Purchasing XBL Arcade Games, Payment methods

TSused2bcow
post Jul 28 2011, 11:55 AM, updated 15y ago

121 posts

Hi All,

This has probably been answered before. I've always been tempted to get games of from XBLA but truly speaking, am a bit overwhelmed as to what needs to be done. Would appreciate if the sifu here can enlighten me and those who are in the same shoe as me so that we may too enjoy playing these games.

I am currently having an Xbox 360 from singapore but have a XBL Account registered in the US and tied to my existing Windows Live ID.
i) How do i purchase the games i want?
ii) What happens when i buy a new console, can i transfer all the prev purchased games from this account to the new console?
iii) Can i tie 2 XBL Account to a single WIndows live id (e.g one for asia and another for us)?

Hope the sifus here can help

TQ
elasticote
post Jul 28 2011, 12:05 PM

20 posts

i) browse the games, then click / press 'buy'..?
ii) yes u can transfer..
ii) no..
TSused2bcow
post Jul 28 2011, 12:10 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(elasticote @ Jul 28 2011, 12:05 PM)
i) browse the games, then click / press 'buy'..?
ii) yes u can transfer..
ii) no..
Hi elasticote,

Thanks for the reply.

Sorry regarding i), My question is more of payment methods, what can and cant be done and those region question that gives me a big headache and turn me off from taking the plunge.
elasticote
post Jul 28 2011, 12:15 PM

20 posts

what is ur payment method? credit card or microsoft points?
because ur gamertag is under US, i suggest u use MS points,
and dont worry to buy games, if its region block, MS will not deduct your money / point, they will notify you before it start downloading..

TSused2bcow
post Jul 28 2011, 12:19 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(elasticote @ Jul 28 2011, 12:15 PM)
what is ur payment method? credit card or microsoft points?
because ur gamertag is under US, i suggest u use MS points,
and dont worry to buy games, if its region block, MS will not deduct your money / point, they will notify you before it start downloading..
Hi elasticote,

How do i get the Microsoft point and how much are they selling for?

TQ
elasticote
post Jul 28 2011, 12:28 PM

20 posts

your location?
u want psycal card or just the code?

the code only is cheaper of cuz.
price list u can check here, play-asia.com

if u want from local seller can check at garage sales below.
http://forum.lowyat.net/Games

Kidicarus
post Jul 28 2011, 01:04 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(used2bcow @ Jul 28 2011, 12:19 PM)
Hi elasticote,

How do i get the Microsoft point and how much are they selling for?

TQ
Generally as a rough guide 400MSP=USD5.

Since you've got a US Gamertag, there are a variety of online outlets where you can get your US MS points. Amazon.com (but they only sell if you have a valid US address), Play-asia.com or offgamers.com all have online codes which can be redeemed on your console or on xbox.com. From what i can tell 4000MSP is currently selling for RM155-165.

Asian Xbox points can be easier to find since you can find them at retail outlets such as gamer's hideout. They tend to be more expensive though.

Having said that, MS recently added paypal as an additional payment option so you could try that. I don't have experience using it so I'm wary of giving advice on that.

Games can be purchased via the 360 dashboard once you have points or via the marketplace on xbox.com. Purchases made on xbox.com will automatically start downloading the next time you log on to your xbox.

What you'll find is that most XBLA are not region locked so it really doesn't matter where your gamertag is based. However, there are some exceptions though not really worth worrying about.

Any XBLA game you purchase will be available for any gamertag on the xbox you originally downloaded to. However, if you move your hard disk to another xbox, you will need to be connected to live on the account that you used to make the purchase and will not be available to other gamertags on that new xbox.

If for example, you do get a new xbox and want to transfer all your DLC and XBLA that's no problem as well, you can get a license transfer (last i checked this can only be done once a year) to enable all the DLC and games on that new xbox to be playable offline and by anyone on the new console.

TSused2bcow
post Jul 28 2011, 01:15 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Jul 28 2011, 01:04 PM)
Generally as a rough guide 400MSP=USD5.

Since you've got a US Gamertag, there are a variety of online outlets where you can get your US MS points.  Amazon.com (but they only sell if you have a valid US address), Play-asia.com or offgamers.com all have online codes which can be redeemed on your console or on xbox.com.  From what i can tell 4000MSP is currently selling for RM155-165.

