Hardware Stylist Ultra Thin Notebook, The New Dell Vostro V131

ALeUNe
post Aug 23 2011, 09:10 AM

I'm the purebred with aristocratic pedigree
9,692 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Aug 22 2011, 11:52 PM)
Finally, a worthy review of V131 from Notebookcheck.com (in German):

As suspected, the temperature is not of concern in this notebook. This is Furmark + Prime95 running for 1 hour 23 minutes:

Max CPU Temp: 77C.  thumbup.gif
What was the room temperature?
Room temperature has a bigger or a more direct impact (on our system temperature) in our climate.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Aug 23 2011, 09:10 AM
ALeUNe
post Aug 24 2011, 09:59 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(aie.unwell @ Aug 24 2011, 09:24 AM)
stamina mode=hd3000, speed mode=HD 6470M. rclxms.gif
HD6470 is a "speed mode" over HD3000?
They are quite close in speed.
ALeUNe
post Aug 24 2011, 11:50 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Aug 24 2011, 10:48 AM)
Well, at least AMD driver have better quality in video and game
AMD/ATI does not have better driver.
But it does have better implementation of AA/AF and thus better IQ in games.
For video (assuming you're referring to 1080p content playback), I doubt you'll see difference.
ALeUNe
post Aug 24 2011, 11:57 AM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(joanneway @ Aug 24 2011, 11:54 AM)
aleune: nvidia got better driver? hmm.gif
For now, yes.
ALeUNe
post Aug 24 2011, 12:24 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(joanneway @ Aug 24 2011, 12:15 PM)
really? 2bad i dun have nvidia to test it. i dunno y a lot ppl said ati driver sux than nvidia. but ati graphics look better in quality.
I have Intel IGP, ATI and nVidia in my notebooks, HTPCs and desktop PCs.
ATI does have a problematic driver.
In terms of "solid" driver, both nVidia and Intel are delivering far less problematic drivers.

As I said, it is a known fact that both ATI and nVidia have better AF/AA implementation than Intel IGP therefore it looks better in games.

ALeUNe
post Aug 24 2011, 12:43 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(joanneway @ Aug 24 2011, 12:39 PM)
ok so wait next 3 yrs i will give nvidia a try-out!
nVidia might be going chapter 11 by year 2014. laugh.gif
ALeUNe
post Aug 24 2011, 02:34 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Aug 24 2011, 01:14 PM)
Better IQ = better driver isn't it? I just comparing between AMD and Intel not nvidia.
No, it is not. Better IQ doesn't mean better driver.

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Aug 24 2011, 03:34 PM
ALeUNe
post Aug 24 2011, 03:54 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Aug 24 2011, 03:12 PM)
I have prove that nVidia driver is more problematic than ATI driver:

1. Google search on "nvidia driver problem" returns 607,000 results
2. Google search on "ati driver problem" returns 327,000 results
3. Google search on "amd driver problem"returns on 71,700 results

As you can see, since AMD take over ATI, there is less problem. And the fact remain, both ATI+AMD still has far less problem than nVidia. rolleyes.gif

Facts aside, I been using AMD 5650 for almost a year, on a Switchable graphic some more, most problem can be solved by updating to latest driver. They have at least 1 driver every month. They continue to update their driver whenever there is new game. It's good enough for me.
I guess there is no right or wrong answer. It's more like a personal experience.
I am not sure whether it is the right way to collect the sample.
Just take it with a pinch of salt.
ATI
nVidia

I have nVidia and ATI GPU.
Based on my experience, I have had ZERO issues in various applications and games since day one with nVidia's factory driver.
I don't encounter a single issue in a subsequent update. Excellent compatibility. nVidia only update WHQL driver once every quarter.
I have been frequently updating the Radeon driver in my 3820TG. It still has the flickering issue and compatibility issue with some application.
I believe you have encountered unusable application after an update of ATI driver.

P/S I disabled the switchable mode for my 3820TG since day one. It's in discrete mode.
Now, with Nahalem i7 in my 3820TG, it has to run in discrete mode permanently. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ALeUNe: Aug 24 2011, 04:07 PM
ALeUNe
post Aug 24 2011, 06:07 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(joanneway @ Aug 24 2011, 04:10 PM)
but cow dun have flickering issue on his 3820TG!
For my case, how do I know it is a flickering?
I don't see flickering in my other notebooks with the same application, OS and content.

Many don't even aware it is flickering issue.
Some don't see it. Some feel it's a thorn in the flesh. Some don't see it a problem and just ignore it.
I seldom game or watch movie on it. I only use it when I'm on business trip.
So, for me, I don't see it is a huge problem and I just "live" with it.
But deep down I know there are still huge rooms for improvements for ATI's driver.

Anyway, just want to share this when we touch on "xxx offers better driver".
You don't have to agree with me.
ALeUNe
post Aug 26 2011, 09:12 PM

9,692 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Aug 26 2011, 08:48 PM)
Hi guys, since now the pricings for the Dell Inspiron 13R has been lowered; what do you think about these laptops? Yeah I know they're outdated in terms of technology, but for normal usage they seemed okay? hmm.gif

Dell (Specs customizable)
Inspiron 13R, i3-380M + Intel HD@RM1699
Inspiron 13R, i5-480M + Intel HD@RM1929
You can get Sandy Bridge i3 at almost the same price. No?

0.0202sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:59 AM