~Acer Aspire TimelineX 4830TG Club V2~, i5-2430M GeForce® GT 540M @ RM2499

zuhaili87
post Nov 20 2012, 03:24 AM

2,094 posts

QUOTE(jimhorn @ Nov 7 2012, 11:08 AM)
How old is your laptop already? Time to change the battery soon.. 40% is just crazy!
Since june last year if im not mistaken, now my battery is officially need to change. adoi.. any idea where is a good acer service center around klang valley? hmm.gif

here's current wear level. cry.gif

jimhorn
post Nov 20 2012, 09:56 AM

407 posts

QUOTE(zuhaili87 @ Nov 20 2012, 03:24 AM)
Since june last year if im not mistaken, now my battery is officially need to change. adoi.. any idea where is a good acer service center around klang valley?  hmm.gif

here's current wear level.  cry.gif

Oh my god that's a crazy amount of battery wear. You better go get it fix asap after you're done finishing important stuff on your laptop.

Btw, a simple google brought me to the following site;

Acer Service Centres Malaysia

The closest service centres that I can find around Klang Valley is;

Highpoint HQ (Selangor)
1 Jalan TP6, Sime UEP Industrial Park, Subang Jaya, 47600 Subang Jaya, Selangor.
Acer Call Center: 1-800-88-1918 [9.00AM to 6.00PM / Monday to Friday]
Tel: 03-8026 6226 Fax: 03-8024 5100

Highpoint Low Yat Plaza
Lot 4.20, 4th Floor, Plaza Low Yat, Off Jalan Bukit Bintang, 55100 Kuala Lumpur [10.30am to 9.00pm/ Daily]
Tel: 03-2141 2942 Fax: NA

Highpoint 32 Square
B-05-01, 3 Two Square, No.2, Jalan 19/1, 46300 Petaling Jaya, Selangor
[10.00am to 8.00pm Monday to Friday]
[10.00am to 3.00pm on Saturday]
[Closed on Sunday]
Tel: 03-74960188 Fax: 03-74960188

Hope it helps. Do post the price they are charging up here once you have sent your laptop in for the battery change
zuhaili87
post Nov 26 2012, 06:56 PM

2,094 posts

Ok, thanks bro for ur information, BUT.. i still haven't send my laptop yet.

Because i really thought they would cover the warranty for battery also, since i bought the supercare to extend 3 years warranty. But nahh, when i ask them, they said battery only cover within the first year, that sucks. Then there is no use to buy the supercare warranty since it doesn't covered important hardware like the battery. Here's what they said:

Dear Zuhaili,

Thank you for contacting Acer.

Pertaining to your enquiry, the battery shall come with 1 year warranty only regardless of the length of the notebook's warranty as per our warranty terms and conditions.

Really damn, i guess i have to pay around RM300 for a new battery. But no budget right now, i have a question, can i just use my laptop even-tho the battery need replacement? It can run only 1 hour on battery now but i don't care since i always use DC. So it's ok if i don't change the battery right? or will the battery harm my laptop? sweat.gif
alien1959
post Dec 1 2012, 09:59 AM

44 posts

Hello fellow TimelineX 4830TG Owners! smile.gif

I wanted to ask, has anyone replaced their battery with Acer?

If so, did you approach the reseller or went to Service centre straight? How was the experience?

I wanted to ask because my warranty expires this month, and using BatteryCare with all the calibration, my wear level is at 15.45% !

from the sanyo designed capacity of 66600 mWh to a current total capacity of 56310 mWh

Battery on power save on last about 2.5 hours with movie running.

Thanks! smile.gif

PS: kesian bro zuhaili87 though. 40 percent gosh!

This post has been edited by alien1959: Dec 1 2012, 10:03 AM
anderyna
post Dec 18 2012, 10:46 PM

Design Freak.. Muahahaha
1,072 posts

was thinkng of upgrading my ram, how much is the 4gb ram now??
alien1959
post Dec 20 2012, 10:36 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(anderyna @ Dec 18 2012, 10:46 PM)
was thinkng of upgrading my ram, how much is the 4gb ram now??
I bought last year at around rm80. prices dont change much... also remember to get a ram with same speed as the one you bought! if not you'll get bsods and irql_not_equal errors smile.gif

Added on December 20, 2012, 10:52 pm
QUOTE(alien1959 @ Dec 1 2012, 09:59 AM)
Hello fellow TimelineX 4830TG Owners! smile.gif

I wanted to ask, has anyone replaced their battery with Acer?

If so, did you approach the reseller or went to Service centre straight? How was the experience?

I wanted to ask because my warranty expires this month, and using BatteryCare with all the calibration, my wear level is at 15.45% !

from the sanyo designed capacity of 66600 mWh to a current total capacity of 56310 mWh

Battery on power save on last about 2.5 hours with movie running.

Thanks! smile.gif

PS: kesian bro zuhaili87 though. 40 percent gosh!
Sadly, this thread is dead, but for the spirit of the Internet I will post my experience.

I sent the laptop to Highpoint PJ branch, the main branch is the USJ one. Apparently further reports go there.

