2007 Harrier Head Unit, In Japanese ... pls help
TSzerko
Jul 28 2011, 01:03 PM, updated 15y ago

The Headunit for 2007 Harrier is in Japanese Language. Is there a way of "upgrading" it to English or Chinese ? I would prefer to keep the Original Head Unit but change the language and update the GPS maps. Please let me know if anyone knows where I can get it done. Thanks.
Added on August 2, 2011, 1:21 pmAnybody can help... please ? Is there any Harrier owner here who has found a solution. Thanks.
This post has been edited by zerko: Aug 2 2011, 01:21 PM
cillecheah
Aug 8 2011, 06:01 PM
if you are talking abt the stereo and the side buttons i hv it on my 1sr gen harrier too. i ddnt want to take it out so i had a new stereo set installed instead.
hope this helps
joefbi
Aug 9 2011, 11:19 AM
nothing u can do about the language on the system...dunno wether the firmware for your HU can be reflash...
zennn
Aug 9 2011, 03:22 PM
10 year old question, answer is no... have to change or add new player
Gfreak
Aug 27 2012, 01:29 AM

Zenn,
Hope u can help me out. Planning to buy harrier soon equipped with jbl sound system. It has all d specs so what i need is the same specs ie touchscreen, gps,movie,music etc however in english and to reuse the jbl speakers and the steering control. Is this possible? If hes what brand wud u recommend and where shud i do it?
Thnx bro.
acbc
Aug 27 2012, 01:32 AM
I have a 1st gen Harrier head unit from an US left hand drive model. It is in American English but wiring harness not compatible with JDM model. What a waste!
zennn
Aug 27 2012, 03:09 PM
if its standard double din size then u can always go alpine or kenwood, they have gps in addition to dvd and touchscreen, however steering control probably not, but theres a chance if installer can find an add on module for that.
slyder
Aug 30 2012, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(zennn @ Aug 27 2012, 03:09 PM) if its standard double din size then u can always go alpine or kenwood, they have gps in addition to dvd and touchscreen, however steering control probably not, but theres a chance if installer can find an add on module for that. There might be modules adaptor which might be available on ebay. try checking there for your specific model both the player and car.
stevecmj
Nov 11 2012, 10:51 AM
QUOTE(Gfreak @ Aug 27 2012, 01:29 AM) Zenn, Hope u can help me out. Planning to buy harrier soon equipped with jbl sound system. It has all d specs so what i need is the same specs ie touchscreen, gps,movie,music etc however in english and to reuse the jbl speakers and the steering control. Is this possible? If hes what brand wud u recommend and where shud i do it? Thnx bro. May I knw how to determine whether it is JBL sound system?
ezmeer94
Nov 11 2012, 12:36 PM
You can just buy a new Double din headunit to replace it there's nothing else u can do My moms Toyota harrier also like that We cannot change the original headunit And for the steering controls a kenwood hu for Toyota is good and u can retain the steering controls
wynn888
Nov 21 2012, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(zerko @ Jul 28 2011, 01:03 PM) The Headunit for 2007 Harrier is in Japanese Language. Is there a way of "upgrading" it to English or Chinese ? I would prefer to keep the Original Head Unit but change the language and update the GPS maps. Please let me know if anyone knows where I can get it done. Thanks. Added on August 2, 2011, 1:21 pmAnybody can help... please ? Is there any Harrier owner here who has found a solution. Thanks. Better to change your head unit whcih is cheaper, I've got upgrade to GPS which cost RM1,650.00. and got hang and not working properly. So, if you change your head unit to Kenwood with GPS cost more than RM2,000.00 and yet you can tune to FM malaysia.
ezmeer94
Nov 21 2012, 11:10 PM
QUOTE(wynn888 @ Nov 21 2012, 10:44 PM) Better to change your head unit whcih is cheaper, I've got upgrade to GPS which cost RM1,650.00. and got hang and not working properly. So, if you change your head unit to Kenwood with GPS cost more than RM2,000.00 and yet you can tune to FM malaysia. Ya true I used a china headunit b4 and never satisfied Now can throw tong sampah liao