Acer Travelmate 8481 for RM2,699, Acer version of 14" UltraBook

TSRicky Ling
post Aug 7 2011, 12:52 AM, updated 15y ago

1,055 posts

Acer Malaysia just released the famous TravelMate 8481, ultrathin 14" frameless notebook with latest Ultra Low Voltage Sandy Bridge CPU i5-2467M (1.6GHz - same as MacBook Air 11") and upcoming Samsung Series 9 11" as well...

Below is the spec for Malaysian version of TM8481:-

i5-2467M
2GB
320GB (7.2k rpm) 7 mm height only
No optical drive
Wifi & Bluetooth® 3.0
1.3M webcam
14" HD LED
Win7Pro (target for business user)
Weight only 1.5KG

Few option missing - thus I create new poll to let user decide whether u want more options:-

This post has been edited by Ricky Ling: Aug 7 2011, 01:04 AM
AlexLai
post Aug 7 2011, 01:09 AM

5,531 posts

No side profile view? But man, that looks pretty sleek.
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 7 2011, 01:20 AM

24,193 posts

Wow, 1.5kg for a 14"? That's very, very light if the details are true laugh.gif
For a business laptop, an SSD upgrade would be nice thumbup.gif
Having a GT520m would be nice, but then the heat generated will be too much I think

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Aug 7 2011, 01:20 AM
TSRicky Ling
post Aug 7 2011, 01:21 AM

1,055 posts

Here is comparison to TimelineX 4830TG in the middle

[PF] T.J.
post Aug 7 2011, 01:24 AM

24,193 posts

Omai, its so THIN! laugh.gif
drool.gif drool.gif
TSRicky Ling
post Aug 7 2011, 10:18 AM

1,055 posts

Hence, the name Ultra-thin Notebook - UltraBook...
astria
post Aug 7 2011, 10:59 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

SSD + integrated graphic is sufficient...
Eugene91
post Aug 7 2011, 11:15 AM

6,109 posts

Not bad looks good biggrin.gif
Najmods
post Aug 7 2011, 11:52 AM

*mutter mutter mutter mutter*
5,211 posts

Thin and light but not very good looking IMO, its better if they use the new chiclet keyboard like on TimelineX series instead of island type keys
SUSBorsch Soup
post Aug 7 2011, 12:53 PM

The East is Red. Defeat the new Opium called Corruption
2,641 posts

Wow thumbup.gif how about battery capacity? Better than timeline? nod.gif
[PF] T.J.
post Aug 7 2011, 01:58 PM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(Najmods @ Aug 7 2011, 11:52 AM)
Thin and light but not very good looking IMO, its better if they use the new chiclet keyboard like on TimelineX series instead of island type keys
Business laptop ma haha.... most of them don't look good laugh.gif

Added on August 7, 2011, 1:59 pm
QUOTE(Borsch Soup @ Aug 7 2011, 12:53 PM)
Wow thumbup.gif how about battery capacity? Better than timeline? nod.gif
Its running on ULV-i5, so its highly possible that the battery life is better than current TimelineX thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by [PF] T.J.: Aug 7 2011, 01:59 PM
IvanWong1989
post Aug 7 2011, 05:40 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

omg drool.gif

thin thin thin!!!!!!
fJok3R
post Aug 7 2011, 05:50 PM

1,419 posts

thin is one thing, to weight around 1.5kg for 14 incher is another thing, lol
Najmods
post Aug 7 2011, 06:30 PM

5,211 posts

QUOTE(fJok3R @ Aug 7 2011, 05:50 PM)
thin is one thing, to weight around 1.5kg for 14 incher is another thing, lol
Yup, 1.5kg is subnotebook category, the same as ASUS lambo VX6
TSRicky Ling
post Aug 7 2011, 06:42 PM

1,055 posts

More picture from PCHome TW

Really look shinning thin and light like ThinkPad Classic...

This post has been edited by Ricky Ling: Aug 7 2011, 07:01 PM
IvanWong1989
post Aug 7 2011, 08:11 PM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

yummy leh..... drool.gif drool.gif

but ah....

chassis sturdy or not??
digitheatre
post Aug 7 2011, 10:57 PM

654 posts

wow..looks very thin, professional and minimalistic design.. i like it..
hope the build quality is solid
TSRicky Ling
post Aug 7 2011, 10:59 PM

1,055 posts

"The TravelMate 8481 has a magnesium-aluminium chassis, aimed to make it more resilient to knocks and bumps and features metal hinges – a common weak point of laptop design."

