132 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V11, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

mydragoon
post Aug 10 2011, 10:31 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(supermac @ Aug 10 2011, 10:28 AM)
may i know , how to i get the offical malaysia stock rom with chinese ?
if you mean complete in chinese... there is non. official version is the english version. HK ROM comes in chinese... so you probably need to flash it.

but if you mean input... you can download Google PinYin keyboard.
wkwong77
post Aug 10 2011, 10:31 AM

51 posts

I bought my phone with Maxis on 22nd June and yesterday bought another 1 through Digi for my wife. I found mine screen is yellowish and my wife phone's screen is bluish. Both no problem on camera pinkish.
Fallenangelz
post Aug 10 2011, 10:32 AM

24 Hours a day just isn't enough.
3,221 posts

QUOTE(wkwong77 @ Aug 10 2011, 10:31 AM)
I bought my phone with Maxis on 22nd June and yesterday bought another 1 through Digi for my wife. I found mine screen is yellowish and my wife phone's screen is bluish. Both no problem on camera pinkish.
so colorful... meh doh.gif
chindian
post Aug 10 2011, 10:34 AM

QUOTE(chindian @ Aug 10 2011, 09:59 AM)
thank you bro for the reply will try later and post result. thank you once again. javascript:emoticon(':thumbs:')
rclxms.gif yes it worked.
JusticeDeserves
post Aug 10 2011, 10:36 AM

1,914 posts

guys.my external sd cant seem to be detected on CWM recovery mode..any solutions?
wkwong77
post Aug 10 2011, 10:37 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Aug 10 2011, 10:32 AM)
so colorful... meh doh.gif
True, maybe different batch production. But yellowish looks brighter and Bluish look dark, have to set higher brightness.
JusticeDeserves
post Aug 10 2011, 10:37 AM

1,914 posts

the external_sd is there..but cant select it.. :S
waveweaver
post Aug 10 2011, 10:38 AM

★★Android & Apple★★
13,192 posts

~~@ Dear members,

May i suggest for a new thread for SGSII newcomers.?
One reason is to keep this thread from ever growing like no tomorrow. Secondly, i find a lot of newcomers are former Nokia, Blackberry and iPhone user. Since they come from a totally different OS, there a bound to be some newcomers who can't grasp Android jargon or meaning although they have done some reading at our wiki on page 1.

I know these newcomers can ask here BUT i have seen quite a few times when they got rebuked just because they ask some question that seem noob to us but i'm sure it's difficult to them.

We have more than 600+ SGSII user in our forum but there are less than 100 who is active here. Where all the rest gone?
I strongly believe a bulk of this non-active user are newcomers that are either to shy or to scared to ask anything in this forum. And they simply fade away. :-(

With a new thread, noob, newbie (or whateverelse we call them) can have a place to ask anything out of their heart content about what they don't understand WHILE at the same time not disturbing this thread that mostly full of discussion about theme, overclocking, undervolting, tweaking, cooking, rooting and flashing custom roms.

Will somebody think of this..?

Cheers..!!!

Fallenangelz
post Aug 10 2011, 10:41 AM

24 Hours a day just isn't enough.
3,221 posts

QUOTE(JusticeDeserves @ Aug 10 2011, 10:37 AM)
the external_sd is there..but cant select it.. :S
some kernel's cwm have this issue. reboot and put it in internal sd, then boot into cwm again. i kinda fked up in same situation when facing all apps fc when upgrading my sensation rom.

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 10 2011, 10:38 AM)
~~@ Dear members,

One reason is to keep this thread from ever growing like no tomorrow. Secondly, i find a lot of newcomers are former Nokia, Blackberry and iPhone user. Since they come from a totally different OS, there a bound to be some newcomers who can't grasp Android jargon or meaning although they have done some reading at our wiki on page 1.

I know these newcomers can ask here BUT i have seen quite a few times when they got rebuked just because they ask some question that seem noob to us but i'm sure it's difficult to them.

We have more than 600+ SGSII user in our forum but there are less than 100 who is active here. Where all the rest gone?
I strongly believe a bulk of this non-active user are newcomers that are either to shy or to scared to ask anything in this forum. And they simply fade away. :-(

With a new thread, noob, newbie (or whateverelse we call them) can have a place to ask anything out of their heart content about what they don't understand WHILE at the same time not disturbing this thread that mostly full of discussion about theme, overclocking, undervolting, tweaking, cooking, rooting and flashing custom roms.

Cheers..!!!
good idea!!! well i suggest u to become the threadstarter smile.gif
supermac
post Aug 10 2011, 10:43 AM

2,709 posts

i bought a sgs2 from a forumer and it's rooted , i restore it just now , left me without chinese language and input , i wanted to get a offical malaysia rom with chinese , but i search samfirmware x jumpa ..

so i downloading the 2.3.4 I9100ZNKG5 ## CSC = OZHKG5 EXT4.PIT 2.3.4 China 2011 July

can this be used ?

no way flashing rom with mac?
Ryutaro
post Aug 10 2011, 10:44 AM

~ Just a noob programmer ~
545 posts

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 10 2011, 10:38 AM)
~~@ Dear members,

Cheers..!!!
t-up^^me myself came from sybian v3 LOL straight jump to android and the starting of using android phone is quite hard..
AstonCheah

383 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Aug 10 2011, 09:48 AM)
it's a dual core phone, if it's not smooth and responsive then what's the purpose of dual core?

