Investment (Local and International), Everything About Investment

Truth Practitioner
post Oct 18 2005, 09:49 PM

89 posts

If you want to invest in long-term, you can invest in mutual fund or stock market. Both can be long-term investment vehicle. However, you still need to time your investment to make sure that you get in when it is low and get out temporarily when it has reached its peak.

I don't believe in short term investing of share. It is very difficult to time your investment for short term, though not impossible. Furthermore, playing short-term share trading means you will have more transactions. With more transactions, you have to pay more fees to your broker.

FD and Bonds are very safe investment vehicles, but their return is very low. Your return may be eaten up by the higher inflation rate. Still, you can use them as a vehicle for your "emergency fund". Your fund here will not depreciate at all, unlike mutual fund and stock market.

Vince, I am very interested in investment. I am a business student now. What is the qualification to become an investment consultant? I am planning to take up CFP in the near future. What are the prospects like in this career?

Truth Practitioner
post Oct 19 2005, 01:38 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Oct 19 2005, 04:21 AM)
Hmm, then about stock...

Where do you actually go and look for stock??

I meant ppl kept on talking about looking at the stock/company's profile and etc... How do I start looking for a stock? IMHO, there are soooo many companies listed ....

*I'm not trying to invest in any now, just wanted to know how to start .... LIke where to look for info and how to evaluate the stock and etc smile.gif
I am not so sure how to go about looking for the best stock. I am still learning. I have never invested before.

From what I heard, you should choose the stock of companies in the industry which is currently on an uptrend. That means that industry is going to prosper in the future. You need to read up a lot to know what industry is going to be hot. Sometimes, you'll have to make your own prediction based on what you researched.

However, some people advise that we should not be concentrating only on one industry. They use the term "diversification". You should spread your investment across several industry. Preferably, choose industry that is not related to one another. The idea is to reduce your risk. When one industry fails, you can cover your losses from the profits you make from another industry which is prospering. But personally, I have doubts about how to go about diversifying... If one lose, one win, then we get nothing right? Haha!

In choosing a company, you need to ensure that it has a good track record. You don't want to buy a company that is making losses for the past 10 years and is on the brink of bankruptcy. Choose a company with steady and growing profit.

Correct me if I am wrong. I am still learning... Don't take my words too seriously...
Truth Practitioner
post Oct 21 2005, 08:13 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Assassin @ Oct 21 2005, 09:05 AM)
Oversea investment is a good steps to take but where can we start?
I have been following an article that appears every weekend (either Saturday or Sunday in The Star) on investing in foreign country. It seems that there are certain funds that let you put your money in foreign countries' investment vehicles. However, I am not sure whether we can invest as individuals.
(Correct me if I am wrong)
Truth Practitioner
post Oct 24 2005, 12:56 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Assassin @ Oct 23 2005, 09:51 PM)
And even if we can invest oversea, it need a huge amount of money maybe 10k above. Local market not so good now, very hard to invest.
Yeah, if you were to invest overseas on your own, you need to have a huge capital. But I think there are a few funds available catering for such need. They pool all small capital together to invest abroad. What funds? I have no idea... Maybe someone can enlighten us here...
Truth Practitioner
post Oct 24 2005, 01:06 PM

89 posts

I have read "The Armchair Millionaire". The authors emphasized so much on the effectiveness of "dollar cost averaging". Basically, the idea is to set aside a fixed amount of money to the stock market every month regardless of the market condition. This will work if the market is on an uptrend in the longterm. That's the case in US.

What about KLSE? Is it on an uptrend in the longterm, say 10 years? What is the average yearly increase? Can the average beat other return rates from other vehicles like bond and FD?

This post has been edited by Truth Practitioner: Oct 24 2005, 01:09 PM
Truth Practitioner
post Oct 25 2005, 11:14 AM

89 posts

This is how dollar cost averaging works. You set aside a fixed amount of money to be invested into the stock market every month. Let's say you are going to set aside RM1000 every month. So every month, regardless of the market condition (bullish or bearish), you keep on setting aside that RM1000 and put into the share market.

So when the market is down, with that RM1000, you can buy more shares. Why? Because the shares are now cheaper, so your RM1000 can buy more of the cheaper shares! So what happens if the market is high?

