Nokia N8 - V31 - [The King of Camera Phones], BELLE - N8 Run Like Monkey Kena Belacan!

VeeJay
post Oct 8 2011, 10:17 PM

3,845 posts

Just got my N8 (green)!...i know...i know...kinda late in the game...it took me awhile before I decided; bcoz of the price....

So far so good...runnin Anna. But I dont like Ovi Store, still prefer PC Suite, which I'm still using via PC...has more features...
VeeJay
post Oct 8 2011, 10:43 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(macwai01 @ Oct 7 2011, 11:13 PM)
Could end up buying a N9. N8's screen is impossible for me to type on. lol
Still the hacked belle is serving my N8 well smile.gif

Symbian has quite some apps already. Enough for me at least.

I noticed that there are very little reviews on the N9?
you may want to try swype?!
VeeJay
post Oct 8 2011, 10:58 PM

3,845 posts

BTW, those who dont like Anna setup and prefer HTC/iPhone mode, could try vHome ... notbad..
http://store.ovi.com/content/98878?clickSource=search&pos=1

I have a question here...can I disable charging via USB? I dont want to charge via USB, when plugged in.
VeeJay
post Oct 8 2011, 11:17 PM

3,845 posts

WHat I meant, I dont want auto charge.... I want to decide when to charge; me being electronic fool, i dont belief in constant charging, its gonna reduce your battery life...

And its good, to once a while to drain out your battery fully; and then shutdown yoru phone, and fully charge it...similar to notebook as well.

Nothing is written in rock just my preference tongue.gif

ALL my previous Nokia phones I dont charge until, I need to do so, normally it last for 5-7 days (previously using N79).

VeeJay
post Oct 9 2011, 07:46 PM

3,845 posts

Glad to see many do agree...normally I do see more disagreement; rclxms.gif anyways...its individual preference.....not only this I have odd behavior on electronics, since day one Ilearnt about it...to date, I dont turn off my computers, imagine my 20 inch HP monitor dated back 1995 still going strongly, although damn heavy and bulky!...just waiting for it to fail and yet to fail!

same goes with my CPU as well, never off, only reboot once in a month.

ok Back to Nokia, another thing I didnt like was the N8 camera doesnt feature sequence shot, infact on my N79 it was standard...or am I missing something? hmm.gif

But I did read, that using other camera application like CameraPro has it build in, wonder why Nokia missed it out...infact on my N79, that was my show case to my friends...disappointed. mad.gif
VeeJay
post Oct 9 2011, 11:38 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Oct 9 2011, 10:42 PM)
for me i think the LION have different characteristic where if u drain it till shutdown it will have memory to not full charge the next round...  yawn.gif
Haha, as I said this can be argued in many ways...which I will leave to individuals....just one point of fact here....

LIB or LI-ON battery major down side is heat...if all agree with that, then wouldnt constant charging (heat) would just deplete the life of the battery? tongue.gif

Hence my recommendation to only charge when its at 50%...just me.....
VeeJay
post Oct 9 2011, 11:39 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Oct 9 2011, 07:46 PM)

ok Back to Nokia, another thing I didnt like was the N8 camera doesnt feature sequence shot, infact on my N79 it was standard...or am I missing something? hmm.gif

But I did read, that using other camera application  like CameraPro has it build in, wonder why Nokia missed it out...infact on my N79, that was my show case to my friends...disappointed.  mad.gif
sklchan...so my above observation is true?
VeeJay
post Oct 10 2011, 01:04 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 10 2011, 12:49 PM)
Well, If you worry battery minitor will drin your battery which i dun think so,,there are lotsa upgrades compare wth old wan for sure.''

Just do the same steps as what recommended & automated by battery Monitor 2.1 if you activate the power saving more:

- Switch to power saving mode
- Do not use 3G or even on 3G - Mainatin in GSM mode'
- Screen reso to the lowest level'
- No background screensaver such as big clock & etc'
- Do not run any auto background app - such as what app

Well, except the last one which I switch on what app and if only I uninstall what app, I think I probably can get 5 days liao haha..
stimix, what is " what app"; I presume, its an application monitoring what is running and its memory usage?

COuld you provide the link or full name for it?

Yeah; battery monitor is pretty good to monitor the status, i have added as part or widget; together with Free Memory Bars

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Oct 10 2011, 01:07 PM
VeeJay
post Oct 10 2011, 02:04 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(mrhaz @ Oct 10 2011, 01:46 PM)
whatsapp is not app monitoring sw. it's a chat sw that links symbian,iphone, BB and android mobiles. do google.
Oops blink.gif blush.gif me...kuno sikit doh.gif Me only use skype...thanks for the info.

