13 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S i9000 Official Thread V20, Super AMOLED Screen with Gorilla Glass!

ken2291
post Sep 20 2011, 10:15 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(jenwai @ Sep 20 2011, 10:09 AM)
Pikachi01,
Thank you for your reply.
I think I don't go for Root, I'm not as smart as you guy here. I did try to read the 1st page and there are things that I still can't understand.  blush.gif
Anyway, I think I just use a Stock ROM. All I wan is to get rid of the Battery Issue only.
Any other way to backup without Rooting? blush.gif
just flash a custom kernel using Odin then u'll get root. easy as that, don worry smile.gif

to backup without rooting, think u can try AppMonster

Added on September 20, 2011, 10:16 am
QUOTE(sunnyboy @ Sep 20 2011, 09:53 AM)
then how abt the prob on the phone "dead" after a nite charged?
maybe sth draining ur battery? or blank screen of death

This post has been edited by ken2291: Sep 20 2011, 10:16 AM
ken2291
post Sep 20 2011, 11:51 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(jenwai @ Sep 20 2011, 11:16 AM)
Ken, what about the SMS, Call Log and etc?
Can this be backupedu using AppMonster?
Or can I use Kies to backup them and then putthem back after I update?
u can use smsbackup for sms (first page does provide this info I think).. I use mybackup pro personally.. can backup sms, mms, call logs etc.. however the downside is after u delete an sms thread.. it remains a kosong thread there at the bottom.. but not an issue for me as it'll be cleared out whenever I reflash a new rom tongue.gif

never used Kies so can't comment on tat laugh.gif

QUOTE(Dannyl @ Sep 20 2011, 11:16 AM)
20 threads to read, that's a bit too much.  I just have a quick question:  those with GPS issues, is there a fix?  Planning to get a 2nd-hand SGS but worried about the GPS problem.
Gingerbread solved the GPS problem for me so far.. able to get a lock without data.

This post has been edited by ken2291: Sep 20 2011, 11:51 AM
ken2291
post Sep 20 2011, 04:54 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

zohawkish has ported SGS2 rom to JVS
ken2291
post Sep 20 2011, 06:46 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Sep 20 2011, 05:32 PM)
where to locate init.d :-)
using Root Explorer, system/etc/init.d
ken2291
post Sep 20 2011, 11:33 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(Narako @ Sep 20 2011, 11:02 PM)
guys i am using F1 sgs 2 rom and it always hang then nothing moves then restart itself is there anyway to stop this?
F1 SGS2 v6 I guess? move out from tat rom.. used it before. nt a nice one.. only candy eye wise. lol..

QUOTE(cradle0fFilth @ Sep 20 2011, 11:06 PM)
thx bro
cheers

Added on September 20, 2011, 11:21 pmF1 mod v7 finally!
who's on it?

he is still using deodexed tho
I think u shld try zohawkish's SGS2 port JVS rom if u wanna have a taste on SGS2.. however, there's a WiFi bug in JVS

and to add.. don use the scripts in Simplicity 0.40. had battery drain with them.. after switching back to 0.40pre scripts, got back my battery life. gonna try Pikachu's updated Zach scripts after tis laugh.gif
ken2291
post Sep 21 2011, 12:34 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Sep 21 2011, 12:18 AM)
so technically recommended to change into Talon eh? Gonna flash soon rclxm9.gif
u bet it. i think it has optimised ext4 too if not mistaken.. nid confirmation from Pikachu hmm.gif

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Sep 21 2011, 12:27 AM)
oh.. the other also effect?
i'm still using simplicity 0.3.. inside init.d folder.. i got this

77sdcardspeedfix
99supercharger (just delete after read ur post just now)
enable_netfilter
S98screenstate_scaling (hehe..)
S98system_tweak (hehe..)
S_loopy_smoothness_tweak

any other else to delete? biggrin.gif
S_loopy_smoothness_tweak must delete.. tis will cause ur phone to be slow instead of smoothness tongue.gif
ken2291
post Sep 21 2011, 12:36 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Sep 21 2011, 12:34 AM)
sweat.gif Talon's kernel just freaked me out.. Flashing and then suddenly got robotic female voice wub.gif *flashing in the dark somemore*
u sure?? we all never had that voice coming out brows.gif brows.gif it's Voodoo lagfix. Supercurio made the robot (Linda) laugh.gif
ken2291
post Sep 21 2011, 09:20 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(nokiaXP @ Sep 21 2011, 07:19 AM)
wat the advantage of xxjvs over xxjvq?xxjvs support speedmod kernel?
snappier and better Wifi signal?? nt sure abt speedmod but there're other kernels supporting it

btw,
anyone on JVS try flashing JVP bootloaders and see if it solves the Wifi issue?
ken2291
post Sep 21 2011, 10:02 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Sep 21 2011, 09:57 AM)
I recently try Galnet Chameleon for 2 days and have to give up that rom as the battery drain is very bad. 

