3DS Getting Massive Price Cut, Early Buyers Worry Not

TSevolance7
post Jul 28 2011, 04:16 PM, updated 15y ago

112 posts

Nintendo announced a price cut of the 3DS from $249.99 to $169.99 in the U.S. effective August 12.

Japan will see a price cut from 25,000 yet to 15,000 yen on August 11. Australians will see a cut from RRP $349.95 down to RP$250 down. Pricing for Europe has not been announced.

"For anyone who was on the fence about buying a Nintendo 3DS, this is a huge motivation to buy now," said Nintendo of America President Reggie Fils-Aime. "We are giving shoppers every incentive to pick up a Nintendo 3DS, from an amazing new price to a rapid-fire succession of great games."

If you purchase a 3DS before the price cut date, you will receive 10 free Virtual Console NES and 10 free Gameboy Advance games. Users must connect to the Nintendo eShop at least once before 11:59 p.m. Eastern time on Aug. 11 in the U.S. They will then be automatically registered in the Nintendo 3DS Ambassador program.

The list of NES games include:

Super Mario Bros.
Donkey Kong Jr.
Balloon Fight
Ice Climber
The Legend of Zelda
+5 more

These titles are slated to become paid downloadable games, but Ambassadors get them early for free. "Once the paid versions of the games are posted to the Nintendo eShop later in the year, the updated versions will be available to Ambassadors for download at no cost."

The list of GBA games include:

Yoshi's Island
Super Mario Advance 3
Mario Kart: Super Circuit
Metroid Fusion
WarioWare, Inc.: Mega Microgame$
Mario vs. Donkey Kong
+4 more

Nintendo says the GBA games will be available exclusively to Ambassadors, and that it "currently has no plans to make these 10 games available to the general public on the Nintendo 3DS in the future."

Sauce.
TSevolance7
post Jul 28 2011, 04:24 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jul 28 2011, 04:21 PM)
Waitaminute.

WHY NOW??????????!!!!!!!!!
So sorry about the news Brother Kyo. sweat.gif
TSevolance7
post Jul 28 2011, 04:50 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Azfar90 @ Jul 28 2011, 04:43 PM)
I hope SG/MY 3DS version is eligible to have those massive free games...I don't wanna
see a message in Eshop that says 'the service is not available in your country, thus cannot download those free games..lololol..pwn" eventhough region setting is set to US..
As long as you have accessed the E-shop before the date there should be no prob.
TSevolance7
post Jul 28 2011, 05:01 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jul 28 2011, 04:55 PM)
hmm ok...but still, i'll wait for snake eater smile.gif
I'm sad that it got delayed... cry.gif

QUOTE(kenjixx @ Jul 28 2011, 04:58 PM)
time to get a bigger sd card biggrin.gif
32GB should be enough? brows.gif
TSevolance7
post Jul 28 2011, 06:12 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(kyu85 @ Jul 28 2011, 05:50 PM)
o.O
would m'sia get the price cut? lucky i haven got my 3ds yet... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
For that, we have to wait and see... nod.gif
TSevolance7
post Jul 28 2011, 07:16 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(Johnathan Sia @ Jul 28 2011, 07:10 PM)
Hm... about RM500 based on current US exchange rates - I could live with that since to me that's just over £100 wink.gif
I'm expecting the new Malaysian price would be around RM600 ~ RM750. If that is the case, I'm buying extra 3DS for mah family. rclxms.gif

Added on July 28, 2011, 7:18 pm
QUOTE(xtreme~~ @ Jul 28 2011, 07:14 PM)
still waiting for 3DS redesign
From DSPhat to DSLite it took Nintendo 2 years.

So the new 3DS iteration wont be coming soon me think.

This post has been edited by evolance7: Jul 28 2011, 07:18 PM

0.0140sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:21 AM