126 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Bottom

Android Phone Recommendation Thread v3, Always remember to read the first post!

DewDropDazzle
post Sep 26 2011, 11:08 PM

QUOTE(spetnaz @ Sep 26 2011, 10:59 AM)
I think if you try to lock the gps from standing near the window sure got lag one. My desk is next to the window in my office and just now i test the desire's gps. It took 6 minutes plus to get it lock to the satelite for my papago.

What about trying it in open space or put it on your car dashboard and drive in open space (without tall buildings around). On a cold start, my desire will take 1-3 minutes, depending on the surrounding area where i drive. If its a non cold start, it can lock very fast, sometimes as fast as my garmin nuvi
Hmm.. i tested it in my room actually tongue.gif . There isnt any tall buildings around. I used GPS Test app first b4 opening PAPAGO. My first time using GPS so im quite noobish.

QUOTE(xDarkKnightx @ Sep 26 2011, 11:04 AM)
Its a SCLCD. Not an S-AMOLED.

HTC's resale value is quite high in GS though. Used Nexus One's still go for around 8xx these days.

S Plus is SAMOLED screen. Its written behind the box as well nod.gif . Its specs:

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_i9001_galaxy_s_plus-3908.php

IS is SLCD. Specs:

http://www.gsmarena.com/htc_incredible_s-3788.php

Added on September 27, 2011, 12:00 am
QUOTE(kidmad @ Sep 26 2011, 10:38 AM)
suck? it's all good to me since the 1st day i got it. S-AMOLED.. well my buddy is using SGS2 but don't think there is anything to shout about it. Ok la nice view but not much impact functionality.

Please take note, im not someone who would watch a video on the phone cause i rather do it on my TV. tongue.gif Anyway planning to sell my ACE d. gotten myself Xperia Mini Pro. For the keyboard yo. haha

Agree with you tongue.gif . My brother just bought his SGS 2 for RM1899. And its like no different from my S Plus. The only difference is that it has 8mp with flash cam, a dual core processor and a 4.3" screen. hmm.gif Mayb im simple-minded . Too complicated and high tech stuff cannot enter brain whistling.gif .

This post has been edited by DewDropDazzle: Sep 27 2011, 12:02 AM
danielcmugen
post Sep 27 2011, 12:37 AM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Sep 25 2011, 03:47 PM)
Actually my gf always prefer ace but when she found out the display sux she is kinda sad and reluctant to switch to other chice sad.gif
If the display quality is still tolerable might as well ask her to get ace, any comment from ace owner?
I have no complaints at all bout display quality. It's just that it gets laggy at times(like now sad.gif ) on froyo...but ppl say it becomes smooth/less laggy when on oficial gingerbread, I dono la
TSxDarkKnightx
post Sep 27 2011, 12:43 AM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(DewDropDazzle @ Sep 26 2011, 11:08 PM)
Hmm.. i tested it in my room actually  tongue.gif . There isnt any tall buildings around. I used GPS Test app first b4 opening PAPAGO. My first time using GPS so im quite noobish.
S Plus is SAMOLED screen. Its written behind the box as well  nod.gif . Its specs:

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_i9001_galaxy_s_plus-3908.php

IS is SLCD. Specs:

http://www.gsmarena.com/htc_incredible_s-3788.php

Added on September 27, 2011, 12:00 am

Agree with you  tongue.gif . My brother just bought his SGS 2 for RM1899. And its like no different from my S Plus. The only difference is that it has 8mp with flash cam, a dual core processor and a 4.3" screen.  hmm.gif  Mayb im simple-minded . Too complicated and high tech stuff cannot enter brain  whistling.gif .
Mistook with SL.

Aren't those differences?

Besides, it doesn't matter to end users since we pretty much won't utilize the phone to its full potential.

The dual core processor residing in the phone is just an assurance that your phone won't be obsolete for at least another year or two.

And the SGS2 uses S-AMOLED+ not S-AMOLED

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Sep 27 2011, 12:37 AM)
I have no complaints at all bout display quality. It's just that it gets laggy at times(like now sad.gif ) on froyo...but ppl say it becomes smooth/less laggy when on oficial gingerbread, I dono la
800mhz ARM A11 processor. Can't expect much.