Asian Xbox points can be easier to find since you can find them at retail outlets such as gamer's hideout.  They tend to be more expensive though.

Having said that, MS recently added paypal as an additional payment option so you could try that.  I don't have experience using it so I'm wary of giving advice on that.
Games can be purchased via the 360 dashboard once you have points or via the marketplace on xbox.com.  Purchases made on xbox.com will automatically start downloading the next time you log on to your xbox.

What you'll find is that most XBLA are not region locked so it really doesn't matter where your gamertag is based.  However, there are some exceptions though not really worth worrying about.

Any XBLA game you purchase will be available for any gamertag on the xbox you originally downloaded to.  However, if you move your hard disk to another xbox, you will need to be connected to live on the account that you used to make the purchase and will not be available to other gamertags on that new xbox. 

If for example, you do get a new xbox and want to transfer all your DLC and XBLA that's no problem as well, you can get a license transfer (last i checked this can only be done once a year) to enable all the DLC and games on that new xbox to be playable offline and by anyone on the new console.
Hi KidIcarus,

Thanks for the detailed explanation. Certainly has helped in clearing things up. Very much appreciated.

Added on July 28, 2011, 1:16 pm
QUOTE(elasticote @ Jul 28 2011, 12:28 PM)
your location?
u want psycal card or just the code?

the code only is cheaper of cuz.
price list u can check here, play-asia.com

if u want from local seller can check at garage sales below.
http://forum.lowyat.net/Games
Thanks elasticote for the reference. Will check it out smile.gif

Added on July 28, 2011, 1:24 pmThere is one other question. If i am US regstered GamerTag, Apart from US MS Points, can i also use Asia MS Points.

TIA.

This post has been edited by used2bcow: Jul 28 2011, 01:24 PM
iguana_dude_619
post Jul 28 2011, 01:26 PM

Xbox GT, PSN & Steam ID: iguanadude626
1,141 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=180&t=1953400
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=180&t=1676103

here are some LYN local sellers
TSused2bcow
post Jul 28 2011, 01:28 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(iguana_dude_619 @ Jul 28 2011, 01:26 PM)
Thank you iguana_dude_619,

will look definitely consider these sellers.

TQ.
Kidicarus
post Jul 28 2011, 01:30 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(used2bcow @ Jul 28 2011, 01:15 PM)
Hi KidIcarus,

Thanks for the detailed explanation. Certainly has helped in clearing things up. Very much appreciated.

Added on July 28, 2011, 1:16 pm

Thanks elasticote for the reference. Will check it out smile.gif

Added on July 28, 2011, 1:24 pmThere is one other question. If i am US regstered GamerTag, Apart from US MS Points, can i also use Asia MS Points.

TIA.
MS points are region locked, so you won't be able to redeem asia ms points on your US account. TBH the paypal thingy might be the easiest option for international users - since it's on your dashboard and you don't have to worry about region locking and compatibility. Do try it out and see if it suits you.

TSused2bcow
post Jul 28 2011, 01:33 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Jul 28 2011, 01:30 PM)
MS points are region locked, so you won't be able to redeem asia ms points on your US account.  TBH the paypal thingy might be the easiest option for international users - since it's on your dashboard and you don't have to worry about region locking and compatibility.  Do try it out and see if it suits you.
Hi KidIcarus,

Yeah, looks to be something worth checking out. Will def do some research on this. I'll update my findings here for everyone else to see.

Thanks again ya?
y3ivan
post Jul 28 2011, 01:46 PM

502 posts

use paypal if you find that 1600 MSP is hell a lot more than $21.60. Retailers usually sell it at $22.50.

This post has been edited by y3ivan: Jul 28 2011, 01:49 PM
TSused2bcow
post Jul 28 2011, 02:01 PM

121 posts

I created a paypal account and tied to one of my local bank account. - success.
I logged in to xbox.com, and added my paypal account as a payment method by false buying 400 US MS Points. - successfully tied paypal to my gamertag.
Submit purchase - unauthorized error message(I dont know this is becoz my bank account insufficient funds, so im going to add some cash in my bank account and try again.

