G.I. Joes V2, COOOOOOOBRAAAAAAAA!!!

TSSadistic Reaper
post Aug 17 2011, 04:40 PM, updated 13y ago

47 posts

Welcome to G.I. JOES Version 2.0

About G.I. Joes:
G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero is a military-themed line of action figures and toys in Hasbro's G.I. Joe franchise. The toyline lasted from 1982 to 1994, producing well over 500 figures and 250 vehicles and playsets. The line reappeared in 1997 and has continued in one form or another to the present day. It was supported by two animated series as well as a major comic series published by Marvel Comics.

The toyline continues to play a large part in Hasbro's G.I. Joe franchise. This version of G.I. Joe is still much recognized by many people who grew up in the 1980s and 1990s, overshadowing the original G.I. Joe
(Quoted from Wikipedia)

G.I. Joe Toyline (for the 3.75" figures):
1) A Real American Hero (1982–1994)
2) Stars & Stripes Forever - TRU Exclusives (1997–1998)
3) A Real American Hero Collection (2000–2002)
4) G.I. Joe vs Cobra (2002–2005)
5) Direct to Consumer (DTC) (2005–2006)
6) 25th Anniversary (2007–2009)
7) G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra (2009)
8) G.I. Joe: The Pursuit of Cobra (2010-2011)
9) 30th Anniversary (2011 - onwards)

We finally reached to Version 2.0 for the G.I. Joes thread rclxms.gif

Old thread link is here: G.I. Joes V1

But before we begin the thread, please adhere to the little rules and regulations smile.gif

Rules and Regulations:
1) Do not post non-G.I. Joe or military related posts in this thread (Any G.I. Joes/Cobra/1:18 scaled military stuff is allowed in this thread)
2) You may share your opinions on the figures/vehicles/playsets, but don't over-criticize it (After all, this is a forum for everyone, not your own house)
3) Keep your language clean. No swearing or any inappropriate "adult" talk in this thread (We got kids roaming in Lowyatt forum so be considerate)
4) Share your pictures so everyone can enjoy (Be it your own collection of G.I. Joes/Military stuff, dioramas, customs, G.I. Joe/Military toy hauls)
5) Any era of G.I. Joes are allowed in this thread (From vintage, Spytroops, Venom vs. Valor, Sigma 6, 25th Anniversary, Resolute, Rise of Cobra, Pursuit of Cobra and even current 30th Anniversary) *Despite that Sideshow do produce G.I. Joe figures, they're strictly 12" figures and there's already a thread about 12" figures*
6) Share tips and advises (Be it what to collect, where to get em, how to maintain them or even customizing tips as well)

Current Collectors in Malaysia (By collectors, i mean heavy collectors, not casual)
1) Sadistic Reaper - Kuala Lumpur
2) darkshadow - Penang
3) Odinn - Kuala Lumpur
4) kerberos09 - Kuala Lumpur
5) tsg - Kuala Lumpur
6) cranx - PJ/Kuala Lumpur
7) jediwalker - Kuala Lumpur *Updated*
8) dzirhan *Updated*
9)
10)

Note: Anyone that i missed out, do PM me about it and i'll add you in the list (coz i dunno if you're still collecting or not, also on how hardcore of a collector that you are, no offense). Also, i'm listing out those who's active in the thread smile.gif

To begin version 2.0, let's start with the picture spam smile.gif

This post has been edited by Sadistic Reaper: Aug 19 2011, 03:20 PM
TSSadistic Reaper
post Aug 17 2011, 08:24 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(cranx @ Aug 17 2011, 07:16 PM)
support, thanks for starting V2.
only 6 'heavy' collectors? cant be..there should be more.  tongue.gif

location is PJ/KL.
Yup, i believe there's more too but don't seem to see them active in the thread though sad.gif

Oh, and i edited the first post so thanks smile.gif

More pic spam of the 1987 Cobra Wolf smile.gif

Still in the midst of restoring it smile.gif

TSSadistic Reaper
post Aug 17 2011, 08:55 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(darkshadow @ Aug 17 2011, 08:32 PM)
Today's haul. I don't think the price will reduce further so best to grab it now.
For us Zarana fans ,I have bad news.I was told Hasblow M'sia is not bringing in both regular and variant versions.
Guess we'll have to fork out some heavy moolah to acquire her.

