27 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Recommendation for Credit Cards V1, TQ to contributors ! (From MOD)

TSGen-X
post Apr 13 2012, 01:15 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(nkloong08 @ Apr 13 2012, 01:36 AM)
Hi sifus, I need recommendation for my first credit card. smile.gif

My detail as below:
1. Annual Income:RM60k++

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: MUST

3. Card required for: Online purchase (Paypal) I'm a heavy paypal user & my monthly PBE debit card transaction exceed 10-20k+, Petrol

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil

5. Considering CC from banks: Citybank, SC, HSBC, CIMB

6. Others: Nothing

Looking for u guys reply, appreciate notworthy.gif
For Petrol get OCBC Titanium MasterCard and earn 5% at any petrol stations and for Dining, Groceries, Utility and Telco bills too. If you pump at Esso or Shell on Saturdays and Sundays only, then Maybankard 2 Cards American Express can earn you extra 5% on top of 5X Treats Points (applicable 365 days a year). Click below link to read more about Cash Back Cards.

http://generationsxyz.blogspot.com/p/cash-back.html

For Paypal, I am not too sure. There are some that uses the Maybankard 2 Amex card on Saturday and Sunday to earn 5% cash back. IF your paypal in RM, then maybe ok to use MBB 2 AMEX, BUT in foreign currency like USD, do note that you may be charge up to 3% with AMEX cards. Go search for Paypal at MBB Thread ( including past V1 to V3) or ask there. Click below link.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2248196

But the AMEX 5% cash back is capped at RM50 a month or RM1K spending. Anyway, for your info, Maybank MasterCard overseas conversion rate is among the lowest. So if you apply for the MBB 2 Cards, still can use the MBB 2 MasterCard and earn 1X TP and pay less in conversion. Try and compare with PBB Debit and see if they are any savings in conversion rate.

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Apr 13 2012, 08:28 AM)
My detail as below:
1. Annual Income:Below 60k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: MUST

3. Card required for: Company travel expenses (domestic) - Hotel payments, meal payments

4. Existing credit cards if any: M2

5. Considering CC from banks: As long as IBG from M2U and with online banking facility it is okay.

6. Others: Cash back, points, etc are welcome.
Also, my company has corporate rate with Sunway Pyramid tower hotel, any points for that is also welcome. Or loyalty card combo, etc.
If they accept MBB 2 AMEX, then you can earn 5X TP.

If they don't accept AMEX cards, you may want to consider getting HSBC Visa Signature where you do earn 10X and 5X points for hotels and dining overseas with T&C. Click below to read more about the card. Annual Income requirement RM100K but you can try and apply if you think you can benefit from it.

http://generationsxyz.blogspot.com/2012/03...-signature.html

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 13 2012, 01:19 PM
TSGen-X
post Apr 13 2012, 02:40 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MYstombox @ Apr 13 2012, 01:28 PM)
I doubt I'd travel overseas much at the moment.
Now mainly is travel to KL.
My bad for not reading carefully. For Domestic use I guess Maybankard 2 Cards AMEX teh best. For meals OCBC Titanium MAsterCard. OR if the hotels do not accept AMEX and you spend 2K to 5K, consider getting the Alliance Plat Card and earn up to 2% cash back.
TSGen-X
post Apr 18 2012, 01:31 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(unique1314 @ Apr 17 2012, 07:48 PM)
Hi,would like to know what cc suitable for me

Annual income: RM24000-30000
Annual fee: free
Card required for: cash back, grocery, astro, online shopping, mostly bill payment
Existing credit card: nil
Preferred bank: no specific
Other : cash back or reward point also ok
Estimate use of the card: less than 1k
Try apply Maybankard 2 Cards, if not mistaken Astro accept AMEX also. Go to Maybankard 2 Cards thread to read more.
TSGen-X
post Apr 22 2012, 10:15 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(hahn786 @ Apr 22 2012, 12:12 AM)
1. Annual Income: 36k
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must 
3. Card required for: online shopping, travel money & emergency
4. Existing credit cards if any: None
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: maybank? dont mind.
6. Others: i dun know. i love to travel, so this is important. and can i know whats the credit limit for the card that you'll suggest.
7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: depends. wont spend it every month.
Travel Money? You think the bank father Christmas ar? hahaha JK

Since you earn less than RM36K, the maximum credit limit for your credit card shall be no more than 2X your salary from each card issuer.