Will keep you guys posted

Added on July 28, 2011, 2:02 pm
QUOTE(y3ivan @ Jul 28 2011, 01:46 PM)
use paypal if you find that 1600 MSP is hell a lot more than $21.60. Retailers usually sell it at $22.50.
Will keep that in mind y3ivan. Thanks smile.gif

Added on July 28, 2011, 3:07 pmHmm still get the 'Your payment instrument could not be authorized. Please contact your provider, or try a different payment option.' even after topping up in Paypal. I suspect the same validation in place as per Credit Card based on local ip address...so dun think can escape. MS Point Card is the way to go i guess.

This post has been edited by used2bcow: Jul 28 2011, 03:50 PM
Edison83
post Jul 28 2011, 04:43 PM

No Games No Life.
1,374 posts

If you just interested in buying points i recomended buy via www.play-asia.com , select those in digital form, if u buy before 12 noon, probably u get the code at the same day. As I remember buying reload card are way cheaper than buying from Xbox. When u attach your creditcard/paypal, it linked to your gamertag, if your security arent good, some arse hacker can use ur paypal in your account to buy tons of DLC until u broke XD. (That what i heard happen to someone)
y3ivan
post Jul 28 2011, 04:52 PM

502 posts

QUOTE(used2bcow @ Jul 28 2011, 02:01 PM)

Added on July 28, 2011, 3:07 pmHmm still get the 'Your payment instrument could not be authorized. Please contact your provider, or try a different payment option.' even after topping up in Paypal. I suspect the same validation in place as per Credit Card based on local ip address...so dun think can escape. MS Point Card is the way to go i guess.
hmnm, something is wrong with paypal, i brought 1600 sometime on june and tried it again it doesnt work
TSused2bcow
post Jul 28 2011, 05:03 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Edison83 @ Jul 28 2011, 04:43 PM)
If you just interested in buying points i recomended buy via www.play-asia.com , select those in digital form, if u buy before 12 noon, probably u get the code at the same day. As I remember buying reload card are way cheaper than buying from Xbox. When u attach your creditcard/paypal, it linked to your gamertag, if your security arent good, some arse hacker can use ur paypal in your account to buy tons of DLC until u broke XD. (That what i heard happen to someone)
Yeah i'll probably remove all links to the paypal account. The whole think a big phail. Thanks for the recommendation though. Appreciate it.

Added on July 28, 2011, 5:07 pm
QUOTE(y3ivan @ Jul 28 2011, 04:52 PM)
hmnm, something is wrong with paypal, i brought 1600 sometime on june and tried it again it doesnt work
Really? Hmmmmmmmmmm. They may have added checking to prevent cross region purchase....maybe. But then i read somewhere some other ppl had problems with paypal and credit card alike. 1st attempt success...subsequently...fail.

This post has been edited by used2bcow: Jul 28 2011, 05:07 PM
y3ivan
post Jul 29 2011, 03:02 PM

502 posts

if you cant get from PA, just to be safe.

alternatively, Maxiuscards.com. i dont really recommend it, they send the codes by email and it take about 2-3hr for them to respond. i made a few purchases from them last year, no problems so far.

http://www.maximuscards.com/
TSused2bcow
post Jul 29 2011, 03:15 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(y3ivan @ Jul 29 2011, 03:02 PM)
if you cant get from PA, just to be safe.

alternatively, Maxiuscards.com. i dont really recommend it, they send the codes by email and it take about 2-3hr for them to respond. i made a few purchases from them last year, no problems so far.

http://www.maximuscards.com/
Hi y3ivan,

Will keep that in mind. Thanks.

Anyways, In the end, I got the reload card from tashfinsheikh. Redeemed and purchased the games I wana from xbox.com. Waiting to head back home and try to download from my xbox360. Hopefully no incident tongue.gif.
Kidicarus
post Jul 29 2011, 04:08 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(used2bcow @ Jul 29 2011, 03:15 PM)
Hi y3ivan,

Will keep that in mind. Thanks.

