21 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 >Bottom

What 1080p Movie did You Watch Today?, Its supposed to be a midnite...

Mov_freak
post May 18 2014, 10:16 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(johannong @ May 18 2014, 09:42 AM)
Dear m_v, how about the sound effects? Very good?
The one sapu all 13' oscar award "Gravity", movie is for sure good but the effects is very limited to only the beginning of the title lo..
... The whole of Gravity was CGI... They fact that you don't think it is shows you how well made the CGI was...

The sound design of Gravity also unit.

If you had notice, when in space, the only time you hear sound it when Sandra Bullock is in contact with something, because... In space there is not sound. We only hear sound through Sandra because of her suit (has it's own "atmosphere")...

Other movies you should look into are:

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (2013)
Captain Phillips (2013)
Life of Pi (2012)
Django Unchained (2012)
Skyfall (2012)
Transformers: Dark of the Moon (2011)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2011, Hollywood version)
Hugo (2011)
Unstoppable (2010)
True Grit (2010)
Tron: Legacy (2010)
Toy Story 3 (2010)

I also thought

Young Detective Dee: Rise of the Sea Dragon (2013)
The Four II (2013)

Had good sound design

Cheers
Mov_freak
post May 18 2014, 10:41 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(IntensiveBytes @ May 17 2014, 10:36 PM)
Hey guys.. looking for a recent (2012-2014) movie to watch..
Something that doesn't bore me for long periods of time. I've recently tried watching Jack Ryan: Shawdow Recruit and I stopped watching after 3/4 of the movie since it was just too boring for some reason.

Action, adventure, romantic comedy, etc suggestions are all welcome. Not a fan of horror movies so don't suggest any of those.
Urm...

Robocop (2014)
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (2013)
Captain Phillips (2013)
Life of Pi (2012)
Django Unchained (2012)
Skyfall (2012)
Transformers: Dark of the Moon (2011)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (2011, Hollywood version)
Hugo (2011)

Hope this helps.
Mov_freak
post May 18 2014, 05:43 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 18 2014, 01:59 PM)
let me add to this good list with my fav list of movies in the last 2 yrs or so which i enjoyed most in dtshdma. biggrin.gif

battleship
cloud atlas
elysium
fast and furious 6
fast 5
iron man 3
man of steel
marvels the avengers
oblivion
pacific rim
prometheus
star trek into the darkness
the dark knight rises
the hobbit an unexpected journey
world war z
Yup, those are good too.

johannong you should have more than enough material to work with now... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: May 18 2014, 05:44 PM
Mov_freak
post May 21 2014, 04:22 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(johannong @ May 21 2014, 02:58 PM)
Just did BluRay "A Good Day To Die Harder". Well the track mention DTS True HD 7.1 but through out the movie never even heard any coming out from my rear speakers! The front and center mix also bad! Vocal is not centralized! The car chasing event after the BMW + Court explosion also flat! Do you guys experience the same or it is just me?
Will check my copy this weekend. Aiyo, car chase scene, Jack Reacher sound best to date lah...
Mov_freak
post May 21 2014, 07:24 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(johannong @ May 21 2014, 04:48 PM)
Ok thanks folks I must admit this should be the setup or the disc problem! John Mclaine (B.Willis)movie die die must sound good one right?
Jack Reacher movie did not too well in the box office right? Despite the effect is good but movie as in overall...errr... So so right?
I luv the movie. The reason why it did not do well is because American don't know a good movie even if it bite them in the a$$ (excuse my French) laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post May 22 2014, 09:05 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(johannong @ May 22 2014, 08:27 AM)
Hi all, just wanna share the below AV demo disc I got frm local dealer. I love this kinda short clips where they picked the best scene frm the best movies! These are the 6 I got yesterday. Managed to test(fast phase) out 2 disc(due to the stupid Chinese opera/歌台 still going on) and bam!! Though the disc clearly stated DTS HD 7.1 but turn out to be the tracks only output 5.1 channel. Guess that's the prob when buying "ah hem" disc la..
Hahahaha! That's all I am saying... tongue.gif
Mov_freak
post May 22 2014, 01:43 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(johannong @ May 22 2014, 12:01 PM)
Hi d_r, through out the titles I couldn't experience any sound coming out frm any 7.1 short clips thru the back surround speakers. Then I got into worry quickly went back to set up screen-test tone.. Huh the sound frm the back surround sounded brightly! Hah finally there is another page frm the disc where the track will enable one by the speaker staring frm the front left! So when the back surround speaker take turn to turn ON time, the screen showed the speaker output signal but the sound went to rear surround speakers. I think somehow the pirated disc when copying time, the additional 2 back surround signals already mixed into the rear surround. Is this making sense?
I have 4 four more disc to test, if all yield the same, *^%% will go return all the discs and exchange with P Ramli classic !!
Yes, you might be right!! They have P Ramlee's movie on BD??
Mov_freak
post May 22 2014, 10:21 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(sonerin @ May 22 2014, 09:41 PM)
Just watched the desolation of smaug. Excellent movie
By Jove it is!

Now, RUN to your nearest cineplex to watch X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014).