No surprise there, I already expected that Hasbro Malaysia's not gonna bring in any 30th anniversary or any of the Zarana exclusives long time ago sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Sadistic Reaper: Aug 17 2011, 08:55 PM
TSSadistic Reaper
post Aug 17 2011, 09:49 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(darkshadow @ Aug 17 2011, 09:36 PM)
So it's no surprise for you but for some of us, we're still hoping that Hasbro M'sia will bring in ,seeing that they did it with last year's Sgt. Slaughter.
Chill, 'King', i'm just stating my opinion, no need to bite my head off smile.gif
TSSadistic Reaper
post Aug 18 2011, 09:11 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(kerberos09 @ Aug 17 2011, 09:26 PM)
Woot, V2 already.... Cobraaahhh!  tongue.gif

Ah, got no new pics guys, so spamming old pics yah

Old pic spam is alright, glad to see some pics from your side! Could we see your entire collection? smile.gif

QUOTE(Odinn @ Aug 17 2011, 09:38 PM)
Imma post a pic too..the 3 MUST OWN Snake Eyes

EDIT: imo of course, feel free to show your top 3 SE
This was probably a once in a blue moon occurrence. Probably later when the 30th Anniversary line is released to retail, we may see those..they get those "big occasion" items like 30th or 25th anniversary items or such, not yearly releases..at least that's what I think.
Speaking of which, since you have two skystrikers, have you assemble them yet? which customs stickers you're gonna use? I'm gonna guess snake eyes? tongue.gif

Once in a blue moon? Doubt so, ever since Hasbro Malaysia stopped bringing in POC after wave 2 sad.gif

QUOTE(Odinn @ Aug 17 2011, 10:06 PM)
Hey since we're in a new thread, just a quick OT question:

Anyone following the new Thundercats series? I wanna get the figs
Tut tut, no out of G.I. Joe topic, but i haven't check out the new series yet, will be soon myself smile.gif

QUOTE(cranx @ Aug 18 2011, 01:21 AM)
add some pics from old thread.

Great to see your pics! Howsabout your entire collection? smile.gif

QUOTE(Tiger I @ Aug 18 2011, 01:57 AM)
Pardon me if I'm sharing something inappropriate, but since I saw collectors here do mod and customize figures to own liking, this should be interesting:

But I also read it somewhere regarding it with negative reviews as well. I was wondering if there is any blank figure to work on to customize to own liking here in Malaysia, other than this

Do tell if this isn't the right thread to ask, I will remove the post guys icon_rolleyes.gif
Now that's an interesting find you got there! Looks like a good figure for custom smile.gif

Oh, you want me to add you in the list at the first post, tiger I? Also, show us your collection biggrin.gif

QUOTE(jediwalker @ Aug 18 2011, 09:08 AM)
ROC Joes reporting in!

Oh welcome back, jediwalker! Haven't seen you for a while, how's life? Still collecting? smile.gif

Oh, updated the first post for the collectors section for both jediwalker and Tiger I!

This post has been edited by Sadistic Reaper: Aug 18 2011, 09:37 AM
TSSadistic Reaper
post Aug 18 2011, 09:18 AM

47 posts

Old pic spam!

TSSadistic Reaper
post Aug 18 2011, 09:59 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(Odinn @ Aug 18 2011, 09:48 AM)
I've assembled one, will keep the other misb until I get a third or fourth. And as much as I'd like SE to have his own skystriker, the sticker doesn't show well on the tail fin due to the color blending in with the tail fin. So I went with the original eagle emblem. I went with the black and gold color ala roy focker macross.

