147 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Official N45/N55 Club ♥ V1, V2 is at Notebook Specific Discussion

Ikmal91
post Aug 11 2011, 07:08 AM

Suck On My Banana
1,183 posts

QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Aug 11 2011, 06:55 AM)
Base on Cinebench, the extra cores on i7 did improve rendering speed quite much with multi-core support. hmm.gif
That's the thing. I mean, it's pretty hard to decide. Collect money to buy the N55, or just get the N45.
And sure, there might be the Y470, or the DV6, but then it all comes down to preferences.
I'm pretty freaking torn between these 4.
cowithgun
post Aug 11 2011, 07:08 AM

A cow that can play notebook & phone
2,248 posts

QUOTE(jammerlee711 @ Aug 10 2011, 08:50 PM)
@cowithgun
i wish to overclock my gpu but i don't know the trick ...can teach??
I am assuming you are serious about this. Here is the short and long version. But before that, you need 2 tools:

1. Overclocking tool - Sapphire TriXX is good (http://www.sapphireselectclub.com/ssc/TriXX/TriXX.aspx), you can use MSI Afterburner too, but you need to edit Afterburner.cfg.
2. Artifact scanner - Afterburners comes with Kombuster can be used. Or use ATITool (http://www.techpowerup.com/atitool/)

Short version:
1. Search the internet for the best optimal OC speed for your graphic card. Someone already OC it and will tell you what is the safe Core and Memory speed.
2. Apply it in Sapphire TriXX.

Long version:
1. Start with stock clocks (ie. 550/800)
2. Overclock ONLY the core at 10mhz increments.
3. For each increment, run the artifact scanner for an hour or so. If there are no errors, increase by another 10mhz until errors occur or there are yellow artifacts appearing on the window.
4. Repeat step 3 with the memory, but with the core at stock clocks.
5. After finding the maximum threshold, use the maximum clocks of both the core and memory minus 10 or 20 mhz for both to guarantee stability. Then run ATiTool, this time for a few hours to make sure that it is entirely stable. If there are artifacts then reduce the clocks of both the core and memory by 10mhz until it is stable.

Always watch out for temperature. Make sure whatever you are testing always below 100C.

Once you found a safe and stable OC speed, it is safe to have your notebook always in OC state. This is because the GPU will automatic use lower speed profile when you are not gaming. Most OC tool know how to apply this in your Powerstate. You can check this with GPU-Z, check the core and memory speed when you are not gaming.

TSsimon3041
post Aug 11 2011, 08:19 AM

LoV3
1,528 posts

QUOTE(ineser @ Aug 10 2011, 10:09 PM)
Cant wait for the N55SF to come out! End of the month?
lol i guess around sept... O.O

Added on August 11, 2011, 8:19 am
QUOTE(htpkevin @ Aug 10 2011, 10:38 PM)
if ask for sponsor why still ask for GT555M hehe, ask something at least GTX460m hehe brows.gif
lol..

Added on August 11, 2011, 8:20 am
QUOTE(Batusai @ Aug 10 2011, 11:22 PM)
my wallet thick.. but all hutang and receipts.. haha..

Added on August 10, 2011, 11:23 pm

I shall be modest.. GT555m is good enuf.. I wouldnt mind a GT540m also.. haha
LOL hutang... sweat.gif

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Aug 10 2011, 11:29 PM)
Who want sponsor me? lol
LOL! sponsor?!! xD... your rich already... =p laugh.gif

Added on August 11, 2011, 8:21 am
QUOTE(arslow @ Aug 11 2011, 12:23 AM)
OK,DV6 with blu ray,i7,6770m,750gb is rm3149,but n55sf is i7,blu ray,640gb,got "subwoofer" and is 3699??!! shakehead.gif  doh.gif
nice one... haahahaah.. obviously sf is........ doh.gif

Added on August 11, 2011, 8:22 am
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Aug 11 2011, 12:27 AM)
Its Bluray Writer and nVidia has always been more expensive tongue.gif
and also its just SRP, not yet market price...
lol.. why don they bring in the normal ODD with i7.. =/= i don think i need BR writer.... blink.gif Nvidia.... aduh

Added on August 11, 2011, 8:23 am
QUOTE(Ikmal91 @ Aug 11 2011, 02:32 AM)
It's hard to decide. By the way when is it coming to our shores?
Asus suppliers said that it'll be here in 2 weeks time.
I hope white is available.
2 weeks? O.O!!!