You can apply for Maybankard 2 Cards where you will get an American Express and MasterCard or Visa. The MasterCard and Visa online security is pretty good but not the AMEX.

But for traveling purposes, best have cards from two different issuers, just in case one gets rejected (if you go overseas, best you call up Customer Service to inform them). So I recommend that you apply for OCBC Titanium MasterCard where the annual fee is waived with 12 swipes a year (RM50 GST waived if you spend RM10K). To read more on OCBC Titanium MasterCard click here.

Having said the above, get a Visa or MasterCard Debit Card from your bank which can easily meet your needs for online shopping and on top of that can withdraw cash from ATMs when traveling without being imposed daily interest unlike credit cards.

QUOTE(profdrahhen @ Apr 22 2012, 06:44 AM)
1. Annual Income:
3. Card required for: online shopping, fueling
4. Existing credit cards if any: yes, DA Gold
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: any
6. Others: have instalment plan, plan to take professional course and pay monthly. can apply using existing card
7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: any purchase with full settlement every month

Firstly, nowadays banks cannot process application for new credit cards based on existing cards (unless it is the same issuer). Everyone needs to provide proof of income in accordance to BNM guidelines (except for Premier Banking that issue card automatically).

DA was good last year where they had Smart Plan offering 0% interest for education.

Currently RHB offering 9 months 0% for Education until Sept 2012.

Best you know which college you going for your course and then check with them if any credit card offer 0% installment plan, then go apply for that card. For example Maybankard has 0% installment via Ezy Pay for Prime College, KDU, LKW and etc. To check MBB list, go to M2U --> at Menu --> Cards --> CC Features --> Maybankard Ezy Pay --> View Participating Partners --> By category choose Education and you will see their list.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Apr 22 2012, 10:20 AM
TSGen-X
post Apr 23 2012, 12:07 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(rayod @ Apr 23 2012, 10:08 AM)
1. Annual Income: 27k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: What is this

3. Card required for: petrol , grocery ,online buy movie ticket

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: OCBC

6. Others: Benefit?

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card:RM200 above
Yah, OCBC Titanium MasterCard good for your requirements but the chances of your application being approve is slim since one needs annual income of RM36K. So you next best option is Maybankard 2 Cards for Petrol and Grocery followed by UOB One Card.

Click here to read more on Cash Back credit cards for Petrol Groceries and Movie Tickets..

Currently OCBC all cards and American Express Platinum cards having promo Free 1 for 1 ticket at GSC and Citibank all cards at TGV (Saturdays only). However, I think these free tickets not applicable for online booking. Also look into Citibank Clear Card which you can qualify where it offers FERE movie tickets on Fridays; only thing is you earn nothing with the Clear Card for petrol.

QUOTE(fastreader @ Apr 23 2012, 10:13 AM)
any card with cash rebate nowadays?..besides Standard Chartered of cuz. hmm.gif
you asking about new application or what? If for new application, Citibank got promo.

If you asking about cash rebate for your transactions, please click above link to my Cash Back Page on credit cards.
TSGen-X
post May 2 2012, 09:04 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(beyond86 @ May 1 2012, 07:43 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM36K to RM48K

3. Card required for: Petrol, Groceries, Cash Back/Rebate

4. Existing credit cards if any: M2Cards Gold, HLB Essential, SCB Gold card

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: OCBC Titanium / UOB One card / any better option?

6. Others:  Travel with car aggressively, want cash back & reward points.

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card:RM1K to RM5K
Besides MBB2 AMEX, OCBC TMC and UOB One Card, the only other card worth considering for 5% cash back for Petrol is Citibank Cash Back but same monthly cap as UOB One Card. Then again, Citibank Promos are better than UOB e.g. Free TGV ticket until end of the year.

If you travel outstanding frequently on the highways, maybe can consider MBB Petronas where you get 5X TP weekdays and 8XTP on weekends. Good thing about this card is that it has no monthly cap.