And it's not fully stickered up yet, lazy to apply all of the stickers, just the stripes.

I'll ask the tcats question in darks' 4inch figs thread hahah
Yeah, i was very tempted to apply the stickers to look like the VFS Jolly Rogers but i have to stick by the vintage style look, still having doubts lol tongue.gif

Took me an hour or so to apply all the bloody stickers...such a pain sweat.gif

QUOTE(Tiger I @ Aug 18 2011, 09:54 AM)
With all due respect sir, I haven't bought a single Joe at all because I couldn't find any cry.gif So in a way, I don't think I can even be put in the same league with you guys sweat.gif
Hey hey, come on, lol, where you're from? If you drop by to Times Square at Grafitti, you can get some of the older 25th anniversary figures or there's this guy who sets up a stall in the flea market on Sundays, selling the POC and Resolute figures in amcorp mall smile.gif

There's this toyshop called 1toys at the top floor, also in amcorp mall, there's selling the Resolute 7 packs too and the POC Storm Rider vehicle pack smile.gif

Toywiz, also in amcorp mall, still have a few older POC figures too!

Lot 10 still have the POC wave 1 figures like storm shadow, cobra commander, probably snowjob too smile.gif

And there's always Ebay smile.gif

This post has been edited by Sadistic Reaper: Aug 18 2011, 10:04 AM
TSSadistic Reaper
post Aug 18 2011, 10:23 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(Tiger I @ Aug 18 2011, 10:15 AM)
sweat.gif never went to Amcorp before, forgotten about that. I will find it later, thanks for the info smile.gif

I'm from KL btw
No problem, dude! Oh, i sent you a PM on that seller's contact number, so check his stall out if you have the time smile.gif
TSSadistic Reaper
post Aug 18 2011, 10:31 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(tsg @ Aug 18 2011, 10:27 AM)
noob haul

Great pics there, tsg! And that's an interesting looking conquest custom you got there but what's that cannon under the wing from? blink.gif

This post has been edited by Sadistic Reaper: Aug 18 2011, 10:31 AM
TSSadistic Reaper
post Aug 18 2011, 10:47 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(tsg @ Aug 18 2011, 10:33 AM)
lolz that's self-mod bro, more weapon  biggrin.gif
do u own any tanks?
Oh, you got any upclose shot of that cannon? smile.gif

You mean from the G.I. Joe's toy line or any others? smile.gif

For the G.I. joes line, i have HISS Tank (1983), HISS Tank II (1989), HISS Tank (blue variant from 25th), HISS V.5 (2010, custom repainted to black), Arctic HISS (2009), Cobra Fury (2010), Destro's D.E.M.O.N. (1988), Destro's Razorback (1989), Cobra Maggot (1987), Cobra IMP (1988), Cobra Wolf (1987), Destro's Dominator (1990, sort of a tank) smile.gif

For the non-G.I. joe toy line i have the world peacekeeper's main battle tank (custom paint to cobra blue with cobra stickers applied), world peacekeeper's infantry fighting vehicle armored truck, 21st Century Toys Ultimate Soldier's M4 Bradley (custom paint to desert colors with cobra stickers applied) and a 1:16 scaled RC Tiger I tank smile.gif

Here's an old pics of it (before i had it applied with cobra stickers) smile.gif

This post has been edited by Sadistic Reaper: Aug 19 2011, 09:23 AM
TSSadistic Reaper
post Aug 18 2011, 02:36 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(darkshadow @ Aug 18 2011, 01:31 PM)
[/spoiler]

