SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V10, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

mydragoon
post Aug 1 2011, 09:41 AM

7,044 posts

a mini poll/ Q...

how do you normally wake up your phone? use the power button? use the home button?

reason i'm asking is coz the home button seems flimsy (imho). if i plan to use the phone for 5yrs, dunno if that button can last that long.

i used to wake up my sgs2 using the home button but lately, started getting into the habit of pressing the power button instead.
mydragoon
post Aug 1 2011, 10:48 AM

7,044 posts

just sharing... i noticed skype will run in the background even though i've stopped it. it's beginning to behave like a malware.

checked skype forum and it seems to be confirmed case -- i see complaints about this.

i've never liked apps that is stubborn and worse, can bring itself back up after i kill it. ya, killed skype process and after a while, it comes back up again.

since i hardly use skype anyway, i'm probably going to just remove it. previously, i've also done the same with Gun Bros by Glu. Gun Bros will start itself up after the phone is restarted.
mydragoon
post Aug 1 2011, 11:22 AM

7,044 posts

sorry... another 2 Qs...

Q1.
is there an easier way to delete 'draft' sms? sometimes, we type out something but have not decided to send it. so 'back' and its saved as draft. but if we don't want to send it out anymore, how to delete it? seems like the only way so far is to select all and cut the text. either that, delete word by word until the text message is empty.

is there another way to delete just that particular draft message and delete it?

Q2.
In the message settings for MMS, there is an option to choose between:
* restricted
* warning
* free

what's the difference? *sigh* noticed these days... gadgets all have super lots of functions but not documented anywhere...

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 1 2011, 11:24 AM
mydragoon
post Aug 1 2011, 11:28 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Aug 1 2011, 11:24 AM)
hi guys,

what apps is good to count the amount of data used?

can it count 3g data only but not wifi?

accurate?
3g watchdog.
mydragoon
post Aug 1 2011, 11:33 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Aug 1 2011, 11:29 AM)
tx bro. is it good? can it just check 3g data but not wifi?
if i'm not mistaken, its only meant for tracking 3g data.

accurate or not... i'll know in the next 1-2 weeks. started using only about 2 weeks back and waiting for my billing cycle to confirm. its reporting my usage as only 80mb so far... wah, so under utilised!

but 3g watchdog is recommended by many members here... in fact, each time ppl ask on this thread (you're not the first asking... *ahem*), 3g watchdog name comes up.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 1 2011, 11:33 AM
mydragoon
post Aug 1 2011, 11:39 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ Aug 1 2011, 11:38 AM)
Q2 - Quoted from the internet...

The CM (creation mode) parameter is used to facilitate creation of interoperable multimedia messages. Three creation modes are defined:

Restricted - The device will only create and submit multimedia messages belonging to the core multimedia message content domain.

Warning - The device will guide the user to create and submit multimedia messages belonging to the core multimedia message content domain. The user has the option to ignore the guidance.

Free - The device will allow the user to add any content to a multimedia message.
lol...

i wonder... what does that mean in english? smile.gif

or do i need more coffee...?

Added on August 1, 2011, 11:42 am
QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Aug 1 2011, 11:39 AM)
you have to sign out to get it totally off.
actually, signed out already. in fact, i noticed that sometimes when i restart my phone and i dun turn on skype, its still running in the background as well...

speaking of restarting phones... how often do you guys do it - besides for modding/ flashing?

i'm averaging about 1-2 times a week. sometimes notice the phone not behaving like it should (screen not detecting touches or like last week when the phone became quite warm for no apparent reason).

