Investment (Local and International), Everything About Investment

low yat 82
post Aug 9 2006, 05:26 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

"1. It is safer to invest in liquid assets than illiquid ones because it is easier for you to get your money out of the investment.

2. Examples of assets that are easily converted into cash include blue chip and money market securities."

wanna ask, wat is blue chip?
low yat 82
post Aug 10 2006, 08:37 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Aug 9 2006, 05:47 PM)
There's one online banking thread existed at Internet Related.

It also discusses banking matters.
can u show me d link to it? coz i cant find it >.<
low yat 82
post Aug 10 2006, 11:27 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

i think this one is good wink.gif

http://www.investopedia.com/university/beginner/
low yat 82
post Aug 10 2006, 04:16 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Aug 10 2006, 11:19 AM)
question for the gurus.

what are the easiest/safest type of investment to play with for beginners who just step into the world of investment?

i heard a lot of people invest in unit trust/mutual fund.how does it works?
i jus read and found out that mutual funds is bacisally giv our money to d pro and let them invest for us...

Advantages of Mutual Funds:
. Professional Management - The primary advantage of funds (at least theoretically) is the professional management of your money. Investors purchase funds because they do not have the time or the expertise to manage their own portfolios. A mutual fund is a relatively inexpensive way for a small investor to get a full-time manager to make and monitor investments.

. Diversification - By owning shares in a mutual fund instead of owning individual stocks or bonds, your risk is spread out. The idea behind diversification is to invest in a large number of assets so that a loss in any particular investment is minimized by gains in others. In other words, the more stocks and bonds you own, the less any one of them can hurt you (think about Enron). Large mutual funds typically own hundreds of different stocks in many different industries. It wouldn't be possible for an investor to build this kind of a portfolio with a small amount of money.

. Economies of Scale - Because a mutual fund buys and sells large amounts of securities at a time, its transaction costs are lower than what an individual would pay for securities transactions.

. Liquidity - Just like an individual stock, a mutual fund allows you to request that your shares be converted into cash at any time.

. Simplicity - Buying a mutual fund is easy! Pretty well any bank has its own line of mutual funds, and the minimum investment is small. Most companies also have automatic purchase plans whereby as little as $100 can be invested on a monthly basis.

Disadvantages of Mutual Funds:
. Professional Management - Did you notice how we qualified the advantage of professional management with the word "theoretically"? Many investors debate whether or not the so-called professionals are any better than you or I at picking stocks. Management is by no means infallible, and, even if the fund loses money, the manager still takes his/her cut. We'll talk about this in detail in a later section.

. Costs - Mutual funds don't exist solely to make your life easier - all funds are in it for a profit. The mutual fund industry is masterful at burying costs under layers of jargon. These costs are so complicated that in this tutorial we have devoted an entire section to the subject.

. Dilution - It's possible to have too much diversification. Because funds have small holdings in so many different companies, high returns from a few investments often don't make much difference on the overall return. Dilution is also the result of a successful fund getting too big. When money pours into funds that have had strong success, the manager often has trouble finding a good investment for all the new money.

. Taxes - When making decisions about your money, fund managers don't consider your personal tax situation. For example, when a fund manager sells a security, a capital-gains tax is triggered, which affects how profitable the individual is from the sale. It might have been more advantageous for the individual to defer the capital gains liability.

but... i think mutual is good for beginner like me tongue.gif

low yat 82
post Aug 10 2006, 04:51 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Aug 10 2006, 04:35 PM)
Mutual fund is not as easy as you think it is. Do read through the tutorial at investopedia to understand what is loaded/no-load mutual fund. It's not simply about dumping your money into a MF and that's it.

There are alot of unethical mutual fund provider out there so do beware.

This is one of the important bit.

http://www.investopedia.com/university/mut...utualfunds2.asp
so does it mean that, for this one

Fees can be broken down into two categories:
1. Ongoing yearly fees to keep you invested in the fund.
2. Transaction fees paid when you buy or sell shares in a fund (loads).

if it is unload, then d onli fees that i need to pay is 1. onli?
low yat 82
post Aug 10 2006, 05:05 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

- Removed -

tell me more ab it.... hhmmmm....... no. 1 unit trust manager ......

