8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Balance Transfer, What is it actually???

Gen-X
post Aug 23 2009, 02:55 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(xphossis @ Aug 22 2009, 09:39 PM)
so which is the best bank to do BT now?

any comparison chart? tongue.gif
click on my signature below, wrote it few months back. Lowest BT rate for now is from Public Bank. CIMB 0% BT 6 months is for new card members for World MC.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Aug 23 2009, 03:37 AM
Gen-X
post Nov 30 2009, 09:52 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(firadaboss @ Nov 30 2009, 12:29 PM)
Alliance Bank is offering new Balance Transfer plan. 6% p.a. for EVER!

The only condition is minimum amount to transfer is RM10k.
I only signup HSBC 6% p.a. for 12 months recently... still a long way to go cry.gif
are you an Alliance Bank Agent? What so great with BT 6% forever? No one wants to be in debt forever lah.

Let me tell you, Alliance Bank Customer Service is below average. Try calling them after 10pm and see if they are of any help.

Anyway, current offers for BT that are better than Alliance are:

1) HLB 0.5% monthly for 6 months, no penalty for early settlement and interest charges on outstanding balance only. Money transfer to your bank savings or current account. If you guys want personal loan for short period, this is a good offer.
2) PBB 1.5% for 6 months and 2.5% for 12 months.
3) HLB Essential card 1% interest for 6 months.
4) The best in the market, CIMB/Direct Access 0% interest for 6 months with no upfront handling fees or whatever.
Gen-X
post Dec 21 2009, 08:02 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ah_Keng @ Dec 21 2009, 07:22 PM)
Does any bank offer 0% monthly interest for BT?
Admin or one off charges are fine...
Thinking to transfer my 30k balance out from Direct Access.
maybank/amex CC now offer 0% but for 3 months only

Gen-X
post Dec 22 2009, 07:47 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(saiga @ Dec 22 2009, 01:15 AM)
mbf said they offer 12 months 0%. dunno good move or not?  sweat.gif

how to apply for CIMB balance transfer? cannot find the link in website  rclxub.gif

thanks  notworthy.gif
you got to find out the T&C fir MBF's BT.

for CIMB and DA link below:
http://www.cimbbank.com.my/index.php?tpt=c...on_list&do=card
http://www.directaccess.com.my/index.php?tpt=cimb_da
Gen-X
post Mar 14 2010, 10:11 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(mydienoz @ Mar 14 2010, 12:19 AM)
i want to do balance transfer from my maybank cc and cimb cc...total in maybank cc is rm 5300 and my cimb card is rm 7200...total is rm 12500..i want suggestion which bank can i apply balance transfer????
see if this can be done

BT your MBB amount to CIMB 6 months 0% and
BT your CIMB amount to MBB 3 months 0%
Gen-X
post Jun 9 2010, 06:50 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(oldJunk @ Apr 19 2010, 08:38 PM)
it means that i want to BT based on my credit limit...not outstanding balance...hope u understand...

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 19 2010, 10:53 PM)
I doubt that could be possible.

Even tough it's possible, you won't be able to get the extra amount in term of cash.
I have posted before that HLB have a "BT" program that allows its members to transfer cash into any local bank savings or current account.

HLB "Balance Transfer" if not mistaken allows you to use up to 70% of your credit limit and you do not need to summit any documents as long as you have adequate credit avaliable. Just call HLB and they can transfer the money into you account. The interest rate is 0.5% per month for 6 months and after that standard rates apply.

Frankly speaking, HLB balance transfer program is like a loan, it is so convenient that you do not need to submit any documents, only set back is make sure you can pay back within 6 months else after that the interest charged will be high. It is good if one needs fund for short term period.

EON bank also used to have a program that is similar Call for Cash.
Gen-X
post Aug 31 2010, 10:03 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(oooooo @ Aug 31 2010, 08:56 PM)
hi, i have a query here..
If my credit limit is RM8k, with RM0 out standing.
What is the maximum BT amount I can make? 100% of my credit limit or less than tat?
less than that, usually about 80-90% of your CL.
Gen-X
post Sep 7 2010, 03:23 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Sep 6 2010, 07:29 PM)
hi all,
please enlighten me the following :

1) which bank offers 0% interest BT ? how many months interest free ?

2) which bank has no handling fee ?

3) which bank give free gift for BT ? What gifts?

Thanks !
1, CIMB 6 months, MBB 3 months & OCBC (Titanium New card holder only) period can't remember.
2. CIMB, MBB and OCBC (for new card holders only)
3) AMBANK, but forget about it as the interest you pay is more the worth of the free gift.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 7 2010, 03:29 AM
Gen-X
post Sep 8 2010, 07:10 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Sep 8 2010, 09:45 AM)
i saw OCBC brochure 0% interest for 6 months. let say i do 50K BT from Hong Leong to OCBC.
1) That means no interest for 6 months ?
2) Do i need to pay monthly installment to OCBC during these 6 months ?
3) can i make new purchase by using OCBC card during these 6 months ? If yes, will OCBC charge new interest ? Coz i haven't settled the BT yet.

