Termite, Who to trust ?

TSKelvin5717
post Jul 27 2011, 02:58 PM, updated 15y ago

742 posts

I found termite at my house staircase (picture upload 2night) so i call up a few pest control to give suggestion and quotation as i'm going to do reno shortly on september (expected) the problem is everyone have their own piece of mind doh.gif

1. Termiguard : Inspected the house, claim only the staircase infested and it's on early stage, suggest using baiting system Rm1600.00 - 1 year warranty (advise to do immediately)

2. Forget d name : Call up, explain, reco me to do baiting system also, Rm1500.00 (found from newspaper) 1 year warranty (advise to do immediately)

3. Antipest : Call up, explain, reco do drilling as claim termite can come from neighbor and protection 3 years (warranty) (advise to do immediately)

4. Rentokill : call up, explain, reco DUN DO ANYTHING ! [COLOR=red] doh.gif as he claim eventhou if put baiting, when i doing renovation the drilling and hacking on the wall will frighten the termite and they will run here and there and the baiting system become useless, and since i'm demolishing the staircase and do concrete and only staircase are infested, he told me only see if after reno got termite lagi go for baiting system from him then, but i worry to wait until finish reno sweat.gif (suggest to wait and c after reno) - did not disclose pricing

5. Stoppest : Inspected the house, also agree only staircase infested, suggested drilling right now, using Agenda chemical from Bayer corporation thumbup.gif give 5 years warranty, he claim must do drilling, then he will free spray on the termite on staircase, he claim once he do drilling (1day can complete) then reno star working the termite will sure run around, but they will end up knocking to the chemical that has been injected to the underground and die hmm.gif (suggest do before reno) - RM1800.00

who to believe ?

This post has been edited by Kelvin5717: Jul 27 2011, 03:00 PM
weikee
post Jul 27 2011, 03:12 PM

12,019 posts

Why not you tell your neighbor let them do the selection smile.gif
TSKelvin5717
post Jul 27 2011, 03:13 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 27 2011, 03:12 PM)
Why not you tell your neighbor let them do the selection smile.gif
why let them make decision ? i thought it has not much thing to do with them right ? anyway i did ask my left and right, my left side is a rented unit so they dunno anything if there owner done any preventive or what, but right side already done termite drilling when they move in... so ?? hmm.gif hmm.gif sweat.gif doh.gif
PJusa
post Jul 27 2011, 03:47 PM

2,027 posts

i had good experience with stoppest. the termite WILL run around when you start the reno. thus bayer agenda would be your best bet if you ask me. but i am no expert!
weikee
post Jul 27 2011, 04:11 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Jul 27 2011, 03:13 PM)
why let them make decision ? i thought it has not much thing to do with them right ? anyway i did ask my left and right, my left side is a rented unit so they dunno anything if there owner done any preventive or what, but right side already done termite drilling when they move in... so ??  hmm.gif  hmm.gif  sweat.gif  doh.gif
Because you mention

3. Antipest : Call up, explain, reco do drilling as claim termite can come from neighbor and protection 3 years (warranty) (advise to do immediately)

Maybe the neighbor not aware, and better ask them fix it too. If you plan to do tiling on your ground floor I suggest you use the drilling method. Also apply treatment on all the wood. Just my 2cents.
TSKelvin5717
post Jul 27 2011, 04:35 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(PJusa @ Jul 27 2011, 03:47 PM)
i had good experience with stoppest. the termite WILL run around when you start the reno. thus bayer agenda would be your best bet if you ask me. but i am no expert!
what is ur pricing for drilling ? i got quoted Rm1.8k for 5 years warranty bayer chemical for 20 x 65 house (quoted from Klang branch)

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 27 2011, 04:11 PM)
Because you mention

Maybe the neighbor not aware, and better ask them fix it too.  If you plan to do tiling on your ground floor I suggest you use the drilling method. Also apply treatment on all the wood.  Just my 2cents.
oh ic, but nth can be done, cox the neighbor is tenant only...the owner outside kl... hmm.gif

anymore suggestion or who ever use the above before ?
kelvyn
post Jul 27 2011, 04:49 PM

3,173 posts

Was quoted the following (using drilling method) before
Using Bayer Premise 200Sc (5 yrs ) - RM 1,800 to RM 1,400
Using Termiticide 38.7 EC (5 yrs) - RM 1,200

If your house has termite, there could be possibility that you neighbour's may also have. If their is not treated, then those from your neighbour may migrate to yours later smile.gif

It would be best if both your neighbours can termite treat together. thumbup.gif
Neoh1979
post Jul 27 2011, 05:55 PM

