HP Pavillion DV6-6XXX series Owners Lounge V3, -130 owners. Refreshed! Aww Yeah!!

rurushu
post Aug 29 2011, 04:46 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(chahupping @ Aug 29 2011, 04:15 PM)
i just update my bios and everything through hp assistant, and the hdd temp is solve and lower temp when playing crisis 2, way lower.. after update, i realise that turboboost is off when put to coolest mode, thats why my temp playing crysis 2 is 20 degress lower, lol.
so bro, you mean our temp were so hot last time was due to the turbo-boost?? shocking.gif shocking.gif
rurushu
post Aug 29 2011, 09:48 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Aug 29 2011, 06:18 PM)
Is it just me or the new BIOS make the GPU more overclockable? hmm.gif

@rurushu
in your 7zip is this option ticked?

Yeah, i checked the options there, everything is ticked... but it is not shown when i right-click. Do i need to disable the UAC like you did acid?

QUOTE(chahupping @ Aug 29 2011, 07:38 PM)
I think so.
...... Suddenly i felt so tired and ... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
rurushu
post Aug 29 2011, 11:36 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Aug 29 2011, 10:19 PM)
i don't think UAC is the problem.. hmm.gif
if u untick>apply>tick>apply cannot also? in admin mode. =x

why tired? lol.. your temp still high?
Yeah, i tried to untick then apply, then tick then apply again in admin mode, in non-admin mode also no difference rclxub.gif
Tired coz after all the hassle and headache crunching the problem to what is it that cause the high temps of >90, in the end... it was because i set it to "Performance Optimised" mode and not "Coolest" mode... so was like... "What the hell.... went through all the trouble and the problem was that?!" kind of feeling sweat.gif
rurushu
post Aug 30 2011, 03:03 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(chahupping @ Aug 29 2011, 11:49 PM)
optimised mode shud be ok, i run under that and using coolest + u3, so its quite ok now. im happy! smile.gifbiggrin.gif:D:D finally can play crysis 2 for non-stop and without worrying the side effect for long term, guess i will just wait till i have enough courage to reapply thermal paste myself later on.
You using U3 cooler?

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Aug 30 2011, 02:01 AM)
@rurushu, just to confirm,
You install this 7-zip ?
http://downloads.sourceforge.net/sevenzip/7z922-x64.msi
Erm... im downloading the 32-bit version from 7zip's HP, it is the .exe one. I tried both the .exe and .msi, both also to no avail, so i rolled back to .exe one cry.gif
This is the one im downloading from http://www.7-zip.org/

This post has been edited by rurushu: Aug 30 2011, 03:03 AM
rurushu
post Aug 30 2011, 01:18 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Aug 30 2011, 11:28 AM)
Can you try the link I posted ?
Ok, will try it tonight.
Will update the status after i tried notworthy.gif
rurushu
post Aug 31 2011, 12:02 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Aug 30 2011, 11:28 AM)
Can you try the link I posted ?
Sifu lee, i tried your link and IT WORKED!!!!! Many many thanks to your help!!!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
rurushu
post Aug 31 2011, 01:42 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Aug 31 2011, 12:12 AM)
Guess you would need 64-bit 7-zip for 64-bit windows..
Is it? last time i installed the 64-bit version of 7zip from 7zip's HP and it cant work... hmm.... mystery.... hmm.gif

PS: My temps when playing Crysis 2 last mission using U2 cooler + Coolsense "Coolest Mode" + under normal fans few hours ago, the CPU cores highest is 80 degrees and GPU highest is 77 degrees+, quite good i think hmm.gif

This post has been edited by rurushu: Aug 31 2011, 01:42 AM
rurushu
post Aug 31 2011, 02:04 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Aug 31 2011, 01:46 AM)
@rurushu
good enuff mate.. and it's Crysis 2. i bet if u play Fifa11/Pes2011 it won't go over 60c. laugh.gif
Oh... okok, thanks guys for all your patience and help (mainly acid, chahupping and sifu lee) for solving my plaguing high temps problem.
Really appreciate your help!!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
rurushu
post Sep 1 2011, 12:04 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(ks_loh11 @ Sep 1 2011, 04:22 AM)

