SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V10, Be a SMART user - Pls read Page 1 first

nicregi
post Aug 8 2011, 06:17 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(Lemon @ Aug 8 2011, 05:10 PM)
Sorry, I'm noob about flashing stuff.. in above step you mentioned, using which software to do it? sorry ya...
No worries.

You got to into recovery mode and download mode.

1. Go recovery mood (volume up, home button and power all at same time) <---- only when phone is off
2. Do the wiping, use volume button to scroll

Download mode
Volume down, home button and power button all at same time when the phone is off.

There you go...

Added on August 8, 2011, 6:19 pm
QUOTE(aniyo @ Aug 8 2011, 05:32 PM)
Hello fellow users!  Finally got the phone from Digi at lunch time. 

Digi offers 12 mth & 24 mths contract - RM1599 & RM1399 respectively. 

I'm new to smartphone & does not have any tied up with telco.  So Digi is a good option to me - no extra charges & i can get discount.  I got the 1 yr contract = RM500 discount which i can used for the casing & other accesories...  Not a bad deal.
I always believe that 1 year contact is fine enough. 2 years....by then maybe more quad core and iPhone 6 already tongue.gif (maybe la)...

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Aug 8 2011, 05:32 PM)
i would've gone more mean but yeah i'll go slow since you are new. huh!  vmad.gif i would've enjoy screwing you more though.  mad.gif
Peh...keji.... rclxms.gif drama...

This post has been edited by nicregi: Aug 8 2011, 06:19 PM
nicregi
post Aug 8 2011, 06:54 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(LuffyPSP @ Aug 8 2011, 06:29 PM)
thats how i rule the world. haha~~
Must learn from sifu.... biggrin.gif brows.gif
nicregi
post Aug 8 2011, 07:01 PM

4,536 posts

Sometime it takes days to receive. I receive after 48 hours.
nicregi
post Aug 8 2011, 11:31 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(Teng N @ Aug 8 2011, 11:01 PM)
really? thks for heads up. I will try CM7 latest nightly then.
I bought premium as i really love cm builds. It is just a way to support it.

You can always use the free version but leceh and waste time smile.gif
nicregi
post Aug 8 2011, 11:44 PM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(Lemon @ Aug 8 2011, 11:37 PM)
Just now i ticked re-partition during flashing XXKG6 as shown by this guide http://androidflip.com/android-2-3-4-ginge...sung-galaxy-s2/. After finish flashing, I tried to search for more info, but surprisingly, other websites, mentioned NOT to tick the re-partition.... will it do any harm to my phone?

Also, after flashed to XXKG6, my wifi signal become weaker than XXKG1
Just don't touch the re-partition and leave it as default. Honestly... You should just follow the guides in xda. There are 1001 guides in the world and some.. I feel is not correct.

Will it harm your phone? Not really but some cases it could brick your hone.

Some are stronger than others in signal. Try out 1-2 days before deciding. For me, even if the signal is weaker or not, is no issue for me. As long as can connect can already smile.gif
nicregi
post Aug 9 2011, 12:00 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(Lemon @ Aug 8 2011, 11:53 PM)
Will the 're-partition' change the file system? for example in Ms Windows NTFS to FAT32? how to revert it back to ori? Thanks.
This is not so sure. I think uncle Benny place a quick info on repartition on page one. Can read. I don't really bother about repartition so not sure. I always flash 95% on the time via cwm so.... smile.gif

Added on August 9, 2011, 12:02 am@xyz

You need to check either setcpu and Tegrak can Overclock. Why? Cos not all rom and kernel support setcpu or Tegrak.

If Tegrak, load Overclock manual. Then pull the bar to 1.4 or more. Beware too high will generate more heat and might fry your. Phone long term.

If using setcpu, just pull the bar when you enable root function.

This post has been edited by nicregi: Aug 9 2011, 12:02 AM
nicregi
post Aug 9 2011, 12:06 AM

4,536 posts

Example on the screen as attached.

