My toilet renovation memories.

TSsheraton
post Jul 27 2011, 11:48 PM, updated 15y ago

115 posts

Hi Guys,

I'd learned a lot from this forum during my small renovation process. Just want to share with you all my personal experience now.

Day 1: Main con Raymond, plumber, sub con YC came.
Laid protective layer on floor.
Plumber removed all existing sanitary fittings.
Measured WC length.
Plumber to install water heater in another bathroom. Stopcork malfunction.
Demolition man was missing.
Call Builders to order WC and water heater. Online remittance.
Arranged delivery on Wednesday.
Tiles from GaHing arrived as schedule.

Day 2: Plumber came to fix stop cork, installed water heater. Water heater leaking!
Sticked plastic to wall as dust barrier, wrapped nearby furniture.
Plastic was too light, and it was fanning.
Demolition man started to hack tiles on wall.
Clear debris and kept their tools at end of day.

This post has been edited by sheraton: Jul 28 2011, 12:05 AM
mx007
post Jul 27 2011, 11:57 PM

153 posts

What are t he end result? Pic?
TSsheraton
post Jul 28 2011, 12:07 AM

115 posts

Day 10: Tiler fixed tile on master bathroom where stopcork was replaced.
Stick tile on concrete top.
Tiler determined floor tile level orientation, and laid tiles on floor.

Day 11: The 2 holes on the concrete top seemed doesn’t fit nicely.
Tiler trying to refix tap hole and pop-up waste hole.
Raymond came for concrete top rescue.
Tiler continued with floor tiles.

Day 12: Plumber to install new fittings.
Tiler continued with floor tiles sticking.
Apparentice came to mix cement and clear rubbish.
Cleaner came to clean, but had to wait.
Putting on ivory grouting.
There were 6 people in the bathroom trying to get their parts done.
Eventually plumber was re-scheduled.
Apparentice put on black grouting.
Cleaner and contractor waited to clear rubbish and toilet for hand-over.
Done by 8 PM.

Day 13: Plumber continued to install fittings.
Clumsy sales staff came to take measurement for shower screen.
Reported to Raymond as door couldn’t be fixed.

Day 14: Sunday. Tested rain shower. Working.

Day 15: Tiler came in evening to cut door cos floor level was raised.

Day 16: Another tiler came to touch-up floor tile orientation, white & black grouting.

Day 18: Shower screen installation.
Night: Impregnator application on wall tiles.

Day 19: Put on the mirror…
KIV: Another acid wash required for cement stain due to all the drillings. Hair-line scratch treatment required. Waiting for replacement ceiling piece which was missing.

There are many people to thank in this renovation process:

Wei Seong: thanks for recommending the main con. Janet: thanks for recommending though we didn’t engage your friend. Chee Yit: for giving us some insight about construction in general. Mdm Lai senior, my in-law for allowing us to use their bathroom on few days, plus the great home-cooked meals.

For labour & supervision:
- From Saffron Contracts, our main con Raymond Lim Seng Guan (M: 012 3269 563). Thanks for the great advice and helping us to put our ideas into fruition. I guess He's keeping his fingers crossed as much as we do. If we call, it means problem! Plumber Abang Adi is a very straightforward and easy-going man.
- From YCRC, our sub con YC, his tillers: Hong, Alan, Wong; and Hadi the multi skilled staff aka demolition man.

For products:
- Sorento fittings: Johnson Suisse WC, Joven Heater.
From Builders Hardware Kepong, Zean Lim aka zheilwane (M: 016 6680 362), thanks for the great discount and timely delivery. Mr Lim senior was very helpful on engineering related advice. We surveyed almost the whole town. They gave the best price for Sorento and Johnson Suisse items!
- Niro Granite Tiles:
From GaHing Trading Old Klang Road, Alvin Hooi (M: 012 375 2217) is the right guy for tile matching and demo. Chow is always looking forward to assist including giving direction. Subsequent order was easy.
- Johnson Suisse Basin, Pop-up waste.
From Deparamax Puchong, Marie and Suki, thanks for changing the basin before delivery. Cos i mis-calculated the width of space available. Also I had mixed up these two beautiful ladies.
- From Solid Glass Lucky Garden, Ze Xian and Daphne, thanks for the clear product explanation. Delivery was earlier than scheduled. Though the installation staffs could have been more careful to not create cuts and scratches on newly laid tiles.

There are some good and bad things happened in between. A few right and wrong decisions made here & there. This is not only a process that put our physical into great test, but our mental strength as well.

Will this toilet stands regular use? Only time will tell…
At least we don’t see white particles flowing in the air … on daily basis, for the time being.

This post has been edited by sheraton: Jul 28 2011, 12:26 AM
zheilwane
post Jul 28 2011, 12:10 AM

4,184 posts

finally ur reno has completed, hope u like the new rain shower system.

This post has been edited by zheilwane: Jul 28 2011, 12:15 AM
TSsheraton
post Jul 28 2011, 12:12 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jul 28 2011, 12:10 AM)
you can now post the remaining photos....
Done! Thanks again Zean for all the helps and advice.