Citibank Credit Card Promotion 2012

Citibank Cash Back Platinum Credit Card

Maybank Maybankard Petronas Credit Card
TSGen-X
post May 2 2012, 05:48 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(xDjWanNabex @ May 2 2012, 11:34 AM)
1. Annual Income: RM30K to RM36K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Not too sure about this

3. Card required for: Petrol Cash Back/Rebate Only shopping, misc

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Im currently having my savings account in Maybank, but thinking of opening another account, to store my savings there. So no real preferences.

6. Others: None.

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K

Im just a fresh grad. So, i wont be spending much as i have put aside 1k already for my savings monthly. Maybe at most 1k on my credit card ( petrol + daily shopping etc ) What you guys reckon i should take? I was thinking of the normal maybank visa/mastercardMaybank credit card.

Thanks guys!
If you pump at Esso or Shell AND can do it on Saturdays and Sundays, apply for Maybankard 2 Cards where the AMEX card earns you 5% cash back on weekends for any kind of transaction. Go to Maybankard 2 Cards thread to read more.

Else apply for OCBC Titanium MasterCard where you can earn 5% cash back everyday at any petrol station.

Click here to my Cash Back Card page for more info.

TSGen-X
post May 2 2012, 09:34 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 2 2012, 06:50 PM)
Hey guys, my previous posting still applies... https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=45705204 Except that my salary range is more than 48k per annum now.

I'm tired of begging OCBC Ti for their card, applied since 22nd March 2012 and can't be approved until this point of time.

I don't see the point of me keeping the CIMB DA anymore and the GST will be charged to me in either June or July, so I'll need to cancel it before it charges on me again.

Any other card that I can apply? Prefer a card with cash rebate. Preferable MasterCard since I already have an AmEx and VISA.

Thank you!
For good installment plan, you already for MBB 2 Cards smile.gif

If you did not call OCBC, do call and check your status. OCBC TMC best card to compliment MBB2 Cards.

If you want for Petrol, max rebate RM30 per month for RM600 fuel, then Citibank Cash Back or UOB One Card.

Besides petrol and groceries, another option is go get Alliance Platinum Debit Card and earn 1.5% cash back for any transaction up to RM6K per month (that's what the website states but if I recall correctly, last time erry mentioned it was less]. You need to deposit RM20K to open account to qualify for the card BUT you can withdraw it out the next day smile.gif

http://www.alliancebank.com.my/debitmaster...atinum_ovw.html

QUOTE(beyond86 @ May 2 2012, 06:56 PM)
MBB Petronas, weekday just same with MBB2 AMEX, which 5x TP, while weekend only 8x TP.  so, just have MBB2 AMEX should be ok already.

Among OCBC TMC, UOB One Card and Citibank Cash Back, i think i will choose OCBC TMC since more stuffs can get 5% rebates.

Thanks for your precious suggestion.

Between, HLB 3 Dragon when we can have it? thumbup.gif
Yah, if you do not use up MBB 2 AMEX quota on weekend and don't pump at Petronas, no point getting Petronas card.

HLB 3 Dragon, those people there don't want take my advice what can I do, haha

This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 2 2012, 09:37 PM
TSGen-X
post May 2 2012, 10:04 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ May 2 2012, 09:50 PM)
hmm.gif Installment plan, not so much these days. Prefer to pay in full amount. smile.gif
I have been following up and it is still pending for documents, even the agent handles my case also goes  rclxub.gif
Fuel not really important, I think I'll go for UOB. Spend more in groceries and clothes...
haha, maybe you should read your previous post where you stated Installment Plan tongue.gif

For clothes, better you use your Maybank 2 Visa if AMEX is not accepted instead of UOB One Card and earn miserable 0.3%
TSGen-X
post May 3 2012, 03:56 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(unique1314 @ May 3 2012, 02:33 PM)

i've apply for the maybankcard 2 card.
btw, i've ask the front desk staff about online payment, she told me that we cant get any treat points and cash rebate if i do online shopping or online pay bill. Is that true?
but i saw in the product disclosure it states that the treat points is for all spend on the cards.
can someone who already have this card clarify for me?
For Maybankard 2 Cards (AMEX, Visa or MC), you will earn Treats Points for any type of transactions.
TSGen-X
post May 4 2012, 10:43 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(unique1314 @ May 4 2012, 10:21 AM)
but not the 5% rebate right?
so the 5% rebate is for outlet retail purchase rite?
For online, some do get the 5% rebate and some don't. Tricky especially for overseas transactions where the timezone is different from us. For Pay Pal, it was reported that some do get the 5% cash back.
TSGen-X
post May 11 2012, 09:06 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(minah_ronggeng @ May 10 2012, 10:14 AM)
1. Annual Income: RM30k - RM36k
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: No
3. Card required for:
i) Petronas Petrol
ii) Shopping goods
iii) Bill Payment
iv) Online transaction