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Oct 10 2011, 02:10 PM
VeeJay
post Oct 10 2011, 02:11 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Oct 10 2011, 12:14 AM)
software it's not, the default camera app also can have burst mode with some mods but it won't take wonderful miracle... same goes to those camerapro 3rd party app, do anyone can get a nicely capture burst photos? i dont think so as it's a fake burst where each photo might seperate a few second a part or not in full resolution... correct me if i'm wrong...  yawn.gif
Correct, it may not be in full desired resolution or clarity; but "THATS THE MOMENT" we want to capture; my whole office enjoyed my photos from N79 (N85 should have the same); every time on a function; they ask be to burst!...miss that now.....and my colleagues are going to kill me cry.gif

WIll try to upload and share some of my photos....its more of a MOMENT story rather than a picture QUALITY biggrin.gif
VeeJay
post Oct 10 2011, 11:49 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Oct 10 2011, 11:33 PM)
Guys, can we find a place using coordinates in ovi map? Can other gps like garmin do it?
I know Garmin can do it...havent played much on Ovi Maps...
VeeJay
post Oct 11 2011, 08:23 PM

3,845 posts

One other thing is that the AV out/connector cannot be connected to a monitor; so its only the HDMI out for TV out? sigh

ANyone has tried?
VeeJay
post Oct 11 2011, 10:00 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 11 2011, 08:41 PM)
wow... very rare for a hot pink n8
Yeah....its will become a norm, soon...since the model color was just launched....

Welcome aboard HighFur

Meanwhile, another query here...it seems N8 search function doesnt seem to be able to perform partial search.

For example my number is 0123335555; hence if i were to enter 5555 search, it doesnt return any value...my previous phone was able to do so.....any idea folks?
VeeJay
post Oct 12 2011, 02:20 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(sklchan @ Oct 12 2011, 11:32 AM)
yes it is in old firmware PR1.0, PR1.1 and PR1.2, but it seem been removed in Anna...  hmm.gif
AT Nokia forum, it was acknowledged as a bug in Anna.....so no logs..
VeeJay
post Oct 14 2011, 09:16 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(HighFur @ Oct 14 2011, 08:44 PM)
good 4 u..  nod.gif  nod.gif

still wondering what is the actual problem..hmm.

cause currently.. social apps, fmobi and nokia store(but cant download) can be use..  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
whats your setting for wlan?

switch to wlan:-
data use in home country:-
data use when abroad:-

Added on October 14, 2011, 9:21 pm
QUOTE(VeeJay @ Oct 9 2011, 11:38 PM)
Haha, as I said this can be argued in many ways...which I will leave to individuals....just one point of fact here....

LIB or LI-ON battery major down side is heat...if all agree with that, then wouldnt constant charging (heat) would just deplete the life of the battery?  tongue.gif

Hence my recommendation to only charge when its at 50%...just me.....
after 2 full cycle of recharge...now my phone is going into 4th day...i think one more day would be fine too.

Usage...just normal calls and sms. wlan for 15 daily just to get my widgets info updates, like weather, etc.

not running on power saver mode. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Oct 14 2011, 09:21 PM
VeeJay
post Oct 17 2011, 12:00 AM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(squarepilot @ Oct 15 2011, 11:57 PM)
i know the pros and cons of both OS and hardware design.

but it just too hard for me to decide.

maps and gps are very important to me as well as apps and browsing. wanted to buy standalone GPS but mahal pulak if buy both phone and GPS together

i will most probaby choose n8 if and only if n8 drops to 1100 next month as my camera lens on my phone cracked.

i like nokia phones which enables us to put notes and upcoming events on the home screen, too bad android dont have this feature
WHat apps that you feel nokia dont have compared to the other?

BTW, I just bought mine for RM1150 (zitron)
VeeJay
post Oct 17 2011, 02:14 AM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(HighFur @ Oct 17 2011, 01:02 AM)
welcome..
what color is your n8?? rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

u bought from which nokia store.?

i would like to know..if widgets in the home screen is considered as background???
widget would indicate as widget...if i'm not mistaken, those are multitasking you are doing at background.

its 2 weeks old now...green in color. Bought from lowyat mall.
VeeJay
post Oct 17 2011, 06:43 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Oct 17 2011, 01:46 PM)
Aiseh, my phone is not hacked  doh.gif
you dont need to hack, just use x-plore or Y browser, should be able to view your hidden and system files...just be careful not to delete the wrong files! ohmy.gif
VeeJay
post Oct 18 2011, 12:26 AM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ Oct 18 2011, 12:17 AM)
naah... i'm okay with symbian... but then... i think i would prefer WP + Meego + Symbian combination..
it would be really good...
Yeah...it should beopen, and we decide which OS to load! rclxms.gif

BTW, anyone tried SPB Mobile Shell....its pretty cool totally changes your symbian outlook and cool 3D view of browsing page as well.
VeeJay
post Oct 18 2011, 10:07 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(ahpaul82 @ Oct 18 2011, 01:22 PM)
so conclusion is,
It could be OS apps that running at background?  hmm.gif
I would suggest install App Stop, and then view what running at the background; and you may stop the back apps using "App Stop"
http://store.ovi.com/content/92945?clickSource=search&pos=1

0.0239sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:54 PM