This post has been edited by Geminist: Aug 10 2006, 05:06 PM
low yat 82
post Aug 11 2006, 09:01 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Aug 11 2006, 02:33 AM)
rather than no action talk only, i will try to do the FD next week.but i read the requirement it says the online FD service is only available for allied wat before the merge with maybank.

will try to invest in the unit trust too,it seems easier and can start with just rm500, take it as tuition fees.

gemimist,did you apply your online FD here in uk or in malaysia?what are the document i need to apply one?
and also if i put this amount into FD,can i put more money in in the next month?or you have to stick with it until the period of FD end?
ermm.... any one can pm me the link to FD requirement?ccoz i dun think can post d link here i guess wink.gif

wats d % of money that i can earn? btw, now onli got rm500-600 as beginning....

@geminist
thanks for d input wink.gif

This post has been edited by low yat 82: Aug 11 2006, 09:02 AM
low yat 82
post Aug 11 2006, 09:49 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

i alrewady found out that d FD interest is around 3-4%

btw, i see mmost service charge or fees (for load) is around 0.5-7%

hmmm...i wonder where can i find unload funds.....

This post has been edited by low yat 82: Aug 11 2006, 09:52 AM
low yat 82
post Aug 11 2006, 11:31 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Aug 11 2006, 11:07 AM)
actually FD is only a better way of saving money rather than threat it like an investment...unless you put hundreds of thousand in it in a longer period.

try unit trust.try with the minimum amount of rm500,i am trying too next week if i successfully apply maybank2u.com.gonna learn step by step. what is the unload or load fund you talk about?
unload means no need pay agent money of service charge or transfer fee...

load means need to pay....

i.e. Service Charge 0.25% of NAV per unit

read this one... http://www.investopedia.com/university/mut...utualfunds2.asp

@cherroy
thanks for d info

This post has been edited by low yat 82: Aug 11 2006, 11:34 AM
low yat 82
post Aug 12 2006, 09:45 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 12 2006, 09:17 AM)
1) 6 months FD.  After 6 months, you get $10,000 + $175 = $10,175

2) 1 Month FD. After 6 months, you get $10,000 + $156 =  $10,156

We teach this in standard 6 of Chinese primary school.

Dreamer
wat r u doin... rclxub.gif

1month FD... after 6 month the n go get d money???

i think d calculation is that, 12month-> full interest is 3.1% so each month is 3.1/12=0.2583%

if put 1 month, so money u get is 0.2583% x 10000=25.83.

correct me if im wrong... i also learnin tongue.gif
low yat 82
post Aug 12 2006, 10:21 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Aug 12 2006, 10:10 AM)
sorry wahai wahai expert semua...

the current issue now is to teach us the calculation of FD...and not teach us what to do with our money...

thanks for your help...

edit: yeah,i kinda embarrass my secondary school. tongue.gif
hhm.... if like that, i think satu kali FD alot will b better.... see this

6month FD
satu kali rm60000 -> 60000 x 3.5/100x0.5 = 1050

each month FD 10000 for 6 month
10000x 3.1/100 x 31/365( or use 1/12)=26.33
so, after 6 month = 158 onli!!!

diffrent ab 892!!!
low yat 82
post Aug 12 2006, 10:29 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

@geminist

i refresh bc at d front of this thread and saw that acat u buy two MF

wanna ask does both ur fund is ab to cover d expenses of anual fee and also service charges?

any money go in smile.gif

if u feel its too private u can pm me...thanks
low yat 82
post Aug 12 2006, 10:41 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 12 2006, 10:30 AM)
Hi Folks,

Let's make something very clear here.  I am assuming you are putting money into FD for 6 months. 

Case (A) -> you are putting money into 6 months FD

Case (B) -> You are putting money into 1 month FD and you are doing auto-renewal.  Your 1 month FD roll into a new 1 month FD every month automatically with the interest.  You are taking the money out after 6 months to make a fair comparison.  I am ignoring the number of days in a month to make a simpler comparison.
Now, I will calculate very slowly.
At time 0, you have $10,000.
Atfer month 1, you have interest of 0.031/12 = 0.0258
With 10,000, you earn 10,000 * 0.0258 = $25.80

After month 1, you have $10,025.80.  Now, you auto-renew into a new 1 month FD at 3.1% again. Your principal is at $10,025.80 now

After month 2, you earn interest of

$10,025.80 * 0.0258 = $25.87

After month 2, you have $10,025.80 + $25.87 = $10,051.67
And so on...

