Thibs
post May 13 2013, 09:56 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(kla9 @ May 13 2013, 09:29 PM)
so we're not allowed to wear sandals to class?!  shocking.gif
i was really hoping to wear sandals everywhere.  cry.gif
I'm going in as a foundation student in 15 may.  biggrin.gif
In the offer package i downloaded they say tat we have to wear kasut kulit duirng the orientation week. can i wear flats?
Thanks to all the senior tat have been answering all the freshies question!
Statement 1: They want to enforce discipline, that's all. You can wear them if you like but not at the Chancellor's Complex, guards will summon you. Been there, done that.
Statement 2: You can wear them, but pandai-pandai la, jangan sampai kena tangkap by Pak Guard.
Statement 3: Congrats.
Statement 4: Follow what they say during the orientation. Sometimes, they'll ask to wear semi-formal, that means wearing sports shoes. Jangan kena marah. Malu nanti.
Statement 5: No prob. Blast us with MORE!

Thibs
post May 13 2013, 11:40 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(Yeemin95 @ May 13 2013, 11:10 PM)
Yep they have.But I don't have a fax machine. sweat.gif Gonna call them tomorrow if the problem continues...
There are photocopy shops that offer faxing. 50 per fax in my place. You're from Ipoh, right? Then there are tons there! wink.gif
Thibs
post May 14 2013, 12:04 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(Yeemin95 @ May 13 2013, 11:46 PM)
50 pages or 50cents or RM50...lol sorry for asking stupid question tongue.gif
Hah! I'm sorry. It's 50 cents, around that. smile.gif
Thibs
post May 14 2013, 12:34 AM

275 posts

These are most the e-mails / extension lines of the Admission Unit of the UTP Registra. Use the links below for each of them.

http://www.utp.edu.my/staff/ex1.php?id=zulkaz
http://www.utp.edu.my/staff/ex1.php?id=sharifr
http://www.utp.edu.my/staff/ex1.php?id=tajulff
http://www.utp.edu.my/staff/ex1.php?id=idyawati
Thibs
post May 14 2013, 01:14 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(Mpppppp @ May 14 2013, 12:51 PM)
Hi there.. Silly questions again.

Do girls need to wear skirt during presentation? or just formal suit with slacks?
Do we need to bring our own curtains to the hostel?

Oh yea.. Thanks for the seniors who've answered my questions before. Thanks sooooooooo much!
And finally, who is generous enough to giveaway his/her notes to me?? I'm going for foundation in engineering..
biggrin.gif  sweat.gif
Am I asking too much?  innocent.gif
You cab choose whether to wear skirt or slacks. Most of the time, you'll see people wearing skirts. Preference actually.
No, there are curtains in rooms... you might need to wash them though... dusty as hell.
Sold my notes already. Ask your MAS facees if they have theirs.
Thibs
post May 14 2013, 09:28 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(Mpppppp @ May 14 2013, 01:50 PM)
OK~thanks for the info..

btw, you're like online-ing for 24/7..  laugh.gif
I'm so excited for my uni life there..  whistling.gif
Haha. Just a frequent LYN user.

QUOTE(cutexiah @ May 14 2013, 05:02 PM)
FREAKING OUT!!! lol..
2moro is D-day! biggrin.gif Registration at 10.00 am and my friend got hers at 8.00 am T_T
I want to have the same Village & Room as her. Is it possible?
Yes. You can choose your own roommates if you guys are assigned to the same village.

QUOTE(Yeemin95 @ May 14 2013, 05:10 PM)
LOL how come they split the registration to different dates and time  hmm.gif
Bigger intake I suppose.

Freshies. smile.gif

Thibs
post May 15 2013, 12:04 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(Mindy93 @ May 14 2013, 11:51 PM)
may I know, how should females dress for the MAS week?
Baju kurung or white top and black skirt/slacks. I think most of them wore baju kurung, including the non-malays.

Well, that's how I remember it. Isn't it stated in the letter they gave you?
Thibs
post May 15 2013, 12:15 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(Mindy93 @ May 15 2013, 12:12 AM)
Yeah it is stated, but not quite clear. every day wear formal during MAS week?
No la. They will tell when to wear formal, and when not to. Normally semi-formal. smile.gif
Thibs
post May 15 2013, 12:38 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(Mindy93 @ May 15 2013, 12:35 AM)
oh, thanks. I just need to make sure that I have suitable clothing for the MAS week.  smile.gif
Don't forget tracksuits and sport shoes. You'll need them.
And bottled water. smile.gif

Hope you enjoy MAS.

P.S. Hah! Bring a key chain for you room key xD!
Thibs
post May 15 2013, 12:54 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(Mindy93 @ May 15 2013, 12:49 AM)
Thanks for the reminders! btw, does it have water dispensers in the uni? my previous college has water dispensers everywhere so I only needed to bring a small bottle. how bout here?
No, not everywhere. Around the hostel areas only. Some might be under maintainence, or worse, spoilt. So bring at least 1 5L water bottle and fill it up. Then refill your smaller bottles whenever you need.

Wait, it's 1am? Shouldn't you be asleep, to be ready for tomorrow? will be a tiring day, cleaning the room and all.

