21 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

What 1080p Movie did You Watch Today?, Its supposed to be a midnite...

Mov_freak
post Nov 10 2013, 10:24 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 10 2013, 10:16 PM)
The AQ in The Conjuring really adds weight to the movie. The sudden burst of massive LFE, the pounding on the door, the background music, the whispering, just make it even spookier.
Right!!?! So, do you wanna play hide and clap?? rclxms.gif rclxms.gif laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Nov 10 2013, 11:32 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 10 2013, 10:59 PM)
This house is 100x spookier than those haunted houses that I stayed before during my childhood.
Oh, pray tell. Horror story of htkaki. Can they make movie of those experience? Really, please share. Oh, did you have a chance to watched the special feature of The Conjuring?

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Nov 10 2013, 11:33 PM
Mov_freak
post Nov 12 2013, 08:27 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skeelee @ Nov 12 2013, 06:57 PM)
You stayed in haunted houses before?
As a young engineer, I was posted to a small district in northern Perak as the JKR District Engineer in early 80s. The government quarter assigned to me was a 2-storey colonial bungalow with a compound larger than a football field, with no neighbours within ear shot. The building had outhouses for amah, driver, gardener, etc, but there were only my wife and me to occupy the house.
There were a living hall and a dining hall downstairs, and another living room and two large bedrooms with attached baths upstairs. It is of thick masonry columns and walls, black and white chequered tiles downstairs and timber floor upstairs. Bath tubs are the very ancient types with four exposed legs, and yes, with squeeky plumbings.
In the end, we only occupied the ground floor, upstairs were only used when we had visitors, and they were surely very excited with the experience. When I had to go outstations for meetings, I had to bring my wife along because she dared not stay in the house alone at night.
To make things worse, we had uninvited visitors to the house - cobras and other types of snakes and insects such as centipedes.
It was a very long 3 years and 3 months in this house.
And it is totally understood that while watching The Conjuring with my wife, I had to accompany her to the washroom when nature called.
Haha

An ex colleague who ended up working for IOI ended up with similar experience,

When they were sent to IOI estates to audit, they were given similar colonial house to stay in during the audit

Some of the experiences he had share will curly anybodies straight hair... laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Nov 12 2013, 11:18 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 12 2013, 10:58 PM)
I guess that I wasn't the luckiest kid around. Moved a few times coz my parents were poor back then. Stayed in 3 haunted houses before.

One with the occasional water tap being turned on. It was a bungalow house that was rented at a cheap rate. Right opposite there is a field on a small hill. Left was the 'Datuk Kong' and a tree and to the right was the durian tree. It wasn't long that we realised that there was a man hanged himself at the Datuk tree many years ago and a lady dressed in red committed suicide by hanging from the durian tree. Many scary incidents happened until we decided to move out. That was more than 25 years ago.

Moved to another house. This was much better coz only a lady hang herself in the shower. Fridge door opened by itself on many occasion. Toilet flushing at night. My cousin bro was locked in the bathroom while taking his bath.

Then, we moved to another house just a stone throw away. Didn't realise anything until my aunt's family moved out. Almost every night, I can hear children's footsteps walking down the staircase to the bathroom and playing upstairs. I wasn't quite sure whether it was my neighbour. I went up to check. Nothing. I asked my aunt about anything unusual since my cousin brothers used to sleep upstairs. She said there isn't and that it was the neighbour's children.

The footsteps happened again on many occasions. I decided to go up to check again. Nothing. I peeped through the balcony to see whether my neighbours were playing there. No sign of them. Went outside to check whether neighbour is in or not. Holy crap, no one is at home. The reality sank on me. I went back to my room. It was only 9pm. Then, I could clearly hear those playful footsteps coming down the staircase. The nearest 'encounter' was the faint footsteps at the kitchen, which was just next to my room.

After we moved to our new home, my aunt told me that there were 3 'toyols' in that house. My cousins also being disturbed by them. She said that she did not tell me the truth as she doesn't want me to be too frightened.
Gosh, you should write a book...
Mov_freak
post Nov 12 2013, 11:51 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 12 2013, 11:31 PM)
Bro, it's terrifying when you hear those footsteps getting nearer to your room.

On the suicide in the bathroom, we got to know about it from our neighbour after 2-3 months. Most occupants will move out after a month or two. We stayed for almost 3 years. Since there is only one bathroom, we have no choice but to use it.
When I said you should write a book, I was not making light of the experiences you went through... I'm sorry if that was the impression I gave you in my reply before

The Pang brothers collected many ghost stories in Thailand and spent 10 years working on The Eye's script, which to date to me is the top 10 best Horror movie.

I feel that, even for the sake of prosperity, you should record your experiences in a journal, and maybe they can be used scholastically or as reference for works of fiction...