Added on August 11, 2011, 8:24 am
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Aug 11 2011, 02:49 AM)
If budget wise, its N45SF/N55SF Core i5 wins, its cheaper and you get similar performance GPU, the Core i7 won't affect much in gaming wise.

price ratio wise, as quoted by arslow, DV6 with blu ray,i7,6770m,750gb is rm3149, and can be extended warranty to 3 years with RM1xx-2xx, is pretty much a good deal..
=x nice....

This post has been edited by simon3041: Aug 11 2011, 08:24 AM
SUSngkhanmein
post Aug 11 2011, 09:05 AM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

http://www.thesycon.de/deu/latency_check.shtml

check this out! & start try it!!!
Ikmal91
post Aug 11 2011, 09:08 AM

Suck On My Banana
1,183 posts

QUOTE(simon3041 @ Aug 11 2011, 08:19 AM)
lol i guess around sept... O.O

Added on August 11, 2011, 8:19 am

lol..

LOL hutang...  sweat.gif

LOL! sponsor?!! xD... your rich already... =p    laugh.gif

Added on August 11, 2011, 8:21 am

nice one... haahahaah.. obviously sf is........  doh.gif

Added on August 11, 2011, 8:22 am

lol.. why don they bring in the normal ODD with i7.. =/=  i don think i need BR writer....  blink.gif  Nvidia.... aduh

Added on August 11, 2011, 8:23 am

2 weeks? O.O!!!

Added on August 11, 2011, 8:24 am

=x    nice....
Yup. 2 weeks. Or is it already out now? hmm.gif

AlexLai
post Aug 11 2011, 09:56 AM

5,531 posts

Surprisingly the white version is not listed in the newest Product Guide.
devour
post Aug 11 2011, 10:03 AM

2,227 posts

product guide not 100% accurate.
htpkevin
post Aug 11 2011, 10:23 AM

1,052 posts

QUOTE(Ikmal91 @ Aug 11 2011, 07:08 AM)
That's the thing. I mean, it's pretty hard to decide. Collect money to buy the N55, or just get the N45.
And sure, there might be the Y470, or the DV6, but then it all comes down to preferences.
IT depend on u actually. Well if u prefer a 15.6" screen then u should go for N55 or DV6. Like my i prefer 14" coz its lighter and the price wise is the same with N55 with i5. Do u use some heavy programme or do u run some simulations that require high processing power? If u do then u should get i7, but for me coz i jus use it for casual gaming, web browsing and entertainment so i5 is good for me rclxms.gif

and some other ppl buy laptop based on their design also. Laptop is all about u like it or not, well surely u will use it quite frequently and what will happen if whenever u sees it u hate it rclxub.gif
Eugene91
post Aug 11 2011, 10:24 AM

6,109 posts

I think maybe in games i5-2410m vs i7-2630qm won't be that much of a difference?

Here: http://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-Intel-...ce.49600.0.html
htpkevin
post Aug 11 2011, 10:26 AM

1,052 posts

well ya not much difference in gaming, coz most games depend on GPU rather than CPU. CPU like i5 can pretty much handle all the latest game now with no problem
AlexLai
post Aug 11 2011, 10:27 AM

5,531 posts

Unless the game is very CPU dependent, it shouldn't have too much difference.
rickycheang
post Aug 11 2011, 10:47 AM

173 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jul 29 2011, 11:46 PM)
=.=... i dun game much.. i play if i can.. lol.. mostly strategy games.. lolx.. sc2.. cnc... galactic empire.. etc etc.. lolx.. and everynite go lan partyy..... dota, minigame lidat lor. lolx.. seriously.. perlis all green....
cc pun takda.. whistling.gif  whistling.gif
ivan u from perlis?
IvanWong1989
post Aug 11 2011, 11:19 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(Ikmal91 @ Aug 11 2011, 07:08 AM)
haha bro.. identify what ur going to do with yer notebook...

i hav some rough example for u.... i do solidworks rendering.... (stil learning but whistling.gif )... shut down one core.... it renders at 24s.... use 2 core renders at 13s....