Added on September 1, 2011, 4:23 ambtw, i tried a full HD movie on my DV6 and tried it by using HDMI to my 42" Full HD TV. The difference are soooooooooooooo big! Why is that huh?
So big difference as it is a +ve difference or -ve difference? sweat.gif
Cant make it out from what you're trying to say sweat.gif

QUOTE(angrysnail @ Sep 1 2011, 11:06 AM)
will getting this laptop soon..hehe..
btw,for dv6=6114tx is it must to get retail with 8gb ram?..
I think it is better to get the additional 4GB ram as that is the most value for money upgrade for RAM now....
rurushu
post Sep 4 2011, 10:22 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(zarakiken @ Sep 4 2011, 01:55 AM)
who still keeping their solo headphones...? lol... mine still in box... lol... dunno wanna sell or use...
My beats also still in box eating dust... haha

Btw, guys, have one question in mind.

Please do not shoot me for my noob question.
If you change the windows wallpaper/theme from the default (err... the one that came original with the laptop, the one that you saw when you first start-up your laptop) to your custom wallpaper/themes, would that consume system resources? Was told by my cousin sister (she's not so pro in computing... for your information) long time ago... and was still puzzled by it.... can someone tell me the "truth"? icon_question.gif

And one more, to reduce system start-up time and system resource consuming, the software recommended is? Last time im using the startup monitor.... very small and simple app....
rurushu
post Sep 4 2011, 11:23 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Sep 4 2011, 10:47 PM)
If would be minimal resources...

You mean you want HIPS software ? like WinPatrol ?
Erm? I heard what you guys here using to erm... disable/untick/uncheck the programs that you do not intend them to be started up when you start up your laptop (I mostly saw is MsConfig and Ccleaner, but ccleaner i only know how to use it to clear the drivers and registry...) However, the one that i used (was indeed a very old app..., last time saw theStar Intech recommend to use the StartUpMonitor) is very simple only, installed it and it will run in background and it will notify you whenever a program tries to register as a start-up program and thus allowing you to choose yes or otherwise....

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Sep 4 2011, 10:56 PM)
MSconfig or from startup in ccleaner..
or get portable version tongue.gif
sifu lee, the MSconfig, is it a windows default program? (meaning it comes with every windows OS) When we untick some programs so that they do not appear in the start-up list, can we tick it back again if some programs crashed/stopped working because of the unticking? hmm.gif

The startup in ccleaner, is it the same as the MSconfig? Meaning can untick and tick it.... Btw, which version of ccleaner has that startup thing?

Sorry for asking so many repetitive if not too noob questions because im a little intimidated when facing terms like "start-ups", "configurations" because last time i screwed up my computer when im too "curious" and touch too much... sweat.gif
rurushu
post Sep 5 2011, 12:37 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Sep 4 2011, 11:27 PM)
Startup monitor is application to monitor the changes in your system, like WinPatrol or Threatfire, you can block the process real time, but sometimes it would get annoying since every single thing would need your approval.

MSConfig is default apps in Windows, type msconfig on startmenu and you would find it.
CCleaner's startup is basically MSConfig, just that you can delete the startup if you really don't need it.

