SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V10, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

frankgan
post Aug 1 2011, 02:12 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Jul 28 2011, 11:21 PM)

I have mentioned countless times that if you start to root and flash, don't even think about warranty. By installing CWN, you have already change your kernel. Even though you can restore back your original rom - your kernel is still based on CF Root

I am not trying to discourage users from root/flash - I find this phobia of warranty persists. If you want to root/flash - you mest be mentally prepared that warranty is void. If you cannot accept this, than don't root and flash.

My experience ( 5 times ) in dealing with Samsung Service center and 2 times with HTC and one time with Apple - all my submits to claim were based on rooted/flash/jailbreak and in ALL occasions I never faced any problem claiming repairs/replacement/services - all are FOC. But mentally I am prepare to pay for any costs incurred. If I can get all these claims done FOC - it is a bonus
Most recent is just last week - I help to send in my friend Galaxy Tab to KL Service Centre - his Tab was rooted and after flashing a cook rom and a trial kernel resulting in  a lot of problems - battery drain, hard to switch on etc ; the center still process it and reflash a new rom free. When I send it in, I told the staff honestly what he has done , all his trial kernel and rom flashing. Infact I tell the same story too of rooting and flashing when I sent in to Spore Center 3 times for my ex Galaxy S and all 3 ocassions done free and my set is bought AP in LowYat KL !
P/S: I am asking just based on curiosity, no flaming please.

Mr. Benny, u said once we started to root, the kernel version changed. But what happened if we flash it back to the XWKF1 pda/kernel which was the stock firmware? I did a screen capture before I root my device (setting>about phone). And I notice that after I did CFROOT, the kernel version isn't changed but I have got superuser and cwm working perfectly.

Besides, when I flash it back to the XWKF1 firmware, which I downloaded from samfirmware, I don't see any difference between the stock and the new XWKF1 (at setting>about phone). Does that mean I have got the stock firmware right on my phone?

I have search everywhere and i'm so confused. Care to explain for a bit?

Thanks in advance
frankgan
post Aug 1 2011, 02:56 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Aug 1 2011, 02:35 PM)
i believe there is a flash counter at your phone...which indicate how many times you flash it...can be reset by jig though, but i think there must be something that samsung engineer put in to see whether you did flash it or not.
I plug in my jig everytime to enter the download mode though. so the flash counter shouldn't work. rclxm9.gif

Is there such thing for samsung engineer to check whether we flash it or not? hmm.gif
frankgan
post Aug 1 2011, 03:24 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Aug 1 2011, 03:08 PM)
only samsung knows what they have done. haha~~
QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Aug 1 2011, 03:18 PM)
only samsung can answer you that biggrin.gif
let's assume there isn't anything to check whether we flash or not,

is it then completely safe to say that once I flash it back to the XWKF1, they're just gonna think it is original stock firmware? since everything in setting> about phone was identical before and after flash. rclxub.gif
frankgan
post Aug 1 2011, 03:25 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Aug 1 2011, 03:20 PM)
pluggin in the jig and erasing the counter triggers another hidden counter that shows how many times you erased
well, thats' really sad if its true
frankgan
post Aug 1 2011, 03:59 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(destEX @ Aug 1 2011, 03:31 PM)
well, thats not good shakehead.gif

Btw, just realise my phone has some yellowish tint on the left side when the brightness of the screen is low.

wondering should I send to the warranty since there is this and that counter working. sad.gif
frankgan
post Aug 1 2011, 04:05 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Star_knight79 @ Aug 1 2011, 04:03 PM)
To change from GB 2.3.4 back to 2.3.3.
Just flash with ODIN only? I think I've tried it. But boot loop occur. Any help here?
Does anyone know any stock ROM from Samsung will have Chinese language support. I've tried Taiwan and HongKong. But can't see any Chinese input.
And yet, according to some of the HOngkies, they have built in HTC ChineseIME. Any idea why?
try google pin yin instead?
frankgan
post Aug 1 2011, 05:39 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Aug 1 2011, 04:51 PM)
U cant really blame him or old-timers here as this question had came up , over and over and over again without fail . The best is , ask Samsung personally . Not customer service via phone call , walk into their service center and ask them directly . U can get a 100% answer
But i don't see any post that solve my curiosity though. blush.gif

How would they be able to tell we have flash? assuming that there isn't a flash counter / hidden-erase-flash counter? rclxub.gif

I am still confuse though. I am just here to learn btw notworthy.gif
frankgan
post Aug 1 2011, 05:53 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Aug 1 2011, 05:43 PM)
aargh~~~~ doh.gif
lol, ok, i will stop asking and drop by the samsung service centre one day rclxms.gif
frankgan
post Aug 1 2011, 06:37 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Aug 1 2011, 05:57 PM)
Like I said , ask samsung directly .....What is there 2 be confuse ? At the same time , u can also clarified if  your warranty will be void by flashing or rooting ...... What is so difficult ?
Well the difficult part obviously is its not convenient to travel there. like its next to my house.