this is a simple story on a noob trying to root:

my friend (who's a girl) actually love this phone so much, she bought it, tested the stock ROM for half a day and decided to root and flash custom ROM on her own!  and she's not a techie, she doesn't has any experience in android whatsoever!  she spent 2 days reading all the technical stuff (she said thank god her english is good enough) and then tried rooting it.  first time she got it right (rooting done, no flashing yet).  then don't know why when turning the phone to landscape mode the whole UI lagged like hell.  it happens every time it switches to landscape.  so she un-root it the other day, did a factory reset and then re-root it AGAIN!  after she root her phone the 2nd time (in 2 days...) she was stuck on what to do because she doesn't know whether it's rooted or not since she forgot to flash a file on Odin (i forgot what file already).  she obviously has no idea how to test the phone to see whether it's rooted and panicked....she called me.

after i tested it on terminal emulator and some apps that needs root access, i confirmed it is rooted.  the next step (obviously) is flashing custom roms, so she did that on her own (with me by her side)....she said later when she got bored she'll OC it... thumbup.gif

damn that girl has balls...errr...not real ones obviously but RESPECT  notworthy.gif
rclxms.gif

i hope my gf will have the BALLs like this girl to really explore her s2, then we will have more android stuff to do together lol.. thumbup.gif .

This post has been edited by AstonCheah: Aug 10 2011, 10:45 AM
exhauster

427 posts

galaxy SII user reporting in.
1 question here.. Will there be alot of charges if I enable my data packet while I did not subscribe any data plan. This is because I found that, once I have connection to wifi, it will automatically find apps whether hv the latest version. Any method to disable it from finding update?
Clarification: Find latest update doesn't mean update it, nevertheless it still use up line to find rite.
mydragoon
post Aug 10 2011, 10:46 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Ryutaro @ Aug 10 2011, 10:44 AM)
t-up^^me myself came from sybian v3 LOL straight jump to android and the starting of using android phone is quite hard..
ya, actually like this... would be good if the newbie thread talks about anything else other than flashing ROMS.

sorry... +1 to waveweaver for coming up with the suggestion.

Added on August 10, 2011, 10:47 am
QUOTE(supermac @ Aug 10 2011, 10:43 AM)
i bought a sgs2 from a forumer and it's rooted , i restore it just now , left me without chinese language and input , i wanted to get a offical malaysia rom with chinese , but i search samfirmware x jumpa ..

so i downloading the 2.3.4 I9100ZNKG5 ## CSC = OZHKG5 EXT4.PIT 2.3.4 China 2011 July

can this be used ?

no way flashing rom with mac?
i believe the HKG means Hong Kong rom. that's the one I mentioned earlier about having everything in chinese.

QUOTE(wkwong77 @ Aug 10 2011, 10:31 AM)
best way to check is make sure all at factory settings. you could have changed the display settings...

secondly... i noticed some SP may change the colour a bit... so, the Q is... the older phone got SP? smile.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 10 2011, 10:50 AM
TSbenny888
post Aug 10 2011, 10:50 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(supermac @ Aug 10 2011, 10:28 AM)
may i know , how to i get the offical malaysia stock rom with chinese ?
ALL the Malaysian original sets DO NOT have Chinese builtin - WHY ??? Nobody knows, maybe just to fulfill market needs first, we get the English based sets forst; only Asian language option is Korean
You need to flash a Chinese based rom eg from Hong Kong - see page 1 FAQ for links

And I flash my phone using my iMAC and sometimes my MacBook Air - on Windows 7 via VMWare Fusion

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 10 2011, 10:52 AM
post Aug 10 2011, 10:50 AM

Workaholic
2,743 posts

QUOTE(exhauster @ Aug 10 2011, 10:44 AM)
1 question here.. Will there be alot of charges if I enable my data packet while I did not subscribe any data plan. This is because I found that, once I have connection to wifi, it will automatically find apps whether hv the latest version. Any method to disable it from finding update?
Clarification: Find latest update doesn't mean update it, nevertheless it still use up line to find rite.
it will give you a bill shock at the end of the month.
Either subscribe a data plan or resort with using wifi

Added on August 10, 2011, 10:52 amguys,
whats the battery drain % of playing games?
i was playing field runner HD, within 20 minutes, dropped 20% @__@
normal?

This post has been edited by 10071985: Aug 10 2011, 10:52 AM
Ryutaro
post Aug 10 2011, 10:52 AM

~ Just a noob programmer ~
545 posts

QUOTE(Ryutaro @ Aug 10 2011, 09:33 AM)
okay what i found from villianROM forum of explaining a full wipe isIn recovery mode:

Wipe data/factory reset
Wipe sd:ext
Wipe battery stats
Wipe Dalvik Cache
Wipe usage statistics

Partition SD card

do we really need to do all that to flash a ROM?
i need ans for this T.T
mydragoon

7,044 posts

QUOTE(exhauster @ Aug 10 2011, 10:44 AM)
yes, you will probably get a shocking bill if you dun have a data plan.

just to share... i once got charged rm20+ for trying out Google Maps on a dumbphone. i didn't have any data plans then. but that phone had google maps... so was trying it out -- to locate myself. i only used twice... and got charged that much! i think its like rm0.10 per kb.

what i suggest is... get a data plan. a cheap plan by digi is about less than rm30... i think its called the smart plan lite.
supermac

2,709 posts

thanks for the info's sifu ! buthen i downloaded this ----> I9100ZNKG5 ## CSC = OZHKG5 EXT4.PIT 2.3.4 China 2011 July

china , shud have chinese right ? and can be use right cox i see 2.3.4 like latest !
TSbenny888
post Aug 10 2011, 10:54 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(Ryutaro @ Aug 10 2011, 10:52 AM)
i need ans for this T.T
Just wipe cache partition and at Advanced wipe dalvik cache is the MINIMUM you must do
Clear data/factory reset is an option - some roms need you to do this ; some not necessary - this will wipe your phone clean. But I always recommend to do this to start clean - just use Titanium Backup restore is easy and fast. This step will usually eliminate force closures and hanging issues of certain apps.

132 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.87    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:24 PM