21 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

What 1080p Movie did You Watch Today?, Its supposed to be a midnite...

Mov_freak
post Sep 8 2013, 12:17 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Fast & Furious 6 (2013)

Let me get one thing straight, the Fast and Furious is never my favorite franchise...

The first three were VERY disjointed, and have to add, the franchise had... evolved into something it was never meant to be, when the first was made...

My... concern about this movie franchise is that some car "enthusiasts" cannot tell the difference between movie and life, and I'll leave it at that.

This franchise is 12 years old the first being The Fast and the Furious (2001), and have to add Paul Walker compared to Vin Diesel, seems to be the one that is aging ungracefully... laugh.gif

Okay, credit where credit is due, the script writer for this actually took the trouble of going through all the previous script and tries to make head and tails out of all of them.

Fast and Furious 3 is still sticking out like a sore thumb though...

Car stunts are crazy.

Chicks are hot, which brings me back to my earlier statement about some car enthusiasts... Please remember these are movies and they have ALOT of stunt coordinator and planner to do what we see on screen...

PQ is good. AQ is fantastic.

That's it, that is My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Sep 8 2013, 01:02 PM
Mov_freak
post Sep 8 2013, 07:20 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 8 2013, 07:00 PM)
agree... i think the first 4 were much of a nox fast car racer show plus some romance and adventure.

f5 n f6 from new director justin lin took an action, audience winning approach - fast cars n big time crime.

it's like how diehard1 was conceived - crime is not interesting to the viewer until it comes with gunshots, missiles, choppers n bigtime explosions. biggrin.gif
Now I'm a little concern. With Justin Lin out of the picture and James Wan in the director seat for 7, I'm hoping that this franchise does not "destroy" him. I believe there is actually a massive/rabid fan base for the franchise and if he goes into a direction which displease the fans... (eg Shaw ghost comes back and join forces with his brother Ian Shaw to haunt/kill the gang... laugh.gif)

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 8 2013, 07:00 PM)
rewind this is one nostaligic documentary for vhs collectors. interesting enuf, about the beginning of home theater, home video, movie buffs (like us tongue.gif )...the prediction is all media - vhs, dvd, br , even hdd, all will go obsolete. everything will be stored n available to be streamed anytime u want it in the future. nice for next gen - just when i tot it's good to keep some for my kids!

Thank you for this. Will look for this documentary. Sounds interesting.

Believe it or not, I do "miss" formats like VHS and Laserdisc. And here is why. Video libraries (eg Blockbusters)... Use to be they were meeting places of movie fans where information can be shared... Fast forward to today, everything is online and there are terrible terrible TROLLS online who you just cannot physically punch in the face... (kidding, I do not encourage violence...). I just feel the internet meeting place is ... colder...

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Sep 8 2013, 07:25 PM
Mov_freak
post Sep 9 2013, 07:00 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 9 2013, 05:38 PM)
the "plane takeoff-crash" was showing off the largest cargo plane on earth, a soviet antonov 225. the landing gear was shown several times, but was it really an antonov 225? ohmy.gif

Mov_freak
post Sep 10 2013, 07:43 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(BOTBOTCHAI. @ Sep 10 2013, 07:02 PM)
thumbup.gif  The deepest in WWZ are in 1:05:33 scenes. Lot of bone shaking bass in this movie  sweat.gif
Aiyo, don't lah until bone shaking... When older ada osteoporosis how?? We have to maintain good health so can enjoy more movies.... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Sep 10 2013, 07:46 PM
Mov_freak
post Sep 10 2013, 08:27 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(BOTBOTCHAI. @ Sep 10 2013, 08:16 PM)
laugh.gif  This two month I feel very happy cause lot of movie have good LFE ( oblivion , star trek , fast 6 , the colony , iron man 3 and  WWZ (the best). Just sharing , bro. Your setup also not bad mah thumbup.gif teeth rattling bass  laugh.gif
thumbup.gif

The Colony. Any good? You tak da comment pun!!?!

I'm surprise you did not mention Now You See Me!!
Mov_freak
post Sep 10 2013, 11:47 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(BOTBOTCHAI. @ Sep 10 2013, 10:37 PM)
smile.gif My buddy (own tri sub) watch man of steel at IMAX , he said  thumbup.gif . Still waiting , hopefully like bro paskal said yummy yummy biggrin.gif
Yes, watched Man Of Steel at IMAX too, and have to agree the the sound is spectacular!

Hope the transfer to bluray retains that!

Warner Bros transfer can sometimes....

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Sep 10 2013, 11:47 PM
Mov_freak
post Sep 12 2013, 03:36 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

X2 (2003)

Probably my favorite X-Men movie to date!

All the set piece are there.