And u got me wrong, i don't concern about warranty and as i have stated in the very first post, just asking out of curiosity.

I don't see a reason why you guys want geram or whatsoever, i am asking a question, if you're not happy then don't answer them?and lastly isn't this a forum to share views and thoughts? Why can't i express my confusion or curiosity whatever u name it?

Anyway, forgive my dumb Ness and god bless your intelligence
frankgan
post Aug 1 2011, 08:02 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Aug 1 2011, 06:50 PM)
Because THIS question pop-up in every new thread over and over and over ..... IF i get RM10 each time someone ask this , I am 101% i can by myself a few SGSII by now ..... And yes , its a forum but i doubt any of us works for SME technical dept or those involved with the warranty claims . U will get answers , thats 4 sure but who is to give u a better answer than ppl from SME themselves ?
Do you ever understand what I am asking at first? What I want to know is, why benny said the kernel changed once we flashed/rooted while what I see in the setting>about phone page was identical at stock and the new xwkf1 that I flashed later?

anyway, just ignore my dumb question, i am not here for a fight.

peace

QUOTE(waveweaver @ Aug 1 2011, 07:00 PM)
Yoo.., the high and mighty Captain 0..!!
(love your avatar., love the red cape with the capital O..)

Why is it important for you to know whether got rom counter or erase rom counter in our phone if void of warranty is not your concern.?
Well, just out of curiosity, and what I intended to know originally was not about those counter counter thing, but what mr benny said?

This post has been edited by frankgan: Aug 1 2011, 08:12 PM
frankgan
post Aug 1 2011, 08:10 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 1 2011, 08:03 PM)
Samfirmware firmware are official firmware. So it will be same as your stock

Since you posted my posts earlier on, you'd have noticed that this is an issue no need to worry too much about. Somehow someone create this phobia that phones root/flash warranty is void and  ways/means is develop and use to "cheat" the service center by restoring back to stock rom. YES - officially warranty is void once phones rooted/flash. You go and ask the service center , 101 % they will tell you no more warranty. If you have this worry/phobia claiming warranty , just don't root and don't flash

Practically - depends on how you present your case and how the staff respond back.  As my experience shows, I never has issue claiming warranty /services and is free every time, not one time. One time, people say is luck ; 5 times still luck ?? Honestly as I see it as long as you are honest and don't try to bluff your way, the service center guys are nice. I'd think they have more trouble/time pushing you away than accepting your request. My 3 occasions Galaxy S ( AP set bought in LowYat KL) but i send in to Spore Center. Galaxy S2 ( UK set ) also processed by Spore Center. Galaxy Tab ( AP set ) processed by KL Plaza Berjaya . All occasions these sets are rooted and flash with cook roms. In all 5 occasions I need not pay a single cent
I'd just say if one tries to bluff his way , most probably he will be charged for any work done

The technician has definitely a  way to check even with your roms installed back to stock - we can only see what the manufacturer wishes us to see. I am pretty sure the phone has captured log files of processes done on the phone,  these unseen by us. I was told most obvious is the kernel exact file details which we can't see. If you are tech savvy, you can even rename a cook rom firmware details according to the exact name you wish as a technique to cheat the service center
okay, now everything is clarified. Thanks benny. so its not that the kernel wont go back to stock after we root or flash, its just that there might be a log or kernel file details that are different. thumbup.gif

frankgan
post Aug 1 2011, 08:17 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 1 2011, 08:13 PM)
And also don't be too happy with the JIG: it appears clean to us only

http://www.darkyrom.com/community/index.ph...h-counter.3827/
yes, I have already notice that. another forumer pointed out earlier. brows.gif

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Aug 1 2011, 08:16 PM)
Nice~~ am tasting it everyday!! biggrin.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif

@frankgan - in other words, samsung is the owner, so they have the blueprint. no one ever knows what the original blueprint is like except them. so somewhere in there, only they know how to access something even the developers cant find. thatd why devs waiting for the owner's kernel source~ biggrin.gif and thats only the kernel. we dont what else the owner has with them.
okay biggrin.gif I got it now.

This post has been edited by frankgan: Aug 1 2011, 08:18 PM
frankgan
post Aug 1 2011, 08:30 PM

259 posts

benny, as i have observed from your gadget lists, I don't see u owning a windows computer.