Added on July 28, 2011, 12:19 am
QUOTE(zheilwane @ Jul 28 2011, 12:10 AM)
finally ur reno has completed, hope u like the new rain shower system.
I definitely loving it! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by sheraton: Jul 28 2011, 12:19 AM
wrb7878
post Jul 28 2011, 01:11 AM

843 posts

The shower head is sorento 10"?
zheilwane
post Jul 28 2011, 01:16 AM

4,184 posts

nope, 12" ahaha. Just trust me, get the 10" one, 8" too small.

Here is a close up of the 12" sorento rain shower, looks good rite?

This post has been edited by zheilwane: Jul 28 2011, 01:17 AM
TSsheraton
post Jul 28 2011, 01:16 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(wrb7878 @ Jul 28 2011, 01:11 AM)
The shower head is sorento 10"?
Yes. tongue.gif
Lester1987
post Jul 28 2011, 09:18 AM

2,017 posts

how much does it cost to transform it like that?
xecton
post Jul 28 2011, 09:23 AM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(sheraton @ Jul 28 2011, 12:07 AM)
I'm interested in the shower partition that you have there. Can you explain a bit more about it? Do you know the cost of it?
gjohn
post Jul 28 2011, 09:23 AM

388 posts

very nice...what's the total cost??
kochin
post Jul 28 2011, 09:27 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(Lester1987 @ Jul 28 2011, 09:18 AM)
how much does it cost to transform it like that?
yeah TS.
how much for the overall (minus the shower screen).
19 days, huh?
cool.
great sharing by the way.

question. you are using water storage heater? any pump?
where did your orginal heater go? can sell off 2nd hand?
tiensong
post Jul 28 2011, 09:44 AM

2,237 posts

I can't see any water heater/water storage heater.....where you put?
kochin
post Jul 28 2011, 10:02 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(sheraton @ Jul 28 2011, 12:07 AM)
tiensong,
notice formerly it's about 8.5 ft to 9 ft (count the tiles. assuming it's 1 ft tall).
after reno it's about 7.5 ft tall. storage water heater conceal after ceiling.
this is what i assume lah.
TSsheraton
post Jul 28 2011, 10:17 AM

115 posts

hi guys,

the total cost is around 12k:

Niro Tiles - Rm1.8k
Fittings - Rm3.6k
Shower Screen - Rm1.1k
Workmanship - Rm5.5k

I didn't install water pump coz my condo water preassure is enough for this rain shower. The boiler was installed at my kitchen. I have limited space at the ceiling that's why can't even consider hiding the boiler on top or even change to plaster ceiling. doh.gif

Vincent
kochin
post Jul 28 2011, 10:23 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(sheraton @ Jul 28 2011, 10:17 AM)
hi guys,

the total cost is around 12k:

Niro Tiles - Rm1.8k
Fittings - Rm3.6k
Shower Screen - Rm1.1k
Workmanship - Rm5.5k
I didn't install water pump coz my condo water preassure is enough for this rain shower. The boiler was installed at my kitchen. I have limited space at the ceiling that's why can't even consider hiding the boiler on top or even change to plaster ceiling.  doh.gif

Vincent
more help pls.
niro tiles. how much per piece (size?)? i'm guessing it's 1'x2' homogeneous tiles?
workmanship rm5.5k? how much total sq ft are we talking about here? and got waterproofing or not?
sl2007
post Jul 28 2011, 10:25 AM

285 posts

Bro,

How come your ceiling looks like office ceiling?

Your storage tank in Kitchen, so your copper pipe is quite long oh.... Did you insulate your copper pipe ?
TSsheraton
post Jul 28 2011, 10:34 AM

115 posts

Niro Tiles is around Rm11.50 for my case. It's 1'X2'. Under Wave series.

Er... about the ceiling... yeah it's the original ceiling plank. i haven't think about any way to do it. coz it's pipes right on top after we take away the plank. any suggestion?

Vincent
sl2007
post Jul 28 2011, 10:36 AM

285 posts

use plaster ceiling... Lower down abit the ceiling height to cover approximate 75mm of the tiles... This will make it your wall tiles looks tidy....

Put a access panel (Manhole) for the piping area.. this is for maintenance purposes... Oh ya remember to use Moisture Resistant ceiling board ya...

Cheers
TSsheraton
post Jul 28 2011, 10:39 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 28 2011, 10:23 AM)
more help pls.
niro tiles. how much per piece (size?)? i'm guessing it's 1'x2' homogeneous tiles?
workmanship rm5.5k? how much total sq ft are we talking about here? and got waterproofing or not?
My toilet dimension is 6'x9'x9'. Yeah all waterproofing done. did the pond test twice to make sure there's no leakage.

Added on July 28, 2011, 10:41 am
QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jul 28 2011, 10:36 AM)
use plaster ceiling... Lower down abit the ceiling height to cover approximate 75mm of the tiles... This will make it your wall tiles looks tidy....

Put a access panel (Manhole) for the piping area.. this is for maintenance purposes... Oh ya remember to use Moisture Resistant ceiling board ya...

Cheers
hmm... will consider that too. Thanks!

This post has been edited by sheraton: Jul 28 2011, 10:41 AM

0.0208sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:51 AM