It is very VERY good!! nod.gif
Mov_freak
post May 23 2014, 01:49 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(johannong @ May 23 2014, 01:12 PM)
...ticket bought! Waiting 2.05pm X-Man 2D!! Should be exciting rite? I had a high hope, just worry it turns out another way...
... Have you NOT read my X-Men Days of the Future Past review on the X-Men and also Movie review thread... Haiz... tongue.gif
Mov_freak
post May 23 2014, 01:58 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ May 23 2014, 01:57 PM)
About time,

Is good.. even thou' its got Rachel McAdams but its typical Brit humor plus it includes time travel - how not to like..

D
Speaking of romantic movies and time travelling, anybody here liked Somewhere in Time??
Mov_freak
post May 23 2014, 04:12 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(dirtrun @ May 23 2014, 02:15 PM)
I just got de bd.. Vaguely remember d story - prbbly nice to see 'Superman' again..

Will hv to watch it soon..
D
Let us know what you think!
Mov_freak
post May 23 2014, 09:37 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(johannong @ May 23 2014, 05:21 PM)
Aisay how come I missed that one?? Else could hav saved couple of $$ .
Yes that bad la IMO. Previous XMan so much better. Thought I sat into a wrong theater hall!? Thought ironman still screening. Thought BackToTheFuture remarking!? Somemore last minute ticket purchase ended up row K bucket 17(right at the corner) guess the sound effect so much better!
Er... My review say movie very good leh...

Go watch it. You won't be disappointed! laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post May 24 2014, 12:34 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ May 24 2014, 11:58 AM)
robocop the original laugh.gif rclxms.gif

i still never get bored with it after aging many years

and who could ever forget the best line ever laugh.gif  rclxms.gif

What would YOU buy for a dollar! laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post May 25 2014, 09:25 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 25 2014, 05:22 PM)
when the lights goes out is worth watching. i give it 3.5/5.

this one is quite good, among the best of the numerous fire disaster movies from hk.

to me, it's the only good fire-fighter movie since backdraft 1991.

not too much action but good intense drama.  bit like stallone's daylight 1996.

star studded cast: nicholas tze, shawn yue, simon yam, andy on.

As The Lights Goes Out (2014)?

It is not bad, very good sound effects as well.

There is some thing "eerie" about it... Pang Brothers' vibe...

I do have one complain, it is my believe Simon Yam hammed it a wee bit in his role... tongue.gif

icon_rolleyes.gif
Mov_freak
post May 25 2014, 09:39 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit (2014) Addendum

For my original review of the movie, please goto Mov_freak Jack Ryan Review

I stand by my original review, Chris Pine is a terrible Jack Ryan, and Keira Knightley a horrible girlfriend/wife...

On a personal note, the sooner the Americans understand they are they worst enemy, the better.

Silver lining as mentioned in my previous review, Kelvin Costner and Kenneth Branagh did they roles well, but am used to an African American playing the Thomas Harper role.

Also, high production value, so when the action kicks in the sound effects pretty good!!

My Additional Two Sens...
Mov_freak
post May 25 2014, 10:29 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

As the Light Goes Out 救火英雄 (2014)

As AVFAN had stated above this is a decent movie.

One help but compare this with Out Of Inferno 逃出生天 (2013) which I believe copied the Koren's The Tower (which copied Towering Inferno)...

For some odd reason, I felt the Pang Brother's vibe in this movie, more then I did on Out of Inferno, the reason being, there is a sense of eeriness to this movie, when the fire fighters are fighting fire.

At the end, the was a "zen-like" approach to it...

Most of the actors did a decent job, and as I had stated above I thought that Simon Yap hammed it a little in this one...

Go on, give it a try, you know you want to.

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post May 26 2014, 09:19 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(sKyWiR3pT3lTd @ May 26 2014, 05:20 PM)
Hello,

Watched an animation Blu-ray after long years. The Croods. The animation conceptual storyline was good
Yes, it is a very good animation
Mov_freak
post May 31 2014, 06:00 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Non-Stop (2014)

Liam Neeson is bad...

In Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace (1999), his BAD decision got SO MANY JEDI KNIGHTS killed!!

In The Haunting (1999) he was a BAD paranormal researcher...

In Batman Begins (2005) he was BAD!!

In Taken (2008) he was a BAD a$$ father!!!

In Clash of the Titans 2010 he was a BAD father!!

In Unknown (2011) a BAD assassin!!!

In Non-Stop (2014) a BAD a$$ Air Marshal!!?!

As I said, Liam Neeson is BAD!!!!!

This is an interesting movie. Not original mind you (Airport (1970), Executive Decision (1996), Flightplan (2005) & Red Eye (2005)) and have to add, the 1 hour 46 minutes movie, does keep you entertain and for most part at the edge of your seat!!

Not sure if Liam Neeson is gonna stop being BAD, seeing how Taken 3 is in the works...

I for one say, if it ain't broke, don't fix it!! laugh.gif

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Jun 1 2014, 01:08 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ May 31 2014, 08:51 PM)
the sound/audio quality any good?
Er... Watched it at my brother's 65" plasma, and he does not have a sound system...

Will let you know when I had the chance to play it on my setup, okay?
Mov_freak
post Jun 3 2014, 12:38 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(Hartigan @ Jun 3 2014, 12:24 AM)
Haha....you forgot to mention Harrison Ford in Air Force One (1997), Ray Liotta in Turbulence (1997) plus Wesley Snipes in Passenger 57 (1992), all of them made in 90's
Same genre, equal action & thriller
My hat off to you, Hartigan. nod.gif

21 Pages « < 17 18 19 20 21 >Top

0.0255sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:52 PM