That's quite a lot of tanks you got there.  notworthy.gif
I own 2 Maggot as a kid ,one of my fav vehicles.
Does the Maggot fit 25th figures?
Thanks very much! Yup, it fits nicely and compatible with the 25th figures smile.gif
TSSadistic Reaper
post Aug 18 2011, 03:44 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(dzirhan @ Aug 18 2011, 03:31 PM)
Could be wrong from the pic but the Conquest appears to be the 2003 Conquest which comes with a cannon as standard

http://www.yojoe.com/vehicles/03/conquest/
Hey, man! Welcome back! Thought you quit the forums, but glad that you're back, also i edited the first post to add your name in there smile.gif

Oh, you gotta show us your entire collection smile.gif

It's the 2003 spytroops version? doh.gif

Lol, thought it was a custom, my bad on that coz i'm not familiar with spytroops line sweat.gif

QUOTE(tsg @ Aug 18 2011, 10:33 AM)
lolz that's self-mod bro, more weapon  biggrin.gif
do u own any tanks?
Dude, why you go say it's a self-mod on that cannon? sweat.gif

QUOTE(darkshadow @ Aug 18 2011, 03:41 PM)
That's awesome.If only I still have mine.  sad.gif
Looking ready to whup some @$$ is Roadblock .

thank god you resized it rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by Sadistic Reaper: Aug 18 2011, 03:55 PM
TSSadistic Reaper
post Aug 19 2011, 10:36 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(darkshadow @ Aug 18 2011, 03:41 PM)
That's awesome.If only I still have mine.  sad.gif
Looking ready to whup some @$$ is Roadblock .

I'm just hoping that the sequel movie will be better than the first, but by the rumors and news, along with the pics going on, looks like it might be a bit more grittier than its predecessor smile.gif

Although no finalized cast crew yet (or at least, not officially), a lot of the characters are new characters which is kinda dissapointing (again, not finalized yet) and we only know 2 actors for the Cobra side: Lee Byun Hyun for Storm Shadow again and Ray Stevenson as Firefly, wish there's more revelation on Cobra side sad.gif

QUOTE(jediwalker @ Aug 18 2011, 10:41 PM)
Thanks biggrin.gif i was happily collecting POC wave 2 until hasbro decided to cut the line  cry.gif  dun have any new hauls except those TRU exclusives (quick kick & spirit iron knife) which went on clearance...
Have you tried checking out amcorp mall to get your POC figures? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(dzirhan @ Aug 19 2011, 12:25 AM)
I check in once in a while here, been busy with work stuff but somewhat collecting. Will post pics when I have time
Great man, still glad you're back biggrin.gif

TSSadistic Reaper
post Aug 20 2011, 09:44 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(kerberos09 @ Aug 20 2011, 07:16 AM)
Very agreed, bro. If we were to get them Frm international eBay itself, more less it would be around that price for each joes. So u can consider the guy doing the favor of bringing the whole pack of joes in rather than u have to deal with kastam, shipping fees n the possibilities of being cheated in online transactions.

If u ask me, it shud be ok. Just get the 'quite hard to find' joes Frm him (jungle viper, shock trooper, destro cs...). The common ones can just get it local eBay or Judah, or perhaps sum other retail outlets who are still trying to clear out their joes... Haha
Nice pic but out of topic sad.gif

Oh come on, you exaggerate the negativity, buying from EBay isn't all that bad tongue.gif

From my personal experience, the customs usually will let the item go through for G.I. Joes and as for the shipping fees , it all depends the Ebay seller's choices. Some sellers offer multiple choices, most don't. Can't find what you want with the shipping then keep on browsing smile.gif

If you want cheap, then get Standard shipping or USPS First Class, then expect your item to arrive in 3-4 weeks. The only thing that you need to worry about is the size of the package that you ordered. Coz if its 1 small item (like a loose figure or parts) then expect the package to get lost during shipping (or stolen by USPS employees). If you want, you can pay a few dollars for insurance but you'll need to notify the seller about it. So far, all my bigger packages arrive in 1 piece, be it an entire wave 5 of POC, vintage vehicles or etc. smile.gif