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 1 2011, 11:42 AM
mydragoon
post Aug 1 2011, 11:45 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Bugeca @ Aug 1 2011, 11:42 AM)
I think it is more on the MMS media compatibility with Telco system. So far as long as we attach JPG and 3GP video, should be ok.
i think i messed up the thingy coz at one time, i had some issues with mms. so changed it a bit... what is the default settings then?
mydragoon
post Aug 1 2011, 11:46 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Aug 1 2011, 11:44 AM)
my history as flashers, averaging 10 times per day. rebooting, taking out battery. even after sahur i took it out around 6 times. bad bad habit.
on a day/ week you're not flashing, how often do you need to restart phone?

speaking of this... just curious... to the regular flashers (decent type and flash phones only, ya?), how often do you guys flash the phones?

i have read of nightly builds... does it mean you guys flash it nightly?!?

Added on August 1, 2011, 11:48 am
QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Aug 1 2011, 11:46 AM)
this is weird...anyway, which vers of skype you using? I am using the one that support 3g videocall...
heh heh... means you're using a mod version la. wink.gif official version dun have video support for sgs2 yet.

i'm using the official skype version -- dang, just deleted it -- can't provided the version. anyway, i downloaded from market. just to share... i also gave my feedback here at Skype forum:
http://community.skype.com/t5/Android/Fix-...ht/false/page/2

seems others are having the same problem too.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 1 2011, 11:51 AM
mydragoon
post Aug 1 2011, 01:47 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mryellow19 @ Aug 1 2011, 01:31 PM)
I think 1st page has guide on how to setup SamsungDive already. Was discovered in the previous thread version. biggrin.gif
ya, and i tried using dive... its quite buggy.

some complaints i have...
#1. no where is there a link for you to contact developer/ site admin. i have problem with the information captured and want to change it but dunno who to contact

#2. i tested the find phone and it works. however, recently removed my sim card and put back, not dive dun work anymore

i'll probably spam samsung FB site later. but this is not priority for me. so its ok.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 1 2011, 01:48 PM
mydragoon
post Aug 1 2011, 04:00 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Aug 1 2011, 03:53 PM)
use kies air. open from your phone, and use ur pc's web browser to key in the ip address to connect. one thing, transfer file size is limited to 100mb per file. if not, just simply plug a usb cable and connect it as usb storage
i tried kies air with my tablet over the weekend and gave up. transfer speed was horrendous!

anyway, i also noticed that when doing a BT pairing between the phone and the android tablet (Asus Transformer), there does not seem to be an option that allows me to "accept all files/ connections from this device". before i tried kies air (above), i was trying BT transfer. i had like close to 60 photos. almost every file, the tablet would need me to accept the incoming file.

so, after a while, i tried kies air... it was too slow... so ended up, shut down phone, take out microSD card, insert into TF and copy. took me less than 5mins.

with BT and kies air... in total, i wasted almost 30mins. smile.gif
mydragoon
post Aug 1 2011, 04:05 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Aug 1 2011, 04:03 PM)
y dun u just use "bump" instead? both device just on wifi, on "bump" then bump on each other, done smile.gif
need the bump apps, right? i m the minimalist type. wanna install as few apps as possible... smile.gif
mydragoon
post Aug 1 2011, 04:23 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Aug 1 2011, 04:10 PM)
well what the original things can do is so limited, that's why peoples are developing apps to make it more fancy and more useful. if stick to minimal apps as you wish, then you can only accept the truth that the things you can do are so limited.
ya, i guess i have to install something if i wanna improve this situation...

*sigh*

i dun mind BT. if only it was much better implemented. dunno why it does not have accept all files from this machine, since its already paired. no such problem transferring to Windows PC.
mydragoon
post Aug 1 2011, 04:43 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Aug 1 2011, 04:35 PM)
Lol~ Tried to play a 1080p anime with subs and the phone got hanged~! Need to unplug the battery to restart doh.gif
Using stock player= Only audio, no subs and video... doh.gif
Using Mobo player= Only audio, no subs and video...  doh.gif
Using mVideo player= Only audio and subs, no video... doh.gif
Using MX Video player= Audio, subs and video are working  thumbup.gif but everything also lags from time to time and finally it hangs... doh.gif
So any more video player to recommend me to play this SUPER anime without any problem or lags? flex.gif
maybe you can share this SUPER anime with us and we can help you test it? smile.gif
mydragoon
post Aug 4 2011, 09:28 AM