Anyways, In the end, I got the reload card from tashfinsheikh. Redeemed and purchased the games I wana from xbox.com. Waiting to head back home and try to download from my xbox360. Hopefully no incident tongue.gif.
Enjoy. And if there's a problem, there is an account management page on your desktop which stores your history of marketplace purchases. You can always redownload from that page.
TSused2bcow
post Jul 29 2011, 04:12 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Jul 29 2011, 04:08 PM)
Enjoy.  And if there's a problem, there is an account management page on your desktop which stores your history of marketplace purchases.  You can always redownload from that page.
Okie Dokie. Thanks Bro. biggrin.gif
terranova
post Jul 29 2011, 04:28 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Jul 28 2011, 01:30 PM)
MS points are region locked, so you won't be able to redeem asia ms points on your US account. 
This is not specifically handpicking on kidicarus, so please bear with me. But I've seen similar posts on our forums stating this same point i.e. that Asian MSP dont work on US account/gamertag.

I can't say it's the same for everyone, but I have bought lots of Asian MSP and used it on my US account/gamertag (my main account per sig below). I've done it since day one, and until today it still works for me. Not sure if it's just me being the odd one out ..... but bear in mind my US account was created very early on when xbox 360 was first launched. One other caveat - only the 1,600 MSP card works .... I once tried the 3,200 MSP card and it didnt work. Very strange ..... hmm.gif

edit - in used2bcow's case, I'd suggest you listen to the other brothers here and just get a US MSP card to be on the safe side. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by terranova: Jul 29 2011, 04:31 PM
TSused2bcow
post Jul 29 2011, 04:45 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Jul 29 2011, 04:28 PM)
This is not specifically handpicking on kidicarus, so please bear with me. But I've seen similar posts on our forums stating this same point i.e. that Asian MSP dont work on US account/gamertag.

I can't say it's the same for everyone, but I have bought lots of Asian MSP and used it on my US account/gamertag (my main account per sig below). I've done it since day one, and until today it still works for me. Not sure if it's just me being the odd one out ..... but bear in mind my US account was created very early on when xbox 360 was first launched. One other caveat - only the 1,600 MSP card works .... I once tried the 3,200 MSP card and it didnt work. Very strange .....  hmm.gif

edit - in used2bcow's case, I'd suggest you listen to the other brothers here and just get a US MSP card to be on the safe side. tongue.gif
Lol noted. I guess which ever works best. For the moment the US MSP card seems to work alright. I'm just keeping my options open, just in case tongue.gif. But yeah So far so good biggrin.gif....Thanks everyone for their 2sens and advice. Very much appreciated biggrin.gif.
Kidicarus
post Jul 29 2011, 04:57 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Jul 29 2011, 04:28 PM)

I can't say it's the same for everyone, but I have bought lots of Asian MSP and used it on my US account/gamertag (my main account per sig below). I've done it since day one, and until today it still works for me. Not sure if it's just me being the odd one out ..... but bear in mind my US account was created very early on when xbox 360 was first launched. One other caveat - only the 1,600 MSP card works .... I once tried the 3,200 MSP card and it didnt work. Very strange .....  hmm.gif

No problem. Always happy to learn something new. I actually did try to use an asian 1600ms card once on my UK account - it was declined and i had to make a new SG account to redeem it. Maybe the experience is different on a US gamertag, but on these forums I would rather recommend that they get the points that are appropriate to the region as I don't want to be responsible for someone buying points that they can't use.

If you have a UK/US account though, i find that the unit cost of Asian cards tends to be more expensive than US/UK. I normally get the 4200 MSP card from offgamers at about RM155 which normally gets used up in a month or two.

Come to think of it, I've had the opposite problem with gold membership cards. Now everyone says they're region free but I've never been able to redeem the 3 month card that came with my asian xbox on my UK account.

This post has been edited by Kidicarus: Jul 29 2011, 05:02 PM
leonheart54
post Jul 29 2011, 05:53 PM

@Kidicarus - Your avatar needs this cool2.gif
Kidicarus
post Jul 29 2011, 07:43 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(leonheart54 @ Jul 29 2011, 05:53 PM)
@Kidicarus - Your avatar needs this cool2.gif
dammmnn.. you're so right. and here i thought just rely on avatar awards
qudeenz360
post Jul 30 2011, 08:31 AM

5,761 posts

indie games ade achvment x?
y3ivan
post Jul 30 2011, 02:29 PM

502 posts

Indie games Have no achievements