Anyways, my warranty was due to expire in a week. So i dropped it off there, telling them my wear level is 12 percent and also it doesn't last long anymore. They told me to wait at least 3 business days. Fine. I had to pay RM3 too just for the private parking there. FYI, the service center is inside this business area opposite the Toyota Service center/showroom.

3 working days and 2 off days (sat and sun) later, I received an sms saying it was repaired. I was kinda happy. so I went to pick it up. Asked them if they replaced my battery, the guy said NO.

So I took all the pains, got false hope telling me it was repaired, but in the end, it wasn't at all.

Instead I asked him what he did, he said he charged up the unit, tweaked the power settings (set to power saver and all) and LEFT IT ON THE SHELF from morning till "petang" (afternoon) and said there was no problem at all. He said he used Hardware monitor too. IT WAS NORMAL. =.= Leaving the unit there and not doing anything sure can last lah =.=

So I asked him about the wear level, he said need to be 20 percent and above. My god, write it somewhere in the manual or online lah. Waste of my time.

In the end I got back my laptop untouched, and also my warranty isn't extended, in fact expired on the same day too. And they didnt extend because the 90 day extension is only if it was repaired, which they didn't =.= That also took them 3 days.

Bit disappointed but what to do. In the end, I came home and flashed my BIOS with an unlocked version hahaha.

Cheers guys, and if the thread is dead, may it die in peace.
Hope this helps someone out there smile.gif

This post has been edited by alien1959: Dec 20 2012, 10:52 PM
anderyna
post Dec 21 2012, 04:50 PM

Design Freak.. Muahahaha
1,072 posts

QUOTE(alien1959 @ Dec 20 2012, 10:36 PM)
I bought last year at around rm80. prices dont change much... also remember to get a ram with same speed as the one you bought! if not you'll get bsods and irql_not_equal errors smile.gif

Added on December 20, 2012, 10:52 pm
Sadly, this thread is dead, but for the spirit of the Internet I will post my experience.

I sent the laptop to Highpoint PJ branch, the main branch is the USJ one. Apparently further reports go there.

Anyways, my warranty was due to expire in a week. So i dropped it off there, telling them my wear level is 12 percent and also it doesn't last long anymore. They told me to wait at least 3 business days. Fine. I had to pay RM3 too just for the private parking there. FYI, the service center is inside this business area opposite the Toyota Service center/showroom.

3 working days and 2 off days (sat and sun) later, I received an sms saying it was repaired. I was kinda happy. so I went to pick it up. Asked them if they replaced my battery, the guy said NO.

So I took all the pains, got false hope telling me it was repaired, but in the end, it wasn't at all.

Instead I asked him what he did, he said he charged up the unit, tweaked the power settings (set to power saver and all) and LEFT IT ON THE SHELF from morning till "petang" (afternoon) and said there was no problem at all. He said he used Hardware monitor too. IT WAS NORMAL. =.= Leaving the unit there and not doing anything sure can last lah =.=

So I asked him about the wear level, he said need to be 20 percent and above. My god, write it somewhere in the manual or online lah. Waste of my time.

In the end I got back my laptop untouched, and also my warranty isn't extended, in fact expired on the same day too. And they didnt extend because the 90 day extension is only if it was repaired, which they didn't =.= That also took them 3 days.

Bit disappointed but what to do. In the end, I came home and flashed my BIOS with an unlocked version hahaha.

Cheers guys, and if the thread is dead, may it die in peace.
Hope this helps someone out there smile.gif
the ram they accept trade in ? o.0
dont really what to do with the old one, lol
alien1959
post Dec 26 2012, 10:25 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(anderyna @ Dec 21 2012, 04:50 PM)
the ram they accept trade in ? o.0
dont really what to do with the old one, lol
Er, I don't think so? Never tried, why'd you want to trade in new extra ram anyway?
If you really did want to get rid of it, sell it in the Garage sales here smile.gif
TSkyu85
post Jan 3 2013, 07:27 PM

Zzzzzz
1,028 posts

help... any idea how to solve this?

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
alien1959
post Jan 15 2013, 11:42 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(kyu85 @ Jan 3 2013, 07:27 PM)
help... any idea how to solve this?

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Did u play with your BIOS settings? You need to change the graphic option in the BIOS from Integrated back to Switchable wink.gif
m4t3y
post Jan 16 2013, 06:05 AM

Hello everyone...anyone tried installing different windows version on their notebook?

I recently got a second hand 4830TG that I always wanted and after installing non-acer branded windows 7 64bit I noticed the power saving button no longer works. I have installed all the drivers that acer provides on their support page.

When I got the notebook the power saving button was working. I actually tested it before purchase and run 3dmark06 and got a score of just 4400. Later after purchase I ran it again with the power saving button off and I got 8880 (the notebook has i5-2430 although it is the 4830TG-2414G64Mnbb model).

I've read that the acer system on the recovery partition is pre-filled with lot of bloatware that slow the pc down so during reinstall I got rid of the recovery partition. It was 15GBs and 14.6GB were used when I unhidden it and had a look what is there before reinstalling.