7,044 posts

just sharing yet another observation. on stock Sammy ROM, it seems the Gmail apps is nerfed.

we can only:
* attach photos (or anything that appears in Gallery).
* can't download attachments properly (the few times i tried, it din work at all)

check out:
http://www.google.com/support/mobile/bin/a...n&answer=173321

*sigh* would have made sgs2 even better if we could attach popular files like DOC, PDF...

i checked
mydragoon
post Aug 4 2011, 02:09 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(xsaintzx @ Aug 4 2011, 01:57 PM)
I'm collecting feedback from different users, let's see how it goes.
So far only benny888 reports that he didn't face the pink spot issue while he is running same camera and phone firmware with me.
dun think i noticed any pink spot on my photos taken with sgs2.
mydragoon
post Aug 4 2011, 04:47 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(xsaintzx @ Aug 4 2011, 04:13 PM)
Just to share my finding so far for the pink spot problem.

Users that DO NOT have the pink spot issue.
benny888 no
Fallenangelz no
mydragoon no
shopper - pink spot solved after upgrading firmware (awaiting firmware version)
Users that HAVE the pink spot issue.
Lineage
Shizuru
SnoopyDevil
AhBoy~~
lowyatlurker
Slekerz
yjeen
nicregi
cjxs
madlocke - awaiing confirm (pink spot on phone but not on pc)
erymanthus
xyz_cityhunter
destEX

Based on the current finding, I find most of the users have it, I would like to make a small request for users that do not have the problem to take sample photos like that we have done.
From the comment of xyz_cityhunter, I actually realise pink spot is still exist even in good light condition, it is just that maybe as the light is strong enough, it overtake the pink spot and make it not visible (It's like it is there but you can't see it  shocking.gif )

Questions like 'how often do you take this kind of photo' aside, I would like to know the percentage of users who encounter this issue.
ok, update. i tested again and ya, mine got slight pink spot... in the middle i think. i guess previously, i din notice it coz it was quite faint. just realised i had a whiteboard behind me, so took a photo and saw the pink spot. will upload photo and share later today or tmrw.

i think based on my own experience, chances are... everyone got the pink spot but might not have really noticed it... that was the case for me.

mydragoon
post Aug 4 2011, 04:52 PM

7,044 posts

just noticed there is a new version of kies. updating it now...
mydragoon
post Aug 4 2011, 04:55 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Aug 4 2011, 04:53 PM)
Seems that pink spot occurs mostly on low lights condition... Got a 2 colored wall and so i tested with it and somehow the pink wall becomes brighter pink on low lights condition... doh.gif
yes, i think its been mentioned that the pink spot happens in only low light condition... in which, normally, ppl will then use flash... which should eliminate the pink spot, no?
mydragoon
post Aug 5 2011, 08:31 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(ken8boy @ Aug 4 2011, 11:26 AM)
Thanks. Seem like google talk cant make video call on KG6. is there any good video call apps, i.e. for google talk, msn, ym or skype?
not sure what version of GB is KG6. but from what i understand, video calls in GoogleTalk only available on GB 2.3.4 and above.

Added on August 5, 2011, 8:33 am
QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Aug 4 2011, 09:22 PM)
official update on skype: now videocall is available for SGSII and other phones as well!!! no need to dl the hacked version at xda any more smile.gif
i had actually uninstalled skype last week/ early this week when i noticed its automatically starting up on its own. can someone test to see if it starts on its own after a while? as in...
* exit skype
* check running applications... terminate skype if necessary
* wait a few hours
* check running applications again

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Aug 5 2011, 08:33 AM
mydragoon
post Aug 8 2011, 10:17 AM

7,044 posts

wow... digi deal is good!!!

rm1599 for 12mths contract! And rm1349 for 24mths contract!!!

0.0464sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:40 AM