124 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Recommendation for Credit Cards V1, TQ to contributors ! (From MOD)

TSGen-X
post Mar 25 2011, 06:03 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(pohsoon @ Mar 25 2011, 05:30 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM70K to RM90K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must

3. Card required for: Grocery(Giant), Petrol, Cash Back, Insurance ~10k per year. Not much shopping and dining out smile.gif

4. Existing credit cards if any: CIMB Petronas Platinum.

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: OCBC Titanium, GE OCBC, Maybank 2

6. Others: Maximize cash rebates, savings thru points.

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Normally 1k-2k per month, excluding insurance above. Foreseeable future might incur renovation and furnishing costs for a house.

Thank you.
Get OCBC for your petrol and grocery. However, since you spend above RM1K per month, you may need another card since OCBC cash back capped at RM50/month.

Maybankard 2 Cards do give cash back plus points for groceries and petrol, but I noted you got CIMB Petronas so if you want to stick to Petronas, then Maybankard 2 Cards AMEX may not be suitable for you. If you want change to Esso, then get MBB 2. click here to go to Petrol thread. Since you don't do much shopping then Maybankard 2 Amex also useless, but I must point out, you just need to spend RM2000 in a year with MBB 2 Amex at JJ, Tesco, Giant, MetroJaya and other places that accept Amex and with 5XTP you will get 10,000 points which can offset GST and if you happen to use in on weekends, with RM2000 over time you get back additional RM100.

Other cash back card won't give you much in return for your case.

Click here to read about OCBC Titanium where I also have a table comparing cash back cards.
Click here to read about Maybankard 2 Cards review.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 25 2011, 06:06 PM
pohsoon
post Mar 25 2011, 06:07 PM

17 posts

Thanks for the advice, Gen-X. smile.gif
zahack
post Mar 25 2011, 06:26 PM

1. Annual Income: RM60K to RM100K

3. Card required for: List all your needs. Petrol, Groceries, Online Trans

4. Existing credit cards if any: DirectAccess

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Any

6. Others: Please be specific. : FFL supp cards, if can offset GST for principal and supp would be very beneficial

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: RM1K to RM5K

TSGen-X
post Mar 25 2011, 06:41 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(zahack @ Mar 25 2011, 06:26 PM)

6. Others: Please be specific. : FFL supp cards, if can offset GST for principal and supp would be very beneficial

OCBC card is the only card that gives auto waiver on GST if spent RM10K with it a year. I think apply to supp card too. Call them at 1300885000. But with cash back of RM50 and nothing more after that, having a OCBC supp card is useless too.

You getting nothing with DA for petrol and groceries on Sundays only got cash back. Best for you Maybankard 2 Cards Free For Life. Like I mentioned above, spend RM2000 get 5XTP to get 10,000 points to offset GST plus up to RM600/yr cash back on weekends. Since you do spend more than RM1K, add OCBC too and with both OCBC and Maybankard 2 Cards, your total cash back for a year comes out to be RM1200. Only problem you got to keep track which card has maxed out the cap of RM50/month. Initially headache for me, now I just use OCBC for Petrol and sometimes Dining and all other transactions I use MBB 2 Amex smile.gif

chemistry
post Mar 25 2011, 06:52 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(zahack @ Mar 25 2011, 06:26 PM)
OCBC TITANIUM
GST waiver for annual spending >10K
Annual fee waiver for 12 swipes in a year

Supp card gets GST waiver for spending >5K
Automatic annual fee waiver IF principal card gets waiver.

OCBC Online can pay Celcom,Digi,maxis,Astro,TNB,Syabas,Municipal councils,etc.
TM bill can be paid via TM Online or PayOnline.

Since you spend more than 1K every month, one OCBC TITANIUM is not enough. You can also apply for Maybankard 2 (Amex Visa/Mastercard). Two cards, 1 GST (not waivable but can be offset by 10,000 TreatsPoints which you can accumulate in no time).

This post has been edited by chemistry: Mar 25 2011, 08:24 PM
RedBishop
post Mar 25 2011, 11:59 PM

2,167 posts

1. Annual Income: RM24000

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: No

3. Card required for: buy online stuff, petrol

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.