Apology for asking such coz i m new to BT tongue.gif
1, Yes no interest for 6 months.
2, You only need to pay the minimum 5% outstanding balance monthly.
3. Yes you may use the card for transactions for balance credit not utilized and no interest will be imposed if you settle in full.

Generally, a separate BT account will be assigned to you.
Gen-X
post Sep 8 2010, 10:30 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Sep 8 2010, 10:18 PM)
in this case i can do 50K BT from my existing bank to OCBC for 6 months, then from OCBC to CIMB for another 6 mths, then from CIMB to Public Bank for 6 months again, and then from Public Bank to Maybank for 3 months. i only pay min payment every month. no interest charge and no handling fee. my 50K will be put in FD to earn interest. so good meh ? rclxub.gif
Not sure you can do BT to BT account. Also note that BT 0% offer is not a permanent feature i.e. CIMB BT 0% ends 31/12/10. Also as mentioned, you still need to pay 5% every month.

Anyway, you try out and report here lah if can do BT for BT account.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 8 2010, 10:31 PM
Gen-X
post Sep 9 2010, 04:04 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(HHalphaomega @ Sep 9 2010, 10:20 AM)
You can do a BT to another BT. My friend has done it from OCBC to Maybank (6 months) & back to OCBC (12 months) again.
This is indeed interesting, BT from BT account. Thanks for the info Bro.
Gen-X
post Sep 9 2010, 06:55 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(davegan84 @ Sep 9 2010, 10:12 AM)
CIMB Direct Access only required 5% payment each month, on the 6th month only u need to settle your BT amount. Interest will impose from 7th month onwards biggrin.gif
QUOTE(roy918 @ Sep 9 2010, 04:24 PM)
Dude, not right man. Someone can pay 5% of every month installment but finance charge will be impose on the balance (payable installment minus 5% minimum payment).
davegan84 was referring to CIMB existing BT offer of 0% for 6 months and he is correct.

If there is no 0% promotion for BT, then yes interest charges will be imposed like in Citibank, HSBC, Ambank, HLB and etc.
Gen-X
post Sep 10 2010, 01:48 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(roy918 @ Sep 10 2010, 01:12 AM)
I'm afraid you misunderstood the promotion.
CIMB charge 0% or doesn't charge any interest on Approved Balance (the amount you transferred from other credit card) but finance charges are impose on the outstanding amount (the amount someone not able to settle after billed to them) if someone not able to full settle the equal monthly installment.

Example, balance transfer RM6,000 with 6 equal monthly installments of RM1,000
Say 1st installment of RM1,000 billed to you but you pay RM100 only. CIMB will charge 17.5%pa interest on outstanding balance of RM900 (RM1,000 minus RM100) but they didn't charge anything on RM1,000 installment.

Remember, once the balance transfer approved, CIMB has already PAID for you. The 0% is referring to the interest from when CIMB PAID for you until they bill you the installment.
0% is referring to the Balance Transfer plan but finance charges is on the outstanding amount.
For CIMB 0% BT, you only need to pay minimum 5% of the amount in the BT account and it is not divided into 6 installments as you mentioned.

Here is how it works, I know because I have done BT with them, one cleared in full and the other still active and both not imposed a sen of interest.

Example, do BT for RM10,000 and you'll be assigned a separate BT account from your main card account.

First month, need to pay minimum RM500 (5%) and balance RM9500 carried forward to next month without any interest charges. You may pay more than the minimum 5% if you want.

Second Month, need to pay 5% of RM9500 which is equals to RM475 towards to BT account. The new balance in the BT account will then be reduced to RM9025 and no interest will be charged again. Once again you may if you wish pay more.

Same thing for 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th month must pay minimum 5%. Comes the 7th month, you must settle the amount in the BT account in full or else you will be imposed interest charges.

However, not sure what interest will be charged if one fails to pay the 5% minimum besides contributing to having a bad credit record. But if one cannot afford to pay the minimum 5% for BT then that guy is in deep shit and stupid do to a BT in the first place.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 10 2010, 01:49 AM
Gen-X
post Sep 10 2010, 10:44 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Sep 10 2010, 05:56 AM)
thumbup.gif  wow that's great man ! i want to apply for CIMB fast !

due to moving house, i am going to buy a lot of stuffs this month. I estimate the furniture + electrical items will cost more than 50K. i have reserve fund to pay off but i want to let the money grow in my FD.

So it's confirm CIMB or D/Access does not charge interest if i only pay minimum during the BT tenure. How about OCBC, Public Bank and Maybank ?

If OCBC, Public and Maybank also offer 0% interest for BT + 0 handling fee + 0% interest if pay minimum during BT tenure, i want to apply all of them. i can then do BT from my current CitiBank to CIMB 6 months, then OCBC 6 months, then Public 6 months , then Maybank 3 months. My money $$ will keep growing in FD for another 21 monthsdrool.gif
Bro,

1. Yes to can BT your Citibank balance to CIMB. And as HHalphaomega mentioned, you can subsequently do BT for BT account i.e. CIMB to OCBC (but I guess you better check for yourself). CIMB offer ends Dec 2010 and OCBC March 2011.

