Official N45/N55 Club ♥ V1, V2 is at Notebook Specific Discussion

adrian1984
post Aug 14 2011, 12:12 AM

133 posts

Just help my GF sister bought a N55SF-SX047V

I need some help here:

How to change the display card and use solely the GT555M ?
adrian1984
post Aug 14 2011, 12:47 AM

133 posts

Thanks for the tips for both of you, I will ask my GF sis to try it out.

Review (sorry this is my 1st time writing this):

I was helping her to install some basic software just now. The look is quite nice if you ask me. Shining Black with silver lining at the side. Battery estimated can last till 6 hours under power saving mode. The laptop is slightly bulky but is still acceptable. Run for ~4 hours, only some heat feel on the left bottom palm side. The power button is on the top right on the keyboard, with a tiny white LED light, which in my opinion, slightly annoying. But I like the keyboard as it is big, and with the number key pad separated available, just like a normal desktop keyboard. And the touchpad is not easy to catch dust, but the "touchpad-clicking-button" is just a bit hard to "click on". The "power supply" is very heavy (roughly 1.5inch X 6 x 3, ~0.8kg) and relatively big if compare with my old dell. The webcam is clear even with the transparent sticker still attached.

Speed wise, the startup is slower compare with my desktop (AMD X6 1055T, onboard HD5970 GPU, 4GB ram). I barely remember it took around 25-35 minutes to install CS5.5 master collection. Initial loading is slow if I try to open "My computer" after the lappy just loaded, but no issues later. Need 5-CDs to build the recovery CD, took 2hours+ to do it.

Visual and sound wise: quite good, but I am not those entertainment sensitive type people and it appears to be ok for me.

Not tested on any hardcore games yet.

Package: One ASUS sling bag, sponge thin but look wise still ok. (end up buy her a RM80 belkin backpack)
Comes with a driver CD, and one Asus wired mouse (not tested yet), a "wire bandage", a 70% Coke-can-size subwoofer(not tested yet). No windows CD provided.
adrian1984
post Aug 14 2011, 12:50 AM

133 posts

sorry did not take picture earlier...
adrian1984
post Aug 14 2011, 01:09 AM

133 posts

LOLX...

too bad, I had hand it to her already... she purchase it as a present for her younger sister as her sister needs it urgently for assignment in college.

Nevermind, let her sister to play around first.

But then, when I try to open photoshop I just installed, it appeared 1.5 seconds after click, included loading. I guess the resources is still sufficient guaaa..... haha

adrian1984
post Aug 14 2011, 11:25 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(notroxcity @ Aug 14 2011, 04:25 AM)
no throttling issue on this lappy? smile.gif
Hmn.. sorry, I'm not technical enough to know/understand/sense this issue...

QUOTE(simon3041 @ Aug 14 2011, 09:30 AM)
1st owner!!! ;D   notworthy.gif  update my owner list nw

Nice review... wanna know the paint or the glossyness? yawn.gif   Any photos?  thumbup.gif

Added on August 14, 2011, 9:36 am

laugh.gif  her younger sister occupied? off topic  a while LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL! xD

Added on August 14, 2011, 9:36 am

blink.gif  donno how much his gf bought...
RM3550.. just the machine package from the manufacturer, without getting all the lousy free gift items.

QUOTE(Duckies @ Aug 14 2011, 09:39 AM)
Huh?It comes with Asus mouse?
I think is Asus most lousy black wired mouse from Asus manufacturer, not from the dealer because is inside the Asus Lappy OEM BOX...

QUOTE(Ikmal91 @ Aug 14 2011, 10:21 AM)
If black can get now or what? o.o
When I ask the supplier, he say got black now... white not yet...

Added on August 14, 2011, 11:27 amThe price lappy is after difficult negotiations with the salesman. We oso buy pendrive, external hdd, backpack etc from him...

This post has been edited by adrian1984: Aug 14 2011, 11:27 AM
adrian1984
post Aug 14 2011, 11:37 AM

133 posts

QUOTE(Ikmal91 @ Aug 14 2011, 11:30 AM)
Okay screw it. I'm getting the white one. Haha
Yo.. Bro, dont screwup yet...
Check with the dealers... maybe (some) they got stock it...
adrian1984
post Aug 14 2011, 06:41 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(simon3041 @ Aug 14 2011, 12:06 PM)
xD glad to hear tat... will update ur status at owner list. so well you wan to be the owner or ur gf's name on the list?  hahahaha.... whr u bought it? for me to update on the list...  nod.gif
No need to put me in the owner list la.... haha... I just put here for sharing...

Some say for the Price N55SF-SX047V is RM3550 (just the manufacturer set with manufacturer bag etc..) is pricey, then what you guys think is the best price? Asus brochure says is RM3699...
adrian1984
post Aug 15 2011, 04:46 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(Ikmal91 @ Aug 15 2011, 04:20 PM)
I went to Midvalley today. Went and molested the N45 and N55.
I'll say this, and this is my take, I'm not sure about you guys. Here goes.
-Black is incredibly ugly. Honest.
-The keyboard layout is extremely amazing. Its simple, its straight to the point, its good. The media keys on the left side does not actually disturb the total feel of the keyboard. So, it's all good for me.
-The body is actually pretty solid.
-The palm rest has somewhat a rubber feel to it. Sure, it's plastic, but it has this rubbery feel to the surface. Which is good for me, but it would be hell to keep a white one, being white.
-The lid is glossy. How glossy? As glossy as Megan Fox's chests when she sweats. It looks kinda sexy to me.
-The frame of the lid is actually pretty nice in terms of the contrast between the black lid and the chrome frame.
-The speaker grill, which everybody hates, is INCREDIBLY BEAUTIFUL. Yes, I love it. They actually made an effort to design the grill differently.

Overall, for me, the laptop has this simplicity that is somewhat artistic in nature. I cannot wait for my white to arrive. I'll cherish it for sure. My baby.
Black is incredibly ugly--- hmn... I think is a good thing cos ppl will not steal sthg ugly... lolx rclxms.gif

I do agree that the keyboard is amazing... body solid (perhaps like megan fox as you said... haha)

So, shall we called it as N45/55 = MeganFox? thumbup.gif

adrian1984
post Aug 15 2011, 08:18 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Aug 15 2011, 04:49 PM)
br bro.....
u own the n55sf rite???
own for few hours installing some softwares before give it to my GF's sister... still count???

0.0382sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:24 PM