If you want fast and willing to pay, go for Priority and then 2 weeks later the item definitely will arrive in your laps. smile.gif

Afraid of cheating Ebay sellers? Just check the seller's feedback, read the item's description properly, check the pictures properly, ask the seller any questions if not clear...and if you're satisfied then buy or if you're not, browse again smile.gif

Most Ebay sellers are willing to solve your issue if you don't find satisfactory with your item, like having 1 item missing from the figure, the seller is willing to ship it to you with no additional charges (again, really depends on the seller) or your shipped item went missing after 30 days then sometimes they'll either refund back to you or resend the item again. And once all is done, leave a feedback to the seller smile.gif

So yeah, it's the same pricing as Wan (the stall seller in amcorp mall) is selling anyway (except for Priority pricing) except he's not bringing it as much stock or as fast as you wanted smile.gif

Like i said, if all of you keep hoping for Hasbro Malaysia to bring in new G.I. Joes, chances are...well, fat chances. If you wanna collect, collect then and get it through Wan or from Ebay. If you can't afford it, then keep on browsing coz you'll bound to find something cheap. smile.gif

Oh, btw, this is just my opinion, it's up to you guys to listen or not coz this is a free country so don't go biting my head off (like a certain someone who just did) smile.gif

This post has been edited by Sadistic Reaper: Aug 20 2011, 10:08 AM
TSSadistic Reaper
post Aug 23 2011, 11:06 AM

47 posts

Got my haul today smile.gif

1988 Destro's D.E.M.O.N. (Missing Ferret driver and will need to do some cleaning tonight coz its covered in dust!)

1989 Destro's Razorback (Has a broken antennae and missing 1 radar dish, both items i already have at home, so will fix them tonight!)

TSSadistic Reaper
post Aug 23 2011, 11:45 AM

47 posts

Just arrived today in the office, another haul smile.gif

2011 Hasbro G.I. Joe 30th Anniversary's Cobra Viper, Cobra Trooper, Steel Brigade & Hazard Viper smile.gif

This post has been edited by Sadistic Reaper: Aug 23 2011, 11:50 AM
TSSadistic Reaper
post Aug 23 2011, 11:26 PM

47 posts

Here's a simple set up of the Razorback, being accompanied by the iron grenadiers and the heavy arms for support smile.gif

TSSadistic Reaper
post Aug 24 2011, 10:34 AM

47 posts

Second set of Razorback in siege mode smile.gif

TSSadistic Reaper
post Aug 24 2011, 12:04 PM

47 posts

Destro's D.E.M.O.N. set up (and fully cleaned up too) smile.gif

TSSadistic Reaper
post Aug 27 2011, 10:53 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(FunkyMonkiBaby @ Aug 24 2011, 05:26 PM)
It is a good day for the Joes to die!

Added on August 26, 2011, 8:56 amMy parcel arrived safely from Cobra HQ.

Opened sesame!!

All troopers accounted for. flex.gif

Luv the smell of napalm for breakfast. sweat.gif
Oh hey, your stuffs finally arrived! You had it delivered to your office? Really awesome haul, dude! You manage to even get 1 Cobra Viper, congrats! Now you need moar! biggrin.gif

And yes, it's a good day for the Joes to DIE!

I also have my haul as well tongue.gif

I went to the main post office today to collect 3 items smile.gif

1987 Cobra Wolf (with Ice Viper, missing 2 sais. This makes it my second Cobra Wolf), 1989 H.I.S.S. II (with Track Viper, missing 1 pistol. H.I.S.S. II missing 2 retainer bars and 1 missile. This makes it my second H.I.S.S. II, i still got 2 more waiting to be delivered) and the 2009 25th Anniversary Alley Viper (making it my third 25th alley viper on hand) smile.gif

This post has been edited by Sadistic Reaper: Aug 27 2011, 10:57 AM

0.0344sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:40 PM