When it is high, the shares will be more expensive, so you will only be able to buy fewer shares.

So assuming that in the long term the KLSE is on an uptrend, your shares value will increase. Thus, your investment gets positive returns!

But I am not sure whether this works in Malaysia. First, we need to know whether the KLSE is on an uptrend in the long term. Anyone can clarify this to us? I don't have the data. Secondly, if the KLSE is really on an uptrend, we have to make sure that the average yearly increase is more than the return rates in other investment vehicles.

(Please correct me if I am wrong. I am still a learner...)
Truth Practitioner
post Oct 25 2005, 07:38 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(lklatmy @ Oct 25 2005, 03:37 PM)
Let me give the other side of the story.
I'm licensed to deal in shares,futures and unit trust and my experience can be considered as  long, more than the age of majority of u.Im in my 50s.My background is in  accounting .

No one know for sure when the market is going up or coming down,(else ,he will be a millionare long time go)so, no one can advise you precisely when to enter or exit the market.At the end of the day,you,as the investor yourself,hv to make the final decision,Your Dealer's Representive can only advise you and he could be wrong in his assessment.

Secondly,I must stress that in any profession,the interest of big clients are always better taken care of.So,if your volume is not big,you will still be entertained but don't expect to be served like a big customer.Sorry to say this but it's a fact of life!You should follow the market closely and ask for opinion from your Remisier.

And one advice from me,don't go for short term trading in the stock market,invest on a long term basis and I 've seen people making money in the stock market this way.

To make things clear,Remisier =Dealer's Representative,Future broker=FBR or Futures Broker's Representative.
I am really glad that someone like you is joining this thread. We need more experienced people like you! Please do post more often and share out your knowledge!
Truth Practitioner
post Oct 25 2005, 07:40 PM

89 posts

What is the long term trend of KLSE? Up, down or no changes?
Truth Practitioner
post Oct 25 2005, 09:15 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Oct 25 2005, 08:21 PM)
If someone can tell you the long term trend of KLSE, most probably it's speculation..

Seriously, IMHO, no one could predict the trend in a market, they can analyze the trend of a certain stock whether it's bull or bear ... But not the trend for the whole KLSE market..

If this can easily be done, we wouldn't be seeing only ONE Warren Buffett now ... smile.gif
No, you misunderstood me already. What I meant is the long term trend of KLSE from the available historical data. Perhaps from the year 1990 to today, what is the trend? Is it on an uptrend or downtrend.

According to the authors of "The Armchair Millionaires", the long term trend of the US stock market is always an uptrend. This is proven by the historical data available which spanned years back. So the author is implying that the stock market is a good vehicle for long term investment especially by using their method called "dollar cost averaging".

So now, what is the historical trend of KLSE? HAHA! That's a better way of questioning, I guess.
Truth Practitioner
post Oct 25 2005, 09:59 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Oct 25 2005, 09:26 PM)
Oh ... Guess I misunderstood your question smile.gif
---
About the trend in KLSE, I'm not sure about the details, but this is the story one of my ex finance lecturer told me...

She told me that the economy/share market of Malaysia is not that easy to predict as the economy/share market is heavily influenced by politics ... Is this true?
Haha! Personally I feel there's no politics involved directly in the share market. Note the word "directly".

Can politics influence the economy? Certainly yes! Politics directly determine the economic policies of a country which will influence the economy. Since the economy affects the share market, you can say that politics indirectly influence the share market (note the word "indirectly").

It's something like this...

Politics--->Economic policies---->Economy---->Share market
Truth Practitioner
post Oct 26 2005, 01:28 PM

89 posts

lklatmy,
Thank you for contributing here. I hope you will be posting more often so that we can continuously learn from you, the experienced one.

Since you have years of experience, do you know what is the long term trend for KLSE from historical data? Is it on an uptrend?
Truth Practitioner
post Oct 27 2005, 12:24 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Oct 27 2005, 11:48 AM)
Hi there,

Just wanna ask your opinion why is it the derivatives market in Malaysia being so illiquid ? Other than FCPO and FKLI (or maybe FKB3) the others are so dead, even the OKLI has had no trade for almost two-year period. What could be the factors leading to this ? Is it investor's education or the product itself is simply not good enough to meet investors' demand?