This post has been edited by xDarkKnightx: Sep 27 2011, 12:47 AM
Porie
post Sep 27 2011, 02:03 AM

535 posts

Hey guys,

what do you think is the best between the samsung galaxy s2 and the htc evo 3d ?

im really fascitated with 3d from the evo but I scared there would be alot of bugs, and I also heard that htc doesn't deliver the best audio.

and I also see that users are more using samsung galaxy s2 then the htc evo 3d ? is the htc evo 3d that bad ?
robeng
post Sep 27 2011, 07:52 AM

405 posts

QUOTE(shiki_arc @ Sep 25 2011, 02:06 AM)
If you ask me, i'd say HTC incredible S but if looking for best value, HTC desire S. Based on reviews i read, that is.
thanks for your advise. notworthy.gif
spent 3hours yesterday at wangsa walk.
went to all shops there..almost buying s plus or se neo..
but, end up buying desire S and evo 3d! drool.gif
really powderfull gadget i can say.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Added on September 27, 2011, 7:57 am
QUOTE(Porie @ Sep 27 2011, 02:03 AM)
Hey guys,

what do you think is the best between the samsung galaxy s2 and the htc evo 3d ?

im really fascitated with 3d from the evo but I scared there would be alot of bugs, and I also heard that htc doesn't deliver the best audio.

and I also see that users are more using samsung galaxy s2 then the htc evo 3d ? is the htc evo 3d that bad ?
evo? just bought last night.. brows.gif
superb gadget if u r into camera, video, games (yes, all in 3D)..
very fun to play with.. thumbup.gif

the audio is not as good as se, but still acceptable..
u can't compare samsung with htc like that..
it's all about your preference..u have to spend your time touch the thing itself until u satisfy, then u know what u want.. brows.gif

This post has been edited by robeng: Sep 27 2011, 07:57 AM
TSxDarkKnightx
post Sep 27 2011, 09:41 AM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(Porie @ Sep 27 2011, 02:03 AM)
Hey guys,

Audio wise, the sound chip in the S2 is terrible.

Doesn't matter if you're not an audiophile though. It's still feasible.
Dannyl
post Sep 27 2011, 09:58 AM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

QUOTE(mynewuser @ Sep 26 2011, 10:00 PM)
top up a bit and get galaxy s plus. better battery, memory, screen.
RM800 to RM12xx is 50% more. Not exactly 'a bit'... smile.gif
katijar
post Sep 27 2011, 03:01 PM

2,294 posts

need some help here,

1. Brand: any. old model also can
2. Budget: < RM800
3. Specs: 7" screen, must not be thicker than ipad1 i.e. 13mm, min 3 hours batter life.
4. What you need in the phone: reliable, good video and sound.
TSxDarkKnightx
post Sep 27 2011, 04:57 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(katijar @ Sep 27 2011, 03:01 PM)
need some help here,

1. Brand: any. old model also can
2. Budget: < RM800
3. Specs: 7" screen, must not be thicker than ipad1 i.e. 13mm, min 3 hours batter life.
4. What you need in the phone: reliable, good video and sound.
Go look around for china tablets in GS.

s y n c
post Sep 27 2011, 09:25 PM

1. model: motorola defy/ huawei ideos x5/ others
2. $: less than rm1.2k
3. specs: good camera, good battery, good sound
4. usage: take picture, read ebook...
shinichi87
post Sep 27 2011, 11:22 PM

65 posts

i need recommendation from sifus once again..

1) budget below 1.5k, the cheaper the better

2) excellent gps receiver signal + stable signal during navigation + fast lock in papago. Please do comment from your experience of using the phone or from known facts.

3) android phone is a must
NoTea
post Sep 28 2011, 01:13 AM

21 posts

hello sifu2,
need your advise / guidance for a new phone - if got such thing ...
1) 4 inch screen
2) good camera (5MP++) with flash and zoom
3) can sync to a PC (for backing up)
4) speakerphone function
5) can easily tether / use as modem (just in case)
6) has GPS
7) apps : whatsapp, web browser, Fbook
8) budget : around 1.1k (new or 2nd hand)
TSxDarkKnightx
post Sep 28 2011, 12:44 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(s y n c @ Sep 27 2011, 09:25 PM)
1. model: motorola defy/ huawei ideos x5/ others
2. $: less than rm1.2k
3. specs: good camera, good battery, good sound
4. usage: take picture, read ebook...
SE Xperia Neo.

One of the better ones under 1.2k

QUOTE(NoTea @ Sep 28 2011, 01:13 AM)
hello sifu2,
need your advise / guidance for a new phone - if got such thing ...
1) 4 inch screen
2) good camera (5MP++) with flash and zoom
3) can sync to a PC (for backing up)
4) speakerphone function
5) can easily tether / use as modem (just in case)
6) has GPS
7) apps : whatsapp, web browser, Fbook
8) budget : around 1.1k (new or 2nd hand)
SE Xperia Neo too. Most, if not all Android phones can be used as a speakerphone. Tethering wise, just download Easy Tether from the market or "ahem" websites.