Of course this is just my opinion
Mov_freak
post Nov 13 2013, 11:43 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skeelee @ Nov 13 2013, 09:22 AM)
Wow, compared with your experience, mine was child play.
My staff did tell me abount some happenings in that bungalow, but we never had any encounter of any kind. Maybe it was because I was fierce-looking and frightened them away instead.
Have you watched Tales from the Dark I and II? Some of the stories are not bad.
On that note Htkaki, the LFE on the Tales from the Dark 1 & 2 is pretty good as well
Mov_freak
post Nov 13 2013, 01:55 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 13 2013, 06:59 AM)
I am lousy with that. laugh.gif

Then again, the Japanese and Korean horror movies are a lot scarier. Haha.
Well, you kinda got the skeleton of several tales (no pun intended tongue.gif ). For the meat, maybe more details about

1) What were the frightening experiences at the Bungalow?
2) Any additional information on why the man hanged himself at the "Datuk Kong" or for that matter, the Lady in Red, and the durian tree?
3) Before your aunty, who were the occupant of the house and did they have any history or rearing "baby ghost" (eg Toyol)?

etc, etc...
Mov_freak
post Nov 13 2013, 07:46 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(BOTBOTCHAI. @ Nov 13 2013, 07:22 PM)
laugh.gif  You can go there to experience yourself. Just ask the address from htkaki. Anyway I not believe in ghost. All the ghost movie , I watch myself at midnight in a totally darkroom . Maybe if I saw one , then I will believe in ghost......Arrgh. just don't forget to ask toto, 1+3d and magnum draw number from him/ her brows.gif
Haha, ever the practical!! laugh.gif

Cannot...

I'm... chicken shit... tongue.gif
Mov_freak
post Nov 13 2013, 08:37 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(BOTBOTCHAI. @ Nov 13 2013, 08:01 PM)
You still ok bro. My wife always laugh at me when I saw the scariest thing in my life . Click below.

Wow...

I've never had issue with them. I grew up with them...

I lie, if you had read my reviews for Tales from the Dark 1 & 2, there was a short period in time when I was really young when I had issue with them...
Mov_freak
post Nov 27 2013, 09:35 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

We're the Millers (2013)

Jennifer Aniston is 43yo, and she STILL got it!! laugh.gif

Just look at her striptease segment!! biggrin.gif

This movie is most welcome. It is funny.

They people they got for the lead roles are a riot!!

Emma Roberts get the emo girl role (Casey Mathis). Will Poulter for me last seen in the third Narnia Chronicles is (Kenny Rossmore). I'm not a SNL fan so cannot say I know Jason Sudeikis well, but he did a good job here (as David Clark) and then we have the IT girl from Friends Jennifer Aniston (Rose O'Reilly)!!

Kathryn Hahn as motormouth Edie Fitzgerald is amazing.

I really REALLY WANT to be Kenny here, because I get to kiss Jennifer Aniston MULTIPLE times!!!!! biggrin.gif

There is a scene in here which I really REALLY WISH I can un-see (My eyes... they BURN!!!) ... (U'll know it when you see it...) laugh.gif

In short, a pretty good comedy!!

Until the next time

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Nov 28 2013, 10:04 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Nov 28 2013, 09:16 AM)
i wanted too but prefer molly & emma  wub.gif blush.gif
Oops... my age is showing... laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Nov 30 2013, 01:22 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Could there every be a movie, that is even more style over substance, poorly cast, miserably scripted movie compared to The Twilight series!!

The answer is an incredible YES!!!

Ladies and gentlemen, I give to you,

The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones (2013)

And to top that off, you know what could be worst than THIS!!!

... It's part 2... (Yes, one has been announced...)

Clary (Lily Collins [Mirror Mirror 2012]) leads....

Jace (Jamie Campbell Bower I remember him best as Anthony in Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street [2007]) a human/angel "hybrid".

Simon (Robert Sheehan, a Jay Baruchel wannabe} plays the third wheel.

Alec (Kevin Zegers)... the fourth wheel!!!!????

Other VERY surprising miscasts are Lena Headey, Jared Harris and Jonathan Rhys Meyers.

This Twilight meets Harry Potter movie is in a word DISMAL.

I have absolutely nothing else to say about this little shocker!!

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Dec 1 2013, 10:08 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Dec 1 2013, 09:51 AM)
Wow, I thought Twilight was bad enough... didn't imagine there could be something worse.
Hands down, this is the worst...

And to top it off, it actually has a much bigger budget compared to the first Twilight (Twilight has a budget of USD37,000,000 this has a budget of USD$60,000,000)...

The biggest problem with Mortal Instrument is, it is so desperate to be cool and "cutting edge" and the result is neither...

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Dec 1 2013, 11:05 AM
Mov_freak
post Dec 1 2013, 09:57 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters (2013)

Another book series that movie producers are hoping would turn into the next Harry Potter franchise...

With the above mention franchise, with each passing movie, the director approach the movies from a more adult perspective.

Unfortunately for this "movie franchise" the reverse is true, and in turn, hurting the movie...

I do understand that there is a big market for a children/family oriented movie. Having said that, there is no reason why movies in this segment needs to... lack sophistication...