yes... if u use professional software.. MOST of the time.. IF the software supports multicore up to 4?? yes.. performance wil increase.. lolx

but try to think..

why buy notebook??.... 1st thing 1st.... mobility... if u want power.. adi very long ago u will build a desktop. ^^.. stuffing i7 in a notebook.. if u are paranoid about heat.... no peace of mind leh.. lolx

nt to say cooling nt efficient./..notebooks wil always be notebooks.. lolx

i chose i5 cz it offeres less heat, power consumtion not high, and in a 14 inch chassis... lol.x, though i do knw in future i need i7 for rendering. lolx...

hav to scrifice abit lor....

ur choice.. ^^

QUOTE(rickycheang @ Aug 11 2011, 10:47 AM)
ivan u from perlis?
i orang ipoh!!!

lolx

study at perlis!! new sem starting in septemberler laugh.gif
Ikmal91
post Aug 11 2011, 11:24 AM

Suck On My Banana
1,183 posts

QUOTE(htpkevin @ Aug 11 2011, 10:23 AM)
IT depend on u actually. Well if u prefer a 15.6" screen then u should go for N55 or DV6. Like my i prefer 14" coz its lighter and the price wise is the same with N55 with i5. Do u use some heavy programme or do u run some simulations that require high processing power? If u do then u should get i7, but for me coz i jus use it for casual gaming, web browsing and entertainment so i5 is good for me  rclxms.gif

and some other ppl buy laptop based on their design also. Laptop is all about u like it or not, well surely u will use it quite frequently and what will happen if whenever u sees it u hate it rclxub.gif
Yeah I prefer 14" cuz well, it's a notebook. I might be running AutoCAD and a few rendering softwares but nothing too much. And yeah, the design. Oh God. I absolutely hate the Lenovo Y470. So, yeah, Ima go with the N45. It's so much sexier. smile.gif

Added on August 11, 2011, 11:27 am
QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Aug 11 2011, 11:19 AM)
haha bro.. identify what ur going to do with yer notebook...
i hav some rough example for u.... i do solidworks rendering.... (stil learning but  whistling.gif )... shut down one core.... it renders at 24s.... use 2 core renders at 13s....

yes... if u use professional software.. MOST of the time.. IF the software supports multicore up to 4?? yes.. performance wil increase.. lolx

but try to think..

why buy notebook??.... 1st thing 1st.... mobility... if u want power.. adi very long ago u will build a desktop. ^^.. stuffing i7 in a notebook.. if u are paranoid about heat.... no peace of mind leh.. lolx

nt to say cooling nt efficient./..notebooks wil always be notebooks.. lolx

i chose i5 cz it offeres less heat, power consumtion not high, and in a 14 inch chassis... lol.x, though i do knw in future i need i7 for rendering. lolx...

hav to scrifice abit lor....

ur choice.. ^^
Haha. I read a few threads and saw you with the same kind of dilemma as I am now. And you ended up buying the Jay Chou SE. How does it compare? What is your own personal reviews on it? Personally I only like the laptop because of the speakers. Other than that.....no. Ahaha.

This post has been edited by Ikmal91: Aug 11 2011, 11:27 AM
htpkevin
post Aug 11 2011, 11:40 AM

1,052 posts

well if u use AutoCad i5 is enough actually lol
Ikmal91
post Aug 11 2011, 11:43 AM

Suck On My Banana
1,183 posts

QUOTE(htpkevin @ Aug 11 2011, 11:40 AM)
Yeah that's what I thought too.
But then, when I was using a desktop with i7 Core and Quadro...I can't run even 4 of them at once.
I usually save time by running multiple programmes at the same time. Its waaaaay faster than doing the projects one by one.
So, I might try ahead and use 2 Sli. Anyone thinks that would work?
/offtopic

Anyways, the N45 has not been officially released in Malaysia has it?
IvanWong1989
post Aug 11 2011, 11:48 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(Ikmal91 @ Aug 11 2011, 11:24 AM)
Yeah I prefer 14" cuz well, it's a notebook. I might be running AutoCAD and a few rendering softwares but nothing too much. And yeah, the design. Oh God. I absolutely hate the Lenovo Y470. So, yeah, Ima go with the N45. It's so much sexier. smile.gif