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: maybank/cimb/citibank/public bank

6. Others: nil

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: ~RM1.5k
For Petronas and Utility bills - OCBC Titanium MasterCard. Only thing is the annual income requirement is RM36K. No harm trying to apply for it if your income close to RM36K.

For you income range, you may consider UOB One Card where you can earn 5% for petrol up to RM600, i.e. max cash back for petrol RM30/month BUT since you do spend RM1.5K per month, most of the other transactions you will earn only 0.3%. Click here to my Cash Back Page to see a comparison table for different types of spending. Please note, it seems that UOB now requires us to swipe 60 times a years to get the annual fee waived which should not bother you since you do not mind paying annual fee based on info provided above.

Another card to consider is Maybank Petronas Visa Credit Card where you will earn 5X Treats Points (Mon-Fri) and 8X (Saturdays & Sundays) and the 8X includes groceries too. 5X and 8X Treats Points works out to be approximately 2.5% and 4% returns based on cash voucher redemption. For non petrol redemption, I think (I am not sure) you should earn 1X TP which works out to be 0.5% returns. Go to Maybank website and look for Treats Points to learn more.

QUOTE(joshuatly @ May 11 2012, 12:21 AM)
Hey Im asking this on behalf of my parents...

1. Annual Income: RM48 to RM60K
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Maybe?
3. Card required for: List all your needs.
Petrol @ Esso/mobile (about 3k+ petrol per month) well, thats why im asking here.
Education in US, Shopping cashback, pay utility bills, points.... I dont know. seems like petrol is the one they spend most on.
4. Existing credit cards if any: none
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: RHB, Public Bank, others will be fine if the beneficial is better than others.
6. Others:
7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: ~RM5K
Hey back to you too. I think you better start to learn how to greet people by not saying HEY.

You mentioned parents, so each of them earn the amount stated or combined? When applying for credit cards, only income from the Principal applicant is taken into consideration. Income cannot be combined.

For RM3K Petrol, I guess they need to pump almost every 2-3 days and cannot wait till Saturdays and Sundays unless they driving a commercial diesel vehicle. With the Smiles card, they already getting RM45 FREE petrol monthly.

If both of them earn up to RM60K each, then it is great because each of them should go get their own Principal OCBC Titanium MasterCard and with that, the total combined cash back is RM100/month. Then only have RM1K remain, go apply for the Maybankard 2 Cards where the AMEX earns the cardholder 5XTreats Points PLUS additional 5% cash back on Saturdays and Sundays. These cards are free for life (OCBC TMC need to swipe 12 times per year which should not be a problem for your parents).

But if only one of your parents is earning or declaring income, then to get maximum cash back, need like 4 cards. BIG headache to keep track.

OCBC Titanum MasterCard - Max RM1K/month petrol, cash back capped at RM50/month.

Maybankard 2 Cards AMEX - Max RM1K/month petrol, cash back capped at RM50/month for transactions on Saturdays and Sundays only PLUS 5000 Treats Points/month. One year can get 60,000 Treats Points. Problem is that they MUST pump on Saturdays or Sundays to get the extra 5% cash back.

UOB One Card or Citibank Cash Back Platinum or BOTH - Max RM600/month Petrol per card, cash back capped at RM30/month per card. Your parents can consider if they want go get both cards or just one of them. Assuming they get only one, i.e. UOB One Card or Citibank Platinum Cash Back, that means there is balance of RM400, but they won't be losing out much if they use the Maybankard 2 AMEX. Reason being:

With UOB/Citibank - RM400 petrol 5% = RM20/month; therefore, total cash back RM240 and less GST RM50, effectively they get RM180.

