Balance Transfer, What is it actually???

truelife
post Sep 6 2010, 07:29 PM

448 posts

hi all,
please enlighten me the following :

1) which bank offers 0% interest BT ? how many months interest free ?

2) which bank has no handling fee ?

3) which bank give free gift for BT ? What gifts?

Thanks !

truelife
post Sep 7 2010, 06:08 AM

448 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 7 2010, 03:23 AM)
1, CIMB 6 months, MBB 3 months & OCBC (Titanium New card holder only) period can't remember.
2. CIMB, MBB and OCBC (for new card holders only)
3) AMBANK, but forget about it as the interest you pay is more the worth of the free gift.
about BT, what's the max amount i can transfer from 1 bank to another ? Can i BT something like 80K ? i got money to pay off but i want to take advantage of interest free. Will this affect my financial track record ?

truelife
post Sep 8 2010, 09:45 AM

448 posts

i saw OCBC brochure 0% interest for 6 months. let say i do 50K BT from Hong Leong to OCBC.
1) That means no interest for 6 months ?
2) Do i need to pay monthly installment to OCBC during these 6 months ?
3) can i make new purchase by using OCBC card during these 6 months ? If yes, will OCBC charge new interest ? Coz i haven't settled the BT yet.

Apology for asking such coz i m new to BT tongue.gif

truelife
post Sep 8 2010, 10:18 PM

448 posts

in this case i can do 50K BT from my existing bank to OCBC for 6 months, then from OCBC to CIMB for another 6 mths, then from CIMB to Public Bank for 6 months again, and then from Public Bank to Maybank for 3 months. i only pay min payment every month. no interest charge and no handling fee. my 50K will be put in FD to earn interest. so good meh ? rclxub.gif

truelife
post Sep 10 2010, 05:56 AM

448 posts

thumbup.gif wow that's great man ! i want to apply for CIMB fast !

due to moving house, i am going to buy a lot of stuffs this month. I estimate the furniture + electrical items will cost more than 50K. i have reserve fund to pay off but i want to let the money grow in my FD.

So it's confirm CIMB or D/Access does not charge interest if i only pay minimum during the BT tenure. How about OCBC, Public Bank and Maybank ?

If OCBC, Public and Maybank also offer 0% interest for BT + 0 handling fee + 0% interest if pay minimum during BT tenure, i want to apply all of them. i can then do BT from my current CitiBank to CIMB 6 months, then OCBC 6 months, then Public 6 months , then Maybank 3 months. My money $$ will keep growing in FD for another 21 months ! drool.gif

truelife
post Sep 22 2010, 04:42 PM

448 posts

a very interesting question. pls see my example below:

Let say i have credit limit 50k for CIMB and 30k for Public Bank. i charge a total amount of 30k on CIMB and 20k on Public Bank.

i will first do BT of 20k from Public Bank to CIMB. After that i will do 30k BT from CIMB to Public Bank. Can this be done ? Can i do BT from Public Bank to CIMB although i still owe CIMB 30k ?

This post has been edited by truelife: Sep 22 2010, 04:44 PM
truelife
post Sep 22 2010, 05:31 PM

448 posts

i wanna do this because currently both CIMB and Public Bank have BT promotion 0% for 6 months.

truelife
post Sep 26 2010, 07:41 AM

448 posts

QUOTE(davegan84 @ Sep 22 2010, 05:07 PM)
I think this is doable... so long you have the enough limit, BT would be approved.

just found out that OCBC can allow us to transfer to OCBC up to 60% of the available credit limit only. Maybank is 70%. the best is CIMB, 100% !

i have a question: let say i have transferred outstanding 50k from Citibank to CIMB for 6 months plan. in the middle of these 6 months, can i do another BT from Citibank/or other bank to CIMB again ?

truelife
post Sep 28 2010, 03:57 AM

448 posts

QUOTE(davegan84 @ Sep 22 2010, 05:07 PM)
I think this is doable... so long you have the enough limit, BT would be approved.

Having said that.. please allow 1 month 'buffer', cox public bank/CIMB will ask for your latest cc statement... If they saw you just BT it out, then now aply for BT again, I wonder what would they think... will this be part of the approval criteria??? i'm not sure then... biggrin.gif
must i wait till getting credit card statement then only can apply for BT ? can i use just show unbilled transaction in internet and print out this ?

truelife
post Sep 28 2010, 11:25 AM

448 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 28 2010, 07:52 AM)
They accept e-statement but they want the first page of the bill.
i mean, can i show unbilled transaction to CIMB ?
Eg. my current statement due date is 1 Oct, outstanding 1k. i spend 10k on 27 Sep, shown in internet but will be reflected in my next statement with due date 1 Nov. Becoz i have not receive the new statement yet, can i do 10k BT by showing the unbilled outstanding of 11k printed from internet to CIMB ? Or should i wait the new statement to come then can only do BT ?

truelife
post Oct 3 2010, 06:34 AM

448 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 28 2010, 02:20 PM)
I doubt they accept. They want first page bill summary showing outstanding amount and payment due date.
thanks. i have to wait for statement come then can do BT.

will BT affect my CCRIS record if i pay minimum to CIMB every month ? can i get a car loan or housing loan during the BT period ?

any freebies for BT from CImb ? drool.gif

This post has been edited by truelife: Oct 3 2010, 07:03 AM
truelife
post Oct 3 2010, 05:19 PM

448 posts

anybody can answer my question about the CCRIS thingy ?

0.0191sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:21 AM