[Review] Cougar Evolution with Build, newbie review. Photo Heavy

TSZaRnX
post Jul 25 2011, 11:17 PM, updated 14y ago

673 posts

This would be my first review in LYN forum. Hope you guys could spare my grammatical errors and low quality photos (using iPhone Cam)

So i had been researching for my new rig and decided to settle myself with CM HAF 922 Advanced, but then i was approached by a close fren of mine who requested me to tryout this case instead the usual CM casing. i guess why not since this new casing had a slight lower price (RM300) with major similarity of HAF 922.

The item reached last Sunday. Cougar Evolution

i do like its packaging as HEC used woven bag instead of normal plastic bag to cover the casing

The casing is relatively heavy compare to my old CM Elite casing. 11kg

A stripped-down Cougar Evolution

i do like the design which all major function buttons and panel are on top instead of front as i plan to place the rig on floor

Casing also came with a build in fan controller knob.

This post has been edited by ZaRnX: Aug 22 2011, 09:58 AM
TSZaRnX
post Jul 25 2011, 11:19 PM

673 posts

Top View

Hidden Bay

With a slight push, you could place SSD or HDD onto it and plug into system using the provided build in SATA cable

Side View. To be honest, i dun really fonder the Evolution wordings, i might spray it off and powder coat in near future.

Bunk out for hidden cable management slot. Similar to HAF 922

Back of casing

Courtesy of HEC to provide a slide out air filter to cover the PSU fan for cleaning purpose.

This post has been edited by ZaRnX: Jul 25 2011, 11:22 PM
TSZaRnX
post Jul 25 2011, 11:21 PM

673 posts

Bottom of casing. 2 to 3cm legging built attached to prevent block of airflow.

14cm Airflow install mount

To remove the side panel, just unscrew and flip off instead of sliding off.

5.25 and 3.5 Bays

Different from CM, the casing uses clip on/clip off to lock the drives at its bay.

3.25 Bay. It could be removed if unscrew the top and bottom screw.

This post has been edited by ZaRnX: Jul 25 2011, 11:23 PM
TSZaRnX
post Jul 25 2011, 11:22 PM

673 posts

According to the web, this is the antishock tray to mount the HDD before sliding in to the bay. Has yet to test it out.

Quite spacious for a Mediocre mid tower build though. It could fit up to 305mm GPU though.

Fan provided. 12 cm with orange padding to prevent noise and vibration to the casing. Nice idea.

Back of Mobo tray. (Bunk at the side panel) Spacious.

Place for cable management to install hooks and pins.

Luckily i had not bought my mobo, this is the connector for USB3.0 on the front panel, not many Mobo has the slot. At the moment i found only Asus Z68 has it.

This post has been edited by ZaRnX: Jul 25 2011, 11:24 PM
TSZaRnX
post Jul 25 2011, 11:24 PM

673 posts

Main Specifications
The main specifications for the Cougar Evolution case include:
Style: Mid-tower
Application: ATX and smaller form factors derived from this one
Material: Zinc-coated steel (SECC) body
Power supply: Doesn’t come with the product
Available colors: Black
Side panel: Meshed/transparent window
Dimensions: 20.2 x 8.8 x 20.6 inches (514 x 223 x 523 mm) (H x W x D)
Net weight: 19 Lbs (8.6 kg)
Gross weight: 22.5 Lbs (11 kg)
Bays: Six external 5.25” bays, one 3.5”/2.5” external bay with hot-swap connectors, and four internal 3.5”/2.5” bays
Expansion slots: Eight
Maximum video card length: 12” (305 mm)
Maximum CPU cooler height: 7.1” (180 mm)
Fans: One 120 mm fan on the front panel (1,500 rpm, 52.18 cfm, 28.2 dBA) and one 120 mm fan on the rear panel (1,500 rpm, 52.18 cfm, 28.2 dBA)
Optional fans: Two 120 mm fans on the top panel, one 140 mm fan on the left-side panel, and one 120 mm or 140 mm fan on the bottom panel
Extra features: Two-channel analog fan controller
More Information: http://www.cougar-world.com
Average Price:RM350. yet to be confirm