Added on August 11, 2011, 11:27 am

Haha. I read a few threads and saw you with the same kind of dilemma as I am now. And you ended up buying the Jay Chou SE. How does it compare? What is your own personal reviews on it? Personally I only like the laptop because of the speakers. Other than that.....no. Ahaha.
lolx.... runs like a charm... hate the asus bloatwares though.. made my windows unstable..zzzz.... reformat 2 time in 3 days. @@.. lolx..

speakers are better than normal laptop speakers.. but lose to toshiba's harman kardon kaw kaw. lolx...JBL i haven test . lolx...

temps at normal use + folding@home hovers around 50 55 lidat. lolx.. fud temps i would say... at full blown gaming... @@.... 90.. waseh... miahahaa.. but oli one.... normally it is 85.... considered ok.

gt540m is enuf for my need as i actually hav very low personal requirement.. as long as games run... even at low settings? satisfied.(nt to say 540m din pack a punch. miahahaaa.. )

i haven tried my autocad solidworks stuff yet cz nt compatible wit 64 bit. sigh.. but yah.. it wil run what i want reasonably well for the nex few years. lolx...

keyboard and touchpad. i love it!!!! and the usb 3.0... is a miracle.. once u use it.. u will never ever use usb 2.0 to transfer files again. ^^

QUOTE(htpkevin @ Aug 11 2011, 11:40 AM)
yeap. should be enuf. ^^

AlexLai
post Aug 11 2011, 11:51 AM

5,531 posts

For a person coming from a GT335M, the GT555M, crippled or not, will mean a world of a difference to me. tongue.gif
Ikmal91
post Aug 11 2011, 11:54 AM

Suck On My Banana
1,183 posts

QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Aug 11 2011, 11:48 AM)
lolx.... runs like a charm... hate the asus bloatwares though.. made my windows unstable..zzzz.... reformat 2 time in 3 days. @@.. lolx..

speakers are better than normal laptop speakers.. but lose to toshiba's harman kardon kaw kaw. lolx...JBL i haven test . lolx...

temps at normal use + folding@home hovers around 50 55 lidat. lolx.. fud temps i would say... at full blown gaming... @@.... 90.. waseh... miahahaa.. but oli one.... normally it is 85.... considered ok.

gt540m is enuf for my need as i actually hav very low personal requirement.. as long as games run... even at low settings? satisfied.(nt to say 540m din pack a punch. miahahaaa.. )

i haven tried my autocad solidworks stuff yet cz nt compatible wit 64 bit. sigh.. but yah.. it wil run what i want reasonably well for the  nex few years. lolx...

keyboard and touchpad. i love it!!!!  and the usb 3.0... is a miracle.. once u use it.. u will never ever use usb 2.0 to transfer files again. ^^
yeap. should be enuf. ^^
Before this I was using Acer TimelineX 4820TG, and I was running game on High Settings just fine. And I forgot what GPU it was using, but Crysis runs pretty smooth actually.
Of course laaaa.....harman kardon speakers damn nice, but damn expensive too!

Hey does anyone know if changing the current HDD to a SSD is possible?

Added on August 11, 2011, 11:57 amOh and how can one remove all the bloatwares?

This post has been edited by Ikmal91: Aug 11 2011, 11:57 AM
IvanWong1989
post Aug 11 2011, 11:58 AM

!StringTheory!
4,297 posts

QUOTE(AlexLai @ Aug 11 2011, 11:51 AM)
For a person coming from a GT335M, the GT555M, crippled or not, will mean a world of a difference to me. tongue.gif
tongue.gif ^^

QUOTE(Ikmal91 @ Aug 11 2011, 11:54 AM)
Before this I was using Acer TimelineX 4820TG, and I was running game on High Settings just fine. And I forgot what GPU it was using, but Crysis runs pretty smooth actually.
Of course laaaa.....harman kardon speakers damn nice, but damn expensive too!

Hey does anyone know if changing the current HDD to a SSD is possible?
wub.gif the harman kardon speakers..... want to own them.. sleep wit them... wub.gif

should be possible... DIY.. lolx

find a correct sized SSD.....

147 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0335sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:37 PM