Of course if you use speedmod you won't be able too.

nicregi
post Aug 9 2011, 12:23 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(theBigO @ Aug 9 2011, 12:10 AM)
I read some where that i shouldnt set to min 200mhz as the phone will go into coma. Does it applies on main or just setting up profiles?
As below, too low voltage will go into coma. 200 mhz is normal for sg2. One of my setcpu profile is 2am - 6.30am phone will go to 500 min max to avoid coma. Some phone able to do at 800 mv at 200 mhz and still no coma. Yeng!

QUOTE(destEX @ Aug 9 2011, 12:16 AM)
bah, 200mhz is normal even for your phone, it's the voltage that causes the coma
yep
Yup yup...
nicregi
post Aug 9 2011, 12:31 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(xyz_cityhunter @ Aug 9 2011, 12:25 AM)
Oh, anyone know of any apps to monitor the CPU speed? Like a log one... Saw some conversation back a few days but can't seem to find it... icon_question.gif
That one they already altered the original 200MHz voltage to be lower and hence the coma... nod.gif
FYI i tested 850 mv and coma at 200 mhz. The if set 875 mv works fine. But it is different depending on kernels. I remember when using Lulz kernel my setting was not the same.
nicregi
post Aug 9 2011, 08:17 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 9 2011, 08:01 AM)
Setting cpu speeds and voltage levels is best done and test individually. There is no one standard formula to follow. Your existing Apps that you need to work always in background will affect it. Be
extra careful if you want to tweak it to lowest cpu. Spend time to tweak voltages progressively to see results. For lazy type cutting voltage down by 100 mv is safe and do not set 200mhz as lowest
For those who are adventurous and want the best ideal settings, you just have to put in efforts to test
+ 1 on uncle benny's advice!
nicregi
post Aug 9 2011, 09:21 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(ravager877 @ Aug 9 2011, 08:53 AM)
New owner of a brand new S2 reporting in! Loving the phone and was thinking of flashing Litening 5.0 but since the phone is only 3 days old, I will hold off on it for now. Have a few questions that I hope the resident guru's can help me with.

1. In the Menu - Wireless and Network - Mobile Networks - Network Mode
I've set it to WCDMA only. However, the phone keeps showing me the H symbol rather than the 3G symbol. How do I keep it from going to H. I know this question was asked but I don't quite understand the answer...

2. Battery life...
I currently have my screen brightness set to 0 (lowest) and all the soft vibrate on key touch also turned off. Only my data is running and all other apps are off. However, in the span of 1 hour, my battery has already drained 10% on practically standby mode. Is this normal?

Help would be appreciated. Thanks!
1. H is faster than 3G. When there is data moving, H is faster. COnsider it as HSPDA. Normal.

2. Do a few full cycle run before you can see the battery life gets better. Data and auto sync takes the most battery besides display. Off your auto sync or reduce the time duration, and even close all not used apps (select close/exit) instead of home button. Home button and they will run background.

If you like saving battery, you can go for Villian ROM (custom) which gives good battery life. There are others too but self preference.

Many ways to save battery life...for e.g. I have Juice Defender Ultimate and that save my battery alot. I configure it myself.

Added on August 9, 2011, 9:22 am
QUOTE(ravager877 @ Aug 9 2011, 09:18 AM)
Ic.. Thanks for the clarification.

Also, I read that the battery stamina actually gets better with use. Is this true?
I believe, doing a few full cycle...normally 2-3 days later will be better. Of course, full charge. Again, self belief maybe? laugh.gif

This post has been edited by nicregi: Aug 9 2011, 09:22 AM
nicregi
post Aug 9 2011, 10:21 AM

4,536 posts

QUOTE(gm0023 @ Aug 9 2011, 10:14 AM)
im a new beginner to sgs 2. i think im having wifi problem with my sgs2. the phone keeps on obtaining ip address since the wifi is not far away. anyone can tell me how to fix it? thx
Brand new shouldn't have issue with WiFi. If it keep stuck at optaining IP high chance is wrong password. Happen to me last week cos my sister change the wifi password shakehead.gif

Added on August 9, 2011, 10:21 am
QUOTE(Fallenangelz @ Aug 9 2011, 10:20 AM)
one possible thing is u key in wrong password already. try "forget" the wifi and then connect again
Damn you beat me vmad.gif

This post has been edited by nicregi: Aug 9 2011, 10:21 AM

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.0421sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:25 AM