Samsung Galaxy S i9000 Official Thread V20, Super AMOLED Screen with Gorilla Glass!

alvinz
post Aug 9 2011, 10:03 PM

832 posts

wow .. i am off for roughly 7hrs and came back with almost 5 new pages and a new thread! .. congratz! ... and thanks icejoker! ...

btw, i checked all my photos too ... each one with 5m and superfine quality is around 1.4mb to 1.7mb ... i think maybe u list out everything so we can check one by one, starting with whats the "about phone" list and camera settings ...
alvinz
post Aug 9 2011, 10:43 PM

832 posts

@icejoker, i tested 5M and normal quality, each pic is 750kb to 830kb ... so this shows more like setting problem? or a bad luck camera issue? ... sad.gif

QUOTE(profdrahhen @ Aug 9 2011, 10:06 PM)
i already flash with speedmod-kernel-k15i-t2b.tar, but why still un-root??
usually its auto rooted ... i suspect your memory is full (forgot which memory already, i will check through the threads and let u know later) ...

Did u read the first page on how to enter recovery mode? and make sure u read and confirm everything ... instructions that u dont understand can try to ask first ... i am not a user of CM7 (maybe soon?) so u will need to wait for other sifus to reply .. happy flashing ..

alvinz
post Aug 9 2011, 10:57 PM

832 posts

@profdrahhen, ah so u manage to root your sgs .. haha .. anyway i found the thread ... if cant root, there is a possibility that /system partition is full (sos), and this supports it .. smile.gif dont so lazy ... go read ... i got my dissertation to work on, have a write a book out of it ... cry.gif
alvinz
post Aug 9 2011, 10:59 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Aug 9 2011, 10:56 PM)
mine also 5MP.. but each pic size is around 1.4mb - 1.5mb.. hmm...
my one Superfine quality with 5M also 1.4mb to 1.6mb .... only Normal quality with 5M around 800kb ... biggrin.gif
alvinz
post Aug 10 2011, 12:54 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Aug 10 2011, 12:00 AM)
Congrats for V20.

Anyway i'm still stuck with 2.1 (Eclair). Phone can't be detected (installed the USB driver like the first page, still can't). Can't go to recovery / download mode (tried few steps shown in the first page, didn't work also).

Guess the only solution is to get the Download Mode USB. Is it available at Lowyat Plaza? Or just drop by Samsung centre? Did they offer flashing services? hmm.gif
did u try installing the latest kies software? ... uninstall everything and do a fresh install, the kies contains all the required drivers ...

Added on August 10, 2011, 1:01 am
QUOTE(ic3joker @ Aug 9 2011, 07:00 PM)
Advanced Usage of Samsung Galaxy S
General

3-button combo/3-button fix/3-button enable/3-button disable
Follow this link to get 3 button combo.

icejoker .. link above is dead ....
update it with this one: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=821698
hehe laugh.gif

Added on August 10, 2011, 1:11 am
QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Aug 10 2011, 12:00 AM)
Congrats for V20.

Anyway i'm still stuck with 2.1 (Eclair). Phone can't be detected (installed the USB driver like the first page, still can't). Can't go to recovery / download mode (tried few steps shown in the first page, didn't work also).

Guess the only solution is to get the Download Mode USB. Is it available at Lowyat Plaza? Or just drop by Samsung centre? Did they offer flashing services? hmm.gif
if all else fails ... u can try this .. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=819551

This post has been edited by alvinz: Aug 10 2011, 01:11 AM
alvinz
post Aug 10 2011, 06:06 AM

832 posts

holy cow .. shouldnt u 2 be sleeping? .. i am the night watcher of this thread .. shuu shuu .. go sleep kiddies tongue.gif
alvinz
post Aug 10 2011, 11:02 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(zs3889 @ Aug 10 2011, 09:49 PM)
What's with this samsung galaxy s 4g?? improved version?

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_s_4g-3719.php
the only difference is the one u showed is 4G versions, which is only used in the US or other countries that uses 4G (japan i think) ... M'sia is only 3G ...

QUOTE(BuFung @ Aug 10 2011, 10:30 PM)
bagus keh ni jvr..??

any bugs?
its a leak version, so make a guess yourself ... tongue.gif

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Aug 10 2011, 10:31 PM)
haiz.. i want 2 try jvr..
but Ramad didn't create a deodexed for it.. aiya.. biggrin.gif
ramad found something suspicious inside JVR and alot also talking about darky having something to do with it ... after reading things on XDA, i think i will stay on JVQ

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Aug 10 2011, 10:45 PM)
yes. after flashing cm7, reboot to install gapps. install tb from market and then you can restore apps and data.
damn ... everyone is talking about cm7 ... i think i will be switching soon .. haha
alvinz
post Aug 10 2011, 11:23 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(zs3889 @ Aug 10 2011, 11:08 PM)
yea i am in the us so i might get this one, just to make sure how is this different to normal samsung galaxy s in malaysia..

did you guys notice that the home button is different and there are few more button at the bottom of the screen compared to the normal samsung galaxy s in malaysia?

just trying to be clear  smile.gif
it is also know as Vibrant 4G, internal specs will be the same only the exterior is different, which u have pointed out it has 4 touch softkeys rather than 2 + 1 home button ... 4G versions doesnt work in M'sia if i am not mistaken ... and u cant flash normal international galaxy s version rom, have to find specifically for vibrant 4g ...