Conclusions

Strong Points
Fair priced
Meshed bay covers
Vented slot covers
Air filter for the power supply fan
Air filter for the optional bottom fan
Air filter for the optional left-panel fan
Eight expansion slots
Two-channel analog fan controller
Hot-swap docking station
A huge hole in the motherboard tray for accessing the backplate of the CPU cooler
Holes for routing cables behind the motherboard tray
Sprayed interior similar to exterior, unlike CM only exterior painted with color

Weak Points
Covers of the holes for liquid cooling solutions need to be manually broken
No air filters on the bay covers
No air filter for the front fan

This post has been edited by ZaRnX: Aug 2 2011, 07:39 AM
TSZaRnX
post Jul 26 2011, 06:39 AM

673 posts

Sure, I guess we could even start thread on this brand as well. Haha
TSZaRnX
post Jul 26 2011, 10:11 AM

673 posts

SS2 ComputerWAR. once i get a confirm pricing. will post up details here.
TSZaRnX
post Jul 26 2011, 11:34 AM

673 posts

QUOTE(flodder @ Jul 26 2011, 10:20 AM)
not bad casing you have
Thanks! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(trisx @ Jul 26 2011, 11:17 AM)
i like the yellow fan.so temptingggggggg tongue.gif
please confirm the price asap! hehe
It's Orange though, lsorry for the ow quality camera. Will get back to you asap.
TSZaRnX
post Jul 26 2011, 01:26 PM

673 posts

QUOTE(k3lvinng007 @ Jul 26 2011, 12:47 PM)
very nice casing...the PSU is included???
PSU excluded. but rather cheap though. 650W for RM250

QUOTE(trisx @ Jul 26 2011, 01:03 PM)
oh orange? looks like yellow to me.im a yellow fan fyi. haha tongue.gif
bright orange, if you sleeve the cable with UV orange, will be very nice orange and black theme.
TSZaRnX
post Jul 26 2011, 03:06 PM

673 posts

me too. i am working on my old rig on sleeving. haha
TSZaRnX
post Jul 27 2011, 08:31 AM

673 posts

i guess it's good that more manufacturer are building up its quality, fairer price and better designs for us end users perhaps? lol
TSZaRnX
post Jul 27 2011, 10:23 AM

673 posts

QUOTE(trisx @ Jul 27 2011, 09:58 AM)
btw, the orange fan got 2 or 1 only?
1 front 1 rear according to the web, but all i see is the back one. still waiting reply from the supplier on the issue.

QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Jul 27 2011, 10:05 AM)
yep perhaps with this kind of competition....
manufacturer like CM,Corsair,Thermaltake..etc will put the price in a reasonable margin figure notworthy.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
But current market are being dominated mostly by CM though, that's why my fren and some forumers suggest me to leave the CM pool.
TSZaRnX
post Jul 27 2011, 01:48 PM

673 posts

dismantle and checked. not in placement. sad >.<
TSZaRnX
post Jul 27 2011, 08:43 PM

673 posts

lol the other way round. i diao the supplier
TSZaRnX
post Jul 28 2011, 07:31 AM

673 posts

QUOTE(ryudox @ Jul 27 2011, 11:30 PM)
Very nice casing u got there..i have retired from casing modding long time ago..haha..
really. i was just thinking of starting case modding thumbup.gif

QUOTE(trisx @ Jul 28 2011, 02:13 AM)
walao.wut did u do to him laugh.gif
no la. just some harassment to get a fan replacement only. tongue.gif
TSZaRnX
post Jul 28 2011, 04:49 PM

673 posts

yeap. replace me with 2 more 12mm, as the casing can fit 4x 12mm and 2x 14mm. i guess i will fully utilize it then.
TSZaRnX
post Jul 29 2011, 06:50 AM

673 posts

free ! rclxms.gif will post up photos after sleeving and installing hardwares
TSZaRnX
post Jul 30 2011, 07:49 PM

673 posts

Some sneak peaks over the days.

Choco chips?