So I switch to Simply Honey Lite with speedmod kernel and the bat drain is very bad too. I like the speed and smoothness of Simply Honey but the battery drain is a big problem. Is it the speedmod kernel that is the cause?

Any other rom to recommend that is smooth and not battery drain problem?
Simplicity 0.40 smile.gif
ken2291
post Sep 21 2011, 10:12 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Sep 21 2011, 10:10 AM)
Does simplicity comes with 9 lockscreen and gingerbread keyboard?  Thanks
no 9 lockscreens but u can install Gingerbread keyboard on ur own. It's odexed hence the reason there're no 9 lockscreens
ken2291
post Sep 21 2011, 12:02 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(kintsuchi @ Sep 21 2011, 11:51 AM)
can give me link
click my rom "Simplicity 0.40" in my sig
ken2291
post Sep 21 2011, 03:51 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(jenwai @ Sep 21 2011, 01:46 PM)
ken and pikachu,

Just wan to drop by to say thank you for the help and guide for me to upgrade my phone from 2.3.3 to 2.3.5

I finally upgraded it successfully last nite.  rclxm9.gif
I can't restore my Apps, but I can restore back my SMS, MMS and Call logs using BackupMaster.
For the contacts, I put it back using Kies. But, there are some information (Notes) in the contact is missing.

Anyway, thanks again!! notworthy.gif
nxt time just root your phone and use titanium laugh.gif

QUOTE(cradle0fFilth @ Sep 21 2011, 01:47 PM)
Thx Ken, pikachu and gajah. My rig does feel bit better wt talon and the modded platypus script. Batt wise.. almost same tho. But no complains la.. my cable is oways wt me at work.

Cheers
haha, I don't deserve a thing. Credits go to Pikachu.. I followed what he does too tongue.gif

Added on September 21, 2011, 3:53 pm
QUOTE(Fries @ Sep 21 2011, 01:53 PM)
how to add gmail app? simplicity 0.40pre
QUOTE(darude87 @ Sep 21 2011, 02:15 PM)
i just flashed the simplicity 0.4, it seems that bluetooth is not working , anyone have the same prob?
use Addon Creator on Simplicity's first page to generate the bluetooth and gmail zip to flash in CWM

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Sep 21 2011, 01:58 PM)
Very sad to see that the new Simplicity is ridden with bugs sad.gif

The very first Simplicity was really simple and bug free, now it should be renamed to Complexity. :S
I think the bugs are mostly related to its default scripts, bcoz I'm running it fine from here hmm.gif

This post has been edited by ken2291: Sep 21 2011, 03:55 PM
ken2291
post Sep 21 2011, 04:30 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Sep 21 2011, 04:11 PM)
Yeah, takes more effort to remove stuff to get it running than to add stuff to a stock ROM :/
our hope now is small modifications on odexed rom.. like how ppl choose Ramad's deodexed back then

QUOTE(darude87 @ Sep 21 2011, 04:19 PM)
thx ken ! got 2 more question wanna ask if you dont mind tongue.gif
how do you change the lockscreen? i tried to use addon by adding default lockscreen but it doesn't work, and any way we can add in sgs 2 widget? namely sgs 2 clock , btw i'm using tw4.5
I only use Samsung lockscreen (flashed the zip using Addon Creator). some SGS2 apps and widgets over here. but nt sure if it works on odex rom wink.gif

This post has been edited by ken2291: Sep 21 2011, 06:24 PM
ken2291
post Sep 21 2011, 06:30 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Sep 21 2011, 04:38 PM)
Using talon Neutral. So far so good.
There's a word "Talon" before the Galaxy S bootanimation rite? too bad it's not like the real Talon with Nexus like cross, tat's much more beautiful biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Lacus @ Sep 21 2011, 04:51 PM)
Hopefully they manage to make the new TW4 to work on JVR roms sad.gif... Been using TW 4.5 since it's out till now smile.gif..
oways used TW4.5 but memory oways not enuf for me. too bad..