Patrick Steward (Professor Charles Xavier) and Ian McKelley (Eric Lensherr / Magneto) are great!

Who would have thunk that Brian Cox (William Stryker) is such an S.O.B....

The star for me in this movie is.... Alan Cumming (Kurt Wagner / Nightcrawler). Very well executed and acted character! I was most disappointed when they did not include him in the 3rd installment (supposedly, Alan Cumming got greedy. That is what I heard. True/Not, I cannot say)

I do have several small peeves about this movie, I don't understand why Aaron Stanford replaced as John Allerdyce / Pyro and that Jason 143 character is a little under developed...

PQ is much superior to X-Men

AQ is Great!!

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Sep 12 2013, 03:37 PM
Mov_freak
post Sep 12 2013, 11:35 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Sep 12 2013, 08:34 PM)
I preferred X-Men in the trilogy and quite enjoyed X-Men First Class.
Interesting, for me here is how I'll built the X-men movie list based on preference...

1) X2 (2003)
2) X-Men (2000) /X-Men: First Class (2011) (a tie)
3) X-Men: The Last Stand (2006)

X2 opening sequence with Kurt blew me away...

It also introduced Colossus character, which is WAY under used in the trilogy....

The third was meh with the exception of Wolverine & Colossus's Fastball Special!!! laugh.gif

Note that I did not included any of the wolverine movies... It is a conscious decision... tongue.gif

Like everything, this is just my opinion

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Sep 12 2013, 11:37 PM
Mov_freak
post Sep 12 2013, 11:49 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

X-Men: The Last Stand (2006)

As stated previously, probably my least favorite X-Men movies...

Brett Ratner (Gosh I'm so glad I did not make Superman Returns) was good at making interesting sequences but seem to have issue stringing them properly together (like Disney hand drawn animation, after Walt Disney died)...

I do admit he was given the arduous task of putting from paper to movie, the Dark Phoenix storyline... Not for the faint hearted, I assure you (too many rabid fans), still the finished product...

Also abruptly taking Cyclops away and the Wolverine luvs Jean Grey angle... not handled very well at all...

A little bit of a mess...

As you guys can see, I'm already gearing up for X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014)... laugh.gif

Like always, this is JUST my two sen...

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Sep 12 2013, 11:58 PM
Mov_freak
post Sep 13 2013, 02:00 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Sep 13 2013, 11:44 AM)
BTW: I cannot recall the opening sequence on X2...will need to revisit this weekend.
Revisit away!! laugh.gif

Mozart's Requiem is still playing in my mind!! tongue.gif

Mov_freak
post Sep 14 2013, 01:28 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Four Brothers (2005)

I don't know how many times I have watched this and for some strange reason I keep coming back to this.

This movie is about four orphan boys who were deem un-adoptable, so much so that the social worker working their cases ended up adopting them.

They are all grown up and returned to their childhood neighborhood after their adoptive mother was gun down in a store robbery... A simple case of wrong time, wrong place??...

Probably one of my favorite Mark Wahlberg movie.

The interaction between the brothers I believe is what draws me to the movie...

Mark Wahlberg is pretty bad-ass here, for all the right reasons.... as oppose to him being dump-ass for all the wrong reasons (Pain and Gain (2013) anyone?... *groan*)

This is a drama with some (not alot) action scenes.

I like it. Good Story, Good direction and definite good acting from all parties concern!! For those who has little kids, please do note that it is quite violent, contains rude language and also adult situation (no sex scenes, but alot of suggestions about sex)

Go for it why don't you, if you have not already.

My Two Sen.

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Sep 14 2013, 01:33 PM
Mov_freak
post Sep 14 2013, 05:18 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

We Need to Talk About Kevin (2011)

If you are a director and you need a very young gentleman to play an innately evil character, what do you do?

Apparently, director Lynne Ramsay, had found the answer. You hire, Ezra Miller!!

This movie is truly different.

Very low budget, very well scripted, acted and directed!!

This is categorise as a drama/thriller.

Tilda Swinton plays Eva Khatchadourian a well known travel writer. She suspect something is... off about her son. her husband Franklin played by John C. Reilly feels that she is over reacting and that their son, Kevin played by Ezra Miller is just a normal kid... The truth is... really really disturbing...

I wonder if this is a situation where art imitate life or otherwise, because if one reads the newspaper nowadays... similar situation seems to be... sadly... news...

A word of caution though. This movie is definitely NOT for everyone (slow paced) and also the editing can be somewhat disorientating because it jumps around different time line....

My two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Sep 14 2013, 07:29 PM
Mov_freak
post Sep 14 2013, 07:42 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Star Trek: The Next Generation - The Best of Both Worlds (1990)

Supposedly, when Season 3 of Star Trek the Next Generation ended with a cliffhanger, many an American were unhappy.