Let's call the principal as P
              Annual interest rate as I
              Number of months as N

The formula for amount after N months with one month FD is

P * ( 1 + I / N ) ^ N

Dreamer
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif rclxms.gif i left out d interest tongue.gif
low yat 82
post Aug 12 2006, 10:48 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 12 2006, 10:34 AM)
You are not even using the same amount of principal (60K versus 10K) for comparison..
Dreamer
awww..... sorry ... my mistake....it shud b each of it FD for 6 month....

so, its shud b same money... i mean each of it earns 175 -> 175x 6 =1050

low yat 82
post Aug 12 2006, 10:53 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

hmmm i bump to this statement from last time forummer.... wats ur opinion....

save ur money in bank = buried underground.

1 year 3.7% interest. if only u hav 100k in bank, the inflation > interest.

check how much the interest generate VS the extra money u pay after the price of the petrol increase.

remember 10k now is not 10k after 5 years. quoted in a book:

"bank is a place where dumb people put their money inside to let the wise people use them for investment and become richer."

low yat 82
post Aug 12 2006, 12:21 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 12 2006, 11:40 AM)
Lowyat82,

The inflation > interest thing is a bunch of BS anyhow.  Inflation is measured as per a normal average human being.

1) Nobody is a normal average human being.  So, if you are frugal, inflation may affect you less than other people.  If you pay off your car and house, it will affect you even less.

2) You have to think like "Rich Dad, Poor Dad".  It is all about cash flow.

Let's say you spend $30K per year.  If your salary plus investment income is $36K, you have 6K extra to invest every year.  If you put the money into FD, it will generate more cash flow for you.  If you keep this up, your cash flow will grow and eventually you will be well off.  They are people that I know that they only save money, buy house and FD.  They are doing fine too.

As long as your cash flow is positive and you invest your excess cash flow for asset ( things that generate cash flow as per RDPD), you will be fine in the long run.  You might be slow but you are steady.

I am not saying whether you should or should not buy Malaysian unit trust.  I am saying I know that I am not smart enough to invest in Malaysian unit trust.  It is not right for me.

Dreamer
ok.. thanks for ur comment... btw, does "Rich Dad, Poor Dad" got electronic version? last time my fren recommend taht book to me... but i dun read it >.<'

he only risky invetsment that I do in Malaysia is one banking stock that I can trust

can tell more ab banking stock? wats taht? something like shares?
low yat 82
post Aug 14 2006, 10:16 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 12 2006, 01:11 PM)
1) Yes, banking stock = share aka own the bank.

2) You can get the chinese version of the book very cheap.

Dreamer
sorry..dunno how to read chinese

btw, can u guide me on how to buy banking stock? or can u link me to any website on how this bankin stocks work? thanks...

it seems vry interesting ab this kind of stock... wink.gif
low yat 82
post Aug 14 2006, 11:13 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Aug 14 2006, 10:37 AM)
Lowyat82,

Someone else has to help you.  I had setup my A/C so long ago that I do not what is the new and correct procedure.  Please, do not do this for your bucket 1 and 2 money.  Stock market do crash and yopu need some emergency fund to survive first before you can talk about investing.

Dreamer
act... i survey 1st wether to invest in bankin stock or UT....i not yet invest coz now im savind for bucket 2 money....

.i think wit d money i hav saved from when i was small, can let me survive,at least 4month..shud i use this money to put at FD?

btw, i was thinkin to put like around rm1.2k every 2 month in FD... is this ok? i noe its not too much coz i jus started work.... so that, d money that i sav can get some interest rather than nothing wink.gif

low yat 82
post Aug 15 2006, 08:32 AM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Aug 15 2006, 06:48 AM)
thanks for replying,
assume that i had enough funds to cover my bucket 1 and 2,and i need some investment,do you reckon ASB is a good deal to pump all my bucket 3 funds in it? i try google ASB but nothing seems help for me to learn about it.
ASB is something like ASW2020?
if yup, i think u better put into it.... coz non-bumi simply cant put money in it now!!!

btw, last time i put rm1000(if not mistaken) and each year got dividend around rm70-110 @.@
low yat 82
post Aug 16 2006, 04:19 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

QUOTE(Marvin_86 @ Aug 16 2006, 03:34 PM)
how to buy gold coin??the cheapest gold coin is how much??
IMHO, d 1st step u shud do is learn to managing ur financial 1st b4 trying for investment in stock/ shares...

0.0475sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:46 PM