> [ASK] Trusted seller or not?, need advice

Oshika
post Aug 17 2011, 09:07 PM, updated 15y ago

133 posts

icon_question.gif hi all i need some advice about this seller:

http://forum.lowyat.net/user/dewkster

Web: http://bluegrassmusic.com.my/

i want to buy some musical instrument that he said he have it.. i never see him before, never go to the shop even they have a website, never know him, n also i'm quite far from there (for me).. then i msg him, about the stuff, he said yes he have it, BUT need to DEPOSIT or BANK in.. the amount quite big for me as foreigner student, he want me to deposit at least 250RM (50% of the total)..

since this is electronic stuff so i think i go to the shop and just walk-in, but he said the stuff not in shop, but in his warehouse, so he need the deposit to take out from the warehouse.. i don't know his system, so i tried to check anything about him, phone number, name, etc.. and i found he's clean.. too clean until i can't get any testimony about his sold item..

so now i need advice should i deposit or not?? or maybe somebody know him well?? i already look for this stuff but only him n melaka guy have it.. melaka too far for me.. smile.gif

hope i can found something here.. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
Mr.Docter
post Aug 17 2011, 09:10 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

I don't know the seller, so I am not in position to comment on that.

What I know is 50% deposit deal tend to go wrong in so many way. Most of the con cases are like that. So its better for you to discuss with the seller other possible way.
Oshika
post Aug 17 2011, 09:22 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Aug 17 2011, 09:10 PM)

What I know is 50% deposit deal tend to go wrong in so many way. Most of the con cases are like that. So its better for you to discuss with the seller other possible way.
thanks mate.. i already discuss n still don't meet any good agreement.. if deposit i think i only want 50rm deposit, not more than that.. but he still want 50%
svage98
post Aug 17 2011, 09:40 PM

432 posts

If you don't know the seller's reputation or previous deals vouched by other buyers then don't deal or give big amount of deposits. Too risky and many things can go wrong. Better safe than sorry bro.

This post has been edited by svage98: Aug 17 2011, 09:43 PM
Oshika
post Aug 17 2011, 09:57 PM

133 posts

Yeah thats one of ny fave quotes haha.. better safe then sorry.. but if someone know him let ne know la.. i really need that stuff.. sad.gif
selikatwo
post Aug 17 2011, 10:34 PM

302 posts

QUOTE(Oshika @ Aug 17 2011, 09:57 PM)
Yeah thats one of ny fave quotes haha.. better safe then sorry.. but if someone know him let ne know la.. i really need that stuff.. sad.gif
this also not good! if seller have dup acc, and make u trust that seller....just if...then u trust it, then kena con..zzz
btw...seller must follow/agreed with buyer, not buyer follow/agreed with seller. if not then, find other seller.........
Oshika
post Aug 17 2011, 10:47 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(selikatwo @ Aug 17 2011, 10:34 PM)
this also not good! if seller have dup acc, and make u trust that seller....just if...then u trust it, then kena con..zzz
btw...seller must follow/agreed with buyer, not buyer follow/agreed with seller. if not then, find other seller.........
Yaah.. haha.. Ill not believe if only one people tell me, if he make many dup acc thats so damn good.. haha.. Usually seller must follow buyer but in this case i dont know why he dont want.. and i also looking for others seller but not found yet until now.. the only seller is him n the melaca guy in lelong
svage98
post Aug 17 2011, 10:52 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(selikatwo @ Aug 17 2011, 10:34 PM)
No la...what I mean if you use your head and see logically the feedback given to other buyers. If you see many people especially newbies join almost the same time as the seller then you can see something fishy going on and maybe seller made up so called people to vouch for him. Use common sense la.

Any how...I don't agree that seller must follow or agree with buyer. For me an understanding must be reached between seller and buyer. That's what negotiation is...you can't do business and only see the benefits of one side only. Both seller and buyer must come to a good agreement. But seems like in TS's case it's more one sided and too risky for him to consider because he need to pay big deposit first. If he did pay the deposit and seller runaway...it's his lost. If the seller and him meet up to COD and then buyer see that he don't want the item anymore because of certain reasons can he get his deposit back? If seller said no...then again it's the buyer's lost. So TS...you better ask this clearly? Usually seller ask for deposit because he /she want to avoid ffk cases.

This post has been edited by svage98: Aug 17 2011, 10:53 PM
Oshika
post Aug 17 2011, 10:57 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(svage98 @ Aug 17 2011, 10:52 PM)
No la...what I mean if you use your head and see logically the feedback given to other buyers. If you see many people especially newbies join almost the same time as the seller then you can see something fishy going on and maybe seller made up so called people to vouch for him. Use common sense la.