Frankly, I have never read the series, so I do not know if the issue lies with the source material or somethings are lost in the translation... (I really would like to hear from the readers of the books)

I know a thing or two about the Greek Mythology, and the series, really do... dumb down Greek Myth, which is actually quite sophisticated (even the late great Shakespeare, had been know to pinch an idea or two from Greek Myth)

Basing everything in the States is a big problem for me, I really wonder why so many Greek Myth stuff ended up in the States??

And everything has to be... "Americanised" (Circeland... doh.gif "It's A Small World After All?" blink.gif)

And something that really irk me, is the whole look of the movie. There are alot of "night" shots, and I absolutely no photography knowledge, but there are some shots here that looks really really... WASHED!! (The same can be said about the The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones (2013))

To my untrained eye, I really feel the work produced by the director photography (Shelly Johnson) is underwhelming. Funny thing is he also did Captain America: The First Avenger (2011) and The Wolfman (2010) which I have no issue with. Maybe it is the new digital cameras they use nowadays...

I will not go as far as to say it is as bad as The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones, it is just very predictable and un-challenging.

As always...

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Dec 2 2013, 10:38 PM
Mov_freak
post Dec 5 2013, 05:34 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Krull (1983)

Okay. This is a guilty pleasure of mine.

It is a fantasy movie.

It is made in the 80s. It was VERY expensive for it's time (Columbia Pictures supposedly spent USD 27,000,000 making this).

Prince Colwyn
, over night lost his kingdom (his father included), his bride (Princess Lyssa) and was left for dead.

And now the fun begins, he has to win it all that BACK (well, minus his father... tongue.gif), with the help of Ynyr the Old One, a magic five-pointed throwing weapon (the Glaive, as a friend of mine described it as a Frisbee with claws... laugh.gif )

Here is something to ponder, how do you fight an enemy whose home disappears at dawn and reappear at another spot all together will stay there a day and then off to another place...

I was actually surprise at how well this material transfer to HD.

Unfortunately, Columbia Pictures has no plans yet to release this on Bluray (same goes with Disney's Rudyard Kippling's Jungle Book, with Jason Scott Lee)

Again, one of those movies which I have watched on TV, LD, DVD etc, over and over again.

Oh, bare in mind that CGI did not exist back then, the spider you see is filmed using STOP MOTION on it's spider web... think about that!!!

As always, My Two Sen.
Mov_freak
post Dec 12 2013, 10:55 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Dec 12 2013, 10:49 PM)

Robert DeNiro, Michelle Pfeiffer, Tommy Lee Jones, What else could you ask for?
... Michelle Pfeiffer 20 years younger??... laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Dec 13 2013, 11:36 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Rooftop (2013)

Frankly, when I saw the poster for this movie, I never in a million years thought I would watch this movie, let alone... like it!!

Reason?

I have NEVER been a Jay Chou fan and frankly, the movie poster irritate the HECK out of me.

But a strange thing happened...

I accidentally played the movie and the most unbelievable thing happened...

I... like it.

It is actually... unique... defies definition.

The best I can do is, if you like Moulin Rouge, chances are, you will like it!!

Again, I have to emphasize, I am SERIOUSLY NOT a Jay Chou fan (he cannot sing, yes, bring on the criticism), but I have to admit, he can write (stories and songs, I actually like the music here and also the theme song for the Curse of the Golden Flower (2007).

There is something whimsical about this movie, and it is the first musical in Asian, which I feel actually works.

Give it a try why don't you, maybe you'll be amused to.

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Dec 19 2013, 01:30 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Dec 18 2013, 11:21 PM)
Green Lantern .... storyline is too lousy.
Frankly it could have been much better, especially, obviously so much resource were pumped into it...

It really boggles my mind that they are attempting a Superman/Batman and Wonder Woman movie (in Superman 2) probably as a launching pad for The Justice League movie... I'm really really trying hard to keep my expectations low... I've been "hurt" too many times... laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Dec 24 2013, 10:51 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Out of Inferno 逃出生天(2013)

Director: Oxide Pang Chun & Danny Pang
Starring: Lau Ching Wan, Louis Koo, Angelica Lee

This is by far one of the big ones that came out of Hong Kong.

Well known directors (who did The Eye (2002), one of my favorite horror movie) and a few big star from Hong Kong this year.

Korea's The Tower (2012) did well, so the Pang Brothers decide they can do better. So? How did they fare?...

I just have one wish this Christmas...

That Hong Kong STOP GIVING US FALSE HOPE in 2014....

The script in this movie is just PLAIN lazy.

They really REALLY need to stop treating their viewer as idiots!!!

If they even bother to watch an episode of Mythbusters, this script would have been 100 times better.

There is NO character you are invested in.

Some fire scenes are totally CGI, and you know what that means. FAKE!! There is NO urgency or danger!!!

Bad movie. BAD MOVIE!!!

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Dec 25 2013, 12:52 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Fast and the Furious (2001)

Probably one of the better Fast & Furious in the franchise...

Am actually surprise by how difficult it is to watch after the passing of you know who...

Somewhere in the beginning of this movie, there was a barbeque, and in the 6th at the end, there was another... That actually nicely encapsulate the series...

Do we really need a 7th?

My Two Sen...

21 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:30 AM