HTC ACE A9191 (DESIRE HD) OFF. THREAD VERSION 20, | Single-Core, Yet Powerful Smartphone |

Taetsu
post Sep 21 2011, 03:09 PM

442 posts

Guys, anyone tried this?
http://www.tech.nolicio.us/2011/09/enable-...n-facebook.html

It brings facebook push-notification to your android phone.. I was so happy to read this and gave it a try, only to find out it doesn't work for me... ;( Have any of you try it before and got it working?
Taetsu
post Sep 21 2011, 03:27 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(ccgenius @ Sep 21 2011, 03:13 PM)
my fb notifications are always push.. instant when ppl tag me or commented..

EDIT: last time it was push, then it wasnt push for one of the fb app version, after that the app updated and it works again..
ok, are you a former BB user then?
you really get instant push-notification for comments and tags etc? not delayed-notification? (i get delayed-notification sometimes, but never a real push-notification)

anyone else got facebook push-notification works on their DHD here except ccgenius?
i wish i know why some got it working and most don't get it at all... sad.gif
Taetsu
post Sep 21 2011, 03:34 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(ccgenius @ Sep 21 2011, 03:32 PM)
after you downgraded and rooted, you need to flash recovery.. recovery is a place for u to flash ur custom roms, mods and backup/restore your rom..
hmmm not a BB user.. symbian > maemo 5 > android
i enable the notifications at the fb app then the push notification works already biggrin.gif
are you on Facebook for Android version 1.7.1?

btw, what ROM are you on now?

This post has been edited by Taetsu: Sep 21 2011, 03:40 PM
Taetsu
post Sep 21 2011, 04:41 PM

442 posts

OMFG~~~~~~~~!!
All of sudden all the push coming-in now~~~ biggrin.gif
It's just doesn't work YET the moment i tried it, and it's starting to work like a charm now~~! rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

So i'm posting this to announce that:

Facebook push-notification is working now~!! icon_rolleyes.gif
(Whether u got it working out-of-the-box, or just apply the method i posted earlier)

Cant be happier to see this ~ laugh.gif
Taetsu
post Sep 22 2011, 09:00 AM

442 posts

QUOTE(eddmecha @ Sep 21 2011, 11:49 PM)
i also got it work but not using bb but iphone  biggrin.gif  coz don hav bb but gf is using ip4 so use the same method apply on ip4 instead of bb...now work like a charm rclxms.gif

Added on September 22, 2011, 12:00 amguys miui is using ext3 or ext4??
Glad to know you got it working too.. so the method is proven to work! biggrin.gif

No push-notification for Facebook has always been a butterfly in the stomach..
I'm kinda sorry to realize that Android doesn't have push-notification when i purchased the phone, while others like iPhone and BlackBerry already have it since last year..

I'm overjoyed to see we have workaround for that problem now.. biggrin.gif
Taetsu
post Sep 22 2011, 12:35 PM

442 posts

I'm on MIUI since god knows when... (4months?)
i thought i would only try it for a week at first coz dun like to stick with iPhone interface, but apparently i was wrong! I like it so much since then and never look back until now...

maybe will do a flash next weekend when i'm free.. any great sense-rom recently?
Taetsu
post Sep 27 2011, 04:43 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(ccgenius @ Sep 27 2011, 02:49 PM)
ya, the features not there anymore after sense 3.0

Added on September 27, 2011, 2:52 pmhey, anyone knows how to stop the market app from auto updating? i dont want the new market.. prefer the old one..
i find the new one better... smile.gif

i know it's personal preference..
but i'm just curious, what is so good about the old ones? hmm.gif
Taetsu
post Sep 28 2011, 11:17 AM

442 posts

It's been 9 months since i purchased this babe, and i'm still enjoying every bit of it till to date~ laugh.gif
DHD rox~~ rclxms.gif flex.gif cool2.gif
Taetsu
post Oct 4 2011, 09:07 AM

442 posts

hello~~ any nice car holder out there?
I need to replace mine.. any recommendation r?

Added on October 4, 2011, 9:09 am
QUOTE(iamkent @ Sep 30 2011, 10:30 AM)
Anyone try use MaxisMovie apps

and pay wit pay-pal ??

its save and easy ?
Yes, i've been using it since its first launch~ and paid by paypal
they're running promo now, you get buy-1-free-1 for whatever movie you watch~~ rclxms.gif

It helped me saved for > hundred ringgit for the past 2 months.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Taetsu: Oct 4 2011, 09:09 AM
Taetsu
post Oct 4 2011, 02:41 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(iamkent @ Oct 4 2011, 02:16 PM)
ya since paypal can use on quite alot online purchase too ..

so normally top up credit for paypal account can buy it on 7-11 ?
i don't do topup..
i juz attach my credit card with paypal account and they will charge it to my card =)
Taetsu
post Oct 5 2011, 08:41 AM

442 posts

QUOTE(iamkent @ Oct 4 2011, 08:14 PM)
need us maxis movie apps to do order for buy 1 free 1 ??

or with web page also can ?
You can either use app itself or go to the mobile sites

http://m.maxismovies.com/

(Only works for Maxis users!)
Taetsu
post Oct 5 2011, 09:15 AM

442 posts

QUOTE(iamkent @ Oct 5 2011, 08:54 AM)
I am digi damn. And if I use other ppl number its ok?