If they already have the Maybankard 2 Cards AMEX, they will be earning 2.5% returns based on 5X TP and cash voucher redemption and no extra GST. Therefore we are talking about diff of 2.5% for RM400 = 10/month or RM120/year BUT remember no extra GST and one card less to pay monthly (this may be a big hassle if your place don't have a branch or your parents not into online banking).

Anyway, also check out the link I posted on Cash Back cards above in my reply minah_ronggeng.

As for US Education. With official income of RM60K and no previous credit card, I got a strong feeling it will be tough to get credit limit of RM30K (USD10K) and above. Tuition fee itself per semester should be more than USD10K. Not only that, there is an overseas conversion fee for credit cards and some Universities in US charges "service fee" up to 2.5% for credit card; therefore, depending on what card and which Uni, you may end up paying extra 5% for nothing by using credit card. Go check out the Uni website to see if they imposes surcharge for credit card and what credit card they accept (you may be suprised they accept AMEX but not Visa or MasterCard). However, if you really want a credit card for overseas, go get Maybank Visa or MasterCard where their overseas admin fee is amongst the lowest. And if you apply for Maybankard 2 Cards, you'll get an AMEX and a Visa or MasterCard and therefore no additional GST and best of all FREE FOR LIFE.

IF your parents have lots of cash, go deposit RM250K with Standard Chartered Bank and get their Priority Banking Visa Infinite where they should get a higher credit limit compared to applying based on their income. And this card earns the card older 5X Choice Points for overseas which should cover any overseas transaction/admin cost and best of all it also comes with a FREE PB Debit Card that imposes no fee for overseas cash withdrawals. If the person going to US is above 21 years old, put the guy as Principal account holder and he will get the Debit Card and also a Priority Pass Membership Card too. If you want to learn more on SCB VI, you can read it at my blog.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 11 2012, 09:16 AM
TSGen-X
post May 13 2012, 09:47 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ May 13 2012, 07:53 AM)
1. Annual Income:  RM48 to RM60K
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: No.
3. Card required for: Instant Cash, Payments during oversea trips, Petrol, Online Purchase
4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: CIMB since thats where my savings are stored and I'd like to have everything under one roof if possible.
6. Others: -
7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: RM1K to 5K
Instant cash - A big NO NO with credit cards because you'll be levied an upfront fee of 5% and thereafter daily interest of 18% p.a. until you settle in full. Get a debit card if you need to withdraw cash overseas. I suggest you read my article titled Credit Card Interest Rates - CC 244 by clicking here.

Since you only want CIMB card, any credit card from them will satisfy your requirements above but you may not earn anything for Petrol unless you go with CIMB Petronas credit card.
TSGen-X
post May 13 2012, 10:09 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ May 13 2012, 09:52 AM)
I'll go over the articles once I have a decent internet connection, admittedly there is a lot that I do not know about them.

Would I have better options if I didnt have to exclusively go with CIMB?

And which bank offers debit cards that allow overseas withdrawal and online purchasing?
Generally Debit Cards with Visa or MasterCard logo allows online transactions (except maybe Alliance Bank) and overseas transactions. And most debit cards allow withdrawal of cash overseas BUT with a fee.

If you are going to a place where they have Citibank ATMs (go to the particular country website to check location), then maybe worthwhile to open a Citibank Savings account (like 0% interest) which allows you to withdraw cash from their ATMs without any fee (except for Australia eventho they advertise worldwide).

UOB debit card pretty good but it imposes RM12/per transaction. Recently this fee is no longer applicable if you withdraw from UOB ATMs SG or Jakarta. Only thing about this card is the limit is RM1K per day.

Go check out CIMB Debit Card at their website for more info on their card, e.g. withdrawal fee and daily withdrawal limit.

Best if the debit card allows you to withdraw cash from ATMs with "cirrus" or "Plus" logo.

For local transactions, go check out OCBC Titanium MasterCard and Maybankard 2 Cards Thread.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 13 2012, 10:10 AM
TSGen-X
post May 13 2012, 10:28 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Current Events guy @ May 13 2012, 10:16 AM)
What I got from this is that I need a debit card that has Visa/Mastercard with the Plus logo. The last time I checked over a year ago, not many banks had these.