I also disassembled the notebook to repaste it with Thermalright Chillstream. Before my CPU got up to 87-88 degrees during 3dmark which was kinda close to 93 degrees when the throttling occurs and after repasting it only went to 75 degrees. I also flashed the bios to the latest 1.12 version and reseted bios to factory defaults after flash.

Also unlike other 4830TG notebooks I've seen mine has the big double row enter which is great.

EDIT: I just noticed there are some power management applications as well in the apps section so I hope that will sort it out

EDIT 2: yup got it working after installing the apps

btw will I be able to upgrade the cpu for some 3rd gen i5 cpus? there are some nice looking ones even within the 35w tdp range....i5-3360M (2.8/3.5) or i5-3470T (2.9/3.6)

not that I would need it now but would be nice to know I have some options for upgrading later...won't be gaming much on the lappy since I have a desktop pc for gaming but I might fire up some older game once in a while when out of home...also the 3ghz is probably enough already for 540M....the first thing I want to do is get the dvd to hdd caddy (already ordered one) and get myself an ssd...after that the notebook will be pretty much perfect for my needs

This post has been edited by m4t3y: Jan 16 2013, 08:20 AM
TSkyu85
post Jan 16 2013, 11:56 PM

Zzzzzz
1,028 posts

QUOTE(alien1959 @ Jan 15 2013, 11:42 PM)
Did u play with your BIOS settings? You need to change the graphic option in the BIOS from Integrated back to Switchable wink.gif

i din change anything in the bios... last time it can but now cannot... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
alien1959
post Jan 25 2013, 07:15 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(m4t3y @ Jan 16 2013, 06:05 AM)

btw will I be able to upgrade the cpu for some 3rd gen i5 cpus? there are some nice looking ones even within the 35w tdp range....i5-3360M (2.8/3.5) or i5-3470T (2.9/3.6)

not that I would need it now but would be nice to know I have some options for upgrading later...won't be gaming much on the lappy since I have a desktop pc for gaming but I might fire up some older game once in a while when out of home...also the 3ghz is probably enough already for 540M....the first thing I want to do is get the dvd to hdd caddy (already ordered one) and get myself an ssd...after that the notebook will be pretty much perfect for my needs
FYI I installed a vanilla version of windows (to get rid of bloat) and the powersaver button works okay. as for upgrading the cpu, im not sure at all and I dunt suggest u try unless you know what you are doing. Have you tried it before?

QUOTE(kyu85 @ Jan 16 2013, 11:56 PM)
i din change anything in the bios... last time it can but now cannot... rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
-Hmm, then im not sure bro sad.gif send to acer sad.gif
druxx
post Feb 5 2013, 10:47 PM

Hello to everyone,

thank you very much for a lot of usefull information, I´m also fighting with the throttle-problem.
I find throttlestop very usefull, upgraded to the latest nvidia-driver (Ver. 310.90) without a problem (no .inf-file needed but no improve in performance noticable: is that normal?) and Far Cry 3 runs at 30-40 fps with low settings - so far so good.
But I would like to try overclocking my graphics card with nvidia inspector and have trouble doing so. GPU Clock
can´t be changed since it is greyed out - why is that? Do I need to install windows without all the acer trash?

My system:
4830TG, WIN7 64Bit, i5-2430M, GT 540M with 2GB

Maybe this thread isn´t dead after all, hopefully whistling.gif icon_question.gif
dentistry1
post Feb 27 2013, 09:37 PM

my battery also died yesterday after 2years. i think acer has planted a time bomb to our battery so that we can't use the battery for more than 2 years.
fisherman10
post Mar 3 2013, 07:55 PM

1,372 posts

mannnn My battery level is 81.3% and I hardly used it.

Could it be coz I really really seldom used it? So the battery like always drain until gone by itself. And now it cant last long.

Just now I left it there, I saw batt level was 63% and windows says has about 3 hours left. But after 5 mins, it hibernate by itself.

How much does it cost to change the battery?
kuanz
post Mar 19 2013, 09:47 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(fisherman10 @ Mar 3 2013, 07:55 PM)
mannnn My battery level is 81.3% and I hardly used it.

Could it be coz I really really seldom used it? So the battery like always drain until gone by itself. And now it cant last long.

Just now I left it there, I saw batt level was 63% and windows says has about 3 hours left. But after 5 mins, it hibernate by itself.
How much does it cost to change the battery?
rm280.
fisherman10
post Mar 19 2013, 10:11 PM

1,372 posts

QUOTE(kuanz @ Mar 19 2013, 09:47 PM)
rm280.
thanks bro!
tech_frix
post Mar 20 2013, 02:59 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

i want to sell my 4820TG..
anyone interested..?
gnome827
post Apr 1 2013, 04:19 PM

52 posts

Hi guys, my HD kaput/crashed. I don't have the recovery CD neither the drivers. Can anyone share me a link to download windows 7 home premium x64 for acer. tq

32 Pages « < 28 29 30 31 32 >Top

0.0333sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:22 PM