Added on August 10, 2011, 11:24 pm
QUOTE(deanomoi @ Aug 10 2011, 11:17 PM)
help gapps andriod market cant search for any apps
try clear cache and dalvik cache .. then start phone, sync your gmail first then only market ...

This post has been edited by alvinz: Aug 10 2011, 11:24 PM
alvinz
post Aug 10 2011, 11:27 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Aug 10 2011, 11:05 PM)
me too.. too bad sad.gif

may I kno the main reason for flashing EZbase? don understand after reading biggrin.gif
i think flashing ezbase saves up time and resource than flashing the whole rom? it is always used for cm7 last time before gingerbread bootloader version is released ... but i feel that i am not answering the question .. wahahaha

Added on August 10, 2011, 11:33 pm
QUOTE(annas473 @ Aug 10 2011, 11:26 PM)
i just try it and now i'm curious to know what ramad found about jvr  drool.gif  icon_question.gif

here the link
long story short ... ramad found out that JVR build date is same with JVQ ... csc and some other files are the same as JVQ, only some system files were changed... the weirdest thing is, how and why is darky involved in this leaked release? and why are the build dates the same as JVQ? ....

personally i suspect it was darky's team who released this version and named it JVR not from samsung .... just my 2 pence ...

This post has been edited by alvinz: Aug 10 2011, 11:33 PM
alvinz
post Aug 10 2011, 11:54 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Aug 10 2011, 11:42 PM)
thanks for ur answer laugh.gif  I kno it saves time, but how does it work? lol... and how is it "cleaner" than flashing stock?
no idea on this .. havent use before, only read about it in xda ... haha .. used to odin and cwm already laugh.gif
alvinz
post Aug 11 2011, 12:17 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(ahhon83 @ Aug 10 2011, 11:58 PM)
Flash ezbase 2.0 cm7 with JVK bootloader from first page, now the data doesn't work. Am i doin sth wrong here?
errr .... nightly cm7 can now be installed with gingerbread bootloader ..... why are u flashing JVK bootloader? ...... u need to read everything before flashing, especially advanced roms like cm7 ...
alvinz
post Aug 11 2011, 12:23 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(ahhon83 @ Aug 11 2011, 12:18 AM)
hmm...i tot now with froyo with cm7, then i wanna try wtih GB bootloader, so i flash with jvk bootloader. No? I think i'm wrong...tongue.gif
oh i see .. yea u r correct, i wasnt thinking straight ... maybe u could get a stock rom by ramad with bootloaders + speedmod kernel, then flash with odin .. i usually will use this procedure (my habit) .. hahahaha

@ken, u on cm7? ... everyday read here everyone is going cm7 .. haha
alvinz
post Aug 11 2011, 12:31 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Aug 11 2011, 12:29 AM)
tat's my habit too biggrin.gif  I'm still on JVP. u'll kno thru my siggy laugh.gif  y din u migrate to CM7 too? laugh.gif
starting to think about migration but backup stuff is holding me back .. actually, laziness is holding me back, in addition, my dissertation is already killing me .. laugh.gif
alvinz
post Aug 11 2011, 01:01 AM

832 posts

aint it abit outdated? ... haha ...
alvinz
post Aug 13 2011, 09:26 AM

832 posts

i like the touchwiz 4 too ... maybe got used to it ....
alvinz
post Aug 14 2011, 08:00 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Aug 9 2011, 07:00 PM)

Your Phone and Your PC

How do you get your PC to recognise the Galaxy S?
You need to download a USB driver for windows. It is included by default when you installed KIES. If you don't, download the driver from the following link.
x86/x32
x64

icejoker, i rmb a few pages back one of the forumer mention that the mention 'drivers' above are not working .. maybe u can replace it with this one (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=961956) ... i think the TS updates it frequently ... cheers laugh.gif
alvinz
post Aug 15 2011, 08:40 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(galaxy s forever @ Aug 15 2011, 05:55 AM)
Does anyone experienced usb connection to pc problem?
already downloaded the driver,,but still cant,
my laptop cant detect the phone,even after i installed kies.

icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
have u tried with another comp? ... try uninstall everything, the drivers and kies ... then use the link on first page to get the July drivers ... rmb to restart your comp once u uninstalled ...

0.0199sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:02 AM