5. Preferable card: Citibank

6. Location: Penang

chemistry
post Mar 26 2011, 12:17 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(RedBishop @ Mar 25 2011, 11:59 PM)
Try Maybankard 2 Gold.
If declined then turn to :

Alliance You:nique
Link

OR

PB-Esso Mobil Gold Visa card
Link
TSGen-X
post Mar 26 2011, 12:20 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(RedBishop @ Mar 25 2011, 11:59 PM)

for petrol the cards are very limited for your case. Ambank Carz for all Petrol Stations, UOB OneCard for BHP Petrol, CIMB Petronas Classic and Public Bank Visa Gold Esso.

Citibank got Shell but to enjoy maximum returns you need to have balance outstanding which is not good practice and I won't recommend it.

SUSizdyharz
post Mar 26 2011, 01:40 AM

469 posts

Halo masters n sifus...
How long normally it takes to process Public Bank Credit Card Gold Visa?
I just apply it today and I need it urgently as I need to go to oversea in 2 weeks time. This is the 1st time im applying for credit card. My annual salary is rm130K.
chemistry
post Mar 26 2011, 02:00 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(izdyharz @ Mar 26 2011, 01:40 AM)
Halo masters n sifus...
I just apply it today and I need it urgently as I need to go to oversea in 2 weeks time. This is the 1st time im applying for credit card. My annual salary is rm130K.
you still have the time to apply either MAYBANKARD 2 PLATINUM or MBB PLATINUM VISA.

Call PBB to withdraw the application. Then quickly go to Maybankard Centre at 1Utama/KLCC/Menara Maybank to apply.

I think MBB VISA PLATINUM will get priority processing since it's a premium card. Usually take less than half day to produce the card(to my best knowledge)

Besides competitive forex rate, this card also earns double TreatsPoints for overseas spending.

This post has been edited by chemistry: Mar 26 2011, 11:51 AM
TSGen-X
post Mar 26 2011, 08:20 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(izdyharz @ Mar 26 2011, 01:40 AM)
Halo masters n sifus...
Please follow 1st post template.
Why you want Public Bank Gold Visa? It will take more than 2 weeks to get the card after you submit at the branch. Read previous pages, I posted CIMB Credit Card centre contact number, call them, card issued in a day if you qualify.

QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 26 2011, 02:00 AM)
you still have the time to apply either MAYBANKARD 2 PLATINUM or MBB PLATINUM VISA.

Call PBB to withdraw the application. Then quickly go to Maybankard Centre at 1Utama/KLCC/Menara Maybank to apply.

MBB Plat Visa can enter MAS Golden Lounge, which you may find it convenient. Besides competitive forex rate, this card also earns double TreatsPoints for overseas spending.
agree with chem on Maybankard 2 Cards but chemistry, I think you got confused MBB World MasterCard with MBB Platinum. MBB Platinum don't grant you access to Golden Lounges but to MBB Private Banking Centres.
chemistry
post Mar 26 2011, 11:54 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Mar 26 2011, 08:20 AM)
agree with chem on Maybankard 2 Cards but chemistry, I think you got confused MBB World MasterCard with MBB Platinum. MBB Platinum don't grant you access to Golden Lounges but to MBB Private Banking Centres.
oops oops, my bad.
I edited my previous post as corrected. Thanks to Gen-X.
SUSizdyharz
post Mar 26 2011, 01:59 PM

469 posts

Oh.. thanks sifus...
Btw, the reason why i chose Public Bank just to avoid the hassle since the bank already know my bank transactions, n ect.. Well that what I was thinking.
So.. now should I just cancel the application first n apply for Maybank or CIMB card or... dont have to cancel it but apply for another card with the different bank?

I dont really care bout the benefits n ect.. I just need a credit card that can be approved as soon as possible n thats all coz once i return from oversea im gona cancel the card anyways.

This post has been edited by izdyharz: Mar 26 2011, 02:01 PM
chemistry
post Mar 26 2011, 02:05 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(izdyharz @ Mar 26 2011, 01:59 PM)
Oh.. thanks sifus...
Btw, the reason why i chose Public Bank just to avoid the hassle since the bank already know my bank transactions, n ect.. Well that what I was thinking.
So.. now should I just cancel the application first n apply for Maybank or CIMB card or... dont have to cancel it but apply for another card with the different bank?

