> Top scorers get chance to study medicine, In UM, reject SG, HK, UK.

ZeroSOFInfinity
post Aug 16 2011, 11:07 AM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(8difier @ Aug 16 2011, 10:56 AM)
Our EDUCATION level is PATHETIC... it's the EDUCATION MINISTRYwhere the probs lie
Fixed. Totally. blush.gif
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Aug 16 2011, 11:25 AM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Aug 16 2011, 10:53 AM)

Twin sisters Aimee Teong Chuin Ai and Charlotte Teong Chuin Yi have been offered seats to study finance and economics from several top universities in Britain, Hong Kong and Singapore.

However, the two top STPM achievers had to decline because all they wanted to do was to study medicine at Universiti Malaya (UM).

The dreams of the 20-year-old twins finally came true when MCA Youth chief Datuk Dr Wee Ka Siong presented them with the offer letters during a ceremony at Wisma MCA yesterday.

Dr Wee said the sisters had selected medicine, dentistry and actuarial science as their top three choices

Initially, elder sister Aimee obtained the offer to study actuarial science at UM while Charlotte was offered the same course at Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM).

“However, after giving much consideration to the courses available, both of them realised that they wanted to pursue their favourite subject of medicine,” he said after a press conference here yesterday.

See how they spin the story? The offers from universities in UK, HK and Singapore does not even relate to the article, but they put it in to give an impression that it is better to study in the local universities.
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Aug 16 2011, 11:36 AM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(tiffa @ Aug 16 2011, 11:33 AM)
and why never mention the NAMES of the TOP UNIVERSITIES  biggrin.gif

if OXFORD, CAMBRIDGE, NUS, HKUST... why dun name them  wink.gif
Lol.... same minds think alike icon_idea.gif
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Aug 16 2011, 11:43 AM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(seiken @ Aug 16 2011, 11:41 AM)
My dear UTM lecturer,

You fail to see the big picture. All these 6000 doctors will be absorbed into Ministry of Health to serve their housemanship. You have no idea how serious it is currently with such a big number of doctors flooding the hospitals. One department has up to 60-70 house officers when the number of patients remained much the same. Previously 1-2 house officer is in charge of one whole ward but now one house officers is in charge of 4-5 patients.

With so many procedures to perform, to observe, to learn there is inadequate exposure. The govt is so desperate that small district hospitals e.g. Hospital Tanah Merah in Kelantan is opened up for housemanship. No specialist, no expertise, no facilities, what do you think these doctors will become?
QFT. My bro's gf who is working as a pharmacist in Sungai Buloh Hospital told me that there is a ratio of 10 doctors to 1 patient in the hospital.

I mean, seriously? What you think this is - House MD?

This post has been edited by ZeroSOFInfinity: Aug 16 2011, 11:43 AM
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Aug 16 2011, 11:56 AM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(seiken @ Aug 16 2011, 11:52 AM)
That's right...starting Sept with the exception of HUKM (October), all hospitals with house officers will start the shift system. Shorter working hours, no on call allowance.

It's a sad situation. Seriously dentistry is the way to go. Less competitive, not saturated and you get to treat patients as well.
And don't forget pharmacists. They are quite in high demand now, I hear.
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Aug 16 2011, 12:03 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(slimey @ Aug 16 2011, 12:00 PM)
ugh..........

in malaysia they are mere convenient shop with license to sell drugs.......

without a law that says only pharmacist are able to dispense drug.........nothing to look out for actually

hey....i even see pharmacy selling chips, ice-cream, junk food..........yeaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh....F that crap
Well, there's Guardian, Caring and Watsons springing up all around nowadays.... brows.gif
ZeroSOFInfinity
post Aug 16 2011, 12:14 PM

3,703 posts

QUOTE(joe_mamak @ Aug 16 2011, 12:05 PM)
But if there is such a law, means doctors can't dispense drugs.  Maybe I am just too used to the way things are now at the moment, you go to the clinic, you go see the doctor and you get the drugs as well.
You are not wrong actually. My company runs a clinic, and previously we have a pharmacy set up in front, so that when the doctor prescribed drugs, the patient will go to the pharmacist to get it.

When we realised later that the doctor can *actually* prescribe drugs WITHOUT going through the pharmacist, the company decided to scrap the pharmacy. Only when the patients require a "refill", the doctor will write a prescription letter for a nearby pharmacy.

0.0187sec    0.91    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:02 PM