How do you flash your phone normally then? is there a mac version of Odin? drool.gif

I am using a macbook pro too and I will have to borrow my wife's lappy to flash my phone.
frankgan
post Aug 2 2011, 06:29 PM

259 posts

just sent my phone to samsung service centre KL for yellowish tint Screen on the whole left side. blink.gif

well, a 2 weeks phone sad.gif

They never bother to check the software version or anything and they never ask me about rooting or flashing, so I never tell (well, at least i never lie)

Hopefully everything goes well and I am able to claim the warranty.

Btw, I plugged in my jig and flashed to the stock XWKF1 singapore from samfirmwares before sending it in though
frankgan
post Aug 5 2011, 05:50 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Aug 5 2011, 05:02 PM)
i'm the only one using umobile among friends ATM, so is totally useless to me. what i damn dulan is the advertisement at 7-11 say top up RM30 free 100 sms. den i ask the cashier at 7-11, she nod her head and say "tak tau". wtf?? ok, i go back n wait for decades, asking at u.com.my, and even go flame their fb page. result: no ppl diao me at all, not only me but oso got other users dun get their free 100 sms. dat's the reason i say their promotion mechanism is suck till the end of the world; in terms of level of exposure and also reliability. mad.gif
hey since you are using umobile, i would like to ask u a few questions tongue.gif

Umobile says we can only consume the 3G services within their coverage area, what happens if we go outstation like ipoh or johor that is not within their coverage?

Will it have line, at all at those places?

the umobile price is so tempting, i am so keen so sign up one for my sgs2 thumbup.gif
frankgan
post Aug 5 2011, 06:08 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(brotan @ Aug 5 2011, 05:52 PM)
JB quite good. KL good. other places not sure

why not buy the package, try for 1 month and see u like it or not lah. only RM 28. worst case, you lose that money only
QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Aug 5 2011, 05:53 PM)
wat to do? celcom is GLC and have TM as their backbone. coverage wise i think celcom had penetrated even the caves and isolated islandsĀ  laugh.gif

Added on August 5, 2011, 5:56 pm
for your information, i often travel between kl and mlk; and mlk dun have single bit umobile coverage. when dun have umobile coverage, it will automatically turn into celcom roaming, charges are still the same but the internet service.... 64kbps is what quoted from umobile, but from my experience even 6.4kbps also i kenot reach. wan refresh facebook widget oso take me forever. but whatsapp still can function as usual la. no choice and kenot complain much, since RM28 per month including voice and sms plan had outplayed other telco's best voice+internet plan everywhere. blush.gif
where do i get the 28 deal now? biggrin.gif

so we do not need to pay a single cent more for using celcom lines outside umobile territory as long as it is within our package limit right>?

This post has been edited by frankgan: Aug 5 2011, 06:11 PM
frankgan
post Aug 5 2011, 06:29 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Aug 5 2011, 06:17 PM)
just buy a RM8 simcard pack, reload RM30 and use *118# to subscribe the Rm28 plan. ya, even roaming oso charge u ntg. overquota oso no charge, jz throttle ur speed to 64kbps only. one thing is when roaming you only can access to celcom 2G. no 3G  cool2.gif
QUOTE(nicregi @ Aug 5 2011, 06:18 PM)
If use 2 G surf forum nvm. If wanna do heavy browsing sure die kau kau...  cry.gif
QUOTE(Hico @ Aug 5 2011, 06:21 PM)
i am testing digi Edge for 2 days..opening website still ok.. but listen to internet radio can say 1 song only listen he sing less than 50%..keep on buffering.. sad.gif dun say open fb game! wait 30 minutes also not yet finish loading..  sweat.gif
I will give umobile 28 a go and see how good is it. most of the time i am in KL anyway. thanks for all the info

frankgan
post Aug 5 2011, 09:48 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(mydendenmushi @ Aug 5 2011, 08:10 PM)
i use celcom postpaid exec 20. add rm28 get 300mb unlimited(means after you finish with the quota speed will throttle down), rm38 1gb unlimited.
speed is very good. download 300mb rom finish within 10 - 15 minutes, using js my phone..
its very enjoyable..download using phone, flash using cwm..flash-on-the-go...lol..
kernel, theme etc i js use this method.. tongue.gif

i think maxis is the only one with additional charges after finish quota right now..
dude, mind to share more about the 20 + 38 celcom package?

I am planning to port-in but apparently I can't port in to the umobile to use their voice+data package sad.gif
frankgan
post Aug 6 2011, 01:27 AM

259 posts

this is really sad, I have just collected my s2 today from samsung service centre (yellowish tint issue). Now my screen top right corner have a big white spot and somewhere in the middle have one small white circle. It is definitely not dead pixel. sigh, will be returning to samsung tomorrow.
frankgan
post Aug 8 2011, 04:09 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(verdangilte @ Aug 8 2011, 04:08 PM)
i get my Sgs 2 2 days ago...can i know any software can let me download a keyboard to taip chinese words ??

google pin yin blush.gif

0.0461sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:15 PM