 2~3mnth..which bank shld i apply credit card from..?

one of frend told me dat it is bit risk 2 apply for rhb cc as some aus do nt accept rhb cc transaction.
ronnie
post Jun 3 2011, 08:56 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(twilight_fever @ Jun 3 2011, 08:39 AM)
hi,i am going to australia for working purposes for  out 2~3mnth..which bank shld i apply credit card from..?

one of frend told me dat it is bit risk 2 apply for rhb cc as some aus do nt accept rhb cc transaction.
All CC would work in Australia. Just inform the bank on which country you will be using it at.
Best to select a CC which you already have Savings/Current account with E-Banking to ease payment.
twilight_fever
post Jun 3 2011, 09:00 AM

660 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Jun 3 2011, 08:56 AM)
All CC would work in Australia. Just inform the bank on which country you will be using it at.
Best to select a CC which you already have Savings/Current account with E-Banking to ease payment.
noted on that

is it a good idea to send in my application forms to 2 diff bank ?
michaelho
post Jun 3 2011, 09:19 AM

546 posts

has anyone got an sms from OCBC that goes like this?

"Get RM50 CashBonus with every accumulated RM500 spent. First come first serve. 16/5 - 14/7."

ronnie
post Jun 3 2011, 09:19 AM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(twilight_fever @ Jun 3 2011, 09:00 AM)
noted on that

is it a good idea to send in my application forms to 2 diff bank ?
It all depends on how much Credit Limit is required each month for your spending in Australia.
Doesn't the company give a monthly allowance ?
codename_snake
post Jun 3 2011, 09:44 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ May 23 2011, 06:02 PM)
Yes, I am aware of Clear Card offer at Curve and Coffee Bean. What surprised me is that the YGV offer applies to ALL Citibank CC.
ronnie warned us about using CIMB credit cards earlier (also mentioned by you). Just to share - I used my Alliance Bank Visa no such problem. Transaction in Ringgit.
Citibank Clear Card:
Buy 1 Free 1 Movie ticket at All major cineplex on Friday

Citibank Clear Card and other Citibank card
Buy 1 Free 1 Movie ticket at All TGV on Weekend (but i believe the promo end somewhere at the end of June11)

Added on June 3, 2011, 9:50 am
QUOTE(twilight_fever @ Jun 3 2011, 09:39 AM)
hi,i am going to australia for working purposes for  out 2~3mnth..which bank shld i apply credit card from..?

All VISA, Mastercard should work.
But personally I have used HSBC and Citibank with no problem.
Hope this help!

This post has been edited by codename_snake: Jun 3 2011, 09:50 AM
xjeez
post Jun 3 2011, 09:52 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(michaelho @ Jun 3 2011, 09:19 AM)

"Get RM50 CashBonus with every accumulated RM500 spent. First come first serve. 16/5 - 14/7."
Check the OCBC Titanium thread its discussed in more details there (since about 2-3 weeks back)
codename_snake
post Jun 3 2011, 10:24 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(milentechie @ Jun 2 2011, 12:58 PM)
I just received a call claimed to be from Maybank, informing me that someone is using my card to charge 2K transaction for Takaful. He wanted to stop the transaction but need to verify my card number & expiry date for verification purpose. Then, asked me to give my card number & exipry date.

I called back MBB card CS to investigate. No such transaction ever recorded in their system.

Please be alert of this fraud.
Really need to be careful about this sort of things..
We just can't take for granted the convenience that the technologies had bring us.
erry-
post Jun 3 2011, 03:33 PM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(codename_snake @ Jun 3 2011, 09:44 AM)
All VISA, Mastercard should work.
But personally I have used HSBC and Citibank with no problem.
Hope this help!
yea my HSBC and DA also no prob swipe there.

Gen-X
post Jun 3 2011, 09:25 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

Need some help from you guys, I am writing an article and going to touch on interest rate being imposed onto outstanding balance. I thought I give an example. But, I really don't know how it works in detail. Below is the example I have thought off, please comment.

Say you did a Transaction on 5th May 2011 for RM10,000. Your Statement Date is 10th May 2011 and your Due Date is 30th May 2011. Therefore, the minimum amount Due is RM500 (5% of RM1000).

You pay RM200 on 30th May 2011. Which means you have outstanding Balance of RM9,500 not cleared and carried forward.

I believe the interest charges are calculated as follows, I might be death wrong, but it will not be far off.