Thanks  smile.gif
Wha is derivatives market and how does it work? I don't have any idea... I hope we can promote learning here.
Truth Practitioner
post Oct 28 2005, 02:42 PM

89 posts

In your opinion, do you think it is possible to time the market and gain from short term trading? There are so many seminars advertised daily in the newspapers claiming to teach people to time the market. They even show the pictures of those who successfully did it. I am really sceptical about this. Anyone been to such seminars before?
Truth Practitioner
post Oct 31 2005, 09:25 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(khoong25 @ Oct 31 2005, 11:29 AM)
I'm an advocate of short-term trading ... so I do believe in it.  It is all about risk management, position sizing, and discipline ...
Is it difficult to learn technical analysis? Have you ever made money from short term trading using technical analysis?

Truth Practitioner
post Nov 2 2005, 11:15 AM

89 posts

I think we still need to time the market even if we are investing for the long term, am I right? This is because you'd rather buy when the market is low and let it grow to its peak. Sell it off at its peak and wait for another "low". Errr... now this sounds a little bit like short term trading...

So do you actually time the market if you invest in long term? I feel there is still a need to time the market...

And do you believe in "dollar cost averaging"?
Truth Practitioner
post Nov 2 2005, 03:20 PM

89 posts

If you have RM500 every month for a long term 15-year investment, where will you put the money?
Truth Practitioner
post Nov 7 2005, 07:43 PM

89 posts

I read an article in The Star business section today about a bond that is indexed to the inflation rate. The value of your principal will appreciate according to the inflation rate plus another interest rate (which is not very high, I think). The attractiveness about this type of bond is that your purchasing power will remain the same while you get to enjoy the benefits of an interest rate.

For illustrative purposes, assume an investor buys a one-year inflation-indexed bond that costs RM1,000 today, and promises a real return of 1.90%. 

If inflation turns out to be 3% by the end of one year, the face value of the bond will rise to RM1,030, and the bond will pay interest equal to 1.90% of RM1,030 or RM19.57. 

If inflation increases to 5%, the face value of the bond will rise to RM1,050, and the interest payment will be 1.90% of RM1,050 or RM19.95. 

For all the "sifu" here, do you think this bond is attractive? I think it can serve a very good purpose to place our emergency fund, right? If we withdraw our money from the bond before the predetermined date, are we going to get any interest? Wait, is there a predetermined date for withdrawal to start with?

(http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/11/7/business/12444972&sec=business)
Truth Practitioner
post Nov 8 2005, 01:23 AM

89 posts

Akina,

This is a very useful graph. Can you tell us where to find such graphs with other funds? It will be useful to compare these graph with graphs of other funds to know which funds are doing really well.

(Deleted quote which dragged the page longer)

This post has been edited by Truth Practitioner: Nov 8 2005, 01:26 AM
Truth Practitioner
post Nov 25 2005, 07:42 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(ky_khor @ Nov 24 2005, 04:05 PM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=160737

just want to hear some comment from the "si fu" here. The Autosurf/Online Forex sort of investment thread in Kopitiam.
Even well-known Internet Gurus like EOneNet's President and SenZe advised people to be very cautious in trying out this sort of "surf-to-get-money" investment*. They said the companies can actually collapse overnight. They are also not sure whether these companies are genuine companies. As one of them mentioned, would a company want to advertise if they know that their targeted group would just leave their computer on on an "autosurf" mode without even looking at their ad? But then again, they are not discounting the possibility that some of these companies might be genuine. What you should do is to invest without expecting too much. Do not park all your money there! Your money might disappear overnight. Just invest a little bit and pray a lot... As the previous forumer said, it's more like betting than investing...

*Read this from Personal Money
Truth Practitioner
post Dec 5 2005, 12:22 AM

89 posts

I have been following a column on young investors in StarBiz. I was surprised to find out about a few "weird" investments that people make. Some of these are:

1)Pokemon Cards
2)Painting
3)Watch
4)Jewellery
5)Wine

Personally, I do not consider these "weird" investments as investments although they might appreciate in value. Comment please...

0.0181sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:30 PM