questions about hypptv, found youtube and facebook as well, was wondering if stream from iptv, the bandwidth is from stb or from the line?
Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V12, FREE Installation & 1-month subscription
Sep 6 2011, 10:47 PM
2,269 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
questions about hypptv, found youtube and facebook as well, was wondering if stream from iptv, the bandwidth is from stb or from the line?
Sep 6 2011, 10:56 PM
25 posts Joined: May 2009 |
Sep 6 2011, 10:58 PM
2,269 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
ok, if that's the case, we can assume that there will be no buffering right, since if i not mistaken the iptv has a large bandwidth itself, correct me if i'm wrong?
Sep 6 2011, 11:02 PM
25 posts Joined: May 2009 |
QUOTE(eternity4av @ Sep 6 2011, 10:58 PM) ok, if that's the case, we can assume that there will be no buffering right, since if i not mistaken the iptv has a large bandwidth itself, correct me if i'm wrong? you are still not connected directly to Youtube's server.there will be buffering depending on how many watching the video but it is very seldom. |
Sep 7 2011, 12:44 AM
9,590 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: S'wak||KL||SG |
But... Yes, there's larger bandwidth for IPTV (If and only if you're comparing to VIP5) Dedicated 8Mbps for IPTV.
Sep 7 2011, 07:48 AM
129 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Quick question for Sifus here:-
For VLAN bridge/switch purpose alone, which is better option in terms of performance - MicroTik RB250GS or DIR-615? For router purpose, MicroTik RB750G vs D-Link DIR-655, which one do you think is better? Basically I am having a DIR-655 on Streamyx now and is upgrading to Unifi, and wanted to see how I can have the best equipment setup and still use back the DIR-655 if possible. Thanks in advance. This post has been edited by colins: Sep 9 2011, 07:26 AM |
Sep 7 2011, 10:56 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,962 posts Joined: Dec 2004 From: KL |
QUOTE(azeotrope @ Sep 6 2011, 10:56 PM) Im curious how is the bandwidth calculated..Its a different VLAN but its still the same IP isnt it? So how does Unifi differentiate the bandwidth? Unless it does not use port 80 ? |
Sep 7 2011, 11:06 AM
82 posts Joined: Aug 2011 From: Kg. Buah Pala |
QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Sep 7 2011, 10:56 AM) Its a different VLAN but its still the same IP isnt it? So how does Unifi differentiate the bandwidth? So for example: Account For Mr A VLAN ID: 500 20mbps VLAN ID: 600 8mbps Account for Mr B VLAN ID: 500 5mbps VLAN ID: 600 8mbps They won't be able to cap FTTH connections because of passive architecture, so the only way is through software. So if someone sharing the same FDP as you gets hold of a unlimited speed account, your neighbors and you will suffer very slow speed. The more neighbors get online the slower your line becomes. |
Sep 7 2011, 12:34 PM
195 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Between the VLAN and IP layer, you have a PPPoE layer running. Bandwidth limits are applied on a per PPPoE session basis in addition to VLAN caps. FTTH isn't necessarily uncapped at the physical layer, there is a unique encryption key in use to associate each fiber ONT with an OLT so it may also be possible for the OLTs to set rate limits on a per ONU basis. I'm pretty sure it has its own bandwidth allocation/control methods.