1,811 posts

Wah very cheap for agenda, I engaged
rentokil using agenda2.5ec for 5 yrs not mistaken 2.5k
for 20x70 house...u may want to consider
stoppest. I checked another company, same agenda 2.2k for 2 yrs. Not sure about premise.
Beware of drilling, kena a lot of pipes...which they replaced. It comes with 2 inspection per year
with respraying if termites found.
PJusa
post Jul 27 2011, 05:59 PM

2,027 posts

Kelvin5717,

my price was a lot higher (3,300 incl. 5 yrs warranty and annual inspection, unlimited follow-up visits) but thats probably because they had to pump agenda around a 3,500 sqft space wink.gif

what i can say is: follow ups where dealt with swiftly and usually next day after i call, very friendly - did only necessary treatments inside as i didnt want to drill inside the house. we had active termites in three doorframes. around 4 weeks after outside treatment all traces are gone. i still check - totally gone.

they did check the roof too and sprayed all the trusses just in case (with agenda i think).

all in all: worth the money due to the long lasting agenda. normally will last apparently 8 yrs (even though warranty only 5 yrs). its a lot cheaper than the anual normal pump action if compare cost p.a.
TSKelvin5717
post Jul 27 2011, 11:49 PM

742 posts

Sorry dunno why keep on uploading but cannot get the picture up, maybe size too big ? hmm.gif any other suggestion how i can show the picture here ? sorry newbie on image posting tongue.gif
weikee
post Jul 28 2011, 01:07 AM

12,019 posts

Termite can come from bottom, side, and above.

Side, and above usually coming from neighbor.
chinyen
post Jul 28 2011, 11:33 AM

754 posts

Biniris Asia 03-4293 4200 Pest Control
Jo_da48
post Jul 28 2011, 01:29 PM

1,529 posts

I agreed on Rentokill, as no point you doing now which only concentrate on one area which you will remove and replaced with Concrete, and will move to other place when reno start.
What you could do now is go hardware shop and buy the termite killer which cost RM80 and spray around your staircase and area around, or could spray the whole house if not one around. This will kill those termite if they can out. You also should inform your contractor to spray those wood when they start doing reno on your staircase so that they can’t ran anyway.
During the reno, you could ask them to spray around the house / roof area to prevent termite coming, or get the termite system in place.

weikee
post Jul 28 2011, 02:02 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Jul 28 2011, 01:29 PM)
I agreed on Rentokill, as no point you doing now which only concentrate on one area which you will remove and replaced with Concrete, and will move to other place when reno start.
What you could do now is go hardware shop and buy the termite killer which cost RM80 and spray around your staircase and area around, or could spray the whole house if not one around. This will kill those termite if they can out. You also should inform your contractor to spray those wood when they start doing reno on your staircase so that they can’t ran anyway.
During the reno, you could ask them to spray around the house / roof area to prevent termite coming, or get the termite system in place.
Don't use the termite killer got from normal hardware store for roof. Some brand are Class 2, very poison.

This post has been edited by weikee: Jul 28 2011, 02:02 PM
Jo_da48
post Jul 29 2011, 12:16 AM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 28 2011, 02:02 PM)
Don't use the termite killer got from normal hardware store for roof. Some brand are Class 2, very poison.
Agreed....that the reason I put "could spray the whole house if not one around". you will run out from the house.
TSKelvin5717
post Jul 29 2011, 11:10 PM

742 posts

http://postimage.org/image/2ot4b8z1g/

Where they hide ... (owner place the box on top and put those shelltox and liquor bottle inside to hide, i also did not check at first before buying lol doh.gif )

http://postimage.org/image/xw2rztw/

Opening their hide out..

http://postimage.org/image/2ov3fcw9w/

See that shocking.gif

OMG...

http://postimage.org/image/2ovib70pw/

Pening rclxub.gif

http://postimage.org/image/2ox7i2uzo/

My staircase habis...

This post has been edited by Kelvin5717: Jul 29 2011, 11:20 PM
weikee
post Jul 29 2011, 11:27 PM

12,019 posts

If you plan to renovate not a big deal. Better check the roof, if damage better allocate some budget.
TSKelvin5717
post Jul 29 2011, 11:31 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Jul 27 2011, 04:49 PM)
Was quoted the following (using drilling method) before
Using Bayer Premise 200Sc (5 yrs ) - RM 1,800 to RM 1,400
Using Termiticide 38.7 EC (5 yrs) - RM 1,200

If your house has termite, there could be possibility that you neighbour's may also have. If their is not treated, then those from your neighbour may migrate to yours later  smile.gif

It would be best if both your neighbours can termite treat together. thumbup.gif
I did talk to 1 of my neighbour that is owner, apparently they did not do any treament then i ask u are not afraid ? why dun we do together for safe side ? he said no need la already stay 5 years also no problem... Malay guy thinking doh.gif