Did it send any approve code to phone? Or it direct give code number after pay by pay pal?
SMS will be sent to the maxis number that you entered.
Then you redeem your tickets with the SMS.

You can always use your frens's, gf's, mum's, granpa's phone if they are Maxis users laugh.gif
Just forward the SMS to your phone after u received it on the other phone wink.gif

FYI: Booking fees RM1 per transaction, and additional RM0.50 per SMS received. Max 6 tickets per transaction.
Taetsu
post Nov 3 2011, 11:41 PM

442 posts

Is it me only or is it the problem with Runny 3.1 rom?
My wifi is not working at all after flashing 3.1 for 2 days.

It failed to connect to any remembered network. Even if it is connected, there is no data transmission at all! Something is very wrong.. not sure if flashing 3.3 would cure, but i'll try anyway..

Taetsu
post Nov 4 2011, 12:00 AM

442 posts

QUOTE(syuki @ Nov 3 2011, 11:43 PM)
@Taetsu
Full wipe done or not before flash ..? But but... why flash 3.1 if 3.3 already released almost a week.
i flashed 3.1 last friday, that time 3.2 was out, but link removed by author, so i flashed 3.1 instead. No 3.3 at that time.

I done full wipe before flashing. Wifi is OK after flashing, but its not working any more since 2 days ago...

now have to reflash and install stuffs again.... zzzzz
Taetsu
post Nov 4 2011, 12:25 AM

442 posts

QUOTE(WiLyi @ Nov 4 2011, 12:23 AM)
I oso came fr v3.1 but the WiFi is ok wor..same as v3.3..can connect n maintaining connection very well..did you try wif other router? I not sure is it only me or is it a placebo effect..battery performance seems better in this later release...now if the developers manage to port the whole HTC Amaze's camera with full function then it will be great
it failed to connect any network now.. home, office, starbucks, mcd... none working...
damned... i got no clue how to address this except do a flashing...
Taetsu
post Nov 4 2011, 12:50 AM

442 posts

i did not flash radio/kernel after flashing runny 3.1
Taetsu
post Nov 4 2011, 12:47 PM

442 posts

flashed to 3.3 now.. wifi works again, i guess something somewhere gone corrupted.. now have to reconfigure the phone and reinstall those force-closes apps after restored.... sigh..

and where is Car Panel now? not sure was it there for Runny 3.1 before..
It's quite stupid to go thru Location > Direction > Set Destination > Calculate Direction (which i dont care) > Then only Premium Navigation and recalculate again..

Is there a way to quick start the premium navigation?
Taetsu
post Nov 4 2011, 01:22 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(piring @ Nov 4 2011, 01:14 PM)
hey, anyone using maxis here? can anyone tell me the full setting for Mobile Internet service? i can't seem to get it working~ please help!
Did you apply the setting from Maxis?

Dial
*100*6*2*1#

then select your model and a setting will be sent to your phone

Taetsu
post Nov 10 2011, 07:48 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(ClericKilla @ Nov 10 2011, 06:54 PM)
Yeah just personal preference picking the iPhone 5 cus iPhone 4S I dont feel much upgrade.
I was thinking why Android cannot have good camera optics. I myself like photography so far both phones which have good optics is the Nokia N8 and iPhone 4S. To be honest. Megapixels doesn't matter.
Megapixels doesn't matter. rclxms.gif

Really. Disappointed with the shutter speed of my DHD..
Try snap some pictures with slight motion/shake.. which we human normally do.. (we are not TRIPOD!! )
i bet iPhone would yield much better output.. (I myself tested with both phones.. )

Dont flame me for a noob user who doesnt know how to hold a device properly or such..
i know exactly how to do it, and i can do it better than most ppl out there..
but.. really.. life is hard.. why making it harder?

we just want to take out the phone and point-n-snap..
iPhone is much better from this perspective..

taking still picture DHD is on-par or slightly better than iPhone, again, if only you know how to hold it right (a.k.a. Meat-TRIPOD tongue.gif)

This post has been edited by Taetsu: Nov 10 2011, 08:00 PM
Taetsu
post Nov 10 2011, 08:09 PM

442 posts

QUOTE(Calex @ Nov 10 2011, 08:08 PM)
jump jump jump jump~ tongue.gif

Remember me? brows.gif
Calex-the-Anime-Freak is back rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by Taetsu: Nov 10 2011, 08:09 PM