With claim battery life up to 9 hours, most likely using SSD and without external GeForce graphics option....
Najmods
post Aug 8 2011, 12:02 AM

5,211 posts

Official pics looks better laugh.gif Magnesium body makes it sturdy, light weight too but also expensive sweat.gif
digitheatre
post Aug 8 2011, 12:12 AM

654 posts

..means body is smaller than 14" laptop but u get 14" screen..nice biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by digitheatre: Aug 8 2011, 12:13 AM
Najmods
post Aug 8 2011, 12:37 AM

5,211 posts

Its not really that smaller than any other 14 incher, look at the area around keyboard. I bet hat keyboard is interchangeable from any other 14" that Acer made, there is stil quite some bezel near the side of it, what it is actually a space saving 14"

I did spot nvidia logo and Optimus badge on it, so it would be nice for some light gaming.
lee_what2004
post Aug 8 2011, 12:29 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Looks like got possibility to mod backlit keyboard..
Beouwulf
post Aug 8 2011, 12:49 PM

Laptop or Notebook ?
1,035 posts

Crappy keyboard again...
biatche
post Aug 8 2011, 01:55 PM

1,649 posts

so does it have GT 520M or it isn't included?
TSRicky Ling
post Aug 8 2011, 01:57 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(biatche @ Aug 8 2011, 01:55 PM)
so does it have GT 520M or it isn't included?
Malaysia version of 8481 excludes GeForce option....
siksa
post Aug 8 2011, 01:59 PM

T_T
1,016 posts

if it is hd3000 + ssd,then it is good enough.
TSRicky Ling
post Aug 8 2011, 02:22 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(siksa @ Aug 8 2011, 01:59 PM)
if it is hd3000 + ssd,then it is good enough.
That's why I pick option 3: 64GB SSD + 320GB HDD would be perfect road warrior, something even MBA and Samsung series 9 13" cannot do...

But seem only 3 people pick that option... sweat.gif

SUSBorsch Soup
post Aug 11 2011, 05:33 PM

The East is Red. Defeat the new Opium called Corruption
2,641 posts

Acer wafak!!! Only comes with 4 cell 2960mAh battery, how long can last like that?

TSRicky Ling
post Aug 11 2011, 05:36 PM

1,055 posts

ULV + 4 cell should last quite long lah....

Thanks for warranty info - 3 years is quite good value. Now see whether we can find mSATA SSD locally or not?
cowithgun
post Aug 11 2011, 05:47 PM

A cow that can play notebook & phone
2,248 posts

interesting...
yan870126
post Aug 11 2011, 11:16 PM

121 posts

Where can get tis ah????
wat price???
mitodna
post Aug 11 2011, 11:26 PM

14,039 posts

nice priced, 4-cell on this should last like 4 hours, saw the Youtube video there is 8-cell that last 8 hours? wink.gif
yan870126
post Aug 25 2011, 08:30 AM

121 posts

QUOTE(Ricky Ling @ Aug 8 2011, 02:22 PM)
That's why I pick option 3: 64GB SSD + 320GB HDD would be perfect road warrior, something even MBA and Samsung series 9 13" cannot do...

But seem only 3 people pick that option... sweat.gif
Hi then u using this laptop now?
how's the overall performance? would u mind to write a simple review on this laptop?

because i heard that Acer quality is not tat good and after sales service also lousy from many forumers..please advice...

thanks alot...
cowithgun
post Aug 25 2011, 08:48 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(yan870126 @ Aug 25 2011, 08:30 AM)
how's the overall performance? would u mind to write a simple review on this laptop?

because i heard that Acer quality is not tat good and after sales service also lousy from many forumers..please advice...

thanks alot...
I have been using Acer TimelineX 3820tg since last Oct. The notebook has gone thru endless benchmark and driver update. I also defragment frequently. This notebook has been travelling with me to many many oversea trip as well. Completed 14 major games, including Darksider, Dragon Age 1&2, Mass Effect 1&2, etc... It is still solid! Of cause, I am the type that really watch over the notebook for temperature and I'm always physically gentle with my 3820tg.

Dont know about some really low budget notebook from Acer, but my experience with TimelineX is really good. I heard that the business line TravelMate is even better.

PS: did i told you that I overclock, flash my BIOS and overvolting my GPU quite often too? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by cowithgun: Aug 25 2011, 09:08 AM
yan870126
post Aug 25 2011, 09:03 AM

121 posts

http://www.techhypermart.com/notebooks/ace...4-notebook.html

saw this website selling with crazy price is this a CON?

kidforever
post Aug 25 2011, 11:20 AM

123 posts

QUOTE(yan870126 @ Aug 25 2011, 08:30 AM)

thanks alot...
Well we cant really get into what ppl said about its after sales service.

