Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V12, FREE Installation & 1-month subscription

zsnipes
post Oct 11 2011, 12:01 AM

878 posts

Sorry, it too many thread & version here.
Is there any post asking that,

Can I subscribe to Unifi & with STB able to RECORDS the Shows ?
eg. Free Channel, Interactive, Premium Channel, VOD Channels.

If can, what's more hardware do I need to buy ?

Hope someone help me decide. Thanks smile.gif
zsnipes
post Oct 11 2011, 12:39 AM

878 posts

Can we add a media player device with Hard Disk Drive inside and
Records the Movie/Series from Unifi STB into the Hard Drive ?
zsnipes
post Oct 12 2011, 01:41 AM

878 posts

Using my 29" CRT TV. (Fat & Old TV)
I am aware that I cannot enjoy the HD resolution.

Can I watch all the channel in Unifi provided ?

Will the STB / Unifi detect my TV is not Full HD or HD-Ready and Block the content ?
zsnipes
post Oct 24 2011, 12:12 AM

878 posts

Hi All,

I'm interested to subscribe to Unifi, but due to recently the underwater cables problem causing lots of problem and lag, I planned to subscribe Unifi after this problem is fixed.

Has this underwater cable problem settled yet ? Where can read news about this ?

zsnipes
post Oct 24 2011, 01:30 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(BlueWind @ Oct 24 2011, 12:18 AM)
It's not like as if the cable will be permanently fixed and faultless after you subscribe to it assuming they already fixed the cable. Makes no difference.
At Least the latest problem on the underwater cable is fixed.

Why I always tried go online TM Unifi to subscribe, it always upgrading and not allow me to subscribe ?
It say
"
Thank you for visiting UniFi Customer Portal.
Our system is currently experiencing an upgrade as part of TM’s effort to improve the performance of our website and enhance customer service quality.
As a result, this website will not be accessible. During this time, kindly contact our 24-hour call centre at 1-300-88-1221 or visit your nearest TMpoint.
Thank you for your patience.
"

Tried few days already. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by zsnipes: Oct 24 2011, 01:33 AM
zsnipes
post Nov 4 2011, 01:08 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(rattan @ Nov 3 2011, 09:57 PM)
U on landed or highrise property?
I'm in highrise property with 1 line now with 1 streamyx account.
If change to unifi, existing line no more ? I use fax now, many ppl alrd know my fax no. how ?

Added on November 4, 2011, 1:38 amWhere can I see the list of movie name in premium channel ?
eg. STAR Chinese Channel or STAR Chinese Movies 2

This post has been edited by zsnipes: Nov 4 2011, 01:38 AM
zsnipes
post Nov 4 2011, 01:45 AM

878 posts

Which Premium or On-Demand Channel worth the buy U think ?
zsnipes
post Nov 6 2011, 12:47 AM

878 posts

Hi Guys,
I planned to fit the Set-Top-Box below my LCD TV.
May I know the dimension of the Set-Top-Box ? Especially its HEIGHT.
Thanks advance.
zsnipes
post Nov 7 2011, 01:48 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(wai2kit @ Nov 7 2011, 12:21 AM)
Okay after long time of dilemma-ing i might actually plan to get Unifi VIP5. I just wanna ask..
1) If i install everything downstairs, and my Desktop and PS3 is on the 2nd floor, will everything still be super smooth? I know i will need to get the USB wifi thingy for the desktop, it's fine with me
2) Do i need to prepare anything when they come? eg. 4 plug socket or something
1) Can detect connection but i think ur scenario if don't want lay cables, better get good homeplug.
2) Yes, need 4 power point at downstair for 4 equipments. BTU, PG, Dect Phone, STB. At least ready 4 points 1st for installation. Later you can properly lay again nicely. I won't be using the Dect Phone at least.
zsnipes
post Nov 7 2011, 02:25 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Nov 7 2011, 02:15 AM)
i have similar problem as wai2kit, if i want to use LAN cable to my pc how?my pc on 2nd floor
Planning how the cable routing properly & measure the length. From Router to PC, allowed longer a bit for tolerance.
Then go to Shop custom made the length of cable. If budget allowed, go for CAT6 cable for future-proof a bit.
DIY. If you don't mind cable going from Grd Flr to 2nd Flr.

Otherwise, get a fast Homeplug, 1 pair, 1 at Grd flr near Router & the other 2nd flr near PC.
zsnipes
post Nov 7 2011, 02:38 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Nov 7 2011, 02:28 AM)
usually those cables where can i be found? and what is homeplug never knew about it.
Those cables can buy at most Computer shop at Low Yat Plaza, better still buy from shop sell mostly Network equipment.

Homeplug is plug into power sockets, see here
http://www.tp-link.com/en/products/?categoryid=206
also can find at most computer shops. For these, ask the shop keeper explain how it works in ur scenario, he will tell you because he hope you will buy it smile.gif
zsnipes
post Nov 7 2011, 03:52 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(Godlike war @ Nov 7 2011, 03:39 AM)
use tplink 200mbs homeplug

very2 good
im using it now
coneection is like direct connection thumbup.gif
Great to hear.
R u using any extension on both end ? or both direct to wall one ?
I would like to know whether got feel differences or not.
zsnipes
post Nov 7 2011, 10:42 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(wai2kit @ Nov 7 2011, 09:50 AM)
How much does it cost? I did some survey it ranges around RM120 - RM200+ for 200mbps?

What if i use the USB WIFI thingy to detect the wifi from the 1st floor? Will it be smooth enough?
For TP-Link TL-PA211, cost ~RM75 at Low Yat. So, 1 pair is RM150.

If use WIFI, my experience tell me is also okay. But also very depending objects surrounding this area.
If me on ur scenario. I will try WIFI 1st, Router at Grd Flr, then Notebook with WIFI at 2nd floor, if reception okay, then okay for internet use lor... rclxms.gif
If not okay & still don't want powerline or cables, try get a Access Point at 1st Floor, repeats the signal & distribute to 2nd floor.

However, if all the while u asking is "smooth enough" for Video / Audio Streaming, then I definitely suggest you go get a pair of powerline adapter.

0.0757sec    0.39    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 06:06 PM