UTP Thread V1, Welcome Freshies =D

Mindy93
post May 4 2013, 06:22 PM

45 posts

I NEED HELP.
when i first checked my application status, it says :
Congratulations! Your application is successful.
Programme Offered: CIVIL ENGINEERING
Then, when i download the offer letter, it says ;
Butir-butir kursus adalah seperti berikut :
i. Program Sarjana Muda Kejuruteraan (Kepujian) Kejuruteraan Kimia - 4 Tahun

SO, AM I OFFERED CIVIL ENG / CHEM ENG ???
my first choice is civil and i hope to get it. i was so excited at first but when i read the offer letter, i got disappointed cause i really want civil eng course.
is it possible that they make a mistake on my offer letter? am i the only one in this situation? icon_question.gif
Mindy93
post May 5 2013, 01:53 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ May 4 2013, 11:58 PM)
Probably not enough to take Mindy93 jalan-jalan at Ipoh town. sweat.gif
HAHAHA joker ah you! LOLS!!
Mindy93
post May 5 2013, 06:20 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(marczeman2 @ May 5 2013, 03:32 AM)
1) 1993? after STPM?

2) Chemical > Civil, why not take it? Anyway just call them up lol, 5 minutes you'll get your answer.
I did A-level. i'm considering it but i'm more interested into civil.. I'll call them tomorrow smile.gif
Mindy93
post May 5 2013, 08:47 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(inchigo @ May 5 2013, 09:47 AM)
Hey Mindy, r u a stpm leaver also?
I'm also a stpm leaver and I got chemical engineering from utp as an offer
Would u take the offer? What's results u get for ur stpm?
I'm hesitating whether to accept the offer or not..I got scholarship interview from ntu and I wish to study abroad but my father was not capable of supporting me to study there..he advised me to study at local : utp cause there will be less burden shouldered by him..what should I do? Can anyone gives me some advice over my circumstance?
I did A-level. i've accepted the offer but i still have to call them to ask what course they actually offer me. i think you should go for the ntu scholarship interview for a try. And accept the UTP offer too. smile.gif
Mindy93
post May 6 2013, 01:11 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(wilson kok @ May 6 2013, 12:55 PM)
hi, did u take any english extra paper during ur a level? is general paper tough? can i know whether the university will really concern abt ur GP result? if i wanna study overseas, it is compulsory to take extra english paper right?pls help me..i'm so clueless now.. icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
i took GP for AS level only. it's not compulsory, it's hard to score, and it's useless. regret taking it last time. if you wanna study overseas, you have to take ielts. smile.gif
Mindy93
post May 6 2013, 07:29 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(wilson kok @ May 6 2013, 04:40 PM)
what abt stpm?if i take stpm instead of a level, is it mandatory to take ielts or toefl for studying overseas?
you can check the english requirement of the university you intend to go. mostly, overseas universities need ielts / toefl.
Mindy93
post May 6 2013, 09:56 PM

45 posts

may I know, do I have to apply for anything to stay in the hostel? and where to apply? smile.gif
Mindy93
post May 6 2013, 11:35 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(Thibs @ May 6 2013, 10:16 PM)
All done by them, since your a freshman and a girl, probably V2 or V3. My bet is on V2.

Just go with the flow. smile.gif

EDIT: Tip, hostel no WiFi. So bring LAN cable and multi-plug extension cords.
oh, means on registration day, I'll only move in?
Mindy93
post May 6 2013, 11:57 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(Thibs @ May 6 2013, 11:43 PM)
Yes. I think they gave you a shortlist of things to bring right? Make sure you bring those.