QUOTE(Neoh1979 @ Jul 27 2011, 05:55 PM)
Wah very cheap for agenda, I engaged
rentokil using agenda2.5ec for 5 yrs not mistaken 2.5k
for 20x70 house...u may want to consider
stoppest. I checked another company, same agenda 2.2k for 2 yrs. Not sure about premise.
Beware of drilling, kena a lot of pipes...which they replaced. It comes with 2 inspection per year
with respraying if termites found.
maybe your space is bigger as mine only 20 x 65, but also 100ft more ? hmm

QUOTE(PJusa @ Jul 27 2011, 05:59 PM)
Kelvin5717,

my price was a lot higher (3,300 incl. 5 yrs warranty and annual inspection, unlimited follow-up visits) but thats probably because they had to pump agenda around a 3,500 sqft space wink.gif

what i can say is: follow ups where dealt with swiftly and usually next day after i call, very friendly - did only necessary treatments inside as i didnt want to drill inside the house. we had active termites in three doorframes. around 4 weeks after outside treatment all traces are gone. i still check - totally gone.

they did check the roof too and sprayed all the trusses just in case (with agenda i think).

all in all: worth the money due to the long lasting agenda. normally will last apparently 8 yrs (even though warranty only 5 yrs). its a lot cheaper than the anual normal pump action if compare cost p.a.
ya i also wanna ask this... i see the just come in and look look, then knock on door frame.. and said upstair no problem.. is this a normal inspection method ? cox i worry bout the roof... hmm any suggestion ? i ask stoppest if within 5 years found how ? he say drill again i was like rclxub.gif <-- i thought if we already move in the should use baiting or spray ?? blur la...

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 28 2011, 01:07 AM)
Termite can come from bottom, side, and above.

Side, and above usually coming from neighbor.
that is why i worried, cox 1 neighboor is tenanted i doubt he will pay for any single penny for this, another neighboor i thought got do but actually when i ask last thursday takde buat also doh.gif i worried if i do along also no point, they will come from side or above = i still kena sigh...

QUOTE(chinyen @ Jul 28 2011, 11:33 AM)
Biniris Asia 03-4293 4200 Pest Control
use it before ? good ?

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Jul 28 2011, 01:29 PM)
but if i dun do anything at all or just spray by my own i worried for future days.. cox now since i doing reno i can drill the floor which is still safe.. since outside drilling is ok, then interior near staircase also ok cox i make storeroom, behind kitchen all flooring will change also but another side of the living hall which not cover by staircase that marble flooring i'm retaining.. also worried it would look ugly but the stoppest guy assure they will patch back on similiar color which is 90% look alike.. true kah ?? cox they say my marble flooring easy to patch and match...

Added on July 29, 2011, 11:33 pm
QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 29 2011, 11:27 PM)
If you plan to renovate not a big deal. Better check the roof, if damage better allocate some budget.
ya i ask 2 pest control guy to check during inspection they just knock on upper floor wooden door frame only.. then say no problem.. i also doubt is it so easy to check hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Kelvin5717: Jul 29 2011, 11:33 PM
PJusa
post Jul 30 2011, 10:02 AM

2,027 posts

Kelvin5717,

when they came for inspection, they scanned the entire house all beams, frames, cabinets (even moved some) used a thermoscan to scan inside walls, ceiling and even behind tiled areas. then upstairs to inspect every beam of the roof too.

if you take stoppest and there is any reason for you to call them (i had residual activity in two frames possible because i didnt let them drill inside the house but only outside despite having three frames attacked) they swiftly came, inspected the entire ground floor sprayed where required. if not enough they can always pump more agendy through the exisitng drill holes i guess. they have been very friendly so far and getting them to come never (!) was an issue. even after they had my money wink.gif

i am impressed with agenda since we didnt have to do any drilling inside the house at all and could still quickly manage the termite issue without any significant damage happening in the house due to termites. stoppest didnt have to drill anywhere inside the house and didnt destroy any door frames (even the partially infected ones). so you dont have to drill inside the house at all if you are willing to accept the death of termites at a slightly slower rate. if will use them again once the agenda is worn out (maybe after 7 years to be on the safe side). you can probably avoid drilling inside on the sides where your house is not connected to the neighbour. connecting walls will have to bite the bullet and drill inside.
Jo_da48
post Jul 30 2011, 10:10 AM

1,529 posts

Just ignore your neighbour, and do what you need to do.
your role is inform them your house got termite, caustion step shall then taken from them, because is not somehting your could do.

0.0201sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:18 AM