CCleaner, I guess version 3 and above have it, forgotten version 2 got or not.
Okay... now im clear about the Startup monitor thing that i've been using, and yeah you're right sifu lee, it sometimes does get annoying when installing program suddenly it popped out and ask whether i allow it or not sweat.gif sweat.gif

Oh... so meaning MSConfig and CCleaner's startup is basically the same la.... So i can just use the default MSConfig lo sifu lee?
One more thing, dont delete the startup also can right, just untick it so that it dont get ""start-upped" during Windows startup...
rurushu
post Sep 5 2011, 12:42 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Sep 5 2011, 12:40 AM)
Yup, just untick it to disable it.
Thanks sifu lee for your patience and advice!!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
will try it later rclxms.gif
rurushu
post Sep 6 2011, 01:23 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Sep 5 2011, 10:21 AM)
You need to have the 300MB HP driver install first before u can update to the latest AMD driver.
It will downscale?  hmm.gif

Added on September 5, 2011, 10:23 am
http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Hardware-Upgr...tqe/td-p/717527
Acid, sorry if i asked the same question by other member sweat.gif
The current stable AMD driver is 11.8?
Im using dv6-6114tx, i dont really know the version of my Catalyst Control Centre version (it is not like 11.5b, 11.7, 11.8 and etc. they're alot of numbers with fullstops which i cant brain)
If i want to install the AMD Catalyst 11.8 driver, do i need to first uninstall my Catalyst Control Centre first? Or just install the 11.8 and it will update it to 11.8?

QUOTE(joanneway @ Sep 5 2011, 11:43 AM)
my htown shop there near a lot gold shop. i just plan only. cos those old guys said copper will become green color. the best to stand with heat still is gold. can get discount de.
Just before i want to say that Silver is better conductor compared to Gold then only i saw acid's post.... sweat.gif

QUOTE(chahupping @ Sep 5 2011, 04:41 PM)
wow, im really impress with this laptop now, can set extreme in sc2, lol. though only 30 fps in avg, but will drop when war. lol, i only tried with ai dun dare to set extreme when fight against player, later lag whole army gone. biggrin.gif:D
Wa... it took you so long to be impressed by it??? sweat.gif sweat.gif
Im using ph34r.gif version of SC2, but am seriously considering to buy Diablo III when it is out.... damn, blizzard is taking its whole sweet time making the game... wait till world ends already still no release date confirmed.... doh.gif doh.gif
rurushu
post Sep 6 2011, 02:42 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Sep 6 2011, 01:25 AM)
Latest stable is 11.8
No need to uninstall, straight install on top existing driver.

On CCC, under Information, no "software" ? There should have Catalyst version.
Oh... okok, will install it later, thanks for info sifu lee notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Will check the CCC again to double confirm the version after i updated....
rurushu
post Sep 7 2011, 12:55 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Sep 6 2011, 10:12 PM)
Demo oni.  cry.gif
Eh? Warhammer 40k:Space Marine not yet out?
rurushu
post Sep 7 2011, 11:07 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(starccs @ Sep 7 2011, 01:46 PM)
Hi All,

Is there a way I could check on my laptop order by talking to the personnel beside calling the toll free. Any other numbers?

Bought a dv6108 last Monday, the online system tells me delivery by 20th DECEMBER :S

*read thru V2. all good now LOL*
I think you dont have to worry about the dates as at first it would be ridiculously late but as time progress it will become earlier and earlier.

QUOTE(vandread86 @ Sep 7 2011, 08:51 PM)
still black sad.gif now worried.. if i want to go to hp centre where should i go? sad.gif
Here, check which is the nearest HP centre to you
http://h20431.www2.hp.com/support/contactu...vicecentre.html
rurushu
post Sep 22 2011, 12:21 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Sep 22 2011, 10:43 AM)
y?
Whoa, long time never visit this thread, and it grew so big.... sweat.gif sweat.gif

Sifu lee is right, You should check first page about the "partitioning by ThisIsBoletaria", he got explain the reason behind it.
rurushu
post Oct 4 2011, 01:36 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(chahupping @ Oct 2 2011, 08:53 PM)
hibernate takes longer time to wake up than sleep! and sleep is mainly few hours or days but hibernate is for months! biggrin.gif just joking. have no idea.
I almost fall for your explanation... LOL sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0404sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:48 PM