Any how...I don't agree that seller must follow or agree with buyer. For me an understanding must be reached between seller and buyer. That's what negotiation is...you can't do business and only see the benefits of one side only. Both seller and buyer must come to a good agreement. But seems like in TS's  case it's more one sided and too risky for him to consider because he need to pay big deposit first. If he did pay the deposit and seller runaway...it's his lost. If the seller and him meet up to COD and then buyer see that he don't want the item anymore because of certain reasons can he get his deposit back? If seller said no...then again it's the buyer's lost. So TS...you better ask this clearly? Usually seller ask for deposit because  he /she want to avoid ffk cases.
I agree need deposit to avoid ffk but i think 50rm enough to prove that im serious buyer.. i already told him like that.. i dont asking him to do stright cod i know.. if need deposit ok, but 50% seems too big amount lah..
svage98
post Aug 17 2011, 11:05 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(Oshika @ Aug 17 2011, 10:57 PM)
I agree need deposit to avoid ffk but i think 50rm enough to prove that im serious buyer.. i already told him like that.. i dont asking him to do stright cod i know.. if need deposit ok, but 50% seems too big amount lah..
True...but it seem the seller is not willing to accept your term of rm50 deposit so you can't force him to accept to deal unless you can nego him some more. Try asking him again. If he still won't accept your deposit then have to find another seller. Perhaps you can have better luck next time then.

This post has been edited by svage98: Aug 17 2011, 11:06 PM
SUSnordingh
post Aug 17 2011, 11:19 PM

I not 24 hours here...
4,419 posts

customer is king in bussiness world... if buyer don't want to pay 50% deposit, seller should honor that.. good seller will not ask for really high deposit anyway... con case even can happen for just rm50 or less. Anyway, why he need the deposit just to take the item from the warehouse if that item is sell by him. For me, he actually taking from others, that's why need the deposit.

I have found a few good seller rejected my deposit to save hassle to refund back if the trade not going through.
svage98
post Aug 17 2011, 11:31 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(nordingh @ Aug 17 2011, 11:19 PM)
customer is king in bussiness world... if buyer don't want to pay 50% deposit, seller should honor that..  good seller will not ask for really high deposit anyway... con case even can happen for just rm50 or less. Anyway, why he need the deposit just to take the item from the warehouse if that item is sell by him. For me, he actually taking from others, that's why need the deposit.

I have found a few good seller rejected my deposit to save hassle to refund back if the trade not going through.
Regardless of the seller's reason for wanting higher deposit. You still can't force the seller to accept anything he don't want to. He's not willing to lower the deposit so buyer cannot do anything. TS should find another better seller. If he still want to continue dealing with the seller then he has to accept the seller's terms & conditions. And yes...Customer Is King...but customer still cannot force a seller to sell if he's not willing to follow the customer's term just as a seller cannot force a buyer to buy from him.

This post has been edited by svage98: Aug 17 2011, 11:31 PM
Oshika
post Aug 17 2011, 11:33 PM

133 posts

yeah.. to find others seller also not easy.. sad.gif this kind of rare items.. i think yes he take from others shop.. sad.gif
k2anthrax
post Aug 18 2011, 05:22 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Aug 17 2011, 09:10 PM)

totally agreed with u:)
sKyWiR3pT3lTd
post Aug 18 2011, 05:56 AM

Spirits Of Shankly
6,059 posts

The user is new , joined 2011. You might want to be aware of your dealings.

If he has build a strong reputation among traders , then it should be safe for ya..otherwise..no..
Oshika
post Aug 18 2011, 09:38 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ Aug 18 2011, 05:56 AM)
The user is new , joined 2011. You might want to be aware of your dealings.

If he has build a strong reputation among traders , then it should be safe for ya..otherwise..no..
hmph... good think to consider.. and no other senior member know him n no testi at all.. and deposit too high, huff.. i think i gonna get this stuff from other country.. sad.gif
flodder
post Aug 18 2011, 10:01 AM

6 batang ab numb addicted with 6 bintang
1,039 posts

some musical instrument? you can go Popular or Artis Gallery look for it 1st maybe there have you wanted?
Oshika
post Aug 18 2011, 10:05 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(flodder @ Aug 18 2011, 10:01 AM)
some musical instrument? you can go Popular or Artis Gallery look for it 1st maybe there have you wanted?
yeah musical instrument.. popular?? artis gallery?? where is it?? im from sunway.. icon_question.gif
hublee91
post Aug 18 2011, 10:13 AM

90 posts

Find Yamaha also can mah...don't really need to force yourself to deal with him though you wanted it so much...

Arrange meet ups if possible. Or else, forget about it. It's not RM2 we're talking about. It's RM250, and you yourself said it's a huge amount to you. Better be safe, friend!! I'm sure you don't wanna lose that sum of money, nobody here wants, I believe!!
Oshika
post Aug 18 2011, 10:21 AM

133 posts

yeah even 2rm who wants to lose some money?? haha.. 2rm at least you can get something useful.. tongue.gif the stuff i want not yamaha brand.. sad.gif yamaha expensive lo.. haha.. ok thanks for your advice, i'll try not to push myself but push seller to do stright COD.. haha.. Just kidding, not going to push anybody just want some idea to get this stuff without deposit, or if i must deposit i want the trustful seller.. haha..

0.0177sec    1.91    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:35 PM