> Driving a Malaysian car to Singapore, What's the procedure??? Serious Talk

Lester1987
post Aug 14 2011, 12:51 PM

2,017 posts

semua bagi wrong info kat sini.... kalau tak tau, jangan la mislead orang.

kalau nak bawa Msia car masuk SG, masuk saja macam biasa. 1st clearance is immigration clearance (aka chop passport). after you chop your passport, proceed to the LTA lane to purchase a Autopass. The LTA office is located after your immigration clearance and before the customs clearance. Autopass is a card that carry your car's registration plate, or you can call it your car's IC when it is in SG. It also serve as your Cash Card (we call it Touch N Go, they call it Cash Card) to pay your entry for car park, toll, etc etc. The card is $10 when you purchase it. It contain $4 value in it. (I wonder which fellow actually said 60 just now rclxub.gif ). They got no toll i Singapore, they call it ERP. When you drive a foreign car without the IU (the smart tag thingy) in Singapore, no matter how many ERP gantry you pass through, they will charge you a flat rate of $5 per day.

1 more thing, EZlink card is the card you use to take MRT. Autopass cannot serve as a EZlink card. EZLink card cannot serve as a autopass as well. Please dont get confuse by this.
Lester1987
post Aug 14 2011, 02:27 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Xabrius @ Aug 14 2011, 01:37 PM)
add:
Msia kastam, pick the middle lane after entering the BSI <= Optional, but Faster

Then terus proceed till SG kastam... On the bridge, take notes of the LED panels, left most lane = bike lane, car also can drive thru there

Extreme right and 2nd to extreme right = Lorry and Bus lane respectively

Red = dont go into the lane
Green = proceed

Then when you're at the counter (idk whether the index finger scan still active, Lester can you confirm this please) open your window present your passport, on the interior lamp, wait for chopping (don't forget to ask for whitecard)
Since you dont have autopass, just go straight, before you go up the ramp for clearance, you'll see an office with many car parking in there (red zone) then you go in and enquirer them
add: SG car parks are like SmartTag, aka IU... We don't use ticket system... Since you dont have IU, you have to open your window and slot it into the machine to check in and out...

handy tip: our parking is much more tighter and shorter, make your your rear wheels are nearly touching the bump...
This index finger thing is on the Malaysia kastam side, nothing to do with us Malaysians as it only applicable to foreigner entering Malaysia.
Lester1987
post Aug 14 2011, 02:37 PM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(Dennos @ Aug 14 2011, 01:32 PM)
for 1st timer, the procedur is

1: prepare passport, s$ and touch and go since No ringgit accepted.
2: malaysia custom
3: singapore custom: got 2 stage
  (a), check passport,
  (b) do autopass. It is before the ramp. In between two building. Make    sure u dont miss it. U can see got place can park car on ur left. There are police stand there. ITS BEFORE THE RAMP REMEMBER THIS>. BETWEEN TWO BUILDING.
© after auto pass, u drive onto the ramp, u will see police "car checking"

Then, tats all. Prepare for traffic jam kau kau.

Added on August 14, 2011, 1:33 pmREMEMBER, SG is mostly reverse parking.

Added on August 14, 2011, 1:36 pmSingapore expenses

U have 9 days free entry to sg, u just need to pay s$5 and s$1.2. Tat is deducted from ur autopass. U only can reload it at 7eleven. zzz

Parking is sg is dependent. U need autopass to enter a car park. It will auto deduct from ur auto pass. SO AUTOPASS is similar to touch and go in msia.
wrong info again.. zzzzz

Foreign cars will get 10 days free VEP. actually, if you don't go in and out Singapore often, you don't need to worry about that. Just a brief info about what VEP is.

VEP (Vehicle Entry Permit).
-VEP is a way that Singapore gov control the traffic in Singapore to prevent Malaysian working in Singapore drive their car into SG in and out daily.
-VEP is only charged on the following hours. 2am-5pm, Monday-Friday.
-If you enter Singapore on saturday or friday night, no VEP will be charge. Sat and Sun afternoon is VEP free as well (they want us to spend money there also ma).
-so lets put it this way, because u got 10 free VEP days, if u continuously stay in SG for 2 weeks, u won't be charged for it.
-but if you exceeded the free VEP days, nothing wrong with that, SG gov still allows you to enter SG with ur car. Just need to pay $20 per day if u enter during the VEP period.

Toll charges at the Causeway.

If you are entering with Woodlands Causeway, upon entering to Singapore, you don't need to pay anything, (just remember to purchase the Autopass, then its ok).
But when you depart from Woodlands, You will be charged $1.20 (Singapore toll) and RM2.90 (Malaysia Toll). Payment can only me made with your autopass, make sure you have sufficient money in the card when you leave. Malaysia Side the toll is only payable with Touch N Go.
If you plan to enter with 2nd link, Toll is RM7.50 Malaysia Side and $3.20 Singapore side. Singapore side will only charge you when you leave the country. So if your card got no $$, you can enter, but you can't exit if you got no $$ in the card. If you got no $$ in the card, you will need to proceed to the LTA office and pay them the $3.20 in cash + a $10 admin fees.
Lester1987
post Dec 21 2012, 08:16 AM

2,017 posts

QUOTE(kcgboyz @ Dec 21 2012, 08:01 AM)
makesure to bring a copy of yr registration card aka geran kereta
you dont have to. they will just refer to your road tax, if road tax hidup, they bagi u lepas, if roadtax mati, terus kick you back to JB

0.0167sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:51 AM