Concrete Slab or Wooden roof structure with tiles
TSdaxyaphw
Aug 15 2011, 10:36 AM, updated 15y ago
Dear All,
I am planning to extend existing front porch and back kitchen as I am thinking the options either concrete slab or wooden structure with tiles. I need an opinion of pro and cons on benefits which definitely $$ will be more expensive on slab. Appreciate your expert view. Thanks.
kelvyn
Aug 15 2011, 10:45 AM
For the back, if you have a RC slab, you can plan for future extension of your back rooms, etc. For the front porch, having a RC slab in place of the roof tiles look nicer (in my own personal opinion) Of course, the RC slab will be slightly more expensive that the timber roof with tiles. Just make sure you put in water proofing for the RC slabs. Depending on the size, the additional cost will not be too much.
weikee
Aug 15 2011, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(kelvyn @ Aug 15 2011, 10:45 AM) For the back, if you have a RC slab, you can plan for future extension of your back rooms, etc. For the front porch, having a RC slab in place of the roof tiles look nicer (in my own personal opinion) Of course, the RC slab will be slightly more expensive that the timber roof with tiles. Just make sure you put in water proofing for the RC slabs. Depending on the size, the additional cost will not be too much. Front if use open roof concept (without ceiling board), need to use nicer wood and will not cost too much compare to RC Slab. Disadvantage of RC slab is heat, and if not done properly may cause water leaking.
JinXXX
Aug 15 2011, 10:52 AM
RC slab would be much better has future extension possibilities.. or maybe can throw 1 or 2 water tank on top of it
weikee
Aug 15 2011, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(JinXXX @ Aug 15 2011, 10:52 AM) RC slab would be much better has future extension possibilities.. or maybe can throw 1 or 2 water tank on top of it  Jin, not all RC slab made for future extension. You need to specify to the contract. Cause they put difference footing and beam.
TSdaxyaphw
Aug 15 2011, 10:53 AM
Kelvyn, thanks for your reply. I am seeing having concrete RC slab with tiles is absolutely nicer. Now need to check on the cost for both.
JinXXX
Aug 15 2011, 10:56 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 15 2011, 10:53 AM) Jin, not all RC slab made for future extension. You need to specify to the contract. Cause they put difference footing and beam. thats very true... the beam might need to be bigger and the concrete grade a bit different... but the owner needs to know what he wants.. that one is contractor bikin punya ma  hehehhee
TSdaxyaphw
Aug 15 2011, 10:59 AM
Yeah, it is always debatable on what are the material used for RC Slab. I assume they will follow the industry standard which enable upper room extension in any time. If I tell them no intention to extend, they will probably use lesser material to support the weight and structure.
weikee
Aug 15 2011, 11:02 AM
Yes, they do difference for difference load and support requirement.
kelvyn
Aug 15 2011, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 15 2011, 11:52 AM) Front if use open roof concept (without ceiling board), need to use nicer wood and will not cost too much compare to RC Slab. Disadvantage of RC slab is heat, and if not done properly may cause water leaking. If going for exposed roof truss then use good quality timber with varnish. This will bring out the wood grains. Since using exposed roof truss, might as well go for the clay roof tiles. The bottom of the roof tiles are the same as the surface. With these, it may cost more than the RC slab All down to individual preference and the house theme
weikee
Aug 15 2011, 11:40 AM
QUOTE(kelvyn @ Aug 15 2011, 11:24 AM) If going for exposed roof truss then use good quality timber with varnish. This will bring out the wood grains. Since using exposed roof truss, might as well go for the clay roof tiles. The bottom of the roof tiles are the same as the surface. With these, it may cost more than the RC slab All down to individual preference and the house theme  That one very expensive loh. Try get the pressure treated wood too
kelvyn
Aug 15 2011, 12:49 PM
OK. If want cheap, then have to compromise.. use treated timber and the normal concrete roof tiles. Paint the back of the concrete roof tiles. This want a friend of mine did.
kingkong1
Aug 15 2011, 01:02 PM
If front using RC slab, then the distance from slab to gate fencing must not < 14 feet for MPPJ standard.
Mine couldn't do as I only have 12 feet distance.
weikee
Aug 15 2011, 01:24 PM
Put 6' slab, later add glass skylight loh.
kelvyn
Aug 15 2011, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 15 2011, 02:24 PM) Put 6' slab, later add glass skylight loh. Hahaha good suggestion
Jo_da48
Aug 15 2011, 02:00 PM
Front: I assuming you front extention with RC is without renovation permit, else only half on it will need to work on. Than it will depend without with roof tile better view that RC slap. If could use Roof tile, 1) Nice 2) RC is more hot 3) Maintainance more ease if any leaking, else never ending story.
For back, if you didn't inteed for future extention to second floor, than use roof tile , just imaging the RC on top and hot air coming down to Kitchen. If unsure than you better informed you contractor that you may plan future expention and you like the roof to be RC or tiles. So that when you extention take place you could just remove the tile and build slap across... But RC you will need carefull on leaking issus
weikee
Aug 15 2011, 02:15 PM
QUOTE(kelvyn @ Aug 15 2011, 01:50 PM) Because i am doing so
TSdaxyaphw
Aug 15 2011, 04:01 PM
You guys are really bunch of creative people.
weikee
Aug 15 2011, 04:22 PM
QUOTE(daxyaphw @ Aug 15 2011, 04:01 PM) You guys are really bunch of creative people. Because need to save money mah. if onlt skylight 12', cost me about 18k. If 1/2 slab is about RM 5k, + 9k for skylight. Save about 4k. And skylight don't have to install first. Pocket got money only add.
kingkong1
Aug 15 2011, 08:05 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 15 2011, 01:24 PM) Put 6' slab, later add glass skylight loh. Mine is different... the slab structure is there liaw, but with a big rectangle empty hole there. The purpose is to cover the hole. Added on August 15, 2011, 8:09 pmQUOTE(weikee @ Aug 15 2011, 04:22 PM) Because need to save money mah. if onlt skylight 12', cost me about 18k. If 1/2 slab is about RM 5k, + 9k for skylight. Save about 4k. And skylight don't have to install first. Pocket got money only add. What material you use for skylight, why so expensive keh? I once get quote for cengai pergola with solid Makron sheet about RM40/sf. This post has been edited by kingkong1: Aug 15 2011, 08:09 PM