Apps are mostly universal.
del_Piero10
post Sep 28 2011, 02:02 PM

+A TruE LeGenD+
1,334 posts

planning to buy a new phone for my wife; currently using N8.

Price: RM1400 and below

Main requirements: High quality camera+flash, smooth internet browsing

Others: Better can load with Custom ROM, Original set is a must..
ZeeKhai
post Sep 28 2011, 03:34 PM

29 posts

1. Brand. Anything
2. Budget. 1k~1.2k
3. Specs. Larger than 3.7 inch,
4. What you need in the phone : Decent sound quality, solid body (not those if slipped from the hand will get heart attack kind) not laggy. I wouldn't mind AP sets, smooth internet browsing, smooth UI. Decent gaming capabilities, would last long (More than 3 years.)

JasonMania
post Sep 28 2011, 10:19 PM

372 posts

1. Brand. (Anything brand can)
2. Budget. RM 1500 to 1700
3. Specs. (Big Screen , Fast , Good GPS)
4. What you need in the phone (Good GPS Fast

can you recommend please
Rudd
post Sep 29 2011, 12:46 AM

4,043 posts

Brand: CSL Mi410 or Huawei X5
Budget: RM800 and below
Specs: Big screen, 3.7+, Fast CPU and Decent GPU
What you need in the phone: gaming with HD games without any lags

This post has been edited by Rudd: Sep 29 2011, 12:49 AM
lcs89
post Sep 29 2011, 01:09 AM

80 posts

desire s or incredible s ?

both have almost the same spec ... juz that incredible have 8mp camera ..

shld I top up RM70 for incredible s ? but I personally like the design of desire s .. more solid built~

TSxDarkKnightx
post Sep 29 2011, 12:02 PM

♪(insert☺catchy☻title)♪
1,706 posts

QUOTE(del_Piero10 @ Sep 28 2011, 02:02 PM)
planning to buy a new phone for my wife; currently using N8.

Price: RM1400 and below

Main requirements: High quality camera+flash, smooth internet browsing

Others: Better can load with Custom ROM, Original set is a must..
HTC Incredible S if you top up another RM100 or so.

SE Xperia Neo should be okay too. The Neo is definitely in your budget.

Camera wise, not a single phone can beat the N8 in terms of quality. laugh.gif The decent ones that are in your budget are those two phones. SE Arc is around RM16xx for the ori sets IINM.

QUOTE(ZeeKhai @ Sep 28 2011, 03:34 PM)
1. Brand. Anything
2. Budget. 1k~1.2k
3. Specs. Larger than 3.7 inch,
4. What you need in the phone : Decent sound quality, solid body (not those if slipped from the hand will get heart attack kind) not laggy. I wouldn't mind AP sets, smooth internet browsing, smooth UI. Decent gaming capabilities, would last long (More than 3 years.)

More than 3 years is impossible due to the specs being obsolete by then. If you're willing to get a high end dual core phone now then it MIGHT last 3 years.

Samsung Galaxy S seems to fit your requirements the most. AP sets are around RM11xx-12xx.

QUOTE(JasonMania @ Sep 28 2011, 10:19 PM)
1. Brand. (Anything brand can)
2. Budget. RM 1500 to 1700
3. Specs. (Big Screen , Fast , Good GPS)
4. What you need in the phone (Good GPS Fast

can you recommend please
HTC Incredible S's GPS seemed to lock on quite quickly when I used to have a unit. But I can't really help you on this cuz I don't use GPS's at all.

QUOTE(Rudd @ Sep 29 2011, 12:46 AM)
Brand: CSL Mi410 or Huawei X5
Budget: RM800 and below
Specs: Big screen, 3.7+, Fast CPU and Decent GPU
What you need in the phone: gaming with HD games without any lags
BOth of them can game without lag but the stock firmware on the Mi-410 is known to be a little shitty. If you're going to flash custom roms then go for the Mi-410. If not, get the x5.

QUOTE(lcs89 @ Sep 29 2011, 01:09 AM)
desire s or incredible s ?

both have almost the same spec ... juz that incredible have 8mp camera ..

shld I top up RM70 for incredible s ? but I personally like the design of desire s .. more solid built~
The Desire S is an Aluminium unibody IINM. They're practically the same besides the camera. If you prefer a more petite build then go for the Desire S. If you're going to use the camera a lot then get the Incredible S.
Quantum_thinking
post Sep 29 2011, 01:37 PM

Getting Started with LYN
5,289 posts

Guys,

I wonder if SE W8 battery is the same as the SE X8 EP500 battery?

Thank You.

126 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0281sec    0.89    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:44 AM