Sep 7 2011, 12:53 PM
73 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
Hi guys,
Just got a call from TM today to book an appointment to come to my house for an upgrade? When asked they told me its a firmware upgrade? Any ideas what is actually being done? If this is a firmware upgrade will I still be able to disable the remote management etc? |
Sep 7 2011, 01:04 PM
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Sep 7 2011, 12:34 PM) Between the VLAN and IP layer, you have a PPPoE layer running. Bandwidth limits are applied on a per PPPoE session basis in addition to VLAN caps. FTTH isn't necessarily uncapped at the physical layer, there is a unique encryption key in use to associate each fiber ONT with an OLT so it may also be possible for the OLTs to set rate limits on a per ONU basis. I'm pretty sure it has its own bandwidth allocation/control methods. My most worried concern is the remote administration settings for new users that comes default on all Unifi FTTH BTU/routers.An experienced person with insights on how default passwords can do it easily. What if someone really nasty who spends his time digging VIP20/BIZ20 accounts logins/passwords through remote administration, then uploading corrupted firmwares to destroy subscribers hardware making them unusable? While doing that they buy enough time for themselves to utilize the stolen accounts with their Unifi lines at home? Free lunch? I'm not sure if they can spoof MAC IDs for their hardwares but reading so much posts about new users having their BTU/router going bad in just days gets me thinking were they actually intentional. Is there a possibility of bonding multiple 20mbps PPPoE accounts to achieve higher speeds? How are you going to track the thief when there are say 15 users connected on the same port if say he manages to spoof MAC IDs and the unique encryption keys of the ONU? Normally insiders will have these information or guessable pattern. Installers can always record them into their notebook before handing them to customers. |
Sep 7 2011, 01:47 PM
195 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE What if someone really nasty who spends his time digging VIP20/BIZ20 accounts logins/passwords through remote administration, then uploading corrupted firmwares to destroy subscribers hardware making them unusable? While doing that they buy enough time for themselves to utilize the stolen accounts with their Unifi lines at home? Free lunch? That's uh.. pretty much how it's been so far (except for the people who have disabled it or bought a new router), lol QUOTE I'm not sure if they can spoof MAC IDs for their hardwares but reading so much posts about new users having their BTU/router going bad in just days gets me thinking were they actually intentional. It's easy to spoof the MAC. As for intentionally damaging a router with bad firmware, it would really depend on what the damage looks like. Some users had all the lights on their router not turn on at all so that looks more like a hardware issue. If you really wanted to find out I guess you could setup a honeypot and see how many hits you get. QUOTE Is there a possibility of bonding multiple 20mbps PPPoE accounts to achieve higher speeds? Yeap :3 QUOTE How are you going to track the thief when there are say 15 users connected on the same port if say he manages to spoof MAC IDs and the unique encryption keys of the ONU? Normally insiders will have these information or guessable pattern. Installers can always record them into their notebook before handing them to customers. There are numerous management protocols running on the network.. it's possible to trace a user to the exact BTU regardless of MAC spoofing as long as it's associated to an OLT. |
Sep 7 2011, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(rizvanrp @ Sep 7 2011, 01:47 PM) That's uh.. pretty much how it's been so far (except for the people who have disabled it or bought a new router), lol Con job and untrustworthy... |
Sep 7 2011, 03:22 PM
159 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Cheras, KL |
any unifi user from high rise / VDSL can share the speedtest screenshot?
thinking to install at my apartment. |
Sep 7 2011, 04:48 PM
0 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
I'm feel like wanna change my streamyx 1mb to current VIP 5 package. But, i my house currently facing disconnection problems that happen 2 or 3 times a day. I already call TM technicians come to fix this problem. Unfortunately, this problem still exist no matter i change my modem, cable, or etc.
If i change to Unifi VIP 5 package, will this problem still exist because what i heard is Unifi is different port from streamyx and i believe my streamyx problem is the port problem which TM technicians refused to repair. I really need some comment about my problem, since i suffer pain when disconnect from gaming. And the unifi contract is 2 years, what for i still subscribe if this problem still exist under unifi. |
Sep 7 2011, 05:46 PM
2,508 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
Guys, can someone tell me what I should do or if need to change my TM router and modem as I feel that the signal is not consistent while experiencing dropping in speed occasionally.