This post has been edited by Thibs: May 15 2013, 12:55 AM
Thibs
post May 15 2013, 01:02 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(Mindy93 @ May 15 2013, 12:59 AM)
that means I have to bring a big bottle filled with water to the uni everyday? that's heavy. lols. Mine is on the 16th  smile.gif
Err, you drink that much? Uh... err... hmmmm....

1L/1.5L bottle should be ok, I think...

16th huh.. nice.
Thibs
post May 15 2013, 12:33 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(inchigo @ May 15 2013, 12:26 PM)
Is it compulsory to wear a white long sleeves shirt for formal attire as stipulated on the terms and condition of the offer letter??? Omg i don't have a white long sleeves shirt for formal attire icon_question.gif
It is norm to wear long sleeved white shirts. I've seen people go light blue/green/yellow. But stay with white.

If you don't have one, get one. You'll definitely need one as long as you're in UTP.
Thibs
post May 15 2013, 06:57 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(Mindy93 @ May 15 2013, 06:42 PM)
I'M IN A HUGE DILEMMA.
i just found out that i got a scholarship offer from sin chew daily to study at The University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus. i have to reply to them before 20 may. i'm now torn between choices. this scholarship came as a surprise for me. i never thought i would even get it. but i'm afraid that i couldn't maintain the scholarship if i were to accept it, which means I would have to pay for the remaining semesters. i still don't know what's the minimum cgpa though. tried to call but they're unavailable. the registration date for utp is tomorrow. what should i do?
Go to UTP first, pay only the registration fee. Then gather more info on sin chew, then if you intend to go to Nottingham then proceed. You only loose the registration fee.
Thibs
post May 15 2013, 10:14 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ May 15 2013, 08:20 PM)
Give your best shot to convince her to stay.
Hahaha... you cupid. She might have a soul mate already. Cannot disturb. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Thibs: May 15 2013, 10:15 PM
Thibs
post May 17 2013, 01:25 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(TK512 @ May 17 2013, 10:02 AM)
Hello Seniors seniors,

Do you guys have any preferable cafe inside UTP/near the villages? Any cafe which is the most favorable one among you guys?
V5!
Thibs
post May 21 2013, 02:45 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(kd2704 @ May 21 2013, 01:15 AM)
Silly question, but i havent been able to figure out, how do you register as a student at e-learning?
They will register for you. You just have to log in with your user and password. Both are your ID, then you change your password.

I think it is like that. They upgraded the e learning.

This post has been edited by Thibs: May 21 2013, 02:46 AM
Thibs
post May 26 2013, 04:49 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(junolow @ May 26 2013, 03:20 PM)
when is the new intake?
Jan 14' bro.
Thibs
post May 27 2013, 11:38 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(wilson kok @ May 27 2013, 07:36 PM)
do jpa scholar hav to undergo a interview be4 getting the scholarship..i m not a utpian..juz curious biggrin.gif
For mine, I didn't go thru any interview. I'm not sure about now.
Thibs
post May 30 2013, 02:20 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(VagueConcerns @ May 30 2013, 11:48 AM)
Hi there UTPians!

I wanna ask something...can we opt to study instead of taking the 4 month holiday? My 4 month break is in the next sem, but heard my friend said that I can do this but I'm not sure if it's just from hear say or what. I'm kinda used to studying a whole year, and after an 8 month holiday prior to going into UTP I think I can sacrifice this one.

(Hope there's still a 4 month break next year. If not, oh well.  tongue.gif  )

I wanna take at least 10 credit hours and then I can relieve A LOT of my credit hours for my second year. I'm seeing killer subjects and I wanna have plenty of focus on those.
Yes, you can. You need write a letter to your Head of Department requesting for short sem and state the reasons as well. Then if it gets approved, refer it to the registra.

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ May 30 2013, 11:58 AM)
(1) I believe your parents love you so much because they tried to reason out with you. If you think critically, “What does the fact that UTP is very near to your hometown has to do with your intention to study at UNMC with the scholarship offered?hmm.gif

(2) Then your parents might say they want you to stay close to them. Ask your parents further: “What does the fact that staying close to you has to do with my intention to study at UNMC with the scholarship offered?unsure.gif

(3) Unless your parents tell the real reason that sounds acceptable to you, there is no direct causal relationship to show your decision to study at UNMC with the scholarship offered is wrong. icon_rolleyes.gif

(4) Anyhow, if you choose UTP, it's a wonderful decision too because you will have a true good senior Thibs to lend you a helping hand whenever you call for assistance and guidance. blush.gif
Hahaha! Trust me, living near to UTP makes life easier. I enjoy the 40 mins trip home every week. Not to say that I miss home that much but you know, air-cond, puffy beds, tv... ah the life. tongue.gif Lol, I sound like a spoiled brat.

Thibs
post May 30 2013, 04:37 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ May 30 2013, 03:25 PM)
Since you are living a spoiled life, you might spoil your “potential girlfriend” too, when you meet her in UTP this semester. brows.gif
I know where you're going with this. Btw, if she accepted UTP, she should be in by now. It's already 2 weeks into the semester. By the way, I'm not stalking her or anything. xD!

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0219sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:07 PM