HP Pavillion DV6-6XXX series Owners Lounge V3, -130 owners. Refreshed! Aww Yeah!!

keyzjh
post Aug 19 2011, 09:19 PM

296 posts

Since HP is not selling off its PC notebook division, do you guys think if it's still wise to purchase HP laptops?

I was eyeing the dv6 all the while until this news came out T_T

I wonder if they will still honour the warranties..
keyzjh
post Sep 14 2011, 08:41 PM

296 posts

Hey guys, how big is the difference between 1600x900 and 1366x768 pixels?

Been lurking around in this thread since v1, and finally going to purchase a new laptop.

But there's the N55SF(i5) to consider now, which has a weaker processor and a slightly slower graphics card. But has a better screen resolution.

Seems like there's not many hardware problems with this laptop right?

Argh still confused about which to get doh.gif
keyzjh
post Sep 16 2011, 07:31 PM

296 posts

Acid, add me into user list biggrin.gif
Got it from Mobility Square Digital Mall for RM2999, 8gb RAM + 3 years warranty.

One question, which recovery do I run? HP recovery media or Windows Backup?

The HP recovery media got stuck at disc 2 of 3 sad.gif
keyzjh
post Sep 16 2011, 07:51 PM

296 posts

Oh btw, mine is a 6114tx biggrin.gif

EDIT: HP Recovery Media working now after resuming.

This post has been edited by keyzjh: Sep 16 2011, 07:52 PM
keyzjh
post Sep 16 2011, 08:23 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(XxxNightSkyxxX @ Sep 16 2011, 08:08 PM)
wow.. u able to buy 6114 with the price of 2999?  shocking.gif
Yup, quite surprised too. 3 weeks ago it was RM3199 at the same place blink.gif
keyzjh
post Sep 16 2011, 10:12 PM

296 posts

What is the latest AMD driver for 6770M?

Do I still follow the guide on first page? Which says it's AMD High-Definition Graphics Driver 2011-05-06 , Version:8.830.6.2000, 300.06M ?
keyzjh
post Sep 16 2011, 11:04 PM

296 posts

Oh, so for 6114, can only manual switch the cards in the BIOS?
I thought the BIOS enables manual switching in CCC blink.gif
keyzjh
post Sep 16 2011, 11:28 PM

296 posts

Ok, thanks acid!
Downloading Catalyst 11.8 now, since I can't find anything on AMD's page. It says my device unsupported.
keyzjh
post Sep 16 2011, 11:40 PM

296 posts

Found your instructions a few pages back biggrin.gif

I'll clean the drivers up first then.
keyzjh
post Sep 16 2011, 11:45 PM

296 posts

Erm, on the official site for Dv6-6114, under graphics section, there is a separate intel HD driver.

Does this mean the intel driver is no longer bundled in the AMD one listed there? Or do I still need to download and install both?

Sorry for asking so many questions rclxub.gif
keyzjh
post Sep 17 2011, 12:12 AM

296 posts

doh.gif I've already installed the 11.8 catalyst over the one that came with the laptop, without wiping anything.

Do you think I should use Driver sweeper, clean up everything step by step and reinstall?
keyzjh
post Sep 17 2011, 12:22 AM

296 posts

Will see if theres any problems in the next few days.
Thanks for your assistance Acid notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by keyzjh: Sep 17 2011, 12:23 AM
keyzjh
post Sep 30 2011, 05:57 PM

296 posts

I've sent in my CarePack registration form on monday, but I just checked my warranty status, and it is still one year. Anyone knows how long before the details are updated?

After sending in the form, I received an e-mail for product registration. This has nothing to do with Care Pack right?
keyzjh
post Oct 3 2011, 11:56 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Oct 1 2011, 08:20 PM)
You can find it here.

Download latest version of Validity Fingerprint Reader and HP SimplePass Software by DigitalPersona if u using it.
Uninstalled the default fingerprint driver, installed Validity Fingerprint Reader and SimplePass, but after restarting, it says the fingerprint reader is not recognized O_O Although it shows it's working properly in device manager
keyzjh
post Oct 4 2011, 01:26 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Oct 4 2011, 12:09 AM)
If install back the default driver and install Validity Fingerprint Reader and HP SimplePass Software ?
Done that, the DigitalPersona SimplePass just couldn't recognize the fingerprint reader, I restored the older version from official HP site.

But I encounter another problem, HP SimplePass no longer works during windows logon. It happened even before I started messing around with the drivers. Any clues to get it back working?
keyzjh
post Oct 4 2011, 06:44 PM

296 posts

Help me acid sifu D:

Since I started updating the fingerprint drivers ( and failing), the windows boot time increased to almost 4 mins. And SimplePass still doesn't work for windows logon.

Any ideas?
Thanks!
keyzjh
post Oct 5 2011, 12:16 AM

296 posts

I gave up on DigitalPersona's SimplePass. Installed latest version from HP site and all is good now. Boot time back to normal too I guess, I hope it's not AutoCAD causing the slow boot time.
keyzjh
post Oct 7 2011, 11:35 PM

296 posts

Decided to reinstall my windows because I'm being OCD about the boot time. Restored to default factory settings, but didn't require the discs I created with Recovery Manager (why is this?)

Now not sure whether I want to update anything from HP support assistant or mess with fingerprint reader again sad.gif
Read the windows 7 out-of-the-box guide from first page, it says remove HP support assistant?
Is it more advisable to use windows upate/download manually from HP site?

EDIT: Btw sifus, I don't need to reformat my hard disk before restoring to factory right?

This post has been edited by keyzjh: Oct 8 2011, 01:00 AM

0.0508sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:33 PM