Android Phone Recommendation Thread v3, Always remember to read the first post!

mdnurman
post Oct 24 2011, 10:24 PM

738 posts

what's the best android phone at the range of rm1.5k +- rm150 with big memory/storage?
mdnurman
post Nov 15 2011, 12:51 PM

738 posts

whats the best android phone at the moment (looking at non-root device with high internal storage +- good camera)

below RM1k?
between RM1k- RM1.5K?
between RM1.5K- RM2k?

ori prices please.

mostly use for taking candid pix and as organizer (calendar stuffs).

Thanks!
mdnurman
post Nov 15 2011, 01:12 PM

738 posts

QUOTE(x132755 @ Nov 15 2011, 12:54 PM)
below RM1k? Galaxy W @ 9xx ori
between RM1k- RM1.5K? Optimus 2x @ 13xx ap
between RM1.5K- RM2k? Sensation XE @ 17xx ori
x132755

so SGS2 doesnt make the grade into 1.5k-2k category?
mdnurman
post Nov 15 2011, 01:16 PM

738 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Nov 15 2011, 01:14 PM)
IMHO, SGS II is still the best handset in the market smile.gif
any other ideas based on the price categories?
mdnurman
post Nov 22 2011, 12:20 AM

738 posts

3rd htc desire
5th note?
mdnurman
post Nov 27 2011, 12:11 AM

738 posts

Hi all
Seems that all recommending SGS2 nonG version. Let say that there is no more nonG original version,is SGS2 G still recommended?.or other smartphone is much better than SGS2 G?
mdnurman
post Nov 27 2011, 07:58 AM

738 posts

Rather not discussed about product that not being released yet eg SGS3 which is unknown. Now even the price of hdd up by 20%. Ok it is either razr, sensation xe and sgs2g. Thanks.

Atm, my previous android, desire, chacha and iconia never being rooted. Maybe one day. Malas mau pening2.
mdnurman
post Dec 2 2011, 11:27 AM

738 posts

looking for ori... now left with 2 choices. between SGS2 G (I9100G) vs Motorola RAZR.. which one is better?

note: SGS2 non-G only got AP.. only consider ori at the moment.
TQ
mdnurman
post Dec 2 2011, 04:08 PM

738 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Dec 2 2011, 03:21 PM)
If you are VERY sure you won't play with custom roms, then either 1 will do. But if you are gonna play with custom roms, then get RAZR  smile.gif
i had used htc desire and htc chacha as well as iconia a500 and never root them.. so perhap SGS2 will be ok. from the www, RAZR need microSIM? so have to potong the SIM card la? sometimes i change phone to nokia/cha2/desire...
mdnurman
post Dec 2 2011, 04:14 PM

738 posts

have been interested in reading gsmarena review on RAZR... but if have to potong... cancel maaa...SGS2 G pun G laaaa
mdnurman
post Dec 2 2011, 08:13 PM

738 posts

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Dec 2 2011, 07:45 PM)
I highly regard the RAZR.
I'm pretty sure quite soon in the future the bootloader will be unlocked.

Added on December 2, 2011, 7:46 pmBTW guys, the Beats Tour that comes with the Sensation XE, is it the one with Control Talk?

Added on December 2, 2011, 7:48 pm
SGS2? I would recommend the Non-G version. even AP is fine. The G version has terrible issues with its firmware.

According to my bro, at least 5 sets come back a week for fc issues, screen fade issues, overheating a few more.

Though heat wise, if I'm not mistaken its supposed to run cooler than the non-g version so its pretty confusing.
wahh.. SGS2 G that bad ka... prefer ori due to warranty purposes and furthermore stay in seremban... if kl can go to lowyat often.. if like that... have to find the non-g spec la... btw.. in all maxis/digi/celcom shop including ap.. will there be any non-g(ori) left? how to check g and non-g?.. i cant find ori non-g... razr pun razr lah.. potong s(t)im card

thanks for the info bro
mdnurman
post Dec 15 2011, 12:18 PM

738 posts

Went to Midvalley yesterday to survey android (SGS2/RAZR/SGN etc). the PDAexpert guy suggested NOT to buy SGS2 as it has problem which is the motherboard and said lots of customer return their SGS2 either to them or Samsung centre in imbi. Razr is as big as SGN.. Nexus S out of stock in Gardens Malls. So still undecided. sigh

any other advice?

(i wont root or use custom rom at all)
mdnurman
post Dec 15 2011, 04:20 PM

738 posts

QUOTE(Pziko @ Dec 15 2011, 01:45 PM)
Since you wish to use the phone as it is, I would strongly advise you to get the Galaxy Nexus for its swift software update.
so far no ori SGnex available and the price... wwaaawwwiiiiii.. so high (>2k) even for AP... willing to downgrad to Nexus S due to rm799 by maxis but out of stock... so need to think other ori set android. Will SGS+ a good deal? (had Desire before.. opting for screen size >4inch now).
Note: just sold off my chacha and need android phone this few days. currently using the old e75 doh.gif
mdnurman
post Dec 16 2011, 02:16 PM

738 posts

any comments on SGS+ vs SE Arc S?
mdnurman
post Dec 19 2011, 06:51 PM

738 posts

After all the discussion regarding SGS2 G and non G plus issues about Motorola RAZR, in the end I bought myself SG Note from Senq last night. One reason is bcoz S2 no longer in stock (currently in Penang for conference) and the Spen performs exceed my expectation. Currently happy with SGN.

p.s: the screen O! M! G! ... so clear and very very very very good!

0.0193sec    0.89    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:12 PM