Tip, bring coins (old coins) and big water containers cause you can fill-up water by using the available water dispensers in each hostel. 10 cents per liter.
need to pay for water ah?? i drink lots of water leh! are there single rooms?
Mindy93
post May 7 2013, 12:08 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(Thibs @ May 7 2013, 12:01 AM)
Yea, 10 cents per liter gua. Not that much also. Cactus 1.5 liter is 1 buck. Yes there is, but not for females I think. I don't think you want to be in a single room, higher price that shared rooms.
owh, okay. Thanks for all the info. They're really helpful. smile.gif
Mindy93
post May 7 2013, 12:09 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ May 7 2013, 12:08 AM)
Are you planning to get a laptop as well?
I have mine. smile.gif
Mindy93
post May 14 2013, 12:25 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(Yeemin95 @ May 13 2013, 10:55 PM)
Guys I gg already. Couldn't email them the Dokumen Penerimaan Tawaran.

asfaniizlan@petronas.com.my
"The e-mail address you entered couldn't be found. Please check the recipient's e-mail address and try to resend the message. If the problem continues, please contact your helpdesk."

Tried another email but also cannot...Help me! icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif
I think the e-mail address is this; asfani_izlan@petronas.com.my
I've sent mine to this address.
Mindy93
post May 14 2013, 11:51 PM

45 posts

may I know, how should females dress for the MAS week?
Mindy93
post May 15 2013, 12:12 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(Thibs @ May 15 2013, 12:04 AM)
Baju kurung or white top and black skirt/slacks. I think most of them wore baju kurung, including the non-malays.

Well, that's how I remember it. Isn't it stated in the letter they gave you?
Yeah it is stated, but not quite clear. every day wear formal during MAS week?
Mindy93
post May 15 2013, 12:35 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(Thibs @ May 15 2013, 12:15 AM)
No la. They will tell when to wear formal, and when not to. Normally semi-formal. smile.gif
oh, thanks. I just need to make sure that I have suitable clothing for the MAS week. smile.gif
Mindy93
post May 15 2013, 12:49 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(Thibs @ May 15 2013, 12:38 AM)
Don't forget tracksuits and sport shoes. You'll need them.
And bottled water. smile.gif

Hope you enjoy MAS.

P.S. Hah! Bring a key chain for you room key xD!
Thanks for the reminders! btw, does it have water dispensers in the uni? my previous college has water dispensers everywhere so I only needed to bring a small bottle. how bout here?
Mindy93
post May 15 2013, 12:59 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(Thibs @ May 15 2013, 12:54 AM)
No, not everywhere. Around the hostel areas only. Some might be under maintainence, or worse, spoilt. So bring at least 1 5L water bottle and fill it up. Then refill your smaller bottles whenever you need.

Wait, it's 1am? Shouldn't you be asleep, to be ready for tomorrow? will be a tiring day, cleaning the room and all.
that means I have to bring a big bottle filled with water to the uni everyday? that's heavy. lols. Mine is on the 16th smile.gif
Mindy93
post May 15 2013, 01:10 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(Thibs @ May 15 2013, 01:02 AM)
Err, you drink that much? Uh... err... hmmmm....

1L/1.5L bottle should be ok, I think...

16th huh.. nice.
hahah I drink a lot. during high school I always steal my friends' water to drink after mine was emptied.
Anyway, thanks for all the replies. They're really helpful. See you! smile.gif
Mindy93
post May 15 2013, 06:42 PM

45 posts

I'M IN A HUGE DILEMMA.
i just found out that i got a scholarship offer from sin chew daily to study at The University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus. i have to reply to them before 20 may. i'm now torn between choices. this scholarship came as a surprise for me. i never thought i would even get it. but i'm afraid that i couldn't maintain the scholarship if i were to accept it, which means I would have to pay for the remaining semesters. i still don't know what's the minimum cgpa though. tried to call but they're unavailable. the registration date for utp is tomorrow. what should i do?
Mindy93
post May 30 2013, 10:49 AM

45 posts

QUOTE(wilson kok @ May 28 2013, 05:03 PM)
so u choose which one? i m considering UNMC for chem engineering too bcoz i dont get the UTP admission cry.gif  cry.gif  but i m worrying the my parents cant afford the exorbitant fee cry.gif
sigh, i declined the offer after much discussion with my parents. so sad larh. sad.gif(((( my parents want me to study at utp coz it's very near to my hometown. easier for me to bla bla bla. but i kinda like it here at utp esp. the library. but still, of course i prefer UNMC. but utp is still good lah. lol

0.0397sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:50 AM