2. You are assuming that the banks will be offerring 0% for another 1+ years which I doubt will happen.

3. You still need to pay the 5% minimum payment, therefore your money will be depleting faster than interest gain from FD so not necessary your money will keep growing in FD for 21 months as you mentioned unless you got new funds every month to pay off the 5% payment tongue.gif

Tip, based on present offers by banks. Get OCBC and CIMB cards now. Charge the RM50K to OCBC as they offering 0% interest for transactions until end of year. If you're buying the furniture in stages over the next 3 months, this makes it easier when doing BT. But you won't be getting any reward points from OCBC Titatium but only max RM20 cash rebate per month, but then again your money can put in FD for 2-3 months. Comes December BT it to CIMB. Minimum 9 months 0% interest. But you got to pay upfront RM50 GST for each card.

Click here to read more on BT in my blog.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 10 2010, 11:12 AM
Gen-X
post Oct 22 2010, 09:53 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(nemoexcel @ Oct 21 2010, 10:47 PM)
I dont know about current promo rate frm OCBC, but their approach is different .. they dont open new account like CIMB. They are the worst of the BT ...

example : BT 12K

1 time upfront charge 3% (depending on pkg) = RM360.. then 0% for the BT period

when receive stmt :-
u will be billed RM360
if no merchant transaction, then total outstanding = RM12,360. Minimum pymt = RM618. When u make pymt, the RM360 is NOT PAID off .. (only paid 5% of it = RM18,,,, balance of RM342 kena charged normal int), even if pay more also will go towards BT amount.

But if got merchant transaction, then DAMN confusing.....the payment hierarchy is 5% minimum on TOTAL balance... you will NEVER be able to pay off the merchant transactions (since no separate account for BT and merchant transaction), so in the above example, if your merchant transaction is RM2000, then

balance = RM12,360 + 2000 = RM14,360... min pymt = RM718 ...  the balance is RM13,642
breakdown :-
RM11,400 = BT balance = 0% intrest
RM342 = BT charge ost = 17.5% int
RM1900 = merchant trans ost = 17.5% int

If pay more than minimum payment, the extra will payoff the BT balance.... NOT the merchant or BT charge....

so if wanna use OCBC, then B4/after BT, DONT USE it for merchant transaction ....

Damn confusing? lol ..... no lar  smile.gif  ...
yah lah, damn confusing this OCBC BT. Like bogartT mentioned better go for CIMB where new account created for every new BT.
Gen-X
post Nov 4 2010, 11:40 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(egyprince @ Nov 4 2010, 10:03 PM)
Can you explain it in more details....hmmm dont really understand leh..
you don't understand because there is no such thing as free cash. His statement is totally misleading and inaccurate.

by transffering a BT account to another BT account just prolong the debt payment. The debts still need to be paid (in MBB case, 12 equal installemts).
Gen-X
post Nov 17 2010, 08:51 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(furryfluffy @ Nov 17 2010, 07:00 PM)
it's just a way for banks to make money out of ur mountain of debts.
True for most people who are in debt. They do BT then go spend more on CC and their debts keep mounting. Then again there are a few of us here who take "advantage" of the 0% BT and earn some pocket money.
Gen-X
post Dec 2 2010, 10:14 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(ericpires @ Dec 2 2010, 01:49 PM)
Now i max my credit limit on my HLB to 4K. Which bank u recommend to do the BT.. say if i can manage to pay it all in 6 mths?
Direct Access or Public Bank offer 0% for 6 months.

Once you do the BT, my suggestion to you is not to use Credit Cards for any transactions until you are financially more stable as RM4K nowadays is not much and you already have problems to settle this amount.
Gen-X
post Dec 3 2010, 06:59 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Dec 3 2010, 04:43 AM)
Applying CIMB (new card approved) for 0% for 6 months on 2nd Dec. The bank officer is quite busy, she just took my signature and my latest other bank CC statement. I know this is weird, anyone has any experience with CIMB Balance Transfer? How long this is going to take?

My other CC statement due is 10th. Do you think I should pay the minimum  payment first, considering today is 3rd? Thank you.

I not yet ask the detail, for CIMB Balance Transfer, is it monthly had to a certain minimum amount? let say RM3000 over 6 months, each months is RM500? I can pay more right, or even pay all earlier right? Thank you.
1) Yes, they do need the other bank CC statement.

2) It should take less than 5 working days to approve. As for the minimum 5% payment on the other card, make sure you make the minimum payment before your due date if CIMB yet to make payment as it will affect your credit records besides paying penalty for late payment.

3) CIMB Balance Transfer account - you only need to pay 5% of the amount due each month. You may pay more if you wish.

Click on my signature on balance transfer below for more info.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 3 2010, 07:00 AM
Gen-X
post Dec 6 2010, 06:12 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(StylezWork @ Dec 6 2010, 05:03 PM)
Want to check with you guys whats is the good BT now..currently I'm using UOB, RM 6k & HSBC, RM 7k. Dont think I can manage to settle it in 6 months time. Do you think I get a personal loan better or BT better...advise needed....
If you can do BT better since the interest rate is much lower than Personal Loan. If you can't settle in 6 months, you can opt for 12 months.

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0395sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:47 AM