Interest charges up to 30th May 2011 = 17.5% x RM10,000 x 25/365 = RM119.86

Therefore outstanding Balance as of 30th May 2011 after you pay RM500 = RM10,000 + RM119.86 -RM500 = RM9619.86

So from 30th May 2011 onwards, you will be imposed interest calculated as follows:

RM9,619.86 x 17.5% x (days/365)

AND if you make another RM2,000 transaction on 5th June, additional interest charges will be added as follows:

RM2000 x 17.5% x (days/375) commencing from 5th June 2011.

So come end of 30th June 2011, your interest charges will be:

RM9619.86 x 17.5% x (30days/365) = RM138.37
+ RM2000 x 17.5% x (24days/365) = RM23.01

and total Out Standing Balance as of 30th June will be 2011 =
RM9619.86+RM2,000+RM138.37+RM23.01 = RM11,781.24

Is the above correct? Comments are most appreciated.
Human Nature
post Jun 3 2011, 09:32 PM

- student of human nature -
26,520 posts

You pay RM200 on 30th May 2011. Which means you have outstanding Balance of RM9,500 not cleared and carried forward.

I am not clear of the interests calculation either, but I believe there is a typo there. Pay RM500, right? Looking forward to this particular blog post smile.gif
erry-
post Jun 4 2011, 01:12 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 3 2011, 09:32 PM)
I am not clear of the interests calculation either, but I believe there is a typo there. Pay RM500, right? Looking forward to this particular blog post  smile.gif
typo there i believe.

btw i have no idea about interest calculation coz always pay full. even i just joking to pay min or half, my wife threat to kill me! haha sweat.gif

charymsylyn
post Jun 4 2011, 07:58 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jun 3 2011, 09:25 PM)
Is the above correct? Comments are most appreciated.
Note that credit card interest is calculated daily on compounded basis, so while your example isn't very wrong at the start, the error margin will get bigger as time passes.
one leg kicking
post Jun 4 2011, 10:06 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(michaelho @ Jun 3 2011, 09:19 AM)

Yes, pls check out OCBC Ti Thread
Gen-X
post Jun 4 2011, 11:32 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jun 3 2011, 09:32 PM)
I am not clear of the interests calculation either, but I believe there is a typo there. Pay RM500, right? Looking forward to this particular blog post  smile.gif
Thanks for pointing it out. I actually started with RM1000 balance but the interest was like too low to be of any concern. So up the amount to RM10K.

QUOTE(erry- @ Jun 4 2011, 01:12 AM)
btw i have no idea about interest calculation coz always pay full. even i just joking to pay min or half, my wife threat to kill me! haha sweat.gif
OT: wah wife threaten you. Not good. Maybe ask you wife to join the Obedient Wife Club and then she'll obey you, hahaha

QUOTE(charymsylyn @ Jun 4 2011, 07:58 PM)
Note that credit card interest is calculated daily on compounded basis, so while your example isn't very wrong at the start, the error margin will get bigger as time passes.
I get what you mean, Maybe I should continue with another second payment to "reset" the interest calculation again. I guess if based on monthly, then amount would not differ much.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jun 4 2011, 11:33 PM
roy918
post Jun 5 2011, 12:04 AM

558 posts

CIMB smart flexi-pay extended to 31 Dec 2011. rclxms.gif

CIMB smart flexi-pay
UltraConductor_41
post Jun 5 2011, 02:12 AM

428 posts

i came across a roadshow that held in my nearby shopping center today. The sales person told me HSBC is offering 8% cash rebate discount in grocery, petrol and dining. Its valid until the end of this year. Anyone can confirm this?? The card he intro is HSBC Gold.

He also told me they will waive the annual fees and government fees for the 1st year with only 3 swipes. Is this true? ohmy.gif
gerrardling
post Jun 5 2011, 08:57 AM

6 STARS
1,684 posts

for those who are interested in applying ocbc titanium cc, u can apply for it at the curve. got free gift there.
SUSDavid83
post Jun 5 2011, 11:33 AM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(roy918 @ Jun 5 2011, 12:04 AM)
CIMB smart flexi-pay extended to 31 Dec 2011.  rclxms.gif

CIMB smart flexi-pay
CIMB always extends their promotional plans.
Human Nature
post Jun 5 2011, 12:16 PM

- student of human nature -
26,520 posts

QUOTE(UltraConductor_41 @ Jun 5 2011, 02:12 AM)
i came across a roadshow that held in my nearby shopping center today. The sales person told me HSBC is offering 8% cash rebate discount in grocery, petrol and dining. Its valid until the end of this year. Anyone can confirm this?? The card he intro is HSBC Gold.

He also told me they will waive the annual fees and government fees for the 1st year with only 3 swipes. Is this true?  ohmy.gif
better request for black and white for this GST waiver..never heard such thing before

125 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0319sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:16 AM