I dont really care bout the benefits n ect.. coz once i return from oversea im gona cancel the card anyways.
well , you may let PBB proceed with your application, but don't forget you'll need to pay RM50 tax for this new card. Unless you don't bother about RM50 lor...

Yes, either Maybank or CIMB Card Centre can issue new card within one day.
Why must cancel it when you come back? Don't you use credit card? It is very useful tool to manage finance. Spend within capability will not harm you anyway.

Well, you may not need those benefits and privileges, but since you need the card urgently, you can only apply for premium cards like MBB Platinum Visa or Mastercard at Maybankard Centre, or CIMB Visa Signature at CIMB Card Centre (Sunway Pyramid). MBB is preferred due to lower admin charge for foreign transactions.

This post has been edited by chemistry: Mar 26 2011, 02:10 PM
SUSizdyharz
post Mar 26 2011, 02:12 PM

469 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 26 2011, 02:05 PM)
well , you may let PBB proceed with your application, but don't forget you'll need to pay RM50 tax for this new card. Unless you don't bother about RM50 lor...

Yes, either Maybank or CIMB Card Centre can issue new card within one day.
Why must cancel it when you come back? Don't you use credit card? It is very useful tool to manage finance. Spend within capability will not harm you anyway.
Oic.. thanks for the information chemistry... Yeah i never use credit card before n all this while i dont really need a credit card. Since now im going to US for a month i think better I apply credit card, dun wanna bring a lot of money there.. troublesome. But I dont travel a lot so will apply back if theres a need in d future. I dunno whether this approach is ok or not but I always will go for cash unless if theres no choice.
chemistry
post Mar 26 2011, 02:24 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(izdyharz @ Mar 26 2011, 02:12 PM)
Oic.. thanks for the information chemistry... Yeah i never use credit card before n all this while i dont really need a credit card. Since now im going to US for a month i think better I apply credit card, dun wanna bring a lot of money there.. troublesome. But I dont travel a lot so will apply back if theres a need in d future. I dunno whether this approach is ok or not but I always will go for cash unless if theres no choice.
Haha, you live your way, we don't want to sound like forcing you to use cards. tongue.gif
TSGen-X
post Mar 26 2011, 03:58 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(izdyharz @ Mar 26 2011, 02:12 PM)
If you really don't want a credit card, you can have a Public Bank Debit Card link to your account where you can use like a credit card and withdraw cash from ATM in USD with it.

Never withdraw cash with credit card.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Mar 26 2011, 03:59 PM
Coconut
post Mar 26 2011, 11:30 PM

1,268 posts

1. Annual Income: RM30K to RM60K

3. Card required for: Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate Only, Overseas Transactions, Free Lounge Access

4. Existing credit cards if any: Citibank Clear Card

5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Maybank

6. Others: None

7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: RM 1k to 2k

whojen
post Mar 27 2011, 12:16 AM

1,207 posts

TS

maybe out of topic a bit. If i have a EPP in HSBC for another 12 more month for the Iphone Plan.

Can i transfer the EPP to another CC or bank. starting to dislike HSBC alot! ? Balance transfer? Dun think so
chemistry
post Mar 27 2011, 01:26 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(Coconut @ Mar 26 2011, 11:30 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM30K to RM60K
3. Card required for: Petrol, Cash Back/Rebate Only, Overseas Transactions, Free Lounge Access
4. Existing credit cards if any: Citibank Clear Card
5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Maybank
6. Others: None
7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: RM 1k to 2k
A combo of Maybankard 2 (M2) Gold and OCBC Titanium will cover almost all your needs.
M2 are free for life, while ocbc titanium annual fee can be waived by just 12 swipes in a year.
There is no GST waiver for M2. However, OCBC automatically waive GST for annual usage more than RM10,000.

For Lounge access, you may need to apply additional card such as Standard Chartered Business Platinum (or normal Platinum) for unlimited access to KLIA Plaza Premium Lounge only. However if you put it in drawer everyday and only use it to get lounge access , I'm afraid annual fee waiver is unlikely.

There are alternative such as Alliance Premier/Platinum debit cards, but number of access is limited on monthly quota basis.

Given that your monthly usage is not very high, M2 and OCBC Titanium suffice already. Give up that lounge access.

124 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0173sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:18 PM