So much so, that when Patrick Steward was driving down a highway during the summer of 1990, a station wagon drove up next to his car, winded down their window and shouted at him, "You've RUINED our summer!!!!" tongue.gif

This year, Paramount in an attempt to to squeeze out more money from the general public, had NOT ONLY re-released the whole of Star Trek The Next Generation Season 3 & 4, they also release a "Special Edition" bluray that has the last episode of Season 3 and the first episode of Season 4, with a supposed additional extended scene, and for the life of me, I cannot tell what is extended! tongue.gif

Viewing something that is 23 years old (and state of the art when it was first release) it is still good story telling. And with the upgraded special effects, a good view indeed.

Paramount is spending a pretty penny to update this series to Hi Def and it shows.

Even compared to the newer Star Trek Enterprise which is also released in bluray, the PQ for Star Trek and Next Generation is a tad... sharper!

For those who are not in the know, this is the episodes where the Borg, who is originally from the Delta Quadrant of space, has actually traveled to the Alpha Quadrant of space to assimilate the Federation!!

Very nail biting indeed!!!

I like it. The question you have to ask yourself now is, will you??

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Sep 16 2013, 07:31 PM
Mov_freak
post Sep 14 2013, 08:09 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Lone Wolf and Cub: Sword of Vengeance (1972)
Lone Wolf and Cub: Baby Cart at the River Styx (1972)
Lone Wolf and Cub: Baby Cart to Hades (1972)
Lone Wolf and Cub: Baby Cart in Peril (1972)
Lone Wolf and Cub: Baby Cart in the Land of Demons (1973)
Lone Wolf and Cub: White Heaven in Hell (1974)

Now for something, REALLY different.

Director Kenji Misumi will always be know for this series.

A samurai turned ronin (a samurai without a master) wonders the country of Japan, helping the simple folks while pursuing his arch enemy, the Yagyu Clan!!

The hook? His absolutely cute and adorable young son, whom his pushes all over Japan in a wooden cart.

They do not talk to each other, but rather communicate with each other with knowing glances...

I have you know, I would have KILLED for a wooden cart like the one in the movies when I was a baby, way WAY cool.

Again, please note that this is a VERY violent series, limbs and heads go a flying.... Oh and blood a spluttering...

For movies that is 41 years old, the transfer is impressive...

They must have kept the masters in a pristine environment!!

My Two Sen
Mov_freak
post Sep 15 2013, 10:01 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 15 2013, 08:53 AM)
Must revisit this series. I remember watching one of them (can't remember which) back in the 80s.

Thanks for reminding me about this.
You are welcome

I believe you saw Shogun Assassin (1980) where American director Robert Houston took the first two Lone Wolf and Cub movies and edited them into one... and distributed that in America...

I prefer the original works...
Mov_freak
post Sep 15 2013, 12:17 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(BOTBOTCHAI. @ Sep 15 2013, 10:28 AM)
Last week watch at MV -20db with home minister. Need to rewatch today since bro Anfieldude and Mov. Freak give a good review. smile.gif
Please note that viewers are split 50/50, either you buy/like it or otherwise... No in-betweens... icon_rolleyes.gif
Mov_freak
post Sep 15 2013, 12:58 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(BOTBOTCHAI. @ Sep 15 2013, 12:42 PM)
nod.gif no worry , I'm not that guy ( earthquake) .  laugh.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Sep 15 2013, 01:01 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

So Undercover (2012)

With much "interest" in Miley Cyrus at this point...

In her own words, if you are an 11 - 24 year old girl, you would enjoy this, because apparently, the market segment can fully appreciate the term... "amazeballs"....

My two Sen.
Mov_freak
post Sep 15 2013, 01:04 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Rapture-Palooza (2013)

DO NOT WATCH THIS.

Just DON'T.

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Sep 15 2013, 01:05 PM
Mov_freak
post Sep 16 2013, 12:18 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

X-Men: First Class (2011)

James McAvoy & Michael Fassbender r brilliant as Charles Xavier & Erik Lensherr!!

Who ever would have thought that young Charles Xavier would have been should a CAD!!! laugh.gif

Storyline's good, Matthew Vaughn did a good job directing and Kevin Bacon (as Sebastian Shaw) had proven before that he can be an S.O.B. has once again proved he can be... an S.O.B.!! biggrin.gif

The younger stars who are Beast, Angel, Banshee & Darwin are fine.

PQ and AQ is GREAT!!

Again cannot wait until X-Men: Days of Future Past (2014) and Bryan Singer is back!!! Yeah!!!

21 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0540sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:43 PM