I recently broke few of my keyboard's buttons.. brought it over to their center in Subang, get it fixed with new keyboard right away on the spot. I think ok lor.. kinda convenient for me.. but i believe if issue is not solid or things related to the electronic components, maybe cannot do it directly la.. like my samsung lcd tv, sometimes got display sometimes no display, of course take longer time to repair lor.

xcen
post Aug 25 2011, 09:48 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Still not a competitor to ASUS U31 series. Standard voltage processor including GT520 at an extra few hundred grams and ringgit.

cowithgun
post Aug 25 2011, 11:36 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(xcen @ Aug 25 2011, 09:48 PM)
Still not a competitor to ASUS U31 series. Standard voltage processor including GT520 at an extra few hundred grams and ringgit.
I think you are missing the point here. The unique feature of 8481 is the 14" screen on a small 13.3" footprint.

Comparison:

U31:
- Dimension: 32.8 x 23.3 x 2.54 ~2.85 cm (WxDxH)
- Weight: 1.78 kg (6 cell)
- Screen size: 13.3"

Acer 8481: 1.78 kg
- Dimension: 32.8 x 23.9 x 1.8 ~ 2.23
- Weight: 1.5kg (4 cell)
- Screen size: 14"

As you can see, 8481 is about the same dimension, except that it is thinner, lighter and housing 14" screen.

Also, please don't buy any notebook with Sandy Bridge that pair with a low end GPU such as GT520 or HD6470. The HD3000 in the SB is already as powerful as those GPU but running at lower power and less heat. If you plan to play game, you should not chose those low end GPU. But if you are not playing game, HD3000 is already sufficient.

xcen
post Aug 26 2011, 10:19 AM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Aug 25 2011, 11:36 PM)
I think you are missing the point here. The unique feature of 8481 is the 14" screen on a small 13.3" footprint.

Comparison:

U31:
- Dimension: 32.8 x 23.3 x 2.54 ~2.85 cm (WxDxH)
- Weight: 1.78 kg (6 cell)
- Screen size: 13.3"

Acer 8481: 1.78 kg
- Dimension: 32.8 x 23.9 x 1.8 ~ 2.23
- Weight: 1.5kg (4 cell)
- Screen size: 14"

As you can see, 8481 is about the same dimension, except that it is thinner, lighter and housing 14" screen.

Also, please don't buy any notebook with Sandy Bridge that pair with a low end GPU such as GT520 or HD6470. The HD3000 in the SB is already as powerful as those GPU but running at lower power and less heat. If you plan to play game, you should not chose those low end GPU. But if you are not playing game, HD3000 is already sufficient.
Ah, that's the main selling point eh. Didn't notice because I thought an extra 0.7inch is not so much of a big deal.

Though I heard from people that although HD3000 and GT520 are quite similar, GT520 is still somehow better for gaming?
cowithgun
post Aug 26 2011, 12:04 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(xcen @ Aug 26 2011, 10:19 AM)
Ah, that's the main selling point eh. Didn't notice because I thought an extra 0.7inch is not so much of a big deal.

Though I heard from people that although HD3000 and GT520 are quite similar, GT520 is still somehow better for gaming?
GT520 should still better in gaming. Check for yourself, go to Game Benchmark and compare between GT520 and HD3000:

http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForc...0M.43104.0.html
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Intel-HD-Grap...00.37948.0.html

You will see the performance is really close, however, the most important point here is, gaming with these 2 cards are really bad. GT520 may be a little better, but it is still not good enough for gaming.

Left: GT520m___________________________________________________Right: HD 3000

joanneway
post Aug 26 2011, 12:10 PM

310 posts

i'm not interested at all with ACER

they loss profit so now trying to con with lagi low case budget!
xcen
post Aug 26 2011, 10:35 PM

Munch munch... Uh oh!
2,602 posts

Seems that GT520 is good for some light gaming, where it can retain a decent fps in certain games like Fifa and COD.

But of course, GT520 is never meant for any serious gaming, and any non gamers (or just Dota players) should just get HD3000 because it's more than competent.
mitodna
post Aug 26 2011, 11:49 PM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(joanneway @ Aug 26 2011, 12:10 PM)
i'm not interested at all with ACER

they loss profit so now trying to con with lagi low case budget!
for me, it is different, 8481 is damn sturdy, way better than profit making Lenovo,

guess what, I got B470 which used barely 1 month plus, and the board just gone, not to mention, it after sales service is slower than Acer.
yan870126
post Sep 2 2011, 10:23 AM

121 posts

Hey, any 1 own this laptop so far? mind to share the exp on it? any comment on is or any1 willing to write a review instead of preview, on this laptop?
davidletterboyz
post Sep 2 2011, 01:11 PM

Der Kaiser
4,672 posts

0.0641sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:00 PM