QUOTE(Lacus @ Sep 21 2011, 05:13 PM)
Used that a while then revert back to JVR (that time coz no decent kernel was available for XXJVS)
now running ramad deodex xxjvr with xxjvs modem and csc whistling.gif...
it's better to use odex XXJVR or XXJVS if u din apply any customisations like theme to ur phone. a lot of difference!!

QUOTE(SheeKenSays @ Sep 21 2011, 05:26 PM)
Yeah~~currently just stick with DarkCore kernel~~

See lor~~If I'm too bored with it...may go back to CM7~~been a while since I played with that
u might want to try other kernels other than DarkCore smile.gif
ken2291
post Sep 21 2011, 08:55 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(Lacus @ Sep 21 2011, 08:39 PM)
the first Talon loading thingie freaked me out sweat.gif flashed the kernel early in the morning lol.. but how come not enough memory? too many stuff running background?
QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Sep 21 2011, 08:52 PM)
Talon comes with a bit of an aggressive LMK setting without tweaking. You can tweak according to my settings in my sig in the Android Optimization thread. It's smooth after that smile.gif
maybe I prefer tw3 because it's lighter.. gonna try again next time laugh.gif
ken2291
post Sep 22 2011, 01:30 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Sep 21 2011, 11:06 PM)
i'm still on simplicity 0.3..
using talon since last two days with pikachu01 memoryfreak setting + platypus script.. smooth.. that what i can say..

but after being used for a long time i figure out it become a lil heavy.. sometimes my free rams reached 20mb ti 30mb only?

already delete some file inside init.d as discussed in previous page.. any suggestion? or talon not really compatible with simplicity 0.3? or my apps + games too many?

Added on September 21, 2011, 11:09 pmhaven't applied the Acid tweak & Journaling yet..
no such thing.. hw many apps + games u have tongue.gif try searching for "Memory Leak" in Pikachu's optimisation page smile.gif
ken2291
post Sep 22 2011, 09:06 AM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Sep 22 2011, 02:00 AM)
inside terminal emulator..
su <enter>
free <enter>

but.. after i enter the free command.. it say
"free : not found"

any comment?
after typing "su" does it prompt u to allow superuser? did u allow it?

QUOTE(RisK.yO @ Sep 22 2011, 02:42 AM)
guys, i used add-on creator to add the alternative language for swype..now y sywpe keep force close...how to get it back to default?
wad alternative language u need? not sure hw many languages this have, but u can install the apk straightaway http://www.mediafire.com/?vrpvd355kde47va
ken2291
post Sep 22 2011, 04:29 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Sep 22 2011, 03:33 PM)
Ken2291:

in my system/etc there in no init.d folder, but i got init.goldfish.sh
make sure the kernel u use supports init.d

QUOTE(Lacus @ Sep 22 2011, 03:39 PM)
Charged using the adapter (leaving it to charge without doing anything). Still the same. Charging stops once the battery 100% icon appears but battery is around 97% hmm.gif
it's a feature to prevent the battery at 100% because it'll shorten the life of Li-ion batteries

QUOTE(shredder90 @ Sep 22 2011, 04:11 PM)
hye guys..
i want to ask how to format this galaxy s..
i want it to look like just bought..
it's hard to format this phone?
take a look on 1st page on how to wipe/reset ur phone.
Alternatively, u can key in *2767*3855# using dialer. NOTE THAT YOUR SDCARD content will be wiped too.
ken2291
post Sep 22 2011, 05:28 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Sep 22 2011, 04:30 PM)
turn off ur phone,
and press the home button (center button) + volume up + on switch

ur phone will be in recovery mode.wipe all data,including format memory..
p/s :: correct me if im wrong whistling.gif
wiping in recovery mode won't wipe memory card biggrin.gif
ken2291
post Sep 22 2011, 06:12 PM

Getting there!!
2,908 posts

QUOTE(Crossover @ Sep 22 2011, 05:47 PM)
ken2291:

speedmod dun support init.d ?
Speedmod does support. u can just create the folder in there.

P/S: correct me if I'm wrong

13 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0452sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:36 AM