HP Pavillion DV6-6XXX series Owners Lounge V3, -130 owners. Refreshed! Aww Yeah!!

ThisIsBoletaria
post Aug 6 2011, 05:34 PM

108 posts

So. After battling for a whole week to get the hard drive caddy to fit in properly, I decided to give up. It's just too much trouble.

The problems I faced were as follows:
- The optical drive is fixed to the chassis using this metal bracket that is a specific shape. It looks like it's easy to transfer over to the caddy, but it isn't: the screws used to attach the bracket to the optical drive are too short to work with the caddy. I had to hunt high and low for screws for the whole week.

- Taking off the faceplate/bezel from the optical drive was difficult, frustrating, scary and causes irreparable damage to the latches in the form of scratches. This is just a matter of courage, of course, as Acid managed to do his with no trouble.

- Fixing the faceplate/bezel to the drive was problematic for me, and I couldn't figure out why. It looked like the latches just didn't lock properly for me.

- Slotting the caddy into the bay was difficult,and again I couldn't figure out why since Acid didn't have any trouble.

All in all, it was a lot more trouble that it was worth for me. I think I'll wait for a semi-official kit to come out.

And congrats on v3.

This post has been edited by ThisIsBoletaria: Aug 6 2011, 05:34 PM
ThisIsBoletaria
post Aug 6 2011, 09:23 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(louisfjh @ Aug 6 2011, 08:12 PM)

Added on August 6, 2011, 9:05 pm
really that hard??? i tot easy work @@
In theory, it shouldn't be. Acid managed to do it with no issues, but he decided not to fix the caddy to the notebook chassis like I did, so he didn't have to worry about the screw length.

Also, there is some variation in the construction of the caddies, so difficulties will vary from person to person. Right before I gave up, I managed to slot it in after I had taken the faceplate off the caddy and reattached it to my optical drive, but I declared "frack this" and gave up. Maybe one day I will make a duplicate of the CD drive faceplate using resin.
ThisIsBoletaria
post Sep 6 2011, 09:01 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(Luwk @ Sep 6 2011, 01:20 AM)
Anyone using Skype here ? I encounter a problem relate to webcam issue ... video rendering problem .... can make a video call but only opponent can view, i only can hear voice.... it stated there maybe other program using my webcam but i aldy deleted the cyberlink youcam folder .... Any sifu plz help , truly appreciate it ~
I'm using Skype and I don't have the problem you describe. Need to clarify a few things:

1) Is your problem that you can see the other guy and he cannot see you, or the other guy can see you and you cannot see him?

2) When using Skype video call, there is usually a small video frame in the bottom right corner next to the main video frame. This should show yourself. Is this one working?

3) Can you give a few screenshots of when you are trying to use video call (you can censor the faces if you like)? Can you also write down any error messages you get?

ThisIsBoletaria
post Sep 9 2011, 04:09 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(Luwk @ Sep 6 2011, 11:13 AM)
Yea i means people can see me , but i cant see them and also myself , " video renderer problems & please install directX properly" ..
Sorry for the late reply. Bloody fever for the past few days.

Looks to me like you need to reinstall DirectX. Try getting the latest redist from the Internets and see if it helps.

Also, are you using the -60xx or -61xx dv6? If it's the -61xx ones, then you might also want to update to the latest AMD Catalyst drivers because the -61xx uses a different way of rendering the screen than my -60xx.

0.0380sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:43 PM