One other question I have is regarding my father's choice in a card; he is a seasoned traveler who goes overseas every month or so and spends quite some time there for work purposes. He swears by a HSBC card stating that it's easy for him to withdraw money or settle payments due to the sheer availability of these banks worldwide. What is your take on this and would you suggest he goes for something else, like Citibank instead?
Bro, Plus or cirrus logo.

My comment on Citibank was in reply to your need for cash withdrawal (and for online and face to face transactions too). You only need RM20 to open an account and you'll be issued a Citibank Debit card with Plus logo smile.gif UOB on the other hand has cirrus logo.

HSBC Malaysia does not issue any Debit Card but only ATM card. If your dad is withdrawing cash from his HSBC credit card - well, if he is happy paying interest with it, not a problem I guess. If your dad has HSBC online account, yah, it makes it easier to pay bills online.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 13 2012, 11:30 AM
TSGen-X
post May 13 2012, 11:45 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(anglee82 @ May 13 2012, 11:07 PM)

3. Card required for:  Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate Only, Free Lounge Access

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks:
was thinking of public bank.bcos i hv FDs and c.account and investment with them.but cant seem to get much info on public bank card fr page1..

6. Others: was hoping to apply for plat card..bcos my husband got plat and he always left me out when it comes to lounge cry.gif

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: RM1K to RM5K

thanks for helping all
What, your husband goes to the lounge without you! Did you know that he can bring you along but need to pay for your entry. If you got a supp card from him, you go charge it to the card and enter with him, hahaha.

Most cards that allow access to Plaza Premium Lounge requires minimum income RM60K/year (Platinum).

If your income is close to RM48K/year, apply for American Express Kris Flyer card, it allows free access to LCCT and KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge. Click below link
http://www.americanexpress.com.my/amx_info...CB-CardBenefits

As far as Public Bank is concerned, unless you have like half a million in FD and gets invited for their Visa Infinite, forget about them. And if you really got RM500K, better you go deposit with StanChart and get their Visa Infinite which allows you unlimited access to airport lounge worldwide.

For more info on airport lounge, please go to the relevant thread here.

And for Cash Back credit card, go apply OCBC Titanium MasterCard where you will get 5% for Petrol, dining, utility bills and telco bills and 1% for other transaction. BUT, if you husband pay for all those stuff and you shop at Isetan, Parkson, MJ, JJ, go get Maybankard 2 Cards where you will earn 5X Treats Points everyday which is better than OCBC Titanium MasterCard 1% cash back. AND on Saturdays or Sundays, you will earn EXTRA 5% cash back with the Maybankard 2 AMEX. Recommend you click here to read my review on Maybankard 2 Cards where I have compared it with OCBC TMC.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 13 2012, 11:46 PM
TSGen-X
post May 14 2012, 06:48 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(anglee82 @ May 14 2012, 12:13 AM)
thanks for the reply..

hubby onli goes in to hv a drink with his friend...we ladies dun go in..mostly hit the duty free shops
as for the income..i onli declare 48k in my BE..no point declare too much..if u know what i mean ya..
will ask SC regarding that visa infinite..the sc lady didnt mention it when i made a 100k FD last month for their 4% six-month offer.. rclxub.gif

Added on May 14, 2012, 12:18 amhow abt the GSC cinemas with hongloeng bank i think..isaw the promotion counter at the cinemas..they told me 48k can apply plat..but dun know much bcos no account there
haha, you want better card to gain FREE access to airport lounge, then declare more income tongue.gif Then again the "savings" you get should cover the cost to enter the airport lounge.

One needs to deposit minimum RM250K with SCB to be entitled to Priority Banking status and therefore automatically eligible for the SCB Visa Infinite. And got to maintain this said amount or else you'll be charged a monthly penalty fee, but you may be able to maintain the SCB VI card without Priority Banking status - click here to read my article on SCB Visa Infinite.

As for Public Bank, better you calculate the interest due to you before you go withdraw your FD. Last time their "system" failed to pay me 2 days interest when the maturity day happened to fall on a Saturday where I could only withdraw the fund on Monday. Had to complain to the manager who was not so helpful until I mentioned about going to BNM and only then they agreed to pay me the interest due to me. Clue - look out for the word "Penalty" in the withdrawal receipt.

