Power Stabilizer Unit for home use?, Electricity

TSJo_da48
post Aug 5 2011, 08:32 AM, updated 14y ago

1,529 posts

I was thinking of the possiabilities of having a so called "Power Stabilizer Unit" for home use install, to protect and have a stable electricity included of $$$ saving.
Where it place right after the main meter type and could plan in the ELCB box
Something like this link
http://www.energy-evolution.com/page.php?28

Any members have such knowleage or have install such device?

* Not those socket type Power Saver
JinXXX
post Aug 5 2011, 08:58 AM

2,516 posts

if you have lots of AC based motors it might work..

now days all DC/inverter.. don't think i can work kua..

if your refering to power conditioner for home.. yet to see anybody install it..
ozak
post Aug 5 2011, 09:28 AM

17,025 posts

Why you need that big voltage stabilizer? Those normal electrical applicance don't need it. Unless fluatuate alot. In that case, complain to TNB. Most of the problem is cable and busbar thieft.

You can get locally voltage stabilizer for pc, tv and audio. Lower capacity and cheaper.

I have 4pcs of voltage stabilizer range from 500w till 1000w for my home. But mostly didn't use it much anymore.
weikee
post Aug 5 2011, 09:51 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 5 2011, 09:28 AM)
Why you need that big voltage stabilizer? Those normal electrical applicance don't need it. Unless fluatuate alot. In that case, complain to TNB. Most of the problem is cable and busbar thieft.

You can get locally voltage stabilizer for pc, tv and audio. Lower capacity and cheaper.

I have 4pcs of voltage stabilizer range from 500w till 1000w for my home. But mostly didn't use it much anymore.
I use 3KVA APC UPS smile.gif
TSJo_da48
post Aug 5 2011, 11:39 AM

1,529 posts

I'm looking at install near the entry point and supply the whole house. make it stable across..

JinXXX
post Aug 5 2011, 01:57 PM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Aug 5 2011, 11:39 AM)
I'm looking at install near the entry point and supply the whole house. make it stable across..
wow such power conditioner at such a scale isn't cheap...

but then some part of it also depends on your wires...

if you manage to find out the exact/approx price please do share with us ya...
weikee
post Aug 5 2011, 02:09 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Aug 5 2011, 01:57 PM)
wow such power conditioner at such a scale isn't cheap...

but then some part of it also depends on your wires...

if you manage to find out the exact/approx price please do share with us ya...
Like that you need minimal 5KVA if you have lots of high load appliance.
TSJo_da48
post Aug 5 2011, 02:38 PM

1,529 posts

yahhhh..If you look at the WEB link, it was a device need install need to breaker panel, so it mean it the entry point right? Or something I miss leading other?

The Energy-Evolution Power Stabilizer is a small gray box that fits neatly next to your breaker panel, saves you money year after year and protects the entire home. The Energy-Evolution Power Stabilizer was designed with the homeowner in mind, providing lower energy bills, increased motor and appliance life, as well as surge and lightning protection for all of the equipment inside of your house. Residential customers throughout North America could see a realized savings of 8% - 10% typically and as much as 25% on their electrical usage (and thus power bills).

ozak
post Aug 6 2011, 11:07 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 5 2011, 09:51 AM)
I use 3KVA APC UPS smile.gif
That is powderfull backup rack UPS. I almost buy 1 last yrs when someone offer here dirt cheap price. Can backup my entire house light + tv&audio without problem. smile.gif
JinXXX
post Aug 7 2011, 11:43 AM

2,516 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 6 2011, 11:07 AM)
That is powderfull backup rack UPS. I almost buy 1 last yrs when someone offer here dirt cheap price. Can backup my entire house light + tv&audio without problem. smile.gif
actually 3KVA is quite little only...

for a full HOUSE.. rmbr yr fridge is always running.. if you have a water pump that too...

dont' think you can wire up those normal highend ups to yr house main wiring need to use something else...

anybody got any idea how ? tongue.gif hehehe
KenC
post Aug 15 2011, 07:04 PM

78 posts

3KVA is about 4 horse power only...

weikee
post Aug 15 2011, 07:23 PM

12,019 posts

If you run 3kva every hours, you paying about 600 per month. When power failure use only what critical lah
kamion
post Sep 19 2011, 04:19 PM

327 posts

Anybody installed transient voltage surge suppressor (TVSS)? This will protect from power surge that fry electronics.
kelvyn
post Sep 19 2011, 05:39 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(kamion @ Sep 19 2011, 05:19 PM)
Anybody installed transient voltage surge suppressor (TVSS)? This will protect from power surge that fry electronics.
Have you used this and how effective is it in protection from power surge?

kamion
post Sep 19 2011, 06:04 PM

327 posts

No, I haven't used a TVSS before. smile.gif I was asking if anyone has used it.

I called up a company, and the saleman told me their product is overkill for a house. They're used in light industrial factories with electrical motors and stuff. He advised me to get those power surge protectors that plug into the 13A socket. laugh.gif He said their product cost over RM2k.

I was thinking that it would be easier to have this TVSS installed at the main DB where the power line comes into the house, and be done with it. No need to have multiple plug points sticking out here and there.

This post has been edited by kamion: Sep 19 2011, 06:06 PM
kelvyn
post Sep 19 2011, 08:49 PM

3,173 posts

Actually, I was also thinking along the same line. If the TVSS is reasonable, then install it at the DB and don't have to worry about having those surge protectors; which is cumbersome
weikee
post Sep 19 2011, 09:28 PM

12,019 posts

Get some cal-lab on the equipments better lah.
kamion
post Sep 19 2011, 10:24 PM

327 posts

What's cal-lab?
weikee
post Sep 19 2011, 10:31 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(kamion @ Sep 19 2011, 10:24 PM)
What's cal-lab?
This is a good product and made in Malaysia, sad that many only hear of brand from oversea. Is an actual lighting isolater, not lightning suppressor

http://www.cal-lab.com/
ozak
post Sep 20 2011, 08:57 AM

17,025 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 19 2011, 10:31 PM)
This is a good product and made in Malaysia, sad that many only hear of brand from oversea. Is an actual lighting isolater, not lightning suppressor

http://www.cal-lab.com/
"lighting isolater" ?

Use this before. Save my cordless phone from lightning. But fried the cal-lab.

Now using belkin which come with lifetime warranty + fried part claim.

0.0239sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:10 AM