SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V11, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

keyzjh
post Aug 11 2011, 09:02 PM

296 posts

Anyone using GLAS protector here? Is the oleophobic coating good?
Feel like getting GLAS + linear series xD
keyzjh
post Aug 13 2011, 10:58 PM

296 posts

Since Lite-ning ROM contains root and CWM, I can just follow instructions on xda to flash a stock[I] phone to Lite-Ning according to this link?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1095274

Thank you for all your patience sifus smile.gif

keyzjh
post Aug 13 2011, 11:53 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 13 2011, 11:07 PM)
YES ; just follow the instructions
Thank you uncle benny biggrin.gif
Been following this thread for a few months, finally got my SGS2 biggrin.gif
Add me to user list thanks!
keyzjh
post Aug 17 2011, 02:48 PM

296 posts

If I'm not mistaken, any kernel can be used on any S2?

Then why does CF recommend only "near" kernel versions?

keyzjh
post Aug 17 2011, 04:38 PM

296 posts

Dear sifus, I have already flashed CF root on my phone successfully, using the same modem KF1 that came with the phone.

Do I need to do anything else if I want to flash Batista ROM which is based on KG6?
keyzjh
post Aug 17 2011, 06:28 PM

296 posts

The top of my S2's screen has a broad pink line down when a white image is shown on the screen(especially when viewed sideways). I don't think this is a common problem?

When run *#0*# and running the green test, see the screen from sideways, the same broad line can be seen as a darkened area.

Anyone else with this issue?
Can someone refer me to any Samsung service centres?
keyzjh
post Aug 18 2011, 02:16 AM

296 posts

Sigh, after googling around to no avail, I guess the only way is to send my S2 to a service centre.

I searched using Samsung Malaysia site. KL region has 2 centres - Lowyat and Midvalley. Anyone been there or know if both centres offer screen display replacement?

My phone is running on Batista's ROM. Just bought it yesterday. Do I need to flash back to stock ROM before sending the phone in?

Really need some helping hand here sad.gif Awesome phone but unlucky screen issue

Thank you!

This post has been edited by keyzjh: Aug 18 2011, 02:59 AM
keyzjh
post Aug 18 2011, 01:36 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 18 2011, 06:24 AM)
Recommended good service center at plaza berjaya, first floor jalan imbi
tel 0321411446
Thank you for your help blush.gif
keyzjh
post Aug 18 2011, 02:05 PM

296 posts

Erm, regarding sending phone in for warranty. Should I flash back to stock ROM if it's only a hardware fault? They will still honour the warranty if I'm having a custom ROM on it?
keyzjh
post Aug 18 2011, 03:02 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 18 2011, 02:35 PM)
If you worry about this, just do it
whatrver you do the technician wil still  know you have root n flash before
i never bother and i honestly tell them i root n flash.
Thanks again for your prompt help!
Yeah, I do agree warranty basics can be placed on front page biggrin.gif

Thanks!
keyzjh
post Aug 19 2011, 02:03 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(sLapshock @ Aug 19 2011, 01:50 AM)
Thanks, destEX,

succesfully flashed speedfrey 2.2.0

hope its all better.

Anyway, do anyone know if i using sports tracking apps like endomondo, nike run, sportstracker etc... if i off my data connection and line signal, do they still can track using the GPS alone? or i need to turn on the data connection and reception for it to works?

any program that i can do with gps alone, coz i sometimes do travel, and  regularly run, so wanted it to track my location.
As far as I know, all apps can lock with purely GPS signal. Data is just for AGPS - faster locking. After initial data picking up, only GPS is used anyway
keyzjh
post Aug 19 2011, 03:14 AM

296 posts

Batista is the first custom ROM I flashed, and I noticed that when the USB is plugged in the phone to the computer, when the notification in the notification bar is tapped, nothing happens at all.

In stock ROM, upon plugging into the computer, there is a separate screen and a message telling you to press the home button to disable USB connection. There is no such option on this ROM.

Is it safe if I just pull the USB out of the phone?

Also, how can I access the phone test (*#0*#) again? Not working on this ROM either. Need this to prove my screen problems.

Thanks!
keyzjh
post Aug 19 2011, 10:38 PM

296 posts

Finally able to go to Samsung service centre tomorrow to sort out my screen issue biggrin.gif

Hopefully it can be done in a few hours though..

keyzjh
post Aug 19 2011, 11:49 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(dhouseng @ Aug 19 2011, 11:30 PM)
let us know if u can get a pure white screen with good viewing angles....
Sure!
Mine has a more serious issue though. Can see a broad pink line on the top when displaying white.
Viewing angles have no problems.

I'd rather have worse viewing angles than my current prob cool2.gif
keyzjh
post Aug 19 2011, 11:53 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(888kb24 @ Aug 19 2011, 11:50 PM)
it's better than yellowish, they had just replaced a new set for me yesterday, it's blueish now. i think SME all are a bit blueish cos he gave me a few sets to see, all bit blueish...
unless u buy AP set, it's pure white...
Speaking of which, mine is abit blueish from a tight angle as well. But doesn't bother at all during regular use, so it's okay rclxms.gif

0.0328sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:54 AM