GSC cinema - with OCBC TMC and AMEX Platinum, you'll get 1 for 1 free ticket at GSC until end of June 2012.

Click here to read more about Free 1 for 1 ticket at GSC.
Click here for Maybank Credit Card Promotion.

And since you are in FD - click here to my Fixed Deposit page at my blog for latest FD promotions.

Last but not least, if your hubby got 2 or more cards that allow free access to LCCT or KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge (e.g. SCB Plat or Alliance Plat or Citibank Plat), he can actually use his cards to allow you free entry too but not for the case if he has 2 Priority Pass Membership cards.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 14 2012, 08:17 AM
TSGen-X
post May 14 2012, 04:51 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(sunblaze @ May 14 2012, 03:45 PM)

3. Card required for: Petrol (Shell RM200-300 p.m.), groceries (Jusco), utility/phone/internet bills, movies (GSC), any perks or cashback at Starbucks and bookstores (MPH) would be a nice extra. Occasional online shopping.

4. Existing credit cards if any: none

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Maybank/Public Bank. Can consider others too, if the terms are good!

6. Others: Something that avoids the GST RM50 charge?

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card:RM1k or thereabouts.
For your case, OCBC Titanium MasterCard click here to read my review on it and go to the OCBC Thread the check out places that we thought we are entitled to 5% cash back but only got 1%.

However, if you can pump petrol, do your groceries (Giant, Tesco, Carrefour, Cold Storage and JJ Supermarket), buy books at MPH and visit Starbucks on Saturdays and Sundays, get the Maybankard 2 Cards because the AMEX not only earns you 5X Treats Points BUT EXTRA 5% cash back. In the same link I provided above, go click on Maybankard 2 Card to read my review and comparison with OCBC TMC.
TSGen-X
post May 16 2012, 11:01 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(sweeneyT @ May 16 2012, 04:19 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM24K to RM30K
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Yes
3. Card required for: Petrol, Education, Cash Back/Rebate, Shopping
4. Existing credit cards if any: CIMB Bank Credit Card (Classic)
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Anywhere in KL
6. Others: Please be specific. Example: Looking for CC (VISA+MASTERCARD) 2 cards, with a reasonably low interest rate and flexible payment
7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K - RM1.5K
Thanks in advance
Firstly, noted you have an existing CIMB credit card and you want another 2 cards. In accordance to Bank Negara Malaysia ruling, you can only have credit cards issued from 2 different issuers (banks). Therefore, you can get another credit card from CIMB (no point since no CIMB cards meet your requirement for cash back unless you pump at Petronas) and/or few cards from another ONE issuer only.

For petrol: if your income is close to RM30K and you pump on Saturdays or Sundays at stations like Esso or Shell which accept AMEX, then try go apply for Maybankard 2 Cards else go with UOB One Card which earns you 5% cash back at ALL petrol station everyday.

I got no idea what you mean by education, based on your income, your credit limit should not be more than RM5K (is this enough to pay for the tuition fee?)

If you mean you want 0% installment plans, then get Maybankard 2 Cards because many merchant offers 0% plan for MBB cards. If you are talking using credit card and not paying in full monthly, and thus being levied interest, any credit card you apply also no difference since you will end up being a slave to the banks.

Anyway, suggest you read my article Entry Level Credit Cards - Income Less Than RM30K per year.

TSGen-X
post May 17 2012, 05:37 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(Irbean @ May 17 2012, 05:30 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM30K to RM36K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must / If possible

3. Card required for: List all your needs. Petrol, Overseas Transactions, Emergency (during no money time but need money)

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: HSBC Amanah / CIMB Islamic but not Maybank

6. Others: Please be specific. Example: prefer Islamic credit card products. Using it for hotel booking, and other usual purchased.

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Thingking to put 3-5K credit limit. Not more than that.
Since you only want HSBC or CIMB - HSBC you only got one option. As for CIMB, if you pump at Petronas, check out their Petronas card where you can get some cash back for petrol. Like I mentioned in my earlier reply to another guy's need for cash when overseas (please read previous page), go get a i-Debit card from your current bank and asked them if it can be used overseas (look out for Plus or cirrus logo).

This post has been edited by Gen-X: May 17 2012, 08:20 PM

27 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0561sec    0.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:22 AM