Sep 7 2011, 06:22 PM
9,590 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: S'wak||KL||SG |
QUOTE(yhanwong @ Sep 7 2011, 03:22 PM) any unifi user from high rise / VDSL can share the speedtest screenshot? See my sigthinking to install at my apartment. QUOTE(ronn77 @ Sep 7 2011, 05:46 PM) Guys, can someone tell me what I should do or if need to change my TM router and modem as I feel that the signal is not consistent while experiencing dropping in speed occasionally. Signal inconsistent in terms of? Wifi?? It should be wifi problem. if connected directly through LAN, most ppl here said no prob. Me personally have been connecting to DIR615 through wifi for more than half year(i mean using it for more than half year not continuous half year connection ya~) No serious problem. Problem that I face: 1) Can't let BT go full (In terms of connection.) The router will just kill my wifi connection, Exclamation mark pops up~ in a short while. I limit it to 60~100 and it does just well. 2) My housemates, ALWAYS NOT ME... Can't connect to the router through wifi and they constantly restart the router as they can't connect... After their restart, I maybe face some disconnection on some site. Normally my web game server and facebook game server. Sometimes facebook. The last time i face this prob is yesterday. It will recover after a long time but ytd, i tried to reconnect manually and it does the job. 3) Problem accessing config page. If the router is up for 40hours++ ~2days. It normally will hang, can't get into its config page but still can surf and drop in surf quality(speed or latency). A reboot kills the prob. == time to get a new router, should be 841ND, after my router For router guide, visit klseet.com (featuring klseet xD) |
Sep 7 2011, 07:36 PM
322 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Sep 7 2011, 06:22 PM) If the router is up for 40hours++ ~2days. It normally will hang, can't get into its config page but still can surf and drop in surf quality(speed or latency). A reboot kills the prob. Using DIR-615 for 6 months now 24X7. Turn off the wifi n hook whatever router you like. Seems to be working fine, no hangs and router remains cool. Don't use fan or anything and router sits inside an enclosed cabinet. |
Sep 7 2011, 08:44 PM
12,411 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: KL - Cardiff - Subang - Sydney |
any1 here knows any tm top management guy or have some relatives working there?hope my issue here will be forwarded to them
jz wanna rant about a complaint here, although it may seem minor to some, but its big issue for me since i feel a bit "cheated" by tm, although no money is involved on 8/8/2011 i submitted my registration for unifi through roadside agent outside my house (Miharja Condominium,Cheras).at first i was skeptical about the agents but after checking at unifi's website, i confirmed my place and unit is under the service so i proceeded with the registration. ![]() on 12/8/2011 i received a sms stating that my unifi application had been proceeded 2gether with the order number and they set my early appointment date at 5/9/2011.i also received an email with all the details of logins etc.so i assume evrythg was going fine and waited patiently for the day to come.28/8/2011, i received a call to confirm my appointment date,this adds to my confidence that evrythg is going well. then on 5/9/2011 which is 2 days ago,as expected, i received a call from the unifi guy who was supposed to come install all the equipments, instead of coming straight up to my unit, the guy brought me bad news which is MY BLOCK IS NOT YET SUPPORTED BY THE SERVICE, i was like wtf? but ur website say its supported.so i went down ( my unit is at 13th floor) to meet the guy at the telephone room so he can explain further. so he told me the issue with my block is that the jumper is not yet ready for the line to pulled over from the other blocks which are ready now (block D and B), so although the service is already supported in my block, the line cannot be supplied to the units.then he proceed to show me with the telephone room, there's a steel rack there but its empty without the jumper units or wtv its called things on them.he say he believes the service and evrythg is already ready, there's even the green cable for VDSL2 but whats lacking is only the white jumper things. ![]() infact the pic i took above is about 2 - 3 weeks back which is about the time after i submitted my registration, that time i was not aware what the steel rack is for.the unifi guy then say he will send a report to his management along with photos (he took a few photos in his phone, he showed me the telephone rooms in the other block, which have the white thgs on the rack), so that tm would send a guy to rectify the problem.when asked when is that going to happen, he just can say "i duno, that's not under me". so im not going to take chances with him and the report, eventhough if he did submit it i think it would take ages for tm to get things fixed, based on past experience.my day is ruined bcoz of this, thought gonna enjoy unifi but who knows |
Sep 7 2011, 09:48 PM
1,705 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sepang - Putrajaya - Cyberjaya |
something wrong with my dlink router.
i cant use the wifi. cant connect to it. if connected it will be 'no network access' rite now using LAN cable. if other netbook/pc connect to the wifi, my LAN also no network access. anybody experience this? it happen just now. before this sometime